Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ideals Publications Inc The Sparkle Box: A Gift with the Power to Change Christmas

Ideals Publications Inc The Sparkle Box: A Gift with the Power to Change Christmas

Inspire a new family tradition this holiday with this heartwarming story. Beautifully hardbound with a jacketed cover, this book comes with your own fold-out glitter box to use this Christmas season!

It's almost Christmas and Sam is so excited for the parties and presents---but there's one mysterious gift, a sparkly box sitting on the mantel--- that leaves him puzzled. In the midst of the festivities, Sam and his family participate in various acts of kindness for others. On Christmas morning when Sam opens the Sparkle Box, he finds slips of paper that record the family's good deeds. Sam's parents explain that these kind acts are a gift for Jesus---for Jesus said that whatever we do for the least of these, we do for Him. Recommended for ages 4+.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Sparkle Box: A Gift with the Power to Change Christmas
Review 1 for The Sparkle Box: A Gift with the Power to Change Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Moosic, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Glad I found this book! We are using it for our Sunday School Christmas program this year. I am trying to teach the children what Christmas really means!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Sparkle Box: A Gift with the Power to Change Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Story About Christmas

Date:November 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jill Hardie in her new book, “The Sparkle Box” published by Ideals Children’s Books gives us a gift with the power to change Christmas. Illustrations by Christine Kornacki.
From the back cover: The moving story of an uncommon gift and how giving to others shows a little boy the true meaning of Christmas.
Sam can’t wait for Christmas! He’s excited about the parties, the food and, of course, the presents. One gift has him especially curious–a sparkling silver box on the mantel. Sam’s parents will only tell him that the Sparkle Box is a special gift they will open together, but that they need to fill it first.
Meanwhile, as Sam and his family give to people in need throughout the season, he starts to see how fortunate he really is. And on Christmas morning, When Sam finally opens the mysterious Sparkle Box what he finds inside sheds light on the true meaning of Christmas.
There is a reason why there are so many stories about Christmas on the television about this time and that reason is everyone loves a good story where the spirit of Christmas changes a person. That’s why everyone wishes Christmas could last all year round. ”The Sparkle Box” is one of the best Christmas stories that I have read. This book is not just an illustrated book that we can sit with our children and read to them while we look at the exquisite artistry by Christine Kornacki. No, this is a book that, if we take it seriously, will change how we look at and deal with Christmas in our families. ”The Sparkle Box” is one sweet read that you probably are going to read over and over again and then keep it handy to read again next year. I also think it will make a wonderful gift to give to friends and family so they can enjoy it over and over as well.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from PR By The Book. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Sparkle Box: A Gift with the Power to Change Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

more than a story ~*~ giving to others

Date:November 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathleen
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Monday, November 18, 2013
The Sparkle Box: A Gift with the Power to Change Christmas by Jill Hardie ~*~ illlustrated by Christine Kornacki, ©2012
more than a story ~*~ giving to others
A story to share and beginning your own tradition of The Sparkle Box ~ you may already be filling it. With bright illustrations and the zest of a child, Sam finds Christmas extra special this year as he looks forward to finding out what is inside. Filling others' lives with hope, giving from our hearts, fills this gift to Jesus.
~*Has your family been filling The Sparkle Box through the years?*~
Written by Jill Hardie, this story first appeared in Guideposts magazine
Sam can't wait for Christmas!
He's excited about the parties, the food, and of course, the presents. One gift has him especially curious―a sparkling silver box on the mantel. Sam's parents will only tell him that the Sparkle Box is a special gift they will open together, but that they need to fill it first.
Meanwhile, as Sam and his family give to people in need throughout the season, he starts to see how fortunate he really is. And on Christmas morning, when Sam finally opens the mysterious Sparkle Box, what he finds inside sheds light on the true meaning of Christmas.
***Thank you to FlyBy Promotions for sending a copy of The Sparkle Box for review. This review was written in my own words. No other compensation was received.***
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Sparkle Box: A Gift with the Power to Change Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spread God's Light to a Hurting World!

