Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Sleep: It Does a Family Good--How Busy Families Can Overcome Sleep Deprivation

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Tyndale House Sleep: It Does a Family Good--How Busy Families Can Overcome Sleep Deprivation

Can you be alive spiritually when you're barely awake physically? Renowned psychologist Dr. Archibald D. Hart explores the causes of sleep deprivation, explains why sleep is so important, and examines what happens when we don't get enough. He offers practical advice for how kids, families, and couples can get the rest they need to fulfill their God-designed roles. Paperback. A Focus on the Family Recommendation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sleep: It Does a Family Good--How Busy Families Can Overcome Sleep Deprivation
Review 1 for Sleep: It Does a Family Good--How Busy Families Can Overcome Sleep Deprivation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book on sleep for every family!

Date:August 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
pegster
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Hart's book on sleep (and our lack of it) is easy to read, interesting and a good motivator to setting bedtime limits for parents with children 0-18.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sleep: It Does a Family Good--How Busy Families Can Overcome Sleep Deprivation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book. Great facts and perspectives

Date:December 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brranndon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have already shared the info in this book with a number of friends. Very good info about how to stay healthy through getting proper sleep. Very good examples of the research to explain the various points.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sleep: It Does a Family Good--How Busy Families Can Overcome Sleep Deprivation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sylvia
Dr. Hart's book is such a needed read in this sleep deprived culture we are living in. As a Health and Wellness Coach I help people to build the 7 Pillars of Health and sleep is one of these pillars. If you read this book you will be amazed to realize how much of our brain health and overall emotional and even spiritual health is affected by sleep. Thanks Dr. Hart for another excellent book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sleep: It Does a Family Good--How Busy Families Can Overcome Sleep Deprivation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melissa Mamiya
Very helpful with some extremely practical ideas that can be easily implemented. Easy to read as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sleep: It Does a Family Good--How Busy Families Can Overcome Sleep Deprivation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Smith
Dr. Archibald D. Hart's newest book grew out of his own personal experience realizing that he was not only sleep-deprived, but that it was beginning to impact his own job effectiveness as well as his physical health. After conducting an experiment to see whether sleeping longer would increase his effectiveness during the day, he found that he actually made up for the "lost time" he had slept away in increased productivity! He permanently changed his own personal habits, beginning a lifelong interest in this important health subject.As our own family has grown to comprise a unique group of seven individuals with differing needs and schedules, we have experienced a few struggles in this area. We have increasingly struggled with crankiness, decreased ability to focus and decreased productivity.Containing 3 parts, Sleep: It Does a Family Good by Dr. Archibald D. Hart covers: * Understanding Your Family's Need for Sleep (understanding the important functions sleep provides) * Determining Your Family's Sleep Problems (uncovering those sleep-killers--worry, stress, caffeine, depression and habits) * Overcoming Your Family's Sleep Deprivation (the helpful portion of the book helping you solve your family's sleep problems in practical ways)I have found this book not only insightful and helpful, but also inspiring. Inspiring me to actually place a higher priority on our family getting a healthy amount of sleep--even if I must sacrifice some other "good" things in order to aim for the "better" option of choosing to prioritize our family sleeping enough to ensure their ability to thrive and achieve maximum physical, mental and spiritual health. This book is also packed with helpful quizzes and charts to help you conquer your own family's sleep problems.Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for the purpose of review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sleep: It Does a Family Good--How Busy Families Can Overcome Sleep Deprivation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2010
