Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Halley's Bible Handbook

Zondervan Halley's Bible Handbook

Halley's Bible Handbook, the classic layperson's companion text, includes a concise Bible commentary, important discoveries in archaeology, related historical data, church history, maps, and more. It was born out of the conviction of Henry H. Halley that everyone ought to read the Bible daily. From its first edition, a small give-away booklet of 16 pages, it has grown into an 864-page "almanac" of biblical information, used regularly by hundreds of thousands of laymen, teachers, and ministers. It has been a continuous best-seller through the years.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Halley's Bible Handbook
Review 1 for Halley's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book, but not the 2000 edition I ordered

Date:January 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
RogerOL
Location:Davis, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Halley's Bible Handbook is one of the best books, period.
I ordered the 2000 edition in December, I believe, and received the 1964 edition a few weeks later.
I have re-ordered the 2000 edition.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Halley's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great supplementary book for bible study use!

Date:December 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
thebasslady
Location:Morris, Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
One of the ladies in my bible study had this book and we all decided it was so wonderful that we would all use it. We are now using it on a weekly basis and absolutely love it. It gives documented proof of everything in the bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Halley's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ashley Baner
Location:Gridley, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. We give them out in our upper class Sunday school class!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Halley's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent referrence

Date:April 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jim Brady
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The church history in the back is worth the price of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Halley's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Josh Selley
Location:Pennsylvania
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been familiar with Halley's handbook for a while now and finally purchased one of my own. It's an excellent tool to be used in Bible study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Halley's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has always been dependable

Date:March 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Angelicus
Location:Lansing, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This handbook of the Bible has always been valuable to me...it was instrumental in my education after excepting Christ many years ago....and it is just as dependable today as it was them. If there is a book that is necessary next to the Bible this is it....This is a commentary on the Bible, the History of the Church...and also include "The Habits of Bible Reading" which helped me as a baby Christian to stay on track just as it does to day...this is the addition you need to go with you Bible before any other Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Halley's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mike T
Location:Albuquerque NM
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly as it is advertised. Very happy with this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Halley's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A monumental work!!

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
meathead
Location:Tennessee
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Halley's Handbook will amaze any student of the Bible, with it's documented, undisputed proof of everything written in the Gospels. I am left wondering about the lifestyle of the author, that allowed him to be able to read & study the Bible thru' 100 times during his lifetime of teaching & ministry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Halley's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
EbeV
Location:Adair Village, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like using this book. The illustrations and the notes are good.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Halley's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Molyn
Location:Washington, DC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a must-have in one's arsenal of study items of the Bible. Great tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Halley's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Betty Mcmahan
A MUST buy! Archaeological, Bibical, History, photos, maps, outlines, books of the Bible in order, leading thought of each book of the Bible, summary of discoveries, dead sea scrolls expained, Bibical places discussed, index of people, history of the life of the author, Dr. Henry H. Halley are a few of the vast examples found in this timeless treasure. Small, compact and an excellent tool for researching facts found in the Bible. Mine is a hardback and I use it every day along with my Bible. Easy to read, well laid out, simple enough even a child can understand the language. A book that should be in every home in the USA. Would recommend it for any one who is interested as a serious student of the word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Halley's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Anderson
Excellent Bible handbook! Not only am I using this in my pastoral studies, my husband who is a veteran Sunday School teacher, has found it to be a most welcome and useful reference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Halley's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
David Webster
found this book to be of value to my studies and will us to write sermons in the future
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Halley's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jan Guzinski
A friend loaned me a copy of Halley's Handbook to the Bible...it is one of the most interesting, factual books I have ever read! I had to have a copy for myself and I also ordered one for my son & a friend of mine! This book helps me to more clearly understand the Bible and it is exciting to know that Archaeology has proven the Bible true against what its critics have said! Sincerely, Jan Guzinski
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Halley's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Briana Nuzzo
Great resource and companion aide for any study of the Bible. I really like it and will get a lot of use out of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Halley's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judy Fairey
It is probably one of the most helpful books for ALL Christians who Love to study the Word. This is the 3rd one I have bought over the past 37 years from you. I love the store and the people who work there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Halley's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Randy Hampton
Great book. I should have bought it years ago. This is the easiest, most informative book on the history of the Bible books I have used. A great addition to library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Halley's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jacki Burgess
This book is a requirement for our "How To Study The Bible For Your Self" class. It was one of the Instructor's top recommended tools.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Halley's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
RGC
The best way to describe this book: "Big surprises come in small packages." A valuable resource to have in one's personal library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Halley's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
CB
A great resource for Bible study! It works for personal and as a teaching resource also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>