Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale Entertainment Bonhoeffer: The Cost of Freedom - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD

Tyndale Entertainment Bonhoeffer: The Cost of Freedom - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD

Bonhoeffer: The Cost of Freedom is the true story of an unlikely hero-a theologian and pacifist who finds himself risking everything to battle against the tyranny of Nazi Germany. It captures the tense moral conflict of a man at odds between loyalty to his country and his Christian faith. At what cost will Dietrich Bonhoeffer stand against Hitler and the Third Reich? Dramatic audio theatre brings this story to life.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 1889%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Bonhoeffer: The Cost of Freedom - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Review 1 for Bonhoeffer: The Cost of Freedom - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent and powerful presentation!

Date:November 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tea Mom
Location:Turner, Oregon
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This is an absolutely riveting production of the story of Dietrich Bonhoeffer. It tells in a very dramatic way what Bonhoeffer went through to be true to his faith in God. It left a lasting impression on me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bonhoeffer: The Cost of Freedom - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Entertaining

Date:October 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Knotnevada
Location:South Georgia, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great story. This is a good introduction to this wonderful man. A entertaining peace for a long car ride, a weekend or to listen at the Campsite. Theatrical 5 Stars. Educational 3 Stars.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bonhoeffer: The Cost of Freedom - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stacy
Location:Charleston, WV
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bonhoeffer is my personal hero. I first came upon this drama years ago on audio tapes. Listened to it all the time. I bought dvd awhile back. Then bought this for a close friend from Christianbook for Christmas...
I totally recommend this as Bonhoeffer is still speaking to the Western Church...Wake up!! Persecution is coming and you need to grasp on to Christ.....Reject Cheap Grace with all of it's trappings...Costly Grace embrace: because it cost God HIS only Begotten Son, Jesus Christ...We are to be lights and salt in the world...Bonhoeffer was both....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bonhoeffer: The Cost of Freedom - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Family Entertainment

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Angela Roberts
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 11 and 12 year old boys loved this drama. It tells the much needed story of heroism in the face of incredible persecution. I love how this story brings to life one of the most horrible historical events. It shows how easily an entire culture can become enslaved to an evil dictator. This drama encourages its listeners to think for themselves and stay true to the Word of God regardless of what popular culture dictates.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bonhoeffer: The Cost of Freedom - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent production

Date:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eric
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have listened to radio dramas throughout my life. As a child of a military father, we lived overseas without American television. The only form of mass entertainment was the radio. In the evenings the Armed Forces Radio network would air re-runs of the old radio programs from the 30's, 40's and 50's. I believe that Focus on the Family has done an excellent job of producing these programs.
Unfortunately I have one thing against the production of these programs... the volume quality of these programs is not what it should be. This is not in the recording of the program, at least I don't believe so, but in the levels set in the mass production and marketing of the discs. I thought that I was just being picky or had a poor sound system, but I found that the issue was not in my iPod, but on the discs themselves. I copied them into my computer so that I could play them off my iPod while on a road trip, so I wouldn't have to haul all the discs with us. The volume quality was such that I couldn't hear the soft-spoken parts (i.e., characters whispering) over the road noise even though I had the volume turned all the way up. I kept having to “rewind” the program to try and hear what was said, that I finally got frustrated with it and turned it off. I thought that this was because I copied them onto the iPod. The next trip we took, I took the discs... same results. I have come to the conclusion that these programs were designed to be listened to with headphones or ear buds, but not over a car stereo system where you have to deal with outside noises.
Is it excellent volume qualities in which the low sounds are so low that you have to “really” listen to hear them or is it a poor decision on the production? What I do know is that it makes it difficult to hear on a road trip unless you have a new vehicle in which all the sound insulation is in top shape and all the road noise is nearly eliminated. Otherwise it’s headphones or ear buds, but the cops on the roads take a dim view of drivers listening in that manner.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bonhoeffer: The Cost of Freedom - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Catherine Hedden
Location:Gladstone, OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't had a chance to listen as of yet, but content of package in good condition. I am confident the listening content will be as always: great encouragement to Christian walk.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bonhoeffer: The Cost of Freedom - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Holocaust Story

Date:October 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
TCisME
Location:San Leon, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a biography of a true Godly man firm in his stand when facing an ungodly government often all alone. I makes one ponder if one's own faith would stand against such opposition. Truly an inspirational tale which not only shows Nazi Germany's inhumanity against the Jews, but also America's own inhumanity & unchristian attitude toward the black race in America in the WWII era. It also shows the danger of the Government's ability to corrupt the Church when Christians get to involved with political party ideologies and forget that JESUS CHRIST not our Politicians is where our ideas, values & leadership must come from. Jesus is in Sovereign, Righteous, Holy & in charge NOT our Government leaders; and the day is fast approaching where WE may have to choose, as Bonhoeffer did, whom WE will follow - Christ or our Government.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bonhoeffer: The Cost of Freedom - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:August 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sarah
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a wonderful and interesting way to learn about history.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bonhoeffer: The Cost of Freedom - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Challenging!

