Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lion Children's Simon and the Easter Miracle: A Traditional Tale for Easter

Lion Children's Simon and the Easter Miracle: A Traditional Tale for Easter

This picture book of a retelling of a traditional tale is both thought-provoking and engaging for children. The gospels tell of Simon of Cyrene-"a man coming in from the country"-who was ordered to carry Jesus' cross. Over the centuries, his story has been woven into a Polish folktale. In the tradition of The Three Trees, this folktale gives a fresh perspective on the Easter story.

When Simon the farmer brings his wares to market, little does he expect how he will be involved in the events of that very exciting day, nor how his items-bread, eggs, and wine-will become important symbols of Jesus' passion and resurrection, remembered throughout the ages.
Average Customer Rating:
3.091 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
5 out of 1145%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Simon and the Easter Miracle: A Traditional Tale for Easter
Review 1 for Simon and the Easter Miracle: A Traditional Tale for Easter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Delightful Easter Tale For Young and Young At He

Date:April 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
BookReviewsbyMolly
Location:Willow Spring, NC
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a wonderful children's story....if you don't mind that it's not the complete telling of the Easter story from the Bible. However, that being said, this is a wonderful children's story that is filled with vibrantly created illustrations that tell the tale perfectly. I have a 7 year old and 9 year old boy and they both were captivated by the story and the pictures.
I partook in an Easter drama at the church I used to attend, and in the drama we portrayed Jesus' crucifixion, complete with Simon carrying the cross. As I read this with my boys, I was taken back to that drama and the way it makes one feel. That's what is portrayed in this story. How Simon's life was forever changed by simply carrying the cross of the one who died for our sins. The retelling of Jesus' resurrection is portrayed in a wonderful, easy to understand for those young children who are learning to read, and who are captivated by story time.
I highly recommend this 4 Book worthy children's book to all who are looking for a fantastic children's book. It would make the perfect addition to any home library for that Easter story time tradition, or for that Sunday school class for the little ones who love to read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Simon and the Easter Miracle: A Traditional Tale for Easter
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Okay if you don't want a Biblical account

Date:April 4, 2012
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was excited when I had the chance to review a children's book because I love cuddling up on the couch with my kids and previewing a new book. My son also gets really excited when he gets to open a new book for him to keep.
With that said, I was a little disappointed in this book. I did like the illustrations and my children liked them. I didn't enjoy the story that is apparently a traditional tale for Easter. I thought that the book would tell the biblical account of Simon, but I was disappointed that it really didn't say much about it at all. I hand never heard this traditional tale, but it wasn't something that I enjoyed reading to my kids. My kids didn't particularly enjoy it either.
It is a hardback book, which is another plus, because it's more durable. All in all, if you're looking for a biblical account of the meaning of Easter: the death, burial, and resurrection of Jesus, then this book isn't really something you will enjoy reading. If you aren't particular about what you share with your children at Easter, then you might enjoy this traditional story.
________________
I received this book free from Kregel Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Simon and the Easter Miracle: A Traditional Tale for Easter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Easter Story with a twist -

Date:April 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
tiinaj1
Location:Omaha, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
With Easter coming up this week I thought I would share this interesting story - with a twist. It is more of a "folk tale" than a Bible Story because it doesn't tell the whole story. I would of liked to see a page in the back with the story/scripture typed up to support the actual story for older kids/adults.
I had never heard this folk tale - yes, I knew about the man ordered to carry Jesus' cross on the day of his Crucifixion but I had never heard this particular story. Peter was a man who gone to the village to sell produce (eggs and vegetables) and ended up having to carry Jesus' cross. After Peter returns to get his things he discovers all of his goods were destroyed except 12 eggs - which end up hatching after the Sabbath.
The illustrations in the book remind me of many of the little Bible Story books that we had when I was little. The pictures are simple and tell the story beautifully. BUT do be aware this isn't a story that is based on the Bible (other than the man who carried Jesus' cross and Jesus' Crucifixion) - it's almost a combination of the Easter story and where Easter Eggs came from - there is no mention of Jesus' resurrection. I would use it along with a children's picture bible that includes the whole story of Easter.
Kregel Publications provided a copy of the book for review on Classic Children's Books. No money exchanged hands and I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Simon and the Easter Miracle: A Traditional Tale for Easter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easter Story

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Our Homeschool Reviews
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Funny Bunny's Review: Simon and the Easter Miracle is a good book for people who want to learn more about Easter. The characters are Simon, the guards, and the "criminal". When Simon is commanded by a guard to carry the criminal's cross, Simon is hesitant but has to agree. When the man states he did nothing wrong, Simon hurries away from the crucifixion site. The next morning, something happens to make Simon realize a miracle has happened.
My Thoughts: This is a wonderful story with beautiful illustrations. Simon was just an ordinary man who was led to help in an extraordinary event. A reminder that extraordinary things can happen to us all.
On a side note, I do wish it told more about the message being spread and who the "criminal" was.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Simon and the Easter Miracle: A Traditional Tale for Easter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lyrical, colorful, and inviting

