Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Adventures in Odyssey/Tyndale Adventures in Odyssey ® #51: Take It from the Top

Adventures in Odyssey/Tyndale Adventures in Odyssey ® #51: Take It from the Top

It's back to the basics in Take it from the Top, the 51st album of Adventures in Odyssey! Enter Whit's new invention, the Inspiration Station, and find out why Connie wants to spend so much time in it. Solve mysteries with local sleuth Emily Jones, and find out why 10-year-old Matthew Parker doesn't think being "target of the week" is such a good thing. This album contains family-oriented episodes about everyday life in Odyssey with relevant messages and top-notch fun. Catch up with Whit, Connie, Eugene, and Wooton, and meet the new families as they learn lessons about responsibility, revenge, and God-given inspiration. Whether on a baseball field, at home, or at Whit's End, there's never a dull moment in the town of Odyssey!
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
3
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adventures in Odyssey ® #51: Take It from the Top
Review 1 for Adventures in Odyssey ® #51: Take It from the Top
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great again

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nanny B
Age:55-65
Gender:female
We started listening to this series right after New Year's 2014 and the boys were very excited and really enjoyed having new stories to hear. They are always thought provoking -- I ask questions of them and they of me -- and encourage great conversation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adventures in Odyssey ® #51: Take It from the Top
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Stick with it

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heather
Location:Yucaipa, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
If you have been listening to AIO in order, this set will give you a shock. Whit's voice is new (not my favorite at ALL) and many characters are new with no explanation side bars. We almost stopped the CD in the middle of the first story(lame lame lame), but ONLY stuck with it because we listened long enough to find out it was the same producers. The recent radio drama's that Focus has done have been so top notch (Oliver) that we stuck with it by faith.
I will say that this is the most disappointing of all the AIO sets we have BUT stick with it!!! The later sets get better and better and you will need this set to adjust to the new characters.
ALSO - The Jubilee Singers is absolutely worth the price of the entire set!! One of the best historical accounts in AIO. This set becomes a can't miss just because of The Jubilee Singers! It is a beautiful story that you will never forget.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adventures in Odyssey ® #51: Take It from the Top
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Take It From The Top: Not A Favorite, but good

Date:December 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Georgia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This album, don't know why, is just not one of my AIO favorites. Maybe it's the picture... any way, on the whole it is still a good album as far as the stories go.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adventures in Odyssey ® #51: Take It from the Top
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
terri
Location:missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchase a new Odyssey set before we go out of town. It has become a tradition for our family to enjoy and to make a part of our travels and vacations. My children's ages are spread apart by years, and Odyssey is something enjoyed by all. Later, upon again listening to the stories, it also reunites us with our times of vacation, or being in places other than home. This particular story was exactly what our family needed, and only God could have brought us to hearing these stories at this time. The producers of Odyssey are truly being used by God to meet needs in lives of ALL ages!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adventures in Odyssey ® #51: Take It from the Top
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Odyssey Rules!

Date:August 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jason Whittaker
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been a long term AIO fan, and I simply love the all the episodes. This one is no exception. Odyssey always has it's way of appealing to young and old fans. This album handles a variety of lessons, and morals. In a sense I prefer some of the other older episodes, but this one is still pretty good. I'd recommend this album or any other AIO product without a thought's hesitation.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adventures in Odyssey ® #51: Take It from the Top
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
kenj
Location:Mishawaka, IN
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this set because it is funny and it teaches responsibility
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adventures in Odyssey ® #51: Take It from the Top
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not Impressed

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Disciple
Location:Wichita, KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While I did enjoy the Fisk singers story, the other stories were not at all what I expected. This is the first AIO set we have owned so possibly I was just unaware, but I thought the characters displayed quality traits I NEVER want my kids to exhibit (whining to their parents, arguing with each other, a sister who flippantly marries a man on a whim). Honestly, I really think it was the whining that sent me over the top. I could not stand to listen to it. My kids enjoyed the stories but much of it completely annoyed me. In the end there may have been some good lessons to be learned, but in my opinion, too many negative character traits exampled. If we get any more AIO, I will look for the historical based stories.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adventures in Odyssey ® #51: Take It from the Top
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adventures in Odysssey is excellent!

