Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House When Your Family's Lost a Loved One: Finding Hope Together

Tyndale House When Your Family's Lost a Loved One: Finding Hope Together

When your family's lost a loved one, the reminders are everywhere. An empty chair, a silent crib, an unused pillow. You long to return to "normal," but wonder how your family can live without the loved one you cherish. The journey may not be short or smooth, but David and Nancy Guthrie have traveled it - more than once. With empathy and honesty, they'll guide you through the challenges of keeping your family together and strong. A Focus on the Family Resource.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for When Your Family's Lost a Loved One: Finding Hope Together
Review 1 for When Your Family's Lost a Loved One: Finding Hope Together
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful resource for anyone going through loss

Date:June 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Terri
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book gives an honest, genuine and realistic, yet hopeful view on one of the most painful experiences a person can go through. The Guthrie's transparency is so insightful in looking at the way a man and woman process loss and grief. I would recommend this book to anyone, and especially those who have lost a child. A grieving person is looking for answers. This book, though it doesn't answer the question, 'why', helps to validate the feelings, emotions, and expressions of the one who is grieving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for When Your Family's Lost a Loved One: Finding Hope Together
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karen
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has really helped me with the loss of my son.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for When Your Family's Lost a Loved One: Finding Hope Together
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent for Both Men and Women

Date:September 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kitten
Location:Coeur D Alene, ID
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very honest and beautifully written. I gave a copy to a couple who recently suffered a loss and read the other copy I bought. I recommend this book for anyone who is dealing with a loss. It also helps you understand the different ways that we all grieve.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for When Your Family's Lost a Loved One: Finding Hope Together
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

gently encourages believers who have lost someone

Date:March 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jess
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nancy & David Guthrie share some of their own experiences and also others to help families who are going through their own loss. They give perspectives from those who have lost parents, children, spouses and difficult situations like suicide. Very helpful.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for When Your Family's Lost a Loved One: Finding Hope Together
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stephanie Walker
While there is no fix-it book, this has been helpful to our family this past summer when our 3 year old son died from a drowning accident.It is written from both mom & dads perspective-along with others. the chapters are just a page too long for my attention span right now. Still, I believe I'd buy this to give to grieving friends.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for When Your Family's Lost a Loved One: Finding Hope Together
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Margaret Rammage
This is a wonderfully comprehensive book on the many faces of grief that we may face in a lifetime. It was so helpful to read that oursociety in general is not comfortable with sorrow. Knowing that has helped me relax my expectations on the response of people to my grief process. I would highly recommend it,particularly because it can help difuse any resentment that a grieving person may have when others don't respond in ways that might meet our personal expectations. Very helpful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for When Your Family's Lost a Loved One: Finding Hope Together
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Barbara Crandell
This is the most helpful book I have read on grieving the loss of a loved one. I have lost my husband of 47 years, and recently my 16 year old grandaughter. The authors do an excellent job of walking with you through the grieving process, and pointing you to the One who can comfort you best of all. I loved the book, and have given it to my daughter and her family to help them through the loss of their daughter, sister. I highly recommend this book.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for When Your Family's Lost a Loved One: Finding Hope Together
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Colou Myers
I ran across this book accidentally and I am so very thankful I did. This book answered a lot of questions and explained a lot of my feelings over the loss of my daughter. I would recommend this book for anyone who has lost a child. It is easy to understand and hits home in so many areas. Everyone suffers differently and the book brings this out. I give this book a 5-star rating.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.