Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well

Thomas Nelson Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well

Explore the realities of growing older with the renowned evangelist---and look at your later years from God's perspective! In what could be his most powerful message, Graham discusses the importance of facing life's transitions, making wise decisions, and understanding our glorious hope. You'll learn how to face your limitations and grow stronger in the midst of difficulties. 192 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.784 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(111 Reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (111 reviews)
5 stars
91
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
110 out of 11199%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well
Review 1 for Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Marjorie Baker
Location:Shermans Dale, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book for the elderly. I wish I had read this to share with my 95 yr old mother-in-law who just passed away in October 2013.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"Nearing Home" by Billy Graham

Date:September 30, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
In "Nearing Home," world-renowned evangelist, Billy Graham frankly shares his views about life and faith, from the vantage point of old age. Not surprisingly, he says that growing old has been, by far and wide, the greatest surprise of his life. Not even he, in all his wisdom, could have imagined what God had in store for him.
Billy Graham is confident that the Lord will not forsake him on the last lap of his long journey through life, as figuratively speaking, he boldly threshed the wheat in his younger days and now harvests the golden corn in his twilight years. He is growing old with grace as he sets his heart and mind on the Giver of grace.
Scripture is full of rich nuggets of grace in the lives of men and women, whom God called very late in life, very ordinary people who made the astounding discovery that the golden years can be the most rewarding and fulfilling, to be embraced as part of God's great plan for their lives.
In the introduction to the book, Thomas Nelson Publishers presents it so beautifully - "Billy Graham's life and ministry have been dedicated to the here and now, but always with a happy-ever-after in view....... He is humbled to have been called of God to faithfully proclaim the greatest message the world will ever hear: Jesus Christ came to earth to bring hope to a lost and dying world."
© Miriam Jacob
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nearing Home ~ Billy Graham

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is about growing old and preparing for your life in your senior years. Billy Graham tells about his life experiences and how GOD is using us each day in life for when we meet him in the end. It also has the Graham touch and explains that if you have not accepted Christ it is never too late and tells how to become saved. He uses scripture all through the book and his own life feelings to give examples of what GOD does in life. Billy talks about preparing for the end, by being sure you have a will, your investments, dealing with death of loved ones, when is really the right time for you to retire, making amends with those that have hurt you and many other situations that you deal with in your senior years.
I would recommend this book to be read by anyone that is 45 years and above. I think anyone can read this book but the younger people may not feel as connected as the older people may. I was enlightened by the way Billy Graham spoke and became aware of how to think of things in a different way and understand the way that GOD wants you to deal with everyday ups and downs. Makes you realize that life is really short and you need to prepare now.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Booksneeze group review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a legacy of finishing well

Date:June 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
tdae1234
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nearing Home
This is a book for adults, and perhaps especially for those in retirement years who follow Jesus, to read. Billy humbly and honestly shares the last chapters of his journey with readers. As through his life, Billy shares the Hope of the Gospel through Scripture and his life. It is appropriate for those in the sunset years to read and consider.
Though not in retirement or sunset years, I enjoyed this book. Through it’s pages, I was forced to confront what my legacy, what my final words and acts, what I would be remembered for. Billy weaved in grace and the Gospel throughout this book. His humility, love for Jesus and Scripture, and honesty was so apparent and appreciated. A worthwhile read.
I received this book from booksneeze,com for a review
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nearing Home By Billy Graham.

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
pkjsbooks
Location:West Virginia
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tried to read every book that Billy Graham has ever written, because he truly seems to be a man who has lived his life being about God's business. In Nearing Home he shares true stories, His and others have experienced as they have gotten older T.he first sentence had Billy Graham saying He never thought he would live to be as old as he is and jokingly said old age is not for sissies.He was amazed at the way God lead him to live the life he has been allowed to live. He now shares the knowledge that he finds comfort in the fact that God will not forsake him in his final stretch toward home. this book is comprised of 10 chapters and in each Mr Graham uses scripture and personal stories to speak to the reader.I can understand why this book was chosen 2012's book of the year.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:May 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Morganhorse
Location:Colville, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Billy Graham shares his deepest thoughts and gives simple, Biblical answers to many of the questions people contemplate as they age. I highly recommend the book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unsurpassed

Date:March 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mickey
Location:Huntsville, Tx
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr Graham, as always, makes his reflections come alive as he points out real solutions for real life situations.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sandra Gilbert
Location:Guilford, Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As someone who works for the Lord in an elder ministry, I am always looking for information to help me get on their level. Billy Graham has been my favorite source for spiritual growth and direction for many years. 'Nearing Home: Life, Faith and Finishing Well' gives me the tools to grow older gracefully and also be an encouragement to those I meet along the way.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Very boring

Date:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mamado
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Billy Graham is a hero of the faith and I have read other books by him. This book was a bit too repetitious. I thought maybe my 86 year old mother would enjoy it, but after reading it, I am doubtful. Was very disappointed with this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another great book from Billy Graham

Date:February 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
troutman
Location:Lexington, Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It met all my expectations. I gave the book to my 90 year old father. He is in the process of reading it. My 85 year old mother read it and thoroughly enjoyed it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is for everyone

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Barleed
Location:Jensen Beach, Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two copies of this book for Christmas presents to give to some older family members, but ended up reading quite a bit of the book before I wrapped it up. The book is written for everyone, no matter how old you are in physical years. I wish I had something like this book to read when I was in my 30's. Billy Graham tells it like it is..some very humorous stories, some are very touching..it's a good read, worth the time and it just might help to change the way you look at life, to live life well, to finish strong in God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Billy Graham makes a plea to an older generation..

