Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale Entertainment The Play's the Thing/The Gray Lady, Father Gilbert Mysteries #3 Focus on the Family Radio Theatre on CD

Tyndale Entertainment The Play's the Thing/The Gray Lady, Father Gilbert Mysteries #3 Focus on the Family Radio Theatre on CD

In the "Play's the Thing," an acting troupe faces increasing danger from an unknown assailant as its murder mystery goes frighteningly awry. And every minute Father Gilbert delays puts another actor at risk for an unscripted murder! The "Gray Lady" dramatizes two identical murders on Woodburton Army Base - and the suspects swear a ghost was responsible! Recorded in London, the Father Gilbert Mysteries feature an award-winning cast and film-quality sound design to create a world that will inspire your imagination.

Running time approximately 176 minutes (3 CDs).
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Play's the Thing/The Gray Lady, Father Gilbert Mysteries #3 Focus on the Family Radio Theatre on CD
Review 1 for The Play's the Thing/The Gray Lady, Father Gilbert Mysteries #3 Focus on the Family Radio Theatre on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyed listening as we travel

Date:October 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sew4Kids
Location:Southcentral PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I enjoy listening to books on CD while we travel. These mysteries were enjoyable and made the trip seem much faster. The twists and turns kept our minds alert and, as always, we didn't figure out whodunit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Play's the Thing/The Gray Lady, Father Gilbert Mysteries #3 Focus on the Family Radio Theatre on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We loved it

Date:May 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sheriff
Location:MA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Gray lady had my kids fascinated, and the story brought up some great biblical points for discussion. However it does warn that this story is recommended for 14 and up.
I have teenagers so they were fascinated. Take away the iPod, the iPad and all electronics and go back to listening to odyssey in the car. They stayed in the car just to finish the story.
Thanks Paul
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Play's the Thing/The Gray Lady, Father Gilbert Mysteries #3 Focus on the Family Radio Theatre on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
amandag417
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is another excellent product from Focus on the Family!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Play's the Thing/The Gray Lady, Father Gilbert Mysteries #3 Focus on the Family Radio Theatre on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
gracehasbeengivenme
Location:new woodstock, new york
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
what else can i say, another great work from focus on the family. both stories live up to the standards that previous father gilbert tales have delivered. the gray lady was a little dark, but kept you riveted to the very end.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Play's the Thing/The Gray Lady, Father Gilbert Mysteries #3 Focus on the Family Radio Theatre on CD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointed with "The Grey Lady"

Date:January 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jules
Location:Alice, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I love the Father Gilbert mystery series! Very captivating! I've enjoyed all the stories from volumes 1-2 and the first story from vol. 3 (I'm looking forward to listening to vol. 4).
However, I was very disappointed with the second story from vol. 3, "The Grey Lady." I found its contents to be disturbingly morbid, descriptively gory, and unnecessarily violent; not to mention theologically unbiblical.
My young niece happened to be with me when I listened to it, and frankly, it is inappropriate for family entertainment.
Listen at your own discretion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Play's the Thing/The Gray Lady, Father Gilbert Mysteries #3 Focus on the Family Radio Theatre on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lorra
Really, really enjoyed this! Both stories were great, but we especially enjoyed The Gray Lady! I hope there are many more "Father Gilbert" mysteries yet to come!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Play's the Thing/The Gray Lady, Father Gilbert Mysteries #3 Focus on the Family Radio Theatre on CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Diane Ellis
Can not say enough about Radio Theater,and the Father Gilbert Mysteries. The mysteries hold your attention to the very end. They are all great. My favorite is #1
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Play's the Thing/The Gray Lady, Father Gilbert Mysteries #3 Focus on the Family Radio Theatre on CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dala Kessler
We listen to books on CDs when we travel; it makes the miles fly by. The father Gilbert Mysteries are safe for the whole family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.