Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lion Children's Bible Detective: A Puzzle Search Book

Lion Children's Bible Detective: A Puzzle Search Book

* "Seek and you shall find"---that's the promise your young super-sleuths will take to heart as they search out clues in this cleverly illustrated puzzle book! Whether they're looking for a man riding a donkey or a menorah, they'll enjoy hours of fun as they learn about Bible stories, events, and everyday life. Ages 5 to 9. 48 pages, hardcover from Lion.
Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 out of 1486%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bible Detective: A Puzzle Search Book
Review 1 for Bible Detective: A Puzzle Search Book
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A lot like Where's Waldo?, but better!

Date:November 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shaun Tabatt
Location:Cottage Grove, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I first saw Bible Detective: A Puzzle Search Book, the first thing I thought of was the `Where's Waldo?' books from my childhood. While the `Where's Waldo?' books were a lot of fun, they didn't have much in the way of educational value. For the most part you looked for Waldo in a scene and that's about it. While the basic premise is the same, Bible Detective: A Puzzle Search Book has far more to offer.
Bible Detective: A Puzzle Search Book has seventeen different puzzles, nine from the Old Testament and eight from the New Testament. Each puzzle focuses on a scene from a well-known biblical story (Noah, the good herdsman, Slaves in Egypt, A census in Bethlehem, etc.). In the upper left-hand corner of each scene, you'll find the related Bible passages, approximate date (BCE & CE), and 1-2 paragraphs setting the stage for the scene in the puzzle. Around the border of each puzzle there are between 15-20 images to locate in the scene. A brief caption next to each image tells you how many to find in the scene and gives additional context about the image for the scene/story. If for some reason one of the puzzles proves too elusive, you can find the remaining images using the keys found at the end of the book.
Bible Detective: A Puzzle Search Book is one of the better Christian puzzle books I've seen over the past few years. I would recommend using it as a springboard for deeper discussion about the Bible passages that relate to each scene. If you have children or grandchildren ages 5-9, I'd recommend adding Bible Detective: A Puzzle Search Book to your Christmas list.
My overall rating is 4 out of 5 stars.
Disclaimer: This product was provided by Lion Books (Kregel Publications) for review. The reviewer was under no obligation to offer a favorable review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bible Detective: A Puzzle Search Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fun way to explore the world of the Bible

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bob Hayton
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Where's Waldo? Many a child has spent countless hours poring over a large picture book searching in vain for a funny man in a stocking cap, and his companions. Not much was learned in the process, however, and so Peter Martin has set out to change that. Working with illustrator Peter Kent, Martin has created "Bible Detective: A Puzzle Search Book," a book that rivals Waldo for fun, but also offers an education in the world of the Bible.
This colorful picture book includes seventeen puzzles with a variety of objects to search for. Women fighting over a well of water, nine yellow frogs, the Tabernacle furniture and Solomon's baboons-the variety of items to find is incredible. Bible scenes covered include David and Goliath, the census of Bethlehem, the siege of Lachish and Peter in Cornelius' house. The pictures are engrossing, the artwork detailed and engaging, and the material is true to the biblical period being explored.
Exploring is just the right term to describe how a young reader will feel as he or she peruses through this bright book. And for those who are quick to give up, there is an answer key in the back with all the scenes mapped out. The quality of this book is superb, and Bible references and dates are provided to allow the puzzle being studied to be properly placed in its specific context.
There are a variety of puzzle books that are available for young readers. But there are not many Christian puzzle books produced with this level of attention to detail and quality of workmanship. This book will compete with secular products well, and should enjoy a long press run. For Christian parents seeking to equip their children with any Bible-themed resource available, this book is a must-have. It will appeal to elementary and middle school-aged children, with the older ones more able to appreciate the manners and customs explained. Come to think of it, even high-schoolers could enjoy paging through this book with their younger siblings.
I encourage parents and grandparents to consider adding this book to their Christmas list this year. It is sure to please.
Disclaimer: This book was provided by Lion Books (Kregel Publications). I was under no obligation to offer a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bible Detective: A Puzzle Search Book
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Reservations...

