Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Money Answer Book: Quick Answers to Everyday Financial Questions - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Money Answer Book: Quick Answers to Everyday Financial Questions - eBook

Call The Dave Ramsey Show this week, wait your turn, and you'll get a great response...to one question. Or you can flip through this rich resource and find fast, expert answers to over 100 of Ramsey's most-asked personal finance issues-budgeting, major purchases, retirement planning, saving for college, charitable giving and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for The Money Answer Book: Quick Answers to Everyday Financial Questions - eBook
Review 1 for The Money Answer Book: Quick Answers to Everyday Financial Questions - eBook
This review is fromThe Money Answer Book.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Denise Green
I read the first version of "The Money Answer Book" which was written before the 2008 economic downturn and it was very relevant at that time. Now Dave Ramsey has updated key elements to keep pace with current markets. Both editions are extremely helpful if you are interested in eliminating debt and staying out of debt. As before, this edition also includes valuable pages to use as worksheets for your own personal data. I urge you to use these pages as you will be shocked out of your state of denial when you see it written down in black and white how much you are really spending each month! The most important part for me is that Dave is a Christian and strongly advocates tithing. My finances improved when I committed to tithing. Trust in God to provide for your needs and take the leap of faith by giving your first fruits to His ministry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Money Answer Book: Quick Answers to Everyday Financial Questions - eBook
This review is fromThe Money Answer Book.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2010
By the author of Financial Peace and Total Money Makeover, The Money Answer Book includes some of the most popular questions from Dave Ramsey's radio show and his answers regarding the path to becoming debt-free and financially secure.Having read Total Money Makeover, I think that this book contained a lot of information I'd already gleaned from TMM. However, I did find a few interesting questions that I hadn't come across before. The idea of a Wants list and a Needs list was a surprisingly simple idea, yet one I hadn't considered previously.Overall, the book doesn't seem to do well as a stand-alone - due to the format of questions and answers, there isn't necessarily a smooth flow from topic to topic, and there are several areas where Dave repeats information in multiple answers. This repetition does serve to stress what he finds important, however. I think that this book may serve as a primer of sorts to get people interested in Dave's other works or radio show.I received this book for free as part of Thomas Nelson Publishers' Booksneeze book review program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Money Answer Book: Quick Answers to Everyday Financial Questions - eBook
This review is fromThe Money Answer Book.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tammy's GoodPlans
I'm a huge Dave Ramsey fan. The principles Dave teaches have changed my life in seriously positive ways, and I was excited to see The Money Answer Book come up for review with Thomas Nelson's BookSneeze! Here's a little about the book from TN:This question and answer book is the perfect resource guide for equipping individuals with key information about everyday money matters.Questions and answers deal with 100+ of the most-asked questions from The Dave Ramsey Showeverything from budget planning to retirement planning or personal buying matters, to saving for college and charitable giving. This is Dave in his most popular formatask a specific question, get a specific answer.Now, here's what I think:I really enjoyed reading this book. I never thought of having a "no matter what" list until I read this. Dave's principles are clearly outlined in the pages of this book, and if you've not been a listener of his radio show, this book is a great first resource to own to become familiar with his thought processes.From an outline of the Baby Steps, to the Debt Snowball worksheets to insurance planning, and straight through investing, this stratagem is a proven method for debt freedom and wealth building. If you're looking for a quick and easy read that is also a source of clear financial wisdom, order this book today!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Money Answer Book: Quick Answers to Everyday Financial Questions - eBook
This review is fromThe Money Answer Book.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2010
The Money Answer Book By Dave Ramsey is an easy to read guide on getting your finances in order. If you have ever asked the question, Where does all my money go? Or if you have ever wondered where all your money went when you look at how much you made in a year, then this book is the one for you. Finances are a huge distraction to living freely each and every day. Finances are also the one subject that people are the most unwilling to talk about. They are considered taboo to most people. You can ask me anything except about my money. Now this book is not as in depth as the others from Dave Ramsey, however this is a good book to leave on your living room table where guests can read it, or browse through it. Each chapter stands alone so that you dont have to read the whole book at once. There are worksheets that you can fill out to help get a better understanding of where YOUR money is going and how you can better have control of your finances. Having gone through Financial Peace University, this book just serves as a reminder to the principles taught in the class. I would recommend this book to anyone who would a better understanding of their finances. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Money Answer Book: Quick Answers to Everyday Financial Questions - eBook