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Loopy Librarian
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simon and the Easter Miracle tells the story of a farmer who is on his way to market when he encounters Jesus being beaten and forced to carry his cross on the way to his crucifixion. Simon is enlisted by the Roman soldiers to help Jesus carry the cross. This encounter changes the way Simon views the world. The author does a good job with the telling of the story. The text is simple and straight forward as well as lyrical and beautiful. I’m not sure that a young child would understand all the imagery (such as the hatched eggs representing the open tomb), but I like the imagery nonetheless because it creates perfect discussion points for parents and children. The illustrations are colorful and inviting, especially at the end of the story where Jesus’ resurrection is depicted in the sudden appearance of spring. This is an ideal story to share with children at Easter as it emphasizes the peace and the promise of Christ as well as the hope and joy of spring.
Please note: In accordance with FTC guidelines, I received a free review copy from Kregel Publications in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Simon and the Easter Miracle: A Traditional Tale for Easter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Lovely illustrations

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
School Days
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I get the opportunity to review a children's book, I often display it on a side table in our dining room, especially when the book is a lovely hardcover one such as Simon and the Easter Miracle.
I was pleased to receive this story; being a follower of Jesus, Easter is my favorite holiday, and I'm always looking for good books that reflect my faith to share with my daughters. I was immediately attracted by the lovely illustrations on the cover, courtesy of Anna Luraschi.
One positive aspect of displaying books on the table as we do, is that it catches the eyes of my girls, and is within easy reach when they want to take a look. Such was the case with this tale. I mentioned to my 8 year old that I wanted to sit down with her and read this book together and hear her thoughts. She replied, "Oh, the Easter one? Yeah, I read that a few times. I like it." Fun. :)
What I enjoyed about the book:
I love the illustrations. How to describe them, hmmm...peaceful, pleasant, not whimsical exactly, but well, simply lovely.
I thought it interesting to consider the Easter story from Simon's viewpoint. Here he is, wrapped up in his own world, earning a living, and God just kind of drops in on him. ( God does that with us sometimes , doesn't He? )
All of a sudden, Simon is a part of the biggest event in the history of man. How did that affect him? It just opens up some good discussion.
What I didn't like so much:
I found Simon's initial encounter with Jesus disappointing. The Easter story was diluted, with the reason given for Jesus dying was that He brought a message of peace. At the end, there is the suggestion of a miracle with the empty eggs that Simon finds, but no mention of the resurrecton itself, which is what Easter is all about!
So, I'm actually still pondering the book and how I feel about it. At the very least, it makes for some interesting conversations with my girls.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Simon and the Easter Miracle: A Traditional Tale for Easter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderfully thought-provoking!

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful thought-provoking book! My children enjoyed the wonderful story and the vivid illustrations. The book was engaging to all of my children ages 3, 6, and 8. I especially liked that the book was in large format and hardcover…this let all of the children be able to read the book along with me and no one was craning their necks to see the pictures!
This is really a good book to read and then to discuss the passion of Christ with the little ones. It gives a different perspective and invokes thought about the Gospel for little minds. It truly weaves the Easter miracle and the message of peace in its words.
Being of Polish heritage I liked the fact that this was taken from Polish folklore…something my children and I discussed after we read the book. My children and I often read literature and tales from different cultures so it was nice to add a polish Gospel story to our repertoire.
Written by Contributing Writer for Faith and Family Reviews.
Faith and Family Reviews received the following product in exchange for writing a review. While we consider it a privilege to receive free products to review, our reviews are our honest opinion and thoughts of the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Simon and the Easter Miracle: A Traditional Tale for Easter
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Misses the Mark

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bookmoms
Location:Chardon, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The book opens with a man named Simon (Mark 15:21, Luke 23:26) coming into the city loaded with goods to sell at the market. When he arrives there he finds it very busy due to the festival and he also sees a large group of angry people surrounding a man who looks like he has been beaten. He is carrying a cross and is obviously on his way to be crucified. As Simon tries to avoid this group, he is pulled in and ordered by a soldier to carry the cross for the man. He has a brief conversation with the beaten man, but really just wants to do as he is ordered and quickly get away and head home. On Sunday (2 days later) he finds the eggs in his barn are hatched but empty and no chicks are around and when he goes to the orchard 12 doves are in the trees.
Positives: The story started out with some promise. Many have speculated on the life of Simon of Cyrene, who is only briefly mentioned in Scripture, and I found the opening of this story to be interesting.
Negatives: This story is a disappointing and sad representation of Christian children's literature. According to this story the miracle of Easter was the empty eggs Simon found on Sunday morning in his barn and the doves in his orchard. My 6 year old knows the Easter story from Scripture and was completely confused by what this story meant. It does not mention Jesus by name and does not tell the story of his death and resurrection. Also, in the story Simon asks Jesus (referred to only as 'the man') "What are you supposed to have done to deserve to die?" Jesus' response was to shrug slightly and say "Preaching a message of peace..." While I'm trying not to read too much into this exchange, it seemed to convey that Jesus wasn't exactly sure why He was being crucified. And, while he did preach a message of peace, this was not the charge brought against Him at His crucifixion. The charge brought against Him was that He claimed to be the Son of God (Matt. 26: 57-68, Mark 14:60-65).
Talking Points: Open your Bible to one of the gospel accounts of Jesus' death and resurrection (Matt. 26-28, Mark 14-16, Luke 22-24, John 18-21) and talk about the real miracle of Easter - that Jesus Christ, the Son of God, lived a holy life on this earth, suffered and died on the cross, shedding His blood, to pay the penalty for sin so that the wrath of God could be satisfied. He rose again on the 3rd day showing his victory over death and that through Him we can have peace with God and live with God for eternity in heaven. I would also talk about the fact that Jesus' name was not mentioned in the story and how misleading this is. If you want to tell a story about salvation and new life in Christ you must use the name of Jesus. Acts 4:12 tells us that there is no other name by which we must be saved and Phil. 2:9-11 tells us that Jesus is the name above all names and that at His name (Jesus) every knee will bow. Please teach your kids that the object of their faith is Jesus and that He alone offers salvation.
Age Level: 2-6 years of age
I was given a free copy of this book from Kregel Publications in exchange for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Simon and the Easter Miracle: A Traditional Tale for Easter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Easter Miracle

