Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FaithWords Saying It Well: Touching Others with Your Words

FaithWords Saying It Well: Touching Others with Your Words

SAYING IT WELL is a practical, easy, and unique book on becoming an effective and persuasive speaker, teacher, and conversationalist. While most books on mastering the art of speaking take a very similar approach, mainly presenting philosophy, technique, and the how-to-do-it, SAYING IT WELL will make it personal and keep it realistic.

The author will write in first person, not unlike a presciptive memoir, where he tells his own story of his journey in how he became a world class communicator. Yet, he'll stay focused on the subject and deliver the how-to, but in a personal, entertaining, vulnerable story format. He will lift the veil of his own struggles and the adventures he has been on in learning the craft so the reader can relate.

The author will share several foundational principles regarding how to communicate, from preparing for a speech, organizing thoughts, filtering out the superfluous and focusing on the important, overcoming fears, how to grab the listener's attention, deliver in a convincing manner...and frankly, how and when to stop.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Saying It Well: Touching Others with Your Words
Review 1 for Saying It Well: Touching Others with Your Words
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My husband loves this book.

Date:September 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linda Stouffer
Location:Bremerton, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband is studying for the ministry and is learning all he can from those who have been there before him. He is reading this book along with his other study books...and says it gives him much insight and tips to help in ministry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Saying It Well: Touching Others with Your Words
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent book

Date:August 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Karen Brocco-kish
Location:OH
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this practical book. It gives useful tips on speaking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Saying It Well: Touching Others with Your Words
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book!

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
James Ruberg
Location:Burlington, IA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't say enough about "Saying it Well!" This is an excellent book that every preacher and public speaker should have. Chuck shares his call to the ministry and how he got involved in preaching. He shares some of the tough decisions he had to make in order to follow the Lord's leading. His insight and experience in sermon preparation from beginning to end is superb! One of the main points he makes in preaching is to strive for simple ways to apply the truth! I loved this book and I wish it would have been available 34 years ago when I started preaching!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Saying It Well: Touching Others with Your Words
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The is a manual as well as a biography

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mattmanticus
Location:alaska
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chuck Swindoll has done it again! This book is a manual to effective communication as well as a biography. His authentic style and humor inspires as it delivers what it says. You WILL say it well if you devour what this book offers as food for great communication. This is one you will re-read and write notes in. Buy it for a friend, but keep your copy!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Saying It Well: Touching Others with Your Words
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
PASTOR
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS IS TRULY A WONDERFUL WRITING FROM CHUCK SWINDOL
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Saying It Well: Touching Others with Your Words
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Deal For the Money

Date:April 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Slomo
Location:Apex, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful advice and counsel for the pastor and the Sunday School Teacher.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Saying It Well: Touching Others with Your Words
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Resource for All Speakers

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wanda Costinak
Location:Ontario
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reading this book was like sitting down for coffee with a friend—a wise and knowing friend. Swindoll’s writing style is warm, conversational and direct, and it is obvious that he cares deeply about how the word of God is communicated—whether in the pulpit or at a meeting of business elites. Swindoll shares from his personal life the wealth of experience he had gained over decades in ministry, both successes and failures.
I am not a pastor (although I am married to one) and spend most of my public speaking time in front of children as a teacher. Despite this fact, I have gleaned many helpful tips from Saying it Well. Because Swindoll has been a pastor/teacher throughout his career, he writes of what he knows—the Biblical text. However, he takes the principles of each chapter and shows how they can be applied to speaking on a non-Biblical subject. What I appreciated most were the foundational principles shared in the Introduction and Chapter One. Here he encourages the reader to: know who you are, accept who you are, be who you are, and be sure of your calling. Without this foundation, the principles and tools given in the rest of the book will be on shaky ground. I strongly recommend this book to every pastoral student as well as to those who have been in the pulpit for years. It is also an excellent tool for public speakers who do not use the Bible as their subject matter. Saying it Well is sure to become a resource that will be pulled off the shelf again and again.
I give this book 5 stars out of 5.
I received this book free from FaithWords, a division of Hachette Book Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Saying It Well: Touching Others with Your Words
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book on communication!

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Public speaking is considered to be most people's biggest fears. Have you ever considered if there might be a simple way to get over the fear? I know I used to fear public speaking and even now know that perhaps I could easily improve on what I am talking about in order to make me a more efficient and well-liked public speaker.
In the novel, Saying It Well by Charles Swindoll, he walks you through how he has become a confident, successful and capable communicator through his step-by-step process. By using these tools found within the cover of this book, you can:
1. Make a strong first impression.
2. Position yourself as an expert in your field.
3. Speak with confidence.
4. Motivate people to action.
And even more than this, you'll also learn, and apply, three vital insights that will make a world of difference when you stand and speak with others:
1. Know who you are.
2. Accept who you are.
3. Be who you are.
Whether you are giving a speech, making a presentation, conducting a meeting, or simply talking one-on-one, these tried and true communication techniques are guaranteed to help you organize your thoughts and deliver your message - with confidence, style and great success.
I received Saying It Well by Charles R. Swindoll compliments of Faith Words, a division of Hachette Book Groups for my honest opinion and being a huge fan of the down home manner of Charles Swindoll's messages, I just knew I would benefit from the reading of this book. Charles uses his own experiences as a service man in the Marine Corps and feeling the calling of ministry on his life, to show how these principles has led him to become not only a successful pastor but also a businessman and well-respected author in his field. His easy going manner comes across eloquently in this book and shows how this can benefit anyone in their life.
He also shows that this is not something that happens overnight, but as we begin to apply the methods in the book we become more comfortable in what we need to do, the best and first step in this is preparation. When we are not prepared, no matter what we are asked, we will fumble or fail in our delivery of what we wanted to accomplish. Now after reading this book, I know what steps I can use to help me be better prepared to delivery what I would hope would be an unforgettable message when I need to speak in public. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.