Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Focus on the Family The First Five Years of Marriage: Launching a Lifelong, Successful Relationship

Focus on the Family The First Five Years of Marriage: Launching a Lifelong, Successful Relationship

What are the keys to a strong, lifetime marriage? Thousands of couples asked the same question and Focus on the Family's trusted counseling staff answered with this essential marriage reference. Find wise advice to such questions as, "How can I change my spouse?," "What about birth control?" and "Are we falling out of love?" With easy to find, biblical answers to some of the toughest relationship questions, you'll find this practical guide one you'll refer to often.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for The First Five Years of Marriage: Launching a Lifelong, Successful Relationship
Review 1 for The First Five Years of Marriage: Launching a Lifelong, Successful Relationship
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent: Well thought out

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cameron
Location:Jacksonville, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very impressed with the depth, detail and spot on accuracy of what couples in their first five years of marriage need to know.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The First Five Years of Marriage: Launching a Lifelong, Successful Relationship
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent review for marriage - pre/post wedding

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cliff
Location:Boston IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pastor - marriage of young couple - gave book
book was recommended by Focus on the Family
Reviewed book - will recommend every marriage I perform - one of best I've ever seen - wish I had it during past years/decades.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The First Five Years of Marriage: Launching a Lifelong, Successful Relationship
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I use it for marriage counseling. Great resource!

Date:July 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Doug
Location:Green Cove Springs, FL.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Covers so many subjects with a practical christian perspective. Desperately needed. Thank you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The First Five Years of Marriage: Launching a Lifelong, Successful Relationship
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tamara
My husband and I bought this book on our honeymoon and it has been a wonderful resource for us. We have referred to it many times and have enjoyed the vast variety of topics covered in it. It is definitely a resource to help develop and build a strong marriage. I would highly recommend this book! :-)
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The First Five Years of Marriage: Launching a Lifelong, Successful Relationship
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
DebbieOlson
Excellent resource book for those who are providing pre marital counseling. Also would make a good gift for engaged or newly married couple.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The First Five Years of Marriage: Launching a Lifelong, Successful Relationship
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cecilia Ondoy-Zaballero
I gave this as a wedding present to a couple who had a been previously married to different people in the past, in the hope that this 2nd marriage for them will be the last one and that will last forever.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The First Five Years of Marriage: Launching a Lifelong, Successful Relationship
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Great Adventure Harvest Church
I only got to review the book before giving it as a gift, but I think it is awesome. Very much needed around any home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The First Five Years of Marriage: Launching a Lifelong, Successful Relationship
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cassandra Ledford
My fiance and I are a whopping 17 and 18 years old, so needless to say, he and I both are very open to any Christian advice we could get a hold of. When we received our copy of THE FIRST FIVE YEARS OF MARRIAGE, we both were so excited to begin reading it. This book has been so helpful as far as our expectations for marriage, including everything from finances to family planning. Not only is it a resource for us now, as we plan our wedding, but it will also be of reference whenever we have been married for a while. I would dare say that this book will also be helpful for us far past our first five years together. My fiance and I are very pleased with what we have read in this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The First Five Years of Marriage: Launching a Lifelong, Successful Relationship
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Michael C Flory
This book is more of a reference book, although it can be read straight through if you wanted to. It has over 100 topics that come up in the course of a new marriage. The authors attempt to answer the challenges presented in a practical way including giving examples of actual relationships. A good reference book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.