This review is fromThe Money Answer Book.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
kdmom02
I received The Money Answer Book by Dave Ramsey from Booksneeze. I chose this book because I am currently trying to get out of debt and wanted to refresh my memory on Dave Ramsey's plan to financial freedom.This is a great book for anyone. It is very practical and easy to read and understand. It sums up Dave Ramsey's plan for financial freedom in a shorter version than his other books. This book is a quick read and would be an asset to anyone's reference library. He does a very good job keeping this book short and to the point. This book makes it easy to understand his plan for financial freedom.This book is in question and answer format instead of the normal chapter reading. It is divided up into subjects, which makes it easy for you to look up a particular topic. This book gives practical advice and would make a great graduation or wedding gift.I was given this complimentary copy to review. The opinions expressed in this review are mine and are honest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Money Answer Book: Quick Answers to Everyday Financial Questions - eBook
This review is fromThe Money Answer Book.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jolanthe
Dave Ramsey has been a favorite in our house for the last five years. A little over five years ago, Rick and I embarked on becoming debt-free. We read another one of Dave Ramseys books, Total Money Makeover, and it has changed so much in both our relationship with each other and with money.Do we love Dave Ramsey? Yes!! Enough that we have led his Financial Peace class at our church multiple times.If youve never read any of Dave Ramseys books, The Money Answer Book would be a great little book to start with. It focuses mainly on questions {and answers} that have been asked during Dave Ramseys radio talk show. Topics discussed include: Debt, Budgeting, Saving, Investing, Student Loans, Stewardship, Insurance, Retirement, Autos, and Real Estate/Mortgages. The layout makes it easy to find help on a specific topic, but it would also take very little time to read the book from cover-to-cover and get some valuable {and helpful} information.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Money Answer Book: Quick Answers to Everyday Financial Questions - eBook
This review is fromThe Money Answer Book.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrea
Having never read a Dave Ramsey book before, I was looking forward to reading The Money Answer Book. This book is a question and answer book that deals with the most asked questions from the Dave Ramsey Show. Sprinkled throughout are quotes and Bible verses that give wisdom and encouragement. I found this book a great way to get started in taking control of my financial situation. It gives you information in a quick format that inspires change without condemning. It has been a great starting point for me and my family. I highly recommend this book for those who need a quick reference or are just in the beginning stages of budgeting. If you are looking for more detailed information I would look at another of his books. I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Money Answer Book: Quick Answers to Everyday Financial Questions - eBook
This review is fromThe Money Answer Book.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kristen H.
Dave Ramsey's latest book, The Money Answer Book, is a short, easily readable book written in a question and answer format. Topics include Debt, Credit, & Bankruptcy, Relationships & Money, Budgeting, Stewardship, Insurance, and more. Dave provides his simple, no-nonsense advice in much the same way as he does on the radio.This book is a great summary of what I have learned from listening to Dave's radio show. I don't think that there was any information presented that I hadn't heard before, but it is a helpful reference, especially for topics like College Savings and Retirement plans that you don't have to think about often. The arrangement of the book makes it easy to read about a specific topic, but I found that reading straight through the book helped give me a fresh perspective on our budget and reminded me of some areas that we can work on. I recommend this book both to those who want to get out of debt, and those who are already familiar with Dave Ramsey's plan, but could use a written reference. This book was provided for free to review from Thomas Nelson as a member of the Book Sneeze Blogger program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Money Answer Book: Quick Answers to Everyday Financial Questions - eBook
This review is fromThe Money Answer Book.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Austin Reason
Your finances arent the problem you are.That might be how Id sum up the message of Dave Ramseys newest book, The Money Answer Book. Dave is a no-nonsense kind of advisor, and starts out with his key premise: Personal finance is 80 percent behavior and 20 percent head knowledge! This is the foundation of all the advice that will follow in this concise, easy-reading resource. This book is designed to be a quick and easy guide to some not-so-easy questions. Whereas his previous books laid out general concepts, this newest addition seeks to answer specific questions, with bite-sized, easy to digest answers.This is my first Ramsey book, and I was consistently impressed with his values. Hes up front about his belief that the Bible is his foundation for his financial principles. Dave places a high value on family, stressing the need for spouses to work together and agree on financial issues and teaching good financial values to their kids. Dave hammers home the idea that hard work is the solution to financial trouble. He has no magic bullet, and he is a true realist. Overall, hes like that uncle or ball coach thatll tell you the hard truth your parents tried to tell you, but youll listen to him!Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Money Answer Book: Quick Answers to Everyday Financial Questions - eBook