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is a sharing of a well known Bible passage. Where Simon is on his way to market, and see's a man carrying his cross. The Roman soldiers make him take this man's cross and carry it to the crucifixion site. When he returns to the goods that he had brought to Market, he finds them all broken and scattered. He returns home dejected.
While sharing this with our 4 and 6 year old, they became a bit lost in the story. As an adult I was familiar with this it, and although the books is beautifully illustrated, it is missing something.
With Parental discussion you will be able to bring the full impact of this Easter story down to the Child's understanding.
I was provided with a copy of this book by Kregal, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Simon and the Easter Miracle: A Traditional Tale for Easter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

More Discussion Needed

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Annette
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The story of Simon And The Easter Miracle is actually the embroidered story of Simon the man who was asked to carry Jesus' cross. See real story Luke 23:26.
I must first state that this hardcover book has lovely watercolor illustrations from the front cover to the back cover. I enjoyed seeing some of the same familiar animals on more than one page: such as the frisky cat, long nosed puppy, and yellow beaked bird. Each page has much to view, the pictures alone can bring about discussion while reading the book to small children.
This is a book geared for young children. I understand that at a 5 year olds age telling the Easter story is different, than telling an Easter story to a 11 year old, or a 15 year old.
As a child grows older more detail is given.
My 8 year old granddaughter and 6 year old grandson do not understand fully the word peace, at least not as they will at an older age.
Peace to them is something or someone that is friendly and calm, loving and docile.
Real peace as we are taught in the New Testament, is only made possible by Jesus. Because of His shed blood on the cross we are no longer an enemy to God. We are made in a right-standing, we are at peace with Him.
I understand what the author was trying to present in her book. I do believe an additional page should have been added. After the page about the place of crucifixion. I believe a brief and simple explanation, as to why Jesus died on the cross, and why we have "real" and "true" peace. That even when we have a "no good very bad day." We can have peace inside our hearts no matter how old we are.
I believe the use of a dove is a starting point, but not the end all for this book.
Easter is not just the previous day of crucifixion, but the risen Christ Jesus that conquered death.
Another emphasis in the book is on kindness, this too is important. But kindness should always come from the well-spring of a heart focused on Christ Jesus.
The last page is unclear to me, maybe a riddle? Maybe, because Simon was kind he was materially blessed?
Blessings are not always material. The choice of blessing is up to the Lord. And not for us to propose.
Thank you to Lion Hudson and Kregel for my free review copy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Simon and the Easter Miracle: A Traditional Tale for Easter
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Beautiful pictures the children will enjoy

Date:March 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Simon and the Easter Miracle tells the tale of Simon, a man who went to town to sell his farm produce, but ends up carrying the cross of Jesus up the hill when Jesus was too weak to continue to do so himself. After carrying the cross, Simon returns to where he'd put his produce but all he finds left are some eggs. The tale shares of Simon's encounter with a miracle that follows, a miracle that seems to point to the promise of what Jesus accomplished on the cross.
My children were eager to gather around me as I read this book to them, exclaiming over the bright and beautiful pictures. They greatly enjoyed the vivid scenes and had many questions about Simon and the cross he had to carry. However, one of their first questions to me was when they pointed to Jesus carrying the cross and asked "Is that Jesus?". While I knew that, and many adults will know that, I am puzzled why the story would neglect to ever mention his name. In the story, Simon has an encounter with Jesus that seems bland - Simon carries the cross and then returns to his produce and his home seemingly barely moved by what occurred. I realize that this is a children's story and that it must therefore tread lightly with what Jesus experienced. However, I cannot understand how Simon could be portrayed as carrying the cross of Jesus Christ and then returning to his old life as if he's done nothing more serious than weed the garden or milk the cow. When I asked my chlidren what they thought of the story, they said they didn't really understand the point of the story. This is not something they say often, and at that point I knew that unfortunately, for our family anyway, this story missed the mark.
I give the book 2 out of 5 stars, thankful for the beautiful illustrations and an attempt to point to the miracle of Easter, but convinced that this book could have been so much more.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher and the Kregel blog review program for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.