Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Street This Side of Heaven

Center Street This Side of Heaven

Josh's life spirals into a tailspin after he's hit by a drunk driver. He gets medical disability but it's far short of the insurance settlement that never seems to come. His mother Annie laments as she watches Josh drift along for years, making one bad decision after another. Just when it looks like the insurance settlement will finally come, out of the blue a gold-digger claims her seven-year-old is Josh's daughter. When the truth comes to light, will Annie discover a treasure more valuable than she could have expected?
Average Customer Rating:
4.673 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for This Side of Heaven
Review 1 for This Side of Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent book about family grief

Date:December 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jacky
Location:Nobleford, AB
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is based on actual fact in the author's own family. The topics covered are very much in tune with what is happening in today's society, and yet healing and love are found. A very good book for parents who are suffering.
Even for those who are not going through grief right now, it is an excellent book to read. It gives us a good picture of what others may be going through. Throughout the book, it is one that you are constantly wondering what is going to come next in the turn of events that happen in this family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for This Side of Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You'll need tissues for this book.

Date:August 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tamara May
Location:Ontario,Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book made my cry and want to keep reading. I recalled decisions of my own I've regretted and reminded me that I can do things differently now. I read this book aloud to my husband who also enjoyed it right to the end. I love the way Karen writes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for This Side of Heaven
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jesse Beiler
Location:PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed the book and didn't put it down until I finished it. The writer explained how she put her brother 's life into the book as one of the characters and I appreciated that fact.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for This Side of Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patricia Crain
I would say that if you choose to read this book,keep a box of tissue near. This was one of the best books I have ever read!!! I have passed it on to my son that loves to read too.I will probably never forget Josh,because the things he went through makes me realize that I ought to pay more attention to my children and know what is going on in their lives and to know how God is using them.He can work in someones life and we may not even know it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for This Side of Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Harrell
Have only read about half way through this book, but am having the similar problem I have with all of Karen's books, I don't want to put it down!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for This Side of Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Fay Aven
This book is so true to life today about being disappointed when our children make bad decisions. I really like the ending of this book and to know that it was written about the authors brother.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for This Side of Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2009
A great tearjerker. I had to get out a few tissues for this one. Its a great story of how little we could really know someone. And the power of a father's love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for This Side of Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sandra Van Horn
A very sad story, however, it was good. If you don't like sad stories don't read it. Our book club rated it 4 1/2 mostly because it was sad. Well written, easy to read. Josh's life of pain both physical and emotional were so compeling. His pain brought him to the Lord and he used one song to inspire him to the Lord in his darkest hours. Medication for pain was addressed in this book and the dangers.You'll see his family go through some major changes mostly pointedly his mother, Annie.His daughter, Savannah, was precious.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for This Side of Heaven
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon Pereda
Karen is an amazing author with great talent to capture her audience. This book touched me with her character's. This has happened in the past with her Sunrise series. I was so touched by the good Josh did without telling anyone about his actions. This is really how it should be isn't it? Doing good without getting the credit from others. I loved seeing the growth of Josh's mom to be a better person. I did need the tissue box but am an emotional reader. I am going to purchase the first two books in this series :) I do enjoy Karen Kingsbury!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for This Side of Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Debbie
This book was incredible. It was the first Karen Kingsbury book I've read and it will not be the last. This book had so many similarities in it that our family has gone through that it made me cry. It has some sad parts but it also has so many good parts. I would highly recommend it. Karen's writing style, blended with an abundance of Christian teaching, has a way of getting to your heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for This Side of Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Davis
Another excellent book by Karen! A very touching and heart rendering story. I read it in one sitting and passed it on to my sister. Keep the tissues nearby!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for This Side of Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Morey
This is a great book, I could not put it down.Karen Kingsbury is one great author. If you have not read any of her books, I suggest that you start with this one. You will not be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for This Side of Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shirley Bartlett
Very well written and we can all relate to this as we probably know someone like or maybe we were like this. Enjoyed the book thourghly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for This Side of Heaven
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Olive Nabors
This heartwarming story makes one realize that every person has worth and needs love and encouragement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for This Side of Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Charles Daniels
Geneally I don't read very much,but I saw this book listed and thought it would be interesting.Once I received it and started reading it I didn't want to stop.I am a slow reader,but I finished it in three days Charles E. Daniels Lonaconing, Md.21539
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for This Side of Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon Sprague
I Bought this Book for my Mom for her birthday, and she said it was so good that she wanted to read the rest of the series
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for This Side of Heaven
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Burge
Always a good read with Karen K!!! So true with some families that loose touch with their children. I enjoyed it <
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for This Side of Heaven
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ann Bush
I enjoy Karen Kingsbury's books and this one was no exception. I stay up way too late reading them! I didn't have it all figured out though sometimes I do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for This Side of Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
lori
I just finished reading it and what a reminder that what matters to God isn't what matters to man. My son did not go on to be a college grad but he has so much about him that is great and this book reminded me to celebrate him!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for This Side of Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joyce Cagle
I love anything Karen Kingsbury writes, she'smy favorite writer. This book is very good, and she always shows God's love so well in allof her books. This one shows how you can comeback from a tragedy in life, and depend fullyon Him!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.