Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale Entertainment Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #1: Rome If You Want To, DVD

Tyndale Entertainment Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #1: Rome If You Want To, DVD

Never been to Rome? You'll feel like you have after you finish Rome if You Want To.! Follow tour guide Dave Stotts on a fast-paced whirl through the Eternal City as he gets lost, explores Palatine Hill, explains the Arch of Titus and it's connection to the 70 AD destruction of Jerusalem, connects the Circus Maximus to auto racing, and finishes up with the Punic Wars and the Coliseum, including a fight with a costumed interpreter. 3 episodes on DVD, approximately 30-34 minutes each.
Average Customer Rating:
4.824 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #1: Rome If You Want To, DVD
Review 1 for Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #1: Rome If You Want To, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for car!

Date:May 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:Tennessee
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this whole set for my 8 & 11 year old children to watch in the van. They love them, as do I. Thirty minute show that is educational and funny enough to hold their attention. Some of the humor is for an older child, but they will catch it as they get older. That's the great part, they ASK to watch these again.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #1: Rome If You Want To, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ties History to Scripture

Date:July 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ben Lundquist
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Funny without being stupid, informative & engaging. I love it when history is tied to Scripture, and this dvd does just that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #1: Rome If You Want To, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Entertaining and Engaging

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
onwingsofeagles
Location:Snohomish, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lots of information with great comic relief. Our whole family ages 8 to 64 (grandparents included) were delighted to watch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #1: Rome If You Want To, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Recommend when studying Roman History

Date:August 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
BookMama
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got more out of this in an evening than how ever many years in public school. This is a very unique and entertaining style to use for teaching. I will probably use this as our introduction. This series will be prefect for ADD/ADHD-ers becasue of its action-packed format and engaging style. There are many subtle changes in the presentation (humor is used, travel scenes, historical artwork and documents are shown, compare old and modern historical scenes) techniques which help the materials come to life and have more meaning, as well as breaking it up for students who have a hard time with the self-discipline of being still. Personally, I especially appreciate the comparisons of old and modern historical scenes or items.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #1: Rome If You Want To, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Peggy
Location:Nashville
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This series is the best way to get involved with real history. It inspires you to find other information and explore the significant Christian influence in our world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #1: Rome If You Want To, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jessica Strom
Wonderful series! Exciting way to introduce history with a Christian world view and to let kids know that history can be fun!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #1: Rome If You Want To, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeannie Burrus
This is a wonderful DVD! Dave Stotts combines solid history (secular and Biblical) with his trademark humor. The result is a treat to watch! My 10 year old daughter and I are both learning a lot. We purchased the entire set and are enjoying our driving tour through history :-)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #1: Rome If You Want To, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kelly Doerksen
Very engaging episodes. I love the pace and the content. Dave really made it a lot of fun to watch.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #1: Rome If You Want To, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judy Wyzlic
This DVD has some great information, but starts out kind of slow, with him driving around. Since I have very limited time in my religious ed class that I wanted to use this in, this part I may need to fast forward through.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #1: Rome If You Want To, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wilma Sheffer
I truly enjoyed this DVD. Dave Stotts is "funny" and knowledgeable about his subject. Young people through adults will enjoy and benefit from this DVD. I want more. Is there a #2, #3, #4 coming forth?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #1: Rome If You Want To, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2009
I bought the entire Drive Thru series for use at a school for missionary kids in Asia, it was requested by teachers. I am impressed by what I have seen of the series, but can't comment more specifically.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #1: Rome If You Want To, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Delina Sherrod
Rome just gets you started for the rest of this series. I still highly reccomend it! for the whole family!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #1: Rome If You Want To, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Zion Church
We are currently doing a lesson series on church history with our Gr 3-6. The videos have been really informative and very accurate. My son who is 11 has all the videos memorized and is like a historical encyclopedia now. One caution is that there are some pictures of naked statues. We just cover the projector for that 2 second spot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #1: Rome If You Want To, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Clifton Carter
All episodes were presented in an enjoyable way and I personally learned some historical facts that were very interesting. I highly recommend the viewing of this DVD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #1: Rome If You Want To, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Maryrose Torigian
This DVD was fantastic. I watched it with my children and we all enjoyed it very much. We learned so much! I highly recommend it for family viewing and it is a must for all church libraries and an excellent resource for all Youth Groups. I could watch this over and over again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #1: Rome If You Want To, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
Cyndi
This DVD was AWESOME! We just visited Rome a week before viewing and then to put history and the Bible to all the places we had been was great. All of my children enjoyed the humor and upbeat of this documentary. However, the history was over my 2nd grader's head, but great for my 6th and 8th.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #1: Rome If You Want To, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2006
Customer Avatar
Mrs. Vickers
This DVD introduces some of the major events and rulers in the history of the Romans. History scenes with pictures are interposed in between funny scenes of a guy touring the actual sites in Rome. Our 3rd and 6th grade children thought this was a funny DVD and have watched it quite a few times already. The history was a little bit more than what our 3rd grader would normally sit through, but the DVD presented it in such a way as to hold his attention. This DVD does a nice job presenting a pagan culture in a Christian worldview. We are looking forward to seeing the other DVD's in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.