Date:November 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Annette W
Location:PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For those kids who pour over the details in illustrations, Bible Detective was made for them. Each page spread includes a detailed illustration, lots of facts, and a bit of history, all while encouraging the reader to examine the illustration in great detail.
The text itself is brief, providing a quick overview of who and what the illustration is about. Surrounding the large illustration, there are small pictures and a bit of information to keep the details of the illustration relevant.
Farmers grow crops such as barley. How many reapers can you see?
Find 2 young men going hunting with a bow and arrow.
Pruning knives like this were used to trim and tidy grape vines to get a good crop. Spot 2 vine-tenders.
Though a four or five year old might enjoy searching out the objects, especially with an adult's help, I think this book best lends itself to older children.
I was a bit surprised at author Peter Martin's wording in a couple of places. My own impression (which might be very different from others) was that he did not present the stories from the Bible as fact. He used the term "According to the Bible..." at least twice. There are also a few examples of the not-so-nice side of people shown. "Find a servant girl being told off by her mistress." (Eek! I don't want my child to know that term!) "On the wealthy have chariots. Spot a charioteer being unkind to the poor." Though this may be "real life," I suspect a better choice could have been made. It may not bother others as it does me though.
Bible Detective leaves me with some mixed feelings. It would be great for a reluctant reader. I love the idea of providing an over-view of Biblical history, but think it could be a bit more child-friendly. I would definitely like to see the Bible presented as fact instead of using loose terms that present the reader with the impression that the Bible is something that may or may not be factual. Knowing my reservations, I still like this book and will let you decide for yourself what you think of it.
I do thank Kregel Publications for sending me this book for review purposes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bible Detective: A Puzzle Search Book
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

good concept, a bit frustrating for kids

Date:November 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
AmyMCGS
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bible Detective: A Puzzle Search Book is very much like a Biblical version of "Where's Waldo". Each two-page spread features an illustrated scene from the Bible, with the frame around the scene showing the items to search for and a short description of each item.
Sometimes the pictures you find don't exactly match the ones shown in the border, but they fit the description-- such as on page 14, when you're searching for the "friends carrying Jesus' body". There are two people carrying a body, but they are not dressed the same or facing the same way as the people shown in the list. That's confusing, especially for young readers who may not completely understand the description on their own. I wish the pictures in the list were exactly the same as the ones in the puzzle.
The book does include an answer key in the back, which is helpful. There were a few times when the kids and I all searched for something but couldn't find it without the answer key.
My 9 year-old was quickly bored with the puzzles, but the book held my 6 year-old's attention for a lot longer. I'd say that he is more of the prime age range for this book.
Disclosure: I was provided with a free copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for posting my opinion online. I always post my honest opinion and do not accept review items which ask for a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bible Detective: A Puzzle Search Book
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Recommend parental input

Date:November 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill Stanish
Location:Midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Search and Find books are very popular and in the market of shameless TV tie-ins or monster obsession, this one is a refreshing alternative. Kids will enjoy hours of searching for page specific items as well as a fox in every scene. Most things can be located even by pre-readers; it's nice to find a book that can span the ages so well. There were a few things, however, I would change in the book.
The biggest disappointment was the use of the BCE/CE designation for dates. I suspect that in Europe this is the commonly accepted format. In the United States, however, many evangelical Christians see this designation as an effort to remove historical references to Christ. So in a book titled "Bible Detective," the choice was rather surprising. In future US editions, I would strongly suggest the use of BC and AD.
I also felt there was an attitude of skepticism in the way the narrative was worded. Seemed to treat the Bible as literature instead of historical fact. References in the text such as the "story" of the people of Israel (not the history). Abraham "believed" God was telling him (rather than God told him as a matter of historical fact). Small things but I think they detract from a position of the Bible as the inerrant word of God.
One notable theological error is on page 12 saying that the disciples "helped Jesus preach his message about what it means to live as friends of God." That is not the essence of the Gospel and not at all an accurate depiction of Christ's message. While I don't expect a search and find book to be doctrinally instructive, I certainly do not want it to be doctrinally misleading. I would caution parents to better explain the mission of Jesus to their children.
{I received a copy of the book for review purposes. No other compensation was received.}
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bible Detective: A Puzzle Search Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book!

Date:November 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Our Homeschool Reviews
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bible Detective is a puzzle search book which includes 17 illustrated scenes of Biblical events. Each page lists a Bible verse, time period, and a summary. Children read facts and search for people, objects, and animals from ancient times. The book starts with Noah and continues through the Bible to Acts.
I have enjoyed reading this book with my daughter. It has been fun to try to locate all the items together and read the stories. I think this would make a great Christmas present. She enjoyed it too and made up different games to try and find each item.
Disclosure: This product was given to Our Homeschool Reviews for free for review purposes, and I do not have to return the products to the vendor. I have received no compensation from it and all opinions and experiences within this review are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bible Detective: A Puzzle Search Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic!

