Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Focus on the Family Ministry Mutiny: a youth leader fable

Focus on the Family Ministry Mutiny: a youth leader fable

Discover radical principles for creating a vibrant student ministry. Author Greg Stier recreates the common pitfalls of reaching out to youth in this parable about the life of youth leader Ty. As Ty realizes the uphill battle he's facing, wise counsel steps in to guide Ty into a revolutionary way to motivate his youth in their faith. Walk away with powerful tools for ministers, lay leaders, and parents that will have you thinking in a fresh new way about equipping youth.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ministry Mutiny: a youth leader fable
Review 1 for Ministry Mutiny: a youth leader fable
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous book

Date:September 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carolb
Location:Uxbridge, ON
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A wonderful book about youth ministry. Solid principles couched in an easy-to-read 'story'. Everyone working with kids or youth should read this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ministry Mutiny: a youth leader fable
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rickylee75160
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For a fiction book it has a lot of great insights. Really opened my eyes not just toward youth ministry, but ministry in general.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ministry Mutiny: a youth leader fable
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Seek and You Will Find

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
Location:CA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not put this book down: I thought it was really good. It was easy reading. Ty, the main character in the book, made some great points. One statement he gave was in chp. 4, page 57. He said: "It's a post-modern world. And these teens aren't sure that a person can be sure about anything, and they do question everything." Because it's a society today that's "iffy" on everything -- I mean let's face it: questionable leadership, questionable integrity. (1 Cor. 3:10-15: If the foundations are shaky...), the list goes on.
The teens will struggle through their doubts. It's in the struggle they will find true faith. (Seek and you will find...). Ty also goes on to say: "It's healthy for them to wrestle through their doubts to their faith, just as the early disciples did." I think of Peter, Thomas, and more. It's through the struggle they find the truth. Many have.
Look at the agnostics and atheists that are now Christian, and authors, there are several.
I liked this book. I recommend it to any youth leader. It will enhance their ministry. It causes one to think, and gives good ideas. Ty had a shaking, as some of us will, if we truly want to reach the youth (Seek and you will find...). It's the kind of book your breeze through: it's good from beginning to end. That makes you think it's a good book. The author, Greg Stier, has got something here. Check this book out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ministry Mutiny: a youth leader fable
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Maria Bustamante
I totally loved everthing this book had. It gave me so many ideas for our youth ministry. Awesome!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ministry Mutiny: a youth leader fable
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pastor Danny
This is an excellent read for ALL church leaders. It points out the fallacies associated with "fads" and the like while building a solid case for genuine ministry that is Bible centered and practical in fulfilling the Great Commission. It not only speaks to the needs of youth ministry, but offers a challenge to all church ministries. My teenage daughters loved it, too, and have given copies to all their friends in other churches. Greg Stier gets it and so should we!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ministry Mutiny: a youth leader fable
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bea Martens
Great read, I recommend it to all youth/young adult leaders.I bought a few exstra and give them to our other church youth leaders.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ministry Mutiny: a youth leader fable
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lanita Boyd
This book has excellent ideas for engaging youth not just to participate but to really become part of the church and its ministry. If you want to go beyond parties and fun trips with the youth group and get your teens to respond from the heart, this book is a good handbook to have on hand and refer to frequently.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ministry Mutiny: a youth leader fable
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rosemary T. Watford
I am a youth leader at a church where we have lacked leadership for a great while. When I read this book, it gave me such great insight on how I might boost our youth department. Thanks Greg!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ministry Mutiny: a youth leader fable
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robert Ekis
Great book with thought provoking ideas. At the very least, it will get you thinking about how we do youth ministry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ministry Mutiny: a youth leader fable
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kenn Todd
This was a great book. Greg uses the same style as some of Andy Stanleys books with a narrative to flesh out the principles to get across. As a Student Pastor I could really relate to much in the book, the frustrations, the self doubts, the discouragement that can come in face of the overwhelming odds from inside and outside the church. If you enjoy D2S and follow Greg's ideas, then you will see so many of them summarized in this book. It will make you rethink some of you presuppositions and perceptions on Ministry. Pick up this book and commit Ministry Mutiny!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ministry Mutiny: a youth leader fable
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kenn Todd
This was a great book. Greg uses the same style as some of Andy Stanleys books with a narrative to flesh out the principles to get across. As a Student Pastor I could really relate to much in the book, the frustrations, the self doubts, the discouragement that can come in face of the overwhelming odds from inside and outside the church. If you enjoy D2S and follow Greg's ideas, then you will see so many of them summarized in this book. It will make you rethink some of you presuppositions and perceptions on Ministry. Pick up this book and commit Ministry Mutiny!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.