Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Adventures in Odyssey/Tyndale Adventures in Odyssey ® Passages: Darien's Rise

Adventures in Odyssey/Tyndale Adventures in Odyssey ® Passages: Darien's Rise

When Whit and Jack find an old notebook labeled "Chronicles of the Chosen," they discover a mysterious "other world." Is Marus real? It is to Anna and Kyle! One minute they're exploring an abandoned house and the next they're caught between a mad king and the rightful heir to the throne. Are they trapped forever? Ages 8 to 12. Three CDs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.759 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adventures in Odyssey ® Passages: Darien's Rise
Review 1 for Adventures in Odyssey ® Passages: Darien's Rise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great as always, even for my 12 year old.

Date:March 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mom of 2 boys
Location:Rochester NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 9 and 12 year old boys love all the Odyssey CD's. This set seems to be better for the older end of the age bracket. It's a little scarier, perhaps, or slightly more complex in the plot.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adventures in Odyssey ® Passages: Darien's Rise
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Least Requested

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
HeKnows
Location:Dillon, MT
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My kids mostly listen to these just before bedtime, and unfortunately they never request to hear this Oddessey cd. It's not that its not a great story or anything, just a personal preference as to the type of story my kids want to hear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adventures in Odyssey ® Passages: Darien's Rise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adventures Rocks

Date:December 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jan Tuning
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventures in Odessey is excellent high quality entertainment with a message. Enjoyable for all ages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adventures in Odyssey ® Passages: Darien's Rise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It had the kids enthralled!

Date:October 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mommy
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I drive my sisters' and my children to school (six in all) and they were absolutely silent listening to the CD (which is rare when there are that many kids in a car at once!). They are already begging for the next Passages book to be put on CD!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adventures in Odyssey ® Passages: Darien's Rise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie LeBoy
AMAZING!! We have been impressed with all of the Adventures in Odyssey CDs, but this one is incredible!! My son and I shared that Darien's Rise would make an wonderful movie too !! We thank everyone involved in producing these amazing stories for our children and the best part is that we adults enjoy them too. Keep them coming.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adventures in Odyssey ® Passages: Darien's Rise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Catherine Hedden
Awesome listening. My husband and I like to listen to Odyssey when we are having dinner or for a long drive. All the kids are grown, but not us!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adventures in Odyssey ® Passages: Darien's Rise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Trudy
We love Adventures in Odyssey, but really liked this because it was different. It is a little intense at times and is made for older kids, 8+, but my 5 year old likes the story. They liked hearing this Bible story in a new light and figuring out which one it was. We are looking forward to the rest of the books in the series to be put out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adventures in Odyssey ® Passages: Darien's Rise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra Keliher
Odyssey CD's are always a hit. I pass them around to the kids at church and my grandchildren. Thanks so much to Focus on the Family for their lessons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adventures in Odyssey ® Passages: Darien's Rise
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
none
I LOVE aio,but this I did not like at all. it was way to different from normal shows.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adventures in Odyssey ® Passages: Darien's Rise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2010
I got this for my brother for Christmas and he and I really liked it. I was shocked at the new voice Focus on the Family got for Whit, but hopefully, I'll get over it in the coming Adventures in Odyssey volumes. We noticed voices of other characters being used for Kyle and Anna. Racheal Fox (sp?) (Kelly from adventures in Odyssey) is the actress for Anna's voice, and the boy who acts for Nelson in the Kidsboro episodes is Kyle. In case you've heard Darien's Rise and think that Darien's voice is Townsend Coleman (Jason Whittaker), no it's not, although they do indeed sound alike. My apologies if I'd just gave you a boring half paragraph to read through, so let me just say, Darien's Rise is attion grabbing, funny, fun, and a welcome addition to the world of audio drama.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adventures in Odyssey ® Passages: Darien's Rise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jared Ford
Very captivating. I'm 30 years old and have been listening to Odyssey from the very beginning. Learning the Bible has never been more interesting. The story of David comes to life in this set.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Adventures in Odyssey ® Passages: Darien's Rise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
David Herrmann
Darien's Rise is another great production of Focus on the Family. As the story unfolds you start to recognize some similarities between the conflict of Saul and David. It was really nice to see how our children picked up on this. We will certainly purchase future productions in the series as they become available. Great for road trips. Highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Adventures in Odyssey ® Passages: Darien's Rise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Beth Schafer
I boutght this for my husband for Christmas this year, not knowing what it was like. He and I both love it!! I have listened to it a couple of times. If you don't have it, get it! It is wonderful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Adventures in Odyssey ® Passages: Darien's Rise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
C.C.
Our entire family loved this story. It kept us on the edge of our seats and we never wanted to stop or pause it. It was very interesting guessing and looking for the parallels to the Bible story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Adventures in Odyssey ® Passages: Darien's Rise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ann M Cordova
My 11-year-old son loves this collection...highly recommend this new Adventure in Odyssey! He listens to it every night.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Adventures in Odyssey ® Passages: Darien's Rise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tyler
This CD was great I could not stop listening! Even when we went to the store right down the road I brought my CD player with me and listened to it. GREAT CD!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Adventures in Odyssey ® Passages: Darien's Rise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Andrea Hughes
Brilliant! My son has all the Passages books, and is thoroughly enjoying this audio version of the first book. Hurry up for the rest!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Adventures in Odyssey ® Passages: Darien's Rise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joellen Mcgee
My 10 and 12 year old Daughters loved listening. The would listen to these CD's all night if I let them. would chose to listen to them over watching most movie's too! Great CD's!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Adventures in Odyssey ® Passages: Darien's Rise
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donna Fessenden
My daughter loves it She listens to it every night and it offers mystery adventure and a lesson for life
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Adventures in Odyssey ® Passages: Darien's Rise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joy
Awesome! Now they just need to make more of this or odyssey NEW!! ONES!!! --not just listen to the old ones that i listen to for ten years for another 10 years
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>