This review is fromThe Money Answer Book.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rick
I recently received a copy of Dave Ramsey's The Money Answer Book from BookSneeze for review. After procrastinating for a couple of days, I finally got around to reading it late last night.Whether you are familiar with Dave Ramsey or not, the Money Answer Book gift book is definitely worth the easy read! This newest offering from Mr. Ramsey is essentially a "simplified" version of The Total Money Makeover, re-arranged as a Q and A with the following topics:- The Basics- Debt, Credit and Bankruptcy- Relationships & Money- Budgeting- Saving and Investing- College and Student Loans- Stewardship- Insurance- Retirement & Estate Planning- Automobiles- Real Estate and MortgagesFor those that are familiar with Dave and his previous books, this gift book can serve as a GREAT reference. Those readers who aren't familiar will attain some valuable information to get better control over their finances. While it doesn't go into great depth (each question/answer is approximately 1-1.5 pages long), it does make clear Dave's philosophies on the handling of finances and that we should be good stewards of all that God has blessed us with financially. The book also makes clear his dislike of credit cards, as you can tell from his "Top Two Ways To Be Money Smart":1. Say "NO" to credit cards2. Make a budget. Write it down. Give every dollar a nameI like the fact that all the info is condensed into one nicely-sized book; small enough to fit easily on the bookshelf, or in your desk drawer for easy access. The Money Answer Book is definitely recommended, and will make a great gift for dad, grad or newlywed. I plan on getting a couple to give as gifts!Enjoy.Disclosure: I received this book FREE from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTCs 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Money Answer Book: Quick Answers to Everyday Financial Questions - eBook
This review is fromThe Money Answer Book.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angel
I just received The Money Answer Book by Dave Ramsey yesterday, and have finished it already! (Even though I have a stack of other books to finish and blog right here on my desk!) It was a short book but tons of financial wisdom was packed in! I highly recommend it!I've heard of Dave Ramsey for a few years now, and read a lot of his stuff online. I've loved everything I have read and heard, but have never actually gotten one of his books because my husband's philosophy on money is so different than mine. Now that I have read one of his books, I am definitely on board with his ideas!This book covers The Basics, Debt Credit& Bankruptcy, Relationships & Money,Budgeting, Saving & Investing, College &Student Loans, Stewardship, Insurance, Retirement & Estate Planning, Automobiles and Real Estate & Mortgages. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Book Sneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Money Answer Book: Quick Answers to Everyday Financial Questions - eBook
This review is fromThe Money Answer Book.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Young Wife
The Money Answer Book by Dave Ramsey is a book that answers some of the most common questions Dave Ramsey hears on his radio show. He answers questions such as, "My husband just left me. How do I protect my credit?" and "Will I retire with more money if it's invested in a Roth IRA or a traditional IRA?"This is a pretty good book. I have a different perspective on debt than Dave Ramsey. Dave Ramsey starts the book with, "No matter what I don't borrow money." That seems a little ridiculous to me. If you need medical treatment, of course you borrow money. If you're out of work for three months, you might have to put groceries on the credit card. However, I do like a lot of his suggestions such as paying cash for things (it "hurts" more than swiping a debit card) and using an envelope system to help you stay on budget. He even covers things like why you should pay your children for doing chores. He gives good advice, and it's an easy read. Since it's broken up by sections such as "Debt, Credit & Bankruptcy" and "Relationships & Money" you could easily skip around to a section you have questions about. I was impressed that Mr. Ramsey stressed the importance of tithing. Mr. Ramsey also goes over some of his basic ideas which he calls baby steps so you get an overview of what he talks about in his other books, The Total Money Makeover and More Than Enough. Disclosure: Thomas Nelson provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for writing a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Money Answer Book: Quick Answers to Everyday Financial Questions - eBook
This review is fromThe Money Answer Book.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
David Henry
No Matter what: I dont borrow money.No Matter what: I give a tenth of my income to my local church in the Name of the Lord.No Matter what: I dont spend over $300 without first talking to my wife.When I first opened this book, those were the words I read. As I went through the book I found myself quickly bombarded with sound financial advice. This book is a quick guide to a vast variety of situations, from debt and savings to having kids, retirement and estate planning.I really liked this book. Being the young person I am, I know I will need much of Daves advice for years to come. It even includes advice for freelance and self-employed people like me. The only slight dislike I have is the lack of index, as some topics could be placed in multiple chapters.The graphic design of the book is simple, but well done. The edges of the pages are green, as are quotes and titles. Each topic takes up 2-3 pages, formatted much like my favorite The War of Art. If youre looking for a quick guide, this is a great book to add to your collection."Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.