Date:January 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Auntie M
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well by Billy Graham
Billy Graham makes a plea to an older generation not to retire from life in the book Nearing Home. He talks about his own personal revelations and struggles as he grows older and encourages others to use their golden years to honor the Lord. He touches on everything from influencing the impressionable around you to addressing your fading strength and building roots.
Seniors deal with a myriad of trials and struggles and Billy Graham addresses most of them in his book. He talks about depression and how feeling sick can turn you into a selfish person if you choose to focus on the circumstances in your life that are less than desirable. On the issue of money he tells them to make sure and not let their fears allow finances to become their master. On every issue he speaks as someone with personal experience. He opens up about his own personal struggles and what the Lord has taught him through them all.
I really appreciated the subject matter of Nearing Home. If the older generation quits serving then the generations to follow have no example to follow and what a shame that would be. There is just something beautiful about an older Christian leading by example. It is something special that cannot be found elsewhere!
My only criticism of this book is that each chapter seemed to go on a little to long. The format was confusing. It would seem like a chapter was summing up to a conclusion and then there would be a whole segment more on the issue. I eventually found it hard to get through a chapter due to this frustrating format. Other readers may not find the same to be true. I will say the content of this book is much needed and I have a great deal of respect for the author for not only addressing the subject but for using his own life as an example.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful book!!

Date:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marpax
Location:Grass Valley, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Billy Graham writes with such love for Christ, and such encouragement for those who are ageing, and can't do all the things that they used to-he affirms that there is still such value and influence that can be passed on to others. Look ahead to what is to come-truly the best!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very helpfull.

Date:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
saltwater
Location:Saline, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thank-you Dr. Graham for showing and teaching what it is to listen and live following Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

an honest view of old years

Date:January 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
jaila
Location:Bosnia-Herzegovina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Billy Graham gave an honest insight into the struggles and joys of old age. Lots of good thoughts to chew on, principles to live by and fun stories from his own life in the midst of them. I am still very young, but I am surrounded by old people. Billy's book helped me to understand them better. Also, it showed me what I need to start practicing now to become a godly and pleasant old person. High age shows what has been collected in the heart during lifetime.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Betty
Location:Yoakum, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm going to put the book in our church library.
I think our older members would like to read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well

Date:December 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gary M
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
He gives us a deeper view of his pass and now, what he is going through and how faith in God got him trough it all. A good book for young and old.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Guide to Growing Old

Date:December 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Elmertang
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Maybe I am too young to appreciate this book but I just could not get into it. Since I am 50+ years younger than Billy Graham, I think I read this book a few years too early. If I were to read this book again in about 20 years when I can retire, I may get more out of the book.
With that being said, I did not dislike the book at all. I found his take on growing older as being uplifting. I totally understood his views on getting older and “nearing home”. He did reiterate that we should not concentrate on death but on making our elder years count. When we are considered aged that we should not just sit back and watch the days roll by. Growing old does not mean giving up but to look at the future as a new road – not just an old road. He also wanted to let elders know that you should always keep your eyes on God even when you are getting closer to meeting him.
As a last note, I was never quite clear on whether or not this would be his last book. When I first started reading it,I felt like it was a sort of eulogy and goodbye. Maybe that what his intent the whole time.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from BookSneeze.com. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very enjoyable reading.

Date:September 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Granny
Location:Dothan, Al.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr.Billy Graham is a very respected man and this book did not disappoint me.Dr. Graham is a reflection of the God he serves and has served so well for decades.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nearing Home by Billy Graham, is good for all ages

Date:August 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
kimberjoy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this easy-to-read book, which is part memoir and part instruction, Billy Graham shares brief stories from his fascinating life, as well as insights about growing old, dealing with loss, and living out one’s latter years. Chapter titles like “Fading strength but standing strong” and “The impact of hope” reflect the positive encouragement shared by Graham in this, his 9th decade of life.
My favorite part of Nearing Home is the key scripture and often whimsical quote at the beginning of each short chapter, which includes such gems as “Don’t resent growing old. Many are denied the privilege.” Graham backs up his points with relevant Bible verses, interesting research, and helpful anecdotes.
I think anyone can benefit from reading this wise and enjoyable book, but especially those who need an extra boost as they begin to slow down and struggle with the aging process. I was definitely challenged to face each decade with hope, humility, and a hunger to learn more and live a life full of faith and service to the very end.
“So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith.” –Col 2:6-7
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.