Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson A Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder - eBook

Thomas Nelson A Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder - eBook

The story of the Prodigal Son is known by many who read and cherish the Bible. In The Tale of Two Sons, one of America's most beloved Bible teachers takes you deep into this parable, revealing insights into the culture of Jesus' day and an unforgettable ending.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder - eBook
Review 1 for A Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder - eBook
This review is fromA Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great insight into the parable

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
DougEDoug
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John MacArthur has taken me deeper into this parable then I have ever gone before. He takes his regular easy to read, insightful approach and applies it here as well as he has in any other book that I've read. His book is eyeopening to sin that is in my life. And he clearly explains what Jesus was trying to relate to his audience of the pharisees and ultimately to us through this parable. Read it, study it, and pass it on to others that want to understand this scripture better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder - eBook
This review is fromA Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Greg Anderson
Finally, I understand the meaning of this parable. John brings out the cultural background to us and explains what Jesus taught when He gave this parable is exactly what it means today. If you don't have this book, buy it. I have given several copies as gifts and people rave over it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder - eBook
This review is fromA Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rodney Butler
i have found that this version of the two sons is very insightfull. too much attention has been focus on the one son who chose to leave, none on the son that stayed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder - eBook
This review is fromA Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Paul Herrick
A must read and have for your own collection. Brings out many points we in today's generation would not know. A book you can not put down till it's read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder - eBook
This review is fromA Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jean R
John McArthur helped me to truly understanding this parable and see it from the perspective of the Father. I thank God taht He did not wait for me to come to me but He saw me afar off and ran to welcom me back home. This book is a must read and then pass on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder - eBook
This review is fromA Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lynnette
I am a big fan of John MacArthur, and this book didn't disappoint. I learned so much more about this parable through his in depth analysis and explanations of the culture at that time. I would recommend this to everyone as we can all learn more about this important parable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder - eBook
This review is fromA Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
David Garratt
I am most interested in the story of the prodigal son because it is a central theme around a music album we completed recently. I wanted MacArthur's point of view and especially his statement about a shocking murder. However I found the title somewhat misleading. The writing is very detailed and, in my opinion could have been condensed into about a third the size of the book. Far too wordy for me. By contrast Henri Nouwen's book 'the return of the prodigal son' is a brilliant work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder - eBook
This review is fromA Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anthony Shuler
Read this book! This book did not look even remotely interesting to me. The only reason I read it was because I received a free copy. I was wrong. It's a must read for anyone. Basically, what's in the book is that it's a cultural background\commentary on the story of the prodigal son. Doesn't sound that exciting but it's one of the best books I've read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder - eBook
This review is fromA Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rick W.
Excellent book!! First one of MacArthur's that I have ever read, now I am hooked! He shows you stuff in the Scripture that you would have never seen before. If you like to get deep in the Word, this is a good book for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder - eBook
This review is fromA Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ada Johnson
throughly enjoyed the new insight that John MacArthur brings to light in this book. Very thought provoking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder - eBook
This review is fromA Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Terry Goertzen
I think everyone is familiar with the parable of the Prodical Son. I thought I was til I read the book 'A Tale of Two Sons' by John MacArthur. For the most part the story was as I read it until he delved further into the background surrounding each character as they interacted with each other. What was really being said in the context of the time and place and for whom it was originally intended. By his fleshing out the story, he put a much fuller, richer story that has even more impact on the reader. I recommend the book to anyone who is interested in reading the story again, but in a way that will bring about a much deeper appreciation to the parable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder - eBook
This review is fromA Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
David Anderson
Once again John MacArthur has provided us with an absolute gem. His God-given insight into the Scriptures of Truth is evident throughout this book. It provides a clear depiction of the reality of the parable and brings it home to us in this 21st Century secular society.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder - eBook
This review is fromA Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bonita Ellwein
Excellent book. I would highly recommend this book to others. Appreciated the historical research done by the author John McArthur. It made it very interesting and enjoyable to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder - eBook
This review is fromA Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Holland
I will never again read Luke 15 without an indepth understanding of the Parables. This book takes you into the scenes as you watch the unfolding of the characters. The truth is revealed as I have never seen it before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder - eBook
This review is fromA Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ruth Mills
I thoroughly enjoyed this book.I had never perceived the parable of the prodigal son in this way. Very enlightning to learn that Jesus was directing the story to the Pharisees. I strongly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder - eBook
This review is fromA Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dan
Great book! It really cut me and glad to be free from guilt. I encourage any reader to read this book and let God's mercy shine through you. Many blessings!!!I give the book 10 stars!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder - eBook
This review is fromA Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Hugh Diggins Sr.
Dr. MacArthur does an excellent exposition of the Parable of the Prodigal Son that edifies, encourages and challenges us to remember God's grace in the salvation of sinners.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder - eBook
This review is fromA Tale of Two Sons: The Inside Story of a Father, His Sons, and a Shocking Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Robbie Johnson
Wonderful!!! I've heard the message in person as well... I am so thankful for the ministry of John MacArthur.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.