Date:November 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
April E
Location:KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received a free review copy of this book. When the book arrived, I was very pleased with it! My first impression of the book was that it's a nicely-printed, well-made, hardcover book. My second impression was that the illustrations are lovely, warm, vibrant, and colorful.
When my kids first saw me looking at it, they all came over to see the enclosed sparkle box, which folds into a simple box shape. We did note that it's different than the one in the book since it doesn't have a removable lid or a bow. The kids were all immediately interested in the new book and the box. "What's it for?" they asked.
Later, I sat down and read it to my younger children, ages 3 - 9. The story of a boy and his introduction to the sparkle box held their interest. You could tell they were wondering what was in the box, just like Sam. In the end, we were able to talk about how Sam blessed others in his community, and how we can do the same thing.
The entire book revolves around showing God's love to those in need around us, with no mention of Santa Claus and minimal focus on receiving gifts. The front page says, "Dear reader, you are the light of the world. Make it Sparkle!" I love that gentle reminder that we are the salt and light, pointing others to Jesus.
My husband and I have always tried to keep the focus of Christmas on Jesus and not Santa or presents, but we still see a need to help our children focus on others and not themselves. I think this book will help us to do that. My only dilemma is whether to include acts of kindness that the children do for each other, or only those acts that bless those outside our family.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Sparkle Box: A Gift with the Power to Change Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A way to keep the real meaning of Christmas close!

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ever wonder if there was a way to inspire your children and family to do more this Christmas for those less fortunate? I've got the perfect way to do just that! The Sparkle Box by Jill Hardie is a children's book that showcases a unique sparkle box that Sam's parents place on the mantle just at the start of the Christmas season. Sam is more than curious to know what it is, and his mom tells him that he can open it on Christmas morning but that they haven't finished filling it yet. As the days go by, Sam participates with his parents in doing things for others less fortunate, donating blankets and food, helping to finance a well for clean drinking water in Africa among other things.
Besides all the Christmas parties and food, Sam's looking forward to opening the presents most of all. What Sam finds inside the Sparkle Box sheds light on the true meaning of Christmas. This beautifully illustrated book by Christine Kornacki, is what my youngest daughter calls a "classic!" meaning simply that the pictures alone tell a story for those too young to read to enjoy! The best part is the Sparkle Box that is included at the end of the book for your family to incorporate this idea into your Christmas every year. I, for one, can't wait to assemble ours.
I received The Sparkle Box by Jill Hardie compliments of Ideals Books and Fly By Promotions for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed are strictly my own. This one rates a perfect 5 out of 5 stars and I can't wait to incorporate this into our Christmas traditions! This enables families to enjoy the Christmas season the way it was intended and to bring about the true meaning instead of simply getting presents. This book is perfect for children ages 3 and up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Sparkle Box: A Gift with the Power to Change Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the privilege of reading this book with my grandchildren and they enjoyed it. My granddaughter and I were both captivated by the excellent realistic artwork and the conversation written was so natural and heart warming. One could feel blessed as though you were actually a member of the family depicted in the story. And the sparkle box was precious.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Sparkle Box: A Gift with the Power to Change Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great gift!

Date:January 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
AVLinden
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great way to give children a tangible excitement for giving to others and keeping them focussed on the real meaning of Christmas!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Sparkle Box: A Gift with the Power to Change Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The power to change Christmas

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Children are just naturally very "me centered;" and a season when there is gifting especially centered around the younger ones tends to motivate children to be very centered on what "I" will receive, "I want this," "Can I have that," etc. A wise parent seeks to direct the child's thoughts toward more of a "what I can do" and "what I can give" in order to raise them to be selfless and motivated toward those who need their help and not toward what can be done for "me."
In the story of the Sparkle Box, the parent has created a special gift box. Inside the box will be the deeds done for good. The secret is to get the child to put others first.... The child with no toys. The family with no food. The person with no winter coat. To get the child to look outside of himself and his personal wants and wishes.
In the weeks and days leading up to Christmas, Sam's Mom clothed the cold, feed the hungry, gave to the thirsty, etc. - but what did that have to do with Sam's sparkle box?
On Christmas morning they opened their presents and the Sparkle box - which was a gift for Jesus - was opened. Inside were slips of paper for each and every way they had been a light in the darkness by doing for others.
I really like that the story teaches children that they, too, can have an impact on helping those in need. That they have something they can give. I like that the books shows the gentle, sweet side of family life and interaction and involvement in reaching out to help others as a way to show their Christian love.
"You are the light of the world - like a city on a mountain, glowing in the night for all to see." Matthew 5:14
"The King will reply, 'Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.' Matthew 25:40
I was provided a complimentary copy by Ideal books for the purpose of rendering my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.