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Betty
Location:Riverside, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story will challenge your faith to the core! I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bonhoeffer: The Cost of Freedom - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent production, storyline, dialogue, etc.

Date:June 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Yvonne
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this production. The portrayal of this man, his family, his journey of faith and interactions with friends and the world in which he lives is compelling and moving. I have every intention of reading his biography as well as some of his works. Makes we wish I knew him.
My only regret and reason for not rating 5 stars across the board here is the quality of the recording: one CD has some static on it but for the value, it's well worth the purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bonhoeffer: The Cost of Freedom - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Good Program.

Date:June 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rach
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This radio drama is so good, it made me feel like I was actually witnessing the events taking place as I did when listening to your other radio drama, "The Hiding Place'
by Corrie Ten Boom.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bonhoeffer: The Cost of Freedom - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent way to learn of an outstanding person.

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elizz
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The dramatization was captivating. The life of Bonhoeffer was beautifully presented.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bonhoeffer: The Cost of Freedom - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful presentation

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barbara Webb
Location:Maple Shade, NJ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent audio drama and I really recommend it for most all audiences. It is a wonderful way to introduce people to Mr. Bonhoeffer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bonhoeffer: The Cost of Freedom - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
sheila
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like listening to the old radio dramas but even better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bonhoeffer: The Cost of Freedom - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Production!

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeannie
Location:Salem, OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always enjoyed radio theatre, and it especially wonderful when the story is one that reflects values such as courage, integrity, honesty, and much more. I also truly appreciate the opportuntity to learn about amazing heros of the faith in an historical setting, with an excellent script, great sound effects, and talented actors. I throughly enjoyed Bonhoeffer: TheCost of Freedom. Thank you for providing productions of such high quality!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bonhoeffer: The Cost of Freedom - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sound levels

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was an excellent story, however, the sound was not good. I was constantly adjusting the volume up and down to hear the story. I realize it is "theater' style, but when I go to the theater, I expect to be able to hear the dialog.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bonhoeffer: The Cost of Freedom - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

inspiriational

Date:January 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Location:GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was extremely inspirational and thought-provoking. I listened to it with my husband and sons and we were all moved. This is well worth the money. I am thankful for this gripping and character-building rendition of Bonhoeffer's story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bonhoeffer: The Cost of Freedom - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great education about the churches stand in WW2

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeannine Bulot
Location:Albuquerque
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very interesting story that educated me to the churches position in WW2 and the political clash between church and state. The message is simple enough for teenagers and people like me that don't know a lot of political history. It is a message every christian should hear. The drama is great. Just like listening to a movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bonhoeffer: The Cost of Freedom - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joanna Oznowicz-davis
I have BOTH The Hiding Place and Bonhoeffer; the Cost of Freedom and they are irreplaceable pieces of history, told from the side of those who did their bit to RESIST a seemingly OVERWHELMING evil. The difference between Corrie's story and Deitrich's however, is that Mr. Bonhoeffer's story takes place within the very 'heart' of the beast. Germany, even before Hitler, had raised its citizens to pride themselves as THE world power. A confirmation class, however, brings the future freedom fighter up against his first challenge: Will JESUS have to go through GERMANY to attain HIS plan for world peace? Even as he rails against the prejudice against his black friends in the States, Bonhoeffer resists the idea that Germany could become as bad, if not WORSE under Chancellor Hitler. Especially captivating was a song at the beginning of the first CD. I believed it to be an old anthem or Hym for Hitler. Turned out it was a song written especially for the project. Brilliant work all!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bonhoeffer: The Cost of Freedom - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2007
Great true story told in an interesting format of Radio Theatre. Our family enjoyed the narration and drama. The voices were easy to listen too and captivated our attention. I would encourage you to listen to this cd on your next trip and the miles will pass by quickly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>