Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale Entertainment At Home in Mitford-Audiobooks on CD

Tyndale Entertainment At Home in Mitford-Audiobooks on CD

A sleepy little town where old-fashioned values still prove themselves a remarkable antidote to modern dilemmas. Mitford's funny, unconventional and lovable characters come to life in this production that will touch, amuse and inspire you. Recorded in London with an all-star cast of talent from stage and screen, including Dean Jones, Betsy Blair and David Suchet.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for At Home in Mitford-Audiobooks on CD
Review 1 for At Home in Mitford-Audiobooks on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
AprilH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this Mitford book. It was very well done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for At Home in Mitford-Audiobooks on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Please do more!

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nonny
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I love this dramatization of Karon's first Mitford book! Please consider producing more! I find all of her books enjoyable and the radio production brought the characters to life!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for At Home in Mitford-Audiobooks on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anne Randle
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy listening, lighthearted story with deep meaning when carefully considering the lives of the characters, especially the pastor. The characters really do become real.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for At Home in Mitford-Audiobooks on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Move to Mitford! (Or at least listen to it.)

Date:March 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth
Location:North Dakota
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Living in Mitford, through this wonderful dramatized audio-book, is like coming home. I connected with each one of the characters, who came to life through convincing and heartfelt acting, music and all the sound effects of our daily lives. It was like moving to a quaint town in the south and getting to know all the people who live there and who become your friends. I looked forward every night to when I'd listen to this book, and now that I am finished, I miss each character, as if I actually had known them. Maybe the author will write a sequel to this book, as I still want to listen to more!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for At Home in Mitford-Audiobooks on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great writing, Fantastic Narrative

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Babs
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read and listened to every one of Jans books and have only been disapointed by one. I haven't heard the Focus on the Family version but for those of you that haven't listened to John McDonough's narrations I beg you to please check one out from your local library. I have never heard anyone that can do so many voices in my life. When I am in the car I am laughing so hard that I pretend that I am on the car phone. Seems to me that he was created to do those characters of Mitford. When you finish a series it's like you have left family.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for At Home in Mitford-Audiobooks on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hope there's more to follow!

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
cmkahle
Location:Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
We loved this and as with all the Radio Theater CD's we've purchased over the years, we listen as a family. If one member of our family isn't in the car, we wait until we are all together for a trip of one sort or another before continuing with the story.
This one is wonderful and while I can get the books and we can all read them, I am hopeful that there will be more radio theater productions of the rest of the novels in this series just because it's so fun for us to listen to as a family.
Our car radio is so unused since we've discovered these FOTF Radio Theater CD's ... we also love Father Gilbert and hope there will be more from that series as well.
What would be even better is an XM station that plays nothing but Adventures in Odyssey and FOTF Radio Theater productions!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for At Home in Mitford-Audiobooks on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wendy Winans
For anyone who loves Focus on the Family Radio Theater these are a great find. We're not even through the first CD of the 6 hour set and we're already hooked. The characters are lovable and easy to fall in love with. Who wouldn't want to listen to 6 hours of Dean Jones!Top quality production and recording. Would highly recommend it to anyone who loves old time radio.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for At Home in Mitford-Audiobooks on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marion Worgull
I am enjoying every minute of listening to this audio book. Highly recommend it to everyone who enjoys remembering experiences of living in a small town.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for At Home in Mitford-Audiobooks on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Portia Hunstiger
This was a requested present for my husband. He is a truck driver and enjoys listening to stories. These stories draw you in and are so fun to listen to. They also have a great message of the value of everyday life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for At Home in Mitford-Audiobooks on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Art Shawen
The story is enjoyable and easy to listen to for all age groups! Makes for good listening while you travel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for At Home in Mitford-Audiobooks on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Suzette Speights
Absolutely love it! Never read the book, but the audio story is great. Sweet, down-home fun. Kind of reminds you of living in Mayberry. Actors have done a great job. This is one set I will be listening to over and over. Focus on the Family Radio Theatre dramas are great for while I'm working around the house. I also love The Chronicles of Narnia and The Life of Jesus. Keep them coming!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for At Home in Mitford-Audiobooks on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mari Vaughan
Awesome. Hearing the story acted out rather than read made it more interesting and meaningful. I love Jan Karon's writing style.I want to hear the entire series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for At Home in Mitford-Audiobooks on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Elaine Kolber
As I expected, this story from Focus the Family Radio Theatre and Jan Karon's Mitford series was great! Dean Jones has the perfect voice to play Father Tim. My husband even enjoyed listening, and our 12 hour car trip was a lot less of a bore. I only wish there were a sequel!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for At Home in Mitford-Audiobooks on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Pam
I have been listening to this audio book on my commute to and from work. It is so entertaining and makes the commute a joy. God has truly blessed Jan Karon with her ability to tell a story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for At Home in Mitford-Audiobooks on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ellie
I read the book first was a little disappointed that some of the characters and details were left out. But on the brighter side it explained details that were not in the book
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for At Home in Mitford-Audiobooks on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
kelly
What a fantastic series!! We listened to this all the way home from our Christmas celebration, a 6.5 hr. drive! All 6 of our children ages 3-17 enjoyed this, and talk about a quiet ride home :) Both my husband and I were wrapped up into the story also, so at 45 it held our attention too! Very highly recommended. We're hoping there is a part 2 to continue these adventures, so we're not left hanging at the ending! That was our only issue, it wasn't a clear ending as to whether it goes on or that's it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for At Home in Mitford-Audiobooks on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
Valarie J. Gunther
Fantastic! I loved this book and cant wait to listen again just like a favorite book reread or re-listening is always a pleasure. I only wish there were more! Thank you Focus On the Family!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.