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Featuring 17 different scenes from Bible events from both the Old and New Testaments, "Bible Detective" is a puzzle search book that will provide your children with hours of entertainment! Many scenes from popular stories are depicted, such as a scene of slaves in Egypt from the time period of when God used Moses to free them, the battle of David versus Goliath, or a scene about the death of Jesus. Each scene is filled with wonderful illustrations, and leads the reader to find things hidden in the scene that also serves to increase the reader's knowledge of the Bible. For example, in the scene of David and Goliath, you need to find the picture of a blacksmith in the Philistine camp, and next to the picture is an explanation that the Philistines had the technology to sharpen iron, so their weapons were strong. The book is chock-full of such facts, and by the end of the book readers will have gained a new appreciation for the culture and settings of the Bible.
My children absolutely love this book, and have indeed spent hours pouring over its pages, trying to race to find the clues first! The illustrations are well-done and lively, with lots of little details thrown in that make them truly delightful. The best part about this book is that your children will be so focused on having fun reading the book, that they won't even realize that they are learning at the same time! I myself even enjoyed pouring over the scenes, for they allowed me to visualize what it would have been like for the men and woman of the Bible to live in the culture they did. This is a book that has earned a longstanding place on our bookshelves, and we plan to bring it along on family trips and other outings to help keep our children entertained. I also appreciate the many conversations it has sparked about the things my children have learned through interacting with the book.
I highly recommend this book and award it 5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher, Lion Hudson, and Kregel Blog tour service, for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bible Detective: A Puzzle Search Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

romp through the pages of Bible Detective & learn

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About the book:
Young detectives will never tire of this picture-search puzzle book. Readers can pore over 17 cleverly illustrated scenes of Bible events to find the answers to the questions posed on each page. Some puzzles involve looking for details of everyday life, others highlight things that happened in the Bible stories--offering hours of fun to readers as they search for the answers.
With lots to find, this kind of picture book is particularly great for reluctant readers and visual learners, helping all children get an overview of the Bible's history and content as they super-sleuth their way through the book. Warning: may be addictive!
My thoughts:
Most children have a bit of a detective in them. Always searching out tidbits of the unknown and ferreting out information in the smallest form. Well, if you happen to know one of these child-detectives, Bible Detective by Peter Martin is just the book for them. It is actually a learning tool, a story book, a Bible study book, and a "game" all rolled into one.
The illustrations by Peter Kent are tiny, detailed, and packed full of trivia and major points of interest. It is the goal of the reader to find specific hidden items in each illustrated story. And then there is, of course, the hidden "fox" that is tucked away in each scene.
But the larger picture of this book (or should I say "gem") is the fact that the reader is taken on a timeline Bible study learning facts from the Old and New Testaments. The gleaned information is further implanted on the reader's mind because of his/her involvement in searching out minute details within the illustrations. The "game" per-say. Exercising one's brain in the solving of puzzles is a stimulus that cements the learning.
Bible Detective opens with the story of Noah and completes with the New Testament voyage to the port of Caesarea. Each story gives the Biblical reference as well as the time in which it occurred.
I foresee children from the age of 5 and up and the adults that read with them thoroughly enjoying their romp through the pages of Bible Detective as they learn the small details, the main points, and see the bigger picture of these Bible stories.
DISCLOSURE: Kregel provided a complimentary copy of Bible Detective by Peter Martin and illustrated by Peter Kent to facilitate my giving an honest review. I was not obligated to render a positive review and received no compensation for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bible Detective: A Puzzle Search Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
Location:ATOKA, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's like a Bible Where's Waldo! or I Spy puzzle search book. I know that I loved these types of books, but they were always searching for silly things, never really something of educational value like Biblical or historical characters like what readers will find in this book. The pictures are great and full of detail that will easily capture hours of time without meaning to. Definitely wouldn't mind recommending this to my nephew, and I'm sure that a vast age range would love it all. Great idea for a coffee table book too. And my favorite part is the answer key in the back to help find all those bits that eluded you before!
*Thanks to Kregel for providing a copy for review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bible Detective: A Puzzle Search Book
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Fun way to introduce Bible stories

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
HS Mom of 4
Location:Georgia, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Bible Detective is the ultimate "find the hidden pictures" book for both children and adults based on Bible stories.
Snuggle up alongside your favorite youngster, and learn some great Bible stories while searching for specific people and animals in the detailed pictures from Peter Kent.
This is a great time to discuss Biblical history with your child(ren) and instill a love of learning! After you work through the book, have your child(ren) narrate the stories back to you with the pictures as a visual reminder.
I only have one major problem with this book. It is written with a Christian perspective from a Christian publisher, yet it does not use B.C. or A.D. for their time references. As a Christian parent and follower of Jesus Christ, I have a BIG problem with the secular references of BCE and CE.
My rating: 2.5 out of 5
I received a complimentary copy of Bible Detective: a puzzle search book from Kregel Publishing and Lion Children's Book for my honest and fair review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bible Detective: A Puzzle Search Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bible Detective

