Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Creative Correction: Extraordinary Ideas for Everyday Discipline

Tyndale House Creative Correction: Extraordinary Ideas for Everyday Discipline

If you've tried everything and your child is still more Billy the Kid than Billy Graham, it's time to read Creative Correction by Lisa Whelchel. Wife, mom, homeschooler and actress, Lisa Whelchel offers hundreds of refreshing ways to discipline children. Organized for busy parents, it's full of ideas for those times when you don't know what to do. A Focus on the Family resource. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.474 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
6 out of 875%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Creative Correction: Extraordinary Ideas for Everyday Discipline
Review 1 for Creative Correction: Extraordinary Ideas for Everyday Discipline
This review is fromCreative Correction - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book!

Date:October 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jena
Location:Valleyview, AB
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book, but I was looking for some help with my twin 2 year old girls, and the book is geared for older kids that can reason better, and for teens. I will keep the book and definitely check it out again when my kids are older, and I think it will be really helpful, but right now, not much help, except to know I am not alone, and my kids are normal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Creative Correction: Extraordinary Ideas for Everyday Discipline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous book

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wallky
Location:Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this book. It is packed with lots of great ideas for how to handle various issues with kids. It is a easy read. I really like the toolbox sections which have great practical ideas. I love Lisa's creativity and her humilty. I have had this book for four years now and still refer to it regulalry for advice.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Creative Correction: Extraordinary Ideas for Everyday Discipline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

definitely a must if you have children

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
stephie90a10b
Location:Parsons, KS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this has excellent, simple ideas, and you will probably find yourself saying, "why didnt I think of that"....not only do you get the discpline ideas, but you have scripture to share with your child and what God has to say about it. Excellent book!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Creative Correction: Extraordinary Ideas for Everyday Discipline
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A bridge too far.....

Date:June 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Andrea
Location:Europe
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I started out as areal Lisa-Fan and love her "the busy mom´s guide to.." books, but just like the previous critical reviewer, I don´t agree with Lisa´s "corrective tactics".
As a mom of three(a challenging ADD-son included) I can understand where she is coming from....I just don´t agree.
I have never, never, never used physical punishment.
And there were some challenging moments....but it is so important to keep patient, especially with an ADD child.
The kids mirror our own mood and attitude and that should be one of patience and love.
If you put them under physical, or psychological pressure, they will obey....but it is a forced obedience.
I wish Jesus could give a review on this book.....
I am proud to say that my kids are beautiful, happy teenagers now, which brings new challenges.....nobody is perfect.
My ADD-child is functioning very well, at a normal secondary school, without any medication.
There is a different way!
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Creative Correction: Extraordinary Ideas for Everyday Discipline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A useful and Biblical book full of ideas

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
M Stewart
Location:Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I previewed this book from our library, started taking notes, and realized that I wanted to write down so much that I might as well buy the book! Lisa's ideas are Scripture-based and are designed to reach the heart of a child. They are not quick remedies, although she does include some disciplinary measures which would be useful to get a child's attention quickly and memorably. Then there are many ideas for on-going discipline. This would be a solid book to use to create your own "If...then" chart of behaviors and consequences for your children. That way, you don't always have to think of a new correction each time your child demonstrates a negative attitude or action. This book encouraged me to have more fun with my children, to continue to hold them to high, Biblical standards, and to be more consistent in disciplining them. It has helped me to grow in my character so that I can more positively teach my children.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Creative Correction: Extraordinary Ideas for Everyday Discipline
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Horrible parenting advice

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
momof3
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm sorry, but I just don't understand how this book has so many good reviews. The advice in Ms Welchel's book is just plain wrong. In fact, it is borderline abusive. And the fact that she claims to be doing God's will and following biblical commandments honestly makes me ill. Just because "the rod" is a term found often in the Bible does not mean that it is referring to physical punishment. "The rod" is a tool used to guide sheep. We are called to guide our children as a shepherd guides his flock. The shepherd doesn't use his staff to hit his sheep, nor will I use it to hit my children. My children behave and mind me beautifully and I have never had to resort to scare tactics, physical punishment, embarrassment or hot sauce to come to this point (especially as toddlers)!!!!
If you are searching for a helpful discipline book, DO NOT rely on Creative Corrections.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Creative Correction: Extraordinary Ideas for Everyday Discipline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT BOOK!

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angel
Location:Enterprise, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has a great index to look up issues you may be having with your child, as well as prayers to pray with your child & scriptures to read. It is a great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Creative Correction: Extraordinary Ideas for Everyday Discipline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sara Thiessen
Location:ontario
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From what i have read thus far it is very good. Im looking forward to using some of her ideas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Creative Correction: Extraordinary Ideas for Everyday Discipline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
April Harvey
Good book with lots of ideas. Easy to read fully of anecdotal stories to help understand fully what Lisa is saying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Creative Correction: Extraordinary Ideas for Everyday Discipline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elaine De Herrera
Just finished reading this book. It was easy to read, it had humor, and some good ideas. I'm actually trying some of the ideas in my Children's Ministry Setting and I have tried some with my toddler. I like that the anecdotes and examples were real and any mother or parent could relate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Creative Correction: Extraordinary Ideas for Everyday Discipline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Southerngirl
LOVE this book! She has so many wonderful ideas. Often as parents we lack the creative ways to correct. This is a great book, and one every parent or every parent-to-be should have! This is a 5 star book & a great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Creative Correction: Extraordinary Ideas for Everyday Discipline
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Erica Rhoads
So far there are lots of practical steps to encourage your children to do what is right not just outwardly, but from a heart that wants to serve God.I would recommend the book, especially for parents with preschool and elementary children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Creative Correction: Extraordinary Ideas for Everyday Discipline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sue Nardino
Funny, clever and insightful! I will definitely be referencing this one for years to come!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Creative Correction: Extraordinary Ideas for Everyday Discipline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sandi Hinds
This is a great book, every parent and child care worker should have this on thier reading list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Creative Correction: Extraordinary Ideas for Everyday Discipline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Ann Cook
I loved this book. Lots of really fun ideas for correction...which in my house used to be lots of yelling and repeating myself. While I don't like all of her suggestions, there are plenty that I can't wait to try and several that I have already tried...and they work on my kids (a 2 1/2 and a 4 year old). It is good to know that someone else out there has the same parenting struggles I do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Creative Correction: Extraordinary Ideas for Everyday Discipline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ileana
Love this book! It definitely gives you a biblical perspective about raising godly children in this world. It definitely has creative ways to correct children. It is a must in any christian parenting library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Creative Correction: Extraordinary Ideas for Everyday Discipline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dawn Ewing
Pulling your hair out? Catching yourself sounding just like your mom? How many times have I said "how many times"? NO MORE! This book gives you just the right tools to help correct behaviors. There is a toolbox for every situation. You can modify most of this for any age from toddlerhood to teens. I purchased this book years ago and still find myself going back to figure out what to do next. My kids groan when the book comes out because they know things are about to change.I've even purchased it for baby gifts. Yes, baby gifts, what better gift than a healthy, happy child with parents that are healthy and happy? What better book to have in your arsenal? I mean reference books.If you want a peaceful home with loving kids then this book can help.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Creative Correction: Extraordinary Ideas for Everyday Discipline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Karri Headley
I bought this book after listening to her speak on James Dobson's show. This is the best purchase I have every made. It not only has good ideas but it is a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Creative Correction: Extraordinary Ideas for Everyday Discipline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
Sheri
This is a great book. It's well written to hold your interest and there are so many great ideas to deal with discipline.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.