Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Focus on the Family Your Child: Essentials of Discipline, DVD Parenting Seminar

Focus on the Family Your Child: Essentials of Discipline, DVD Parenting Seminar

Essentials of Discipline tackles the subject of discipline in a way that only Dr. James Dobson can. Based on his time-tested best sellers, you know the content has substance, but this video seminar also includes animation and man-on-the-street interviews. Lessons from Dr. Dobson have never been this fun!Experience Essentials of Discipline at your own pace with the Home Edition DVD set, featuring a convenient guide that helps you focus on key concepts while watching the DVDs. Licensed for home use only. 3 DVDs. 230 minutes.

Sessions:

  • Session 1: Why Your Child Needs Discipline
  • Session 2: Irresponsibility vs. Defiance
  • Session 3: Anger vs. Action
  • Session 4: Finding Balance in Discipline
  • Session 5: To Spank or Not to Spank
  • Session 6: Compliant vs. Defiant
  • Session 7: Changing Discipline as Your Child Grows, Part 1
  • Session 8: Changing Discipline as Your Child Grows, Part 2
  • Session 9: Protecting the Spirit
  • Session 10: The Strong-Willed Adolescent, Part 1
  • Session 11: The Strong-Willed Adolescent, Part 2
  • Session 12: The Ultimate Priority
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Your Child: Essentials of Discipline, DVD Parenting Seminar
Review 1 for Your Child: Essentials of Discipline, DVD Parenting Seminar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Essentials of Discipline are Truly Essential

Date:August 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor Neil Culbertson
Location:Tacoma, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this resource for lending to members of my congregation and also in community settings with great effect. The Essentials of Discipline is James Dobson at his best. The materials lend well to discussion and the animated vignettes add to the effectiveness and quality of the presentation. I highly recommend this resource for parenting classes and for recommending to new parents.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Your Child: Essentials of Discipline, DVD Parenting Seminar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best small group parenting material I've used

Date:August 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a pastor I've led a lot of small groups and taught a lot of classes on parenting over the years. For a small group setting, this is the best material I've seen. Very practical and enjoyable. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Your Child: Essentials of Discipline, DVD Parenting Seminar
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bonnie
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The speaker has such an accent he is hard to understand. His teaching is great but it takes many "listens" to understand what he is saying...at least for many of us. I wasn't prepared for this. Teaching is great though.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Your Child: Essentials of Discipline, DVD Parenting Seminar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great product

Date:February 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gina
Location:Cincinnati, Oh
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using this in a small group setting. Everyone loves it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Your Child: Essentials of Discipline, DVD Parenting Seminar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommended Parenting Tool!!

Date:October 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
RachelF
Location:Chesapeake, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I both enjoyed this parenting DVD. We were having trouble merging our parenting styles to effectively train and discipline our toddler. This DVD allowed us to watch the sessions together at our own pace and talk about what we agreed with and disagreed with. By the end, we had--and have--a much clearer gameplan about how to deal with our daughter. I love that Dr. Dobson highlights the key points from his parenting books, which I had read but my husband hadn't. Also, my husband was reluctant to watch at first because he thought it would be dry and boring. However, at the end he agreed that the information was helpful, engaging and kept his attention. I HIGHLY recommend this DVD seminar to all parents.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Your Child: Essentials of Discipline, DVD Parenting Seminar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laura Miller
This is a great set of DVD's. I love it for the preschool age especially. It just encourages me that we can raise good kids that are fun to be around.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Your Child: Essentials of Discipline, DVD Parenting Seminar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sherry Zmuda
Dr. Dobson addresses this serious subject with a lot of humor. I love the little cartoons that play at the beginning of the DVD; they really drive the point home. I think the suggestions on these DVDs will make me a better parent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Your Child: Essentials of Discipline, DVD Parenting Seminar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joshua Leets
Your Child: Essentials of Discipline DVD series is well put together. As parents of 3 children, 3 and under, it is nice to have the seminars only a couple minutes each. It is encouraging and informative. I would recommend this resource to parents seeking encouragement, insight on their children's development, or some additional sound experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Your Child: Essentials of Discipline, DVD Parenting Seminar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Heather Henderson
Every parent has had at least one moment when they've asked themselves, "What am I going to do with my child?" This video series answers that question. With Dr. Dobson's typical wit and compassion, he passes along sound Biblical principles for raising our children. Anyone who tells you that kids don't come with an instruction manual hasn't read the Bible. It's full of instructions for raising a Godly child, and this video series helps you figure that out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Your Child: Essentials of Discipline, DVD Parenting Seminar
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
K.P.
Great series! Lots of practical tips & demonstrations on child discipline.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Your Child: Essentials of Discipline, DVD Parenting Seminar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rev Richard Beatty
Excellent material with a great presentation by Dr. James Dpbson plus the interesting cartoons.My group of parents love it and so do 1.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.