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an awesome book for Children to learn the Bible, and how people lived back in ancient times.
The cover is brightly colored to draw the Child's eye. Once you open the book you begin a great fun filled journey.
To begin with their is a picture of a fox hidden in each of the double page activities. An example would be Slaves in Egypt. Verse Genesis 37-50; Exodus 1. Then there is some of the scripture up in the left hand part of the picture. All around the outside of the picture is some facts...Bricks were made from mud packed into a mold and turned out. Find 5 men using a brick mold...etc. These continue all around.
Kind of like an Eye Spy, but with more.
There are 17 different Puzzle Searches, and in the back there are answers. There is also an index to help.
My boys ages 5 and 7 needed help with the words, but spent several hours going over the picture. Excitedly they would point to the answers. I can see then asking to use this over and over! I loved it!
I received this book from Kregel Publications, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bible Detective: A Puzzle Search Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interactive, Educational and Fun

Date:November 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
tiinaj1
Location:Omaha, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always been interested in how other cultures throughout the centuries have lived and found this book very interesting. It's a great introduction to Sociology and Anthropology and for kids who aren't ready for learning about either of those studies - it's also great for learning about everyday life in Egypt, Jerusalem, and other towns and locations mentioned in the Bible. You will find scenes that show how the Isrealite slaves were treated complete with overseers beating slaves, how to make bricks, what kinds of houses they lived in, how children played and more.
Personally I would say this book is for kids who are very detailed oriented, approximately 6 or 7+ just because of the level of detail and how busy the scenes are. The drawings look like they are hand drawn and there are mini descriptions of what is happening in each two page spread and then your child is given a direction: Find two camels, find an man making bricks, and so on. At the top of each page is a suggested Bible Reference so kids can find it in the Bible and read how or what happened in history. An example two page spread shows what time period the scene is from and where you'll read about a scene like the one in the book: See an example.
I like how educational the book is - it's interactive, detailed, answers lots of little questions with little answers and you'll always see something new. This would be a great book to put in your church bag, keep in the car or have available at rest time for kids that don't nap. It's also great for reluctant readers because it's so interactive kids don't feel like their reading.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of Bible Detective to read and review on CCB from Kregel Publications. I was not required to have a positive review and no money exchanged hands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bible Detective: A Puzzle Search Book
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun and engaging

Date:November 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
S Scales
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My kids and I love these type of books! They are engaging for the whole family! Bible Detective is like a Where’s Waldo or I Spy except with a Bible theme. I searched those other two types of books to compare. I was disappointed to see that in looking at price and the amount of pages the other two are better deals. However, if you would prefer including some learning about the times and lives of people from the Bible, such as Moses and Jesus and Peter, then I believe you should give this book a chance. The illustrations are interesting and well done. The age level suggested is 7 and up, but with a parent’s help younger kids would really enjoy the challenge as well. There is even an answer key at the end of the book, just in case.
Pick a copy up and enjoy some fun, quality family time together!
Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from Kregel Publications in exchange for a fair and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bible Detective: A Puzzle Search Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great new Bible Study for young children!

Date:September 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does your child love those "search and find" books? Like Where's Waldo? How about something a bit more fun and challenging with an amazing message that is geared to young children about the Bible, both Old and New Testaments alike, with a built in Bible Study message? Sound like a great book for your child or one you know? Then this is the perfect book for them.
Bible Detective by Peter Martin and illustrated by Peter Kent, takes your children through animated pictures of some of the most amazing Bible Stories like Noah, the slaves of Egypt, Moses, the Law and the Tabernacle, the Death of Jesus, A Fishing Town on Lake Galilee just to name a few, and create a colorful picture along with a list of things to search for in the bigger picture, like a man chasing a donkey, spot 2 Roman soldiers patrolling the lakeside, find 6 baskets of fish, How many cattle are drinking by the lake? Spot Jesus teaching along with picture illustrating what those objects look like, so it's even for those children just learning to read to have fun with.
Along with each illustrated search and find picture in the book are scripture references so you can take your children on a biblical journey before working on the activity together. It draws a parallel to something your child can relate to and give you more opportunity to discuss what you just read together and draw you both deeper into God's Word. It also provides a time line so you can see how each event relates to the life and times discussed in the Bible so your child can get an understanding of how they are each related to specific times in the Bible.
At the end of the book are the answer guides so if you are struggling to come up with where something is in the bigger picture, this can guide you to provide some encouragement and clues to your child so they can find it themselves and feel a sense of accomplishment along with your help! Also a bonus search is to try and find the wily fox in every scene, much like the Waldo character! I think this is a great book that you can use to introduce your children to Bible study's in a fun and creative way.
I received Bible Detective by Peter Martin compliments of Kregel Publications for my honest review and couldn't wait to begin finding things on my own when it first arrived. Some things are easy to find and others require a bit more searching, so it's the perfect blend of fun for children from ages 5 and up. As you exercise your brain solving the puzzles, you and your child will become real experts on the fascinating setting of some of the Bible's greatest stories. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and can't wait to share this with my readers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.