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Raymond Parker
Location:Port Orchard, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventures in Odyssey provides entertaining listening for the entire family. As a 49 year old grandfather of four I used my grandchildren as an excuse to purchase this while in reality I enjoy them just as much as they do!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adventures in Odyssey ® #51: Take It from the Top
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mother of 4 Nonny to 7
Location:Temple, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Adventures in this CD pkg are good lessons for all of us. Our grandkids enjoyed listening and asking questions during the episodes. We were able to give "words of wisdom." Odyssey is not age restricted in our family. We began listening when our kids were young and continue to listen with kids of their own. Our kids all said, "Listening to Odyssey will have to be a requirement for my future mate."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adventures in Odyssey ® #51: Take It from the Top
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not as good as some of their other AIO albums

Date:November 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ocean
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We have most, if not all, of the AIO albums. My 9 yr. old still really liked this one & would give it 5 stars & recommend it to a friend, but the 12, 14, & 16 yr olds didn't like it at all & wouldn't recommend it to a friend, so we averaged it out. The older ones preferred the Nova Com style of albums that were produced for a while, as well as stories involving relationships (like Connie & Mitch, Eugene & Katrina). They found the 'Take it from the Top' album boring. ALL of us were disappointed that Whit's voice had been changed. In my opinion, it's not as good as 'Days to Remember', or 'In Hot Pursuit' but I particularly enjoyed the story about the Jubilee Singers. Regardless of the varying opinions in the household, it is harmless fun & still attempts to teach good habits/ morals; something that is sadly lacking in so many of the other entertainment choices these days.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adventures in Odyssey ® #51: Take It from the Top
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Emily Riske
This album is great!! My kids loved the story about the Jubilee Singers--it has a great story that is easy to follow and is based on the true story of the Jubilee Singers.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Adventures in Odyssey ® #51: Take It from the Top
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
SuperMom
Any parent can't go wrong with Adventures in Odyssey. Visiting Witt's End was something I started doing after becoming a Christian at age 12. And now, having the privilege to join my kids in new adventures is a blast!I love the audio versions of the stories, because it allows my kids to use their minds instead of being glued to the TV. I also love the fact that I don't have to worry about what they hear because i know that Focus on the Family is dedicated to bringing great clean, family friendly entertainment to us.The lessons that Take It From the Top teaches are timeless.My favorite episode on #51 Take it From the Top is "Clutter" where the Parker family de-clutters and learns in the process that we are to store our treasures up in heaven!Any album of Adventures of Odyssey makes a great gift for any kids. I know we love to enjoy ours in the car while running errands around town!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Adventures in Odyssey ® #51: Take It from the Top
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Valerie Mahoney
This is great! My son loves it. He is 9 and he listens to all that we've bought over and over again. The life lessons he learns are very helpful. We use them for examples when we need to. And it makes it easy for him to understand what we're talking about. All of the series are very entertaining. We even take them on trips and we all enjoy listening to them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Adventures in Odyssey ® #51: Take It from the Top
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Mckay
We loved it, as always! My son got it for his birthday 2 weeks ago, and while riding in the car, we've already listened to it twice. I especially like the Jubilee Singers program--would love to have a CD of the songs!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Adventures in Odyssey ® #51: Take It from the Top
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
George Dean
I think this will be a good story additon. I know we have all gotten used to all the old characters and are in our "comfort zone" with them, however change is good when it helps explore new adventures. I am sorry about Paul Herlinger's passing and will surely miss him as "Whit" but he has been promoted and is now with the Lord in Heaven. I bet he got a joyous welcome for all the work he put into his work! I welcome the new Whit as well as all of the old characters! Keep up the glorious job in teaching biblical principles to the world! May your whole team (present and future) be rewarded.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Adventures in Odyssey ® #51: Take It from the Top
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mom Jones
If you are relatively new to Adventures in Odyssey, you will like this album. We already have a couple favorites. Being "Odyssey Oldsters" (15+ years), it's a little frustrating. MANY old characters are gone...and there was never a story given. The new Whit might make a great Owl on Pooh, but it's not a Whit voice which makes it a little hard to follow. Great message though, of course!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Adventures in Odyssey ® #51: Take It from the Top
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Meredith Rasnic
I love Adventures in Odyssey,but I was a little dissapointed. Whit's new voice is weird and sounds unnatural for him. Also there was a little to much of the Parkers, and I wish they would have used some other older characters like Mandy or Grady.Overall, I loved this album, especially the Fisk Singers episodes.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Adventures in Odyssey ® #51: Take It from the Top
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2010
this album was not that great. it was good but the main 3 problems with it were:1. all the episodes had the same family in it. not a good idea2. The new voice for whit is not so good. the old one was better.3. it is a little fake. anyway it wasn't too bad but other albums are better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Adventures in Odyssey ® #51: Take It from the Top
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rachel
I'm a huge fan of Odyssey. I've been listening to then since I was a kid & I listen to them now, and I have no kids lol. But I have to say this was one of the most dissapointing albums. I like the idea of introducing a new family, Odyssey has done it before, but this time they completely disgarded the old characters. Conny & the gang were really an after thought and that was sad, because they should have found a way to intertwine the long time favorite characters into the lives of the new ones. Not to mention I found the plot involving the new family boring. I hope the next installment finds a way to keep the favorite characters in the center some how. I'm not able to catch Odyssey on the radio like I use to, but I definitely wouldn't have bought this album had I heard it before.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Adventures in Odyssey ® #51: Take It from the Top
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Green
As always, the Odyssey stories are relating to needs and times of our culture the newest stories add yet another reinforcement to values needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.