Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale Entertainment At the Back of the North Wind- Focus On The Family, 2 CD Set

Tyndale Entertainment At the Back of the North Wind- Focus On The Family, 2 CD Set

Seven-year-old Diamond, a poor stable-boy, receives a visit from the beautiful dark-eyed woman known as North Wind. Their adventures in the land at "the back" of the North Wind teach him-and us-eternal truths about life, love and forgiveness. Set in Victorian England, George MacDonald's classic novel will stir your heart and spirit. Focus on the Family Radio Theatre is a registered trademark of Focus on the Family. All rights reserved.
Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for At the Back of the North Wind- Focus On The Family, 2 CD Set
Review 1 for At the Back of the North Wind- Focus On The Family, 2 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Two hankies. A keeper.

Date:December 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Harry Briley
Location:Livermore, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just finished, while partially hanging up Christmas decor, listening to "At the Back of the North Wind" – George MacDonald (FOTF Radio Theater, 2005) - A children’s fantasy from Victorian England about dying that influenced C.S.Lewis and Mark Twain. Is the fragile boy feverish or did he find the far country? This absorbing two hours felt only an hour. I had to stop decorating and just sat entranced by the skill of these voice actors with their British accents. Rating: Two hankies. A keeper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for At the Back of the North Wind- Focus On The Family, 2 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

compelling for beginning to end

Date:November 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bus Driver
Location:VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I heard a chapter of this on my radio one morning when I was going to see a friend and I enjoyed it so much that when I returned home I ordered it so I could hear the complete story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for At the Back of the North Wind- Focus On The Family, 2 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely story; deep theology

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Fran
Location:Carrollton, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We listened to this during a long car trip. Our teenagers loved the story, and it set up some great discussions about the Bible and heaven. Younger children, while not grasping the entire story, will enjoy the characters and the action. I love George MacDonald's stories. The only problem with this one was the portrayal of the whiny mom...that's cause I'm the mom, and one of my mantras is "shine, not whine"!
This is a great value! I'll be lending it out to trustworthy friends who'll return it, 'cause we'll listen to this one again a few years down the road.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for At the Back of the North Wind- Focus On The Family, 2 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good choice for middle schoolers

Date:December 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Auntie Pam
Location:Athens, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my 7 year old granddaughter. After previewing the CD, I will wait until she is a little older before giving it to her. The subject matter is about death, and could be scarey for a young child. On a technical note, I had to adjust the audio tone on my stereo, in order to clearly hear the actors speaking. Overall, I was pleased with this purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for At the Back of the North Wind- Focus On The Family, 2 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a wonderful story

Date:April 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
jfer
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our family enjoyed this audio book on a long car journey. Our kids are 8, 10 and 12. My husband and I enjoyed listening to the story with them. It is a beautiful story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for At the Back of the North Wind- Focus On The Family, 2 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

captivating

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Andie
Location:WY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received the CD Theater production as a Christmas gift. We played it in the car during our holiday travels. My 20+ year old adult son, who was traveling with us, suggested we put in the second CD. The truths represented here are deep. Knowing the solid Christian heritage of the writer makes the abstract imaging enjoyable to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for At the Back of the North Wind- Focus On The Family, 2 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kritto
Location:Brisbane, Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this without knowing what the story was about and just hoped that my children would like it. They did! It gets played every night whilst going to bed! They really have enjoyed the story of Diamond and his adventures to the back of the North Wind. I would highly recommend this to anyone who has young children or just the young at heart. We all enjoy Focus on the Family Radio Theatre CD's.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for At the Back of the North Wind- Focus On The Family, 2 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What an imagination with values.

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Daisy
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a fun story to listen to while doing housework. I'm new to this author. I have already purchased more of his works. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for At the Back of the North Wind- Focus On The Family, 2 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Catherine Hedden
Location:Gladstone, OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We always enjoy a new story with content that makes one think
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for At the Back of the North Wind- Focus On The Family, 2 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for travel

Date:October 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Donna Lawson
Location:South Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
The CDs are great for travel. The stories are well told and the sound effects are great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for At the Back of the North Wind- Focus On The Family, 2 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It was a good story

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Darlene Estlow
Location:Erlanger, KY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed the story, although at times it was hard to tell which character was speaking, but it was not a big distraction. Sometimes the background noise of a crowd in the story made it hard to understand what the character was saying. However, I enjoyed it a lot.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for At the Back of the North Wind- Focus On The Family, 2 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product was brilliant

Date:February 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lil Down Under
Location:Melbourne, Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful story illustrating what an influence we have on our future based on the choices we make today. John Bever doesn't mince words - this will make you think very hard about your current walk in your faith. My children and myself loved it - and it opened some wonderful discussion afterwards.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for At the Back of the North Wind- Focus On The Family, 2 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
mrly
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story was one we had never heard-the kids felt it was a little scary at the end and sad, but again, Focus did a wonderful job on their audio theatre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for At the Back of the North Wind- Focus On The Family, 2 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jaime Knieper
I love all of the Focus on the Family Radio theater productions. Whenever we're in the car, our family of 6 will listen to one. It keeps the whole family captivated (ages 37, 31, 16, 10, 2 & 1) It makes getting places go by so much faster!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for At the Back of the North Wind- Focus On The Family, 2 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Kennedy
Excellent. I purchased 2 copies, one for my gandson and one for a niece. Technologicaly and beautifully produced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for At the Back of the North Wind- Focus On The Family, 2 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Maury Miller
Our whole family is entranced by this tale. The CD is perfect for long car trips. It is much better than a video.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for At the Back of the North Wind- Focus On The Family, 2 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Richard Leggett
Focus on the Famiy do a wonderful job in all their performances. You can always count on them to do a great job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.