Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Adventures of Average Boy: Growing Up Super Average

Tyndale House The Adventures of Average Boy: Growing Up Super Average

Average Boy is . . . well . . . your average boy! But he's super average when it comes to loving God and showing others how to do the same. In a world where it seems everyone has to be perfect, let a regular guy teach your kids about relationships with family and friends, doing well in school, understanding their changing bodies, growing in their relationship with God, and much, much more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.842 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Adventures of Average Boy: Growing Up Super Average
Review 1 for The Adventures of Average Boy: Growing Up Super Average
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My son brings this book in the car with him!

Date:November 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rhonda
Location:Howard, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book for my 12 year old son as a devotional. After the third day of reading it, he looked up and said "Mom, is this book in a series, because I want the next one!" I can hear him laughing at the stories while he reads his daily devotional, and he now brings the book in the car when we go to town so that he can read me each chapter. This is a wonderful resource - I wish it was part of a series!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Adventures of Average Boy: Growing Up Super Average
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is filled with funny stories.

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lynn
Location:north carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter loved this book, so we bought it for a boy in our church and he loves it as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Adventures of Average Boy: Growing Up Super Average
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great devotional book for middle school aged kids!

Date:March 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lena
Location:Floresville, Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is great for young boys/girls in middle school or entering Junior High. It speaks to the kids at their level and touches on issues that kids this age are facing. The writer is hilarious! It makes my child want to read. It is a great little devotional book for kids. The writer encourages kids to do the right thing according to God's Word when facing the challenges of kids their age.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Adventures of Average Boy: Growing Up Super Average
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
mommyto5
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is WONDERFUL...our 12 year old son has read and laughed his way through this book many times since we got this for him a couple of years ago. It has helped him out during some "rough patches" when he just needed to hear that other people worry about the same old "kid stuff" that we all worry about at as preteens. Do not hesitate to buy this book for your son- he will thank you for it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Adventures of Average Boy: Growing Up Super Average
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Our 10 year old boy has burned through this devotion book, and loved it. I highly recommend it...total boy stuff!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Adventures of Average Boy: Growing Up Super Average
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Theresa Studebaker
I got this for my 9-year-old (almost 10), and it's a little old for him. But other than that, it's a great resource as a nightly devotional. It keeps him interested, and thinking in the direction of living a Christian life. He enjoys reading it every night. The messages it contains are current and relevent to his Christian walk. Keeps him laughing and interested.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Adventures of Average Boy: Growing Up Super Average
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mandie Andrews
My son is 9 yrs old and after flipping through this book, I have decided to wait on giving it to him. Once he is just a bit older it will be great for him. I'm still very happy I've bought it. I think some of the joking around in the book will be over his head, still a great book for boys.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Adventures of Average Boy: Growing Up Super Average
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cindy Fletcher
We absolutely loved this book and would highly recommend it. We wish so much that there was a sequel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Adventures of Average Boy: Growing Up Super Average
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Debra Amato
Really love this book. This book is a great daily character reading. Encourages being great at being a Christian. A few pages being super average and then some questions after reviewing a verse from the bible. My son enjoys the reading and only having to answer 3 questions keeps him engaged and focused.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Adventures of Average Boy: Growing Up Super Average
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pamela
Our family was not disappointed when reading this book. It captured the attention of my kids ages 6,8, and 12. It's the largest book my 12 year old has ever read and he did it voluntarily! Now, he wants to know if there is a sequel...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Adventures of Average Boy: Growing Up Super Average
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cynthia M
Great humorous devotional stories. Sure to grab kids attention and gets the Word into everyday life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Adventures of Average Boy: Growing Up Super Average
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
T. Pass
My kids really enjoyed this book and I loved hearing them tell me the stories they read! This is a fun book for the the whole family!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Adventures of Average Boy: Growing Up Super Average
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
April Morris
I purchased this book to use with children in grades k-2. Before using it at church, I read a few chapters. I liked the book, so I thought I might see what my boys thought. They are 13. We all liked it so much that we have decided to use it in our evening devotions. The jokes are really good. Being a mother of twin boys, some of the silly things the two boys in the book do seem quite likely. The book is good in that each chapter has a theme and wraps it up nicely. I liked that it is all connected to specific bible verses. This makes it easy to relate to all my children, whether at church or at home. I would recommend it to all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Adventures of Average Boy: Growing Up Super Average
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Momto4LittleLambs
My son (9 years old) really enjoyed this book. He read it swiftly. We even gave one to a friend of his. In my view it is a great blessing to have a book that relates to their humor while also instilling Biblical truths.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Adventures of Average Boy: Growing Up Super Average
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathryn
Do you have a silly kid? This is the book you need. We read this book each night after dinner. My son had trouble reading sometimes because he was laughing so hard. It was lol amusing and easy instant devotions.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Adventures of Average Boy: Growing Up Super Average
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jody Clarke
This is an excellent book. There are activities for the child to do at the end of each chapter. They look up Bible verses and other cool things!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Adventures of Average Boy: Growing Up Super Average
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amy Sandberg
My kids love reading the "Average Boy Adventures" in their Clubhouse magazines and they have recently begun their own morning devotions. I know they're going to love getting started in this new book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Adventures of Average Boy: Growing Up Super Average
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Angela Turransky
At age 9, my son really loves this book. He gets Clubhouse Magazine and always looks forward to the Average Boy article, so when he saw this book, he insisted on buying it. It is a really funny book and very wholesome at the same time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Adventures of Average Boy: Growing Up Super Average
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sharon
We were first introduced to "Average Boy" in the Clubhouse Magazine and our whole family looks forward to reading about "Average Boy's" adventures each month. When we heard this book was coming out, we couldn't wait to get it. We were not disappointed--it has been even better than we anticipated. We read half of a chapter each night for family worship. We especially like the way Bob Smiley includes applicable Bible texts and thought questions which each chapter. After reading a humorous story about an average day in the life of Average Boy, each chapter then gives Super Average Advice. Also included in each chapter are a few "Did You Know?" trivia-like facts. Our only complaint is that the book is too short. It would be ideal to have it expanded into a One-Year Devotional book for kids (teens and adults too!). We love Bob Smiley's humor and the way he makes everyday happenings seem not-so-average while providing valuable lessons in growing up, relationships, and knowing God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.