Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Drive Thru History: Columbus, the Pilgrims, and Early Boston

Tyndale House Drive Thru History: Columbus, the Pilgrims, and Early Boston

Get ready for a new installment of Drive Thru History! Starting off with the European discovery of America, host Dave Stotts will bring you to Columbus' birthplace in Italy and his launching point in Spain before moving on to another famous colonizer of the New World. Set off to Scrooby, England, and follow in the footsteps of the Pilgrim's trek to America. Finally, discover the beginnings of the Revolutionary War as you tour the famous sites of Boston, Lexington and Concord. Filled with Dave's trademark humor, history comes alive with zest and an integrated Christian worldview. 80+ minutes on DVD.
Average Customer Rating:
4.95 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Drive Thru History: Columbus, the Pilgrims, and Early Boston
Review 1 for Drive Thru History: Columbus, the Pilgrims, and Early Boston
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a fun approach to history

Date:January 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carrie Denham
Location:Independence, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my children love these. this 1 was a gift to our son. he loves it! has watched it multiple times already. looking forward to adding more to our collection/library
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Drive Thru History: Columbus, the Pilgrims, and Early Boston
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dusty Roads
Location:Fayetteville, GA.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth while, I stayed awake through the whole thing. I will be passing it around to the grand children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Drive Thru History: Columbus, the Pilgrims, and Early Boston
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Emily
Location:Mississippi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Drive Thru history is a wonderful teaching tool for our homeschooling family!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Drive Thru History: Columbus, the Pilgrims, and Early Boston
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My kids are ages 9-15 and they ALL love these

Date:March 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Aimee
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kids are ages 9-15 and they ALL love these videos!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Drive Thru History: Columbus, the Pilgrims, and Early Boston
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great features

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faithful 1
Location:CO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The recipient of this gift says her family is enjoying this very much and learning a lot!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Drive Thru History: Columbus, the Pilgrims, and Early Boston
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I was very pleased with this product

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mommyx11
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked the modern feel of the way the program is presented. my kids, 14, 5, 7, and 9 all watched with me and were not bored! I would suggest watching one or two segments at a time so as not to make it lengthy, and to be able to absorb all the information that is given. I want to give this to a few teachers I know!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Drive Thru History: Columbus, the Pilgrims, and Early Boston
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Specht
Our family loves this series. We appreciate the methodical research into our history and the emphasis on how America is a Christian nation in its birth and the principals that we've stood for!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Drive Thru History: Columbus, the Pilgrims, and Early Boston
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nancy Bourne
Great to watch and learn at the same time. Now I want to watch all the DVDs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Drive Thru History: Columbus, the Pilgrims, and Early Boston
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
History fan
Excellent presentation of factual material in an easy-to-watch and entertaining style! Very appropriate for classroom use and discussion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Drive Thru History: Columbus, the Pilgrims, and Early Boston
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kim Browning
Excellent source of information regarding our true American History! No more boring dates and events to devour for that upcoming class exam. Dave Stotts takes you right to the locations where these remarkable stories took place! Add his delightful sense of humor, and you have inspiration to last you a lifetime. Highly recommended for a home school setting. However, in or out of school everyone can enjoy these enlightening DVD's !!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Drive Thru History: Columbus, the Pilgrims, and Early Boston
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janice Noble
this is my latest review of this entire American History series. It contains information that is not taught in the history books anymore. Keep up the good work, Dave Stotts As soon as our grandchildren are older, we'll share the Drive thru History World series. It's equally as good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Drive Thru History: Columbus, the Pilgrims, and Early Boston
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Ozaki
We love watching these DVD's. The host is very entertaining. My two boys love how he relays the information. Many of his extra comments my boys can really relate too, because he is a boy. They will watch it again and again. We are using this as a supplement to our American History textbook. He covers all the information and then some. I wish they had a textbook to go with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Drive Thru History: Columbus, the Pilgrims, and Early Boston
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robin L Hinrichs
This is a great video. Fun to watch and understand. I will be ordering more from this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Drive Thru History: Columbus, the Pilgrims, and Early Boston
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
David Thompkins
I remembered reviewing clips of some of the "Drive Thru History" DVD's on the internet with my 8 and 10 year old children prior to purchasing this one. We were all glued to the monitor with interest. This DVD did not disappoint. It is a lot of information in a very interesting package. I plan to purchase others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Drive Thru History: Columbus, the Pilgrims, and Early Boston
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mb Sweeley
Great product-no surprise, as we've enjoyed several of the other "Drive Thru History" programs--highly recommended! Dave Stotts makes history fun!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Drive Thru History: Columbus, the Pilgrims, and Early Boston
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brian
Really like these DVD's. Must say if you want some of the dates to stick with you....pay attention they are fast paced!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Drive Thru History: Columbus, the Pilgrims, and Early Boston
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susan Church
This video (and I'm sure the whole series)is of the type we'd expect tpo find on The History Channel only they would not show these because they are Christian and not PC. Excellent details of American History with some slapstick thrown in for good measure. If you teach US History use these in class. If you are a History Buff you should thoroughly enjoy them. A great family series for 12 yrs and up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Drive Thru History: Columbus, the Pilgrims, and Early Boston
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jeanette Bryant
History can sometimes be boring to the young, however this series is both educational and entertaining. The kids loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Drive Thru History: Columbus, the Pilgrims, and Early Boston
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kenneth Campbell
Very informative and entertaining; you'll learn facts about our American heritage that probably werent part of your public school curriculum. A good addition for junior or senior highschool students; who will probably like the presentation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Drive Thru History: Columbus, the Pilgrims, and Early Boston
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon Thomassie
We have all of the Drive Through History series. It has been an enhancement to our history text. My children get to 'see' the places that we are studying in The Story of the World. We use it as a supplement. It does come with it's own study guide that I will use when my children are older.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.