Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Focus on the Family Molder of Dreams DVD

Focus on the Family Molder of Dreams DVD

Master storyteller Guy Doud shares what it's like to grow up with all the inadequacies that cripple a child emotionally - obesity, an alcoholic mother, financial hardship and even being the last one to be chosen for kickball. As an adult, he's overcome his upbringing to receive the national Teacher of the Year award and now spends his time sharing with audiences around the country about the impact one person can have in effecting another person's life to mold their hopes - their dreams.
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 1794%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Molder of Dreams DVD
Review 1 for Molder of Dreams DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent dvd for all teachers

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
jeraldy2
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie has lots of humor, insights, and love shared by a man who has truly learned what it takes to teach his students the general courses of study but also how to rise above your circumstances and how to help others along the way. Great for those studying to become teachers even for a Sunday School class.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Molder of Dreams DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent film; I highly recommend it

Date:August 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
stormy
Location:Springfield, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This film is a "must see" for anyone working with young people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Molder of Dreams DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of my favorite movies!

Date:July 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
AforJesus
Location:WY
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Molder of Dreams! It is such an inspirational movie that everybody, no matter what age, should watch! Even if you are not a teacher, still watch this movie... it will change your perspective and possibly your life!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Molder of Dreams DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must see for all teachers who love kids! Great!

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Betty J Castle
Location:TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Long ago, I wore my VHR Video out! It was one of our families' favorites while my sons were growing up. I was so excited to see that it is finally in DVD format. Now my grandson and I can enjoy it! Such a touching story. If I were a school principal, it would be required seeing for all teachers in my school. Every teacher should see this DVD! Priceless!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Molder of Dreams DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lillian
I first heard this presentation years ago and have never forgotten it. My daughter is going to be a teacher and I know she will relate to Guy Doud's heart for kids. It is excellent and enduring.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Molder of Dreams DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Help others with the tools God gives to you:LOVE

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Berthy
Location:Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we only can be sensitive to the pain of others, when we have being in same or similar situation, and when we develop a thankful heart toward our Father God who walk with us and provide us resources to overcame that season in the wildernes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Molder of Dreams DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compassion: it's what makes teachers great!

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeff LeMaster
Location:Glens Falls, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In 1986, Guy Dowd was honored by President Ronald Reagan as the National Teacher of the Year, a honor meant to reflect positively upon the quality professional educators in America. In 1989, Guy linked up with Focus on the Family to film this moving presentation.
As the film begins, we see Mr. Dowd in front of a classroom; minutes later, by means of a creative segue, he is standing before a live audience sharing the lessons he has learned as a teacher, and as a follower of Jesus.
The thrust of the video is that each student is a precious creation of God, and the particulars of the quadratic formula pale in importance to the struggles that each of us faces in life.
SO WHAT?
“You only love Jesus as much as you love those whom you love the least.” Guy Dowd challenges us all to look below the surface, and see others as God’s special creations, each with needs, desires, and an eternal soul.
Matthew 9:36 When [Jesus] saw the crowds, He had compassion for them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Molder of Dreams DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is great

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Della Fisk
Location:Wisconsin
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This is a DVD more people should view and help to understand the acting out that so many people are doing, not only teens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Molder of Dreams DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This video should be required viewing.

Date:July 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
detailstuff
Location:Norco, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This video is so well done and the content should be viewed by every parent and teacher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Molder of Dreams DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product, great return on investment

Date:July 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:www.play-it-through.com
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I had given out all of my copies. I am writing a "teachers guide" that goes with a curriculum focused on adolescents and drug & alcohol use. This requires a special kind of teacher and this DVD shows just how important a caring teacher is to students.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Molder of Dreams DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
alyB
Location:Fullerton, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my 4th or 5th viewing. It is a film to own and loan as a reminder of how we are all teachers teaching something one way or the other.
Guy Doud has a story to tell and a gift for telling it and although it is his story - it's not about him!
We should all be so unselfish, kind and thoughtful.
~Alice Baker
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Molder of Dreams DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Very Audience Specific

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Georgirl
Location:NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Definetly dated, although ideas are always tried and true. I was very concerned when I saw the picture of this DVD that it would be appropriate for a teacher friend. It looked so out dated. Yes the film part was a bit, but the ideas, thoughts, methods, and what kids think and go through haven't changed much. They may have taken on different forms, but I think the encouragement to teachers and why they teach are in this video. I said no to reccommending to a friend as it is definetly audience specific, Teachers, Counsellors and Parents.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Molder of Dreams DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
12gkids
Location:Idaho
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had the Molder Of Dreams in video form for a number of years and decided I wanted to get it in DVD. The price was very affordable and as always the story is great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Molder of Dreams DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
christy
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We share this program with anyone who has anything to do with young people! It is so inspiring and helps adults get a healthy perspective of a young persons life! We have watched it for years and I believe it has helped our now adult kids face challenges in a healthier way. We have many secret codes from this video.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Molder of Dreams DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent DVD, a must see!

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wendy Jones
Location:Putnam County, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love to share good DVDs. This is one everyone must see. We all need to be more sensative to others. We never know what God has in store for those we meet or have contact with. Guy Doud has a way of challenging us to love and encourage others in Molder of Dreams.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Molder of Dreams DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

inspiring

Date:February 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jill
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie is very inspiring! Would recommend it to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Molder of Dreams DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great film.

Date:December 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
James Ong
Location:Singapore
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This film is an excellent resource for training Beginning Teachers as well as for bringing the meaning of teaching back into the teaching profession. Strongly recommend this for all who have been called into teaching but had lost the love of teaching along the way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Molder of Dreams DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gene Mcgee
a superb presentation on the tremendous effect we can have as teachers, mentors, coaches, etc. in our daily contact with young people
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Molder of Dreams DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Saniel G Pura
This video is a must for those involve in ministry, teaching or whatever. It will remind you that whatever you have gone through in the past: good or bad or even painful, that God has not forgotten you, that He loves & cares for you. If you will only let Him to touch you, things will turn out to be for your good. As the scriptures says: He can make all things work together for good to those who love God. And that God can use you to be a blessing to others.This video also can remind us, that God uses people to let us know that He is there. People who can lead us to the right path, in Guy's context teachers.I highly recommend this video! I say, watch it and your life will not be the same!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Molder of Dreams DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
C. Peter Zuroff
I watch this video whenever I hit a low spot and question why I became a mathematics teacher. Guy's presentation is powerful and reminds us that teaching is about the children. One of my college professors showed me part of this video 14 years ago when I was studying to become a teacher. I have since purchased several copies for myself and donated copies to two school libraries so that others can benefit from Guy's insight and wisdom. I highly recommend this video.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>