Normally I would not read a book on the topic of sleep, but because I realize that I have issues when it comes to getting proper sleep I decided to request this book from Tyndale. The fact that this book is a "Focus on the Family" resource helped to seal the deal for me and I requested the book for review. Dr. Archibald D. Hart is the author of this book. Dr. Hart does such a wonderful job explaining how sleep deprivation is the source of so many issues that we have today, especially dealing with our health. Much of what he writes in the book is supported by research and reports that have been done through the years. I think the best part of his research is from his own personal story about what happened to him once he started getting the proper amount of sleep. After only a few chapters, I had decided that I wanted to change my sleeping patterns, and I began taking steps toward getting more sleep. As a Christian I especially love that the last chapter of the book deals with sleep and a family's spirituality. I highly recommend this book for anyone. To those that know they are not getting the right amount of sleep this book can be a tool to help get them started on the right track toward healthy sleeping patterns. Even those that think they maybe getting the right amount of sleep maybe surprised to learn that they need even more. The book is full of helpful hints and charts that will help the reader begin to take steps toward getting the right amount of sleep. The book also includes a section about how to help your children and teenagers develop healthy sleeping patterns. As the title says, this book is really a resource for the whole family. I am so glad that I read this book and I actually sense that this book is going to change my life for the better if I can do what it says and get more sleep :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sleep: It Does a Family Good--How Busy Families Can Overcome Sleep Deprivation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2010
With four children in our home, and two being teenagers the matter of sleep and the importance of getting enough of it, is a daily occurrence. It seemed so easy when they were little and we established a regular conservative bedtime. Mom and Dad had a few hours together every evening alone, and the children woke up refreshed and ready to start the day. And then life happened. Sports, youth activities, friends and projects and a myriad of other 'opportunities' would invariably steal away the hours of rest and sleep that we really need. How do we get back to a normal routine? Well, Focus on the Family, has just released a new book, published by Tyndale House Publishers, titled: Sleep, It Does A Family Good. In this book Dr. Archibald D. Hart gives an extensive plan, showing us how busy families can overcome sleep deprivation. He explains step by step that there is a way we can mix teenage activities, business commitments, travel, and other schedule changers and the result will be a much more balanced sleep bank. If you, like our family has faced these challenges I would encourage you to read this book. It is filled with ideas, and gives information charts and questionnaires so you can gauge how well you or your children are doing in the sleep department. I have been given a copy of this book for purpose of review, from Tyndale House Publishers, and I would give this book 4 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sleep: It Does a Family Good--How Busy Families Can Overcome Sleep Deprivation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer S.
Being a busy family of 5, I was thrilled to receive a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale House for review. Sleep is one of those things that we tend to sacrifice, and after reading this book, I realize it's not doing anyone any favors! Dr. Hart discusses what common sleep robbers today's families face. Robbers like caffeine and stress. Being over-scheduled. Having too much homework. Typical, everyday stuff. The author offers several suggestions to battle back: avoid caffeine after 3pm, meditating in the evening, darkening the house when it's time for sleep, and having kids tackle their toughest homework subjects first. I loved his recommendation of spending at least 30 minutes in the evening as a family reading, praying, or doing some sort of calming evening ritual. This is something that my family has done off and on but we are not consistent.This is a helpful and informative book for anyone seeking to understand why we sleep and how to ensure your family gets the best sleep possible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sleep: It Does a Family Good--How Busy Families Can Overcome Sleep Deprivation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
LaTawnia Kintz
Sleep, It Does A Family Good by Dr. Archibald D. Hart is a well written book about a subject that is finally getting the recognition it needs. Dr. Hart Explains the necessity for sleep, for dreams and why a good night's sleep helps improve the mind, body and soul. He gives the reader basically a grocery list of the things that may be impeding their sleep and what to do to change it.For years we have been hearing that you can get too much sleep, so people have been cutting their sleep time down to four to six hours. Now Dr. Hart has the research to show the importance of getting at least seven to eight hours of sleep a night. The way Dr. Hart informs the reader of the necessity of proper sleep and how to achieve it, is great. He explains things in such a way that any one reading his book will understand. His book is full of practical assessment tools to help the reader and family determine their sleep patterns, sleeping disorders, and tips for reducing stress (one of the main reasons for poor sleep).I found the book very informative, helpful and one the I will read again. It is a very practical book in helping me and my family regain good, healthy sleep, healthy relationships in the family and workplace. If ever someone were to say to me they have problems with sleep this is a book I would most definitely recommend. I think this is something that should be in everyone's bookcase, well-read.To comply with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission, Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sleep: It Does a Family Good--How Busy Families Can Overcome Sleep Deprivation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kristen H.
Busy, busy, busy. It seems like everyone is getting busier. I know I am. Not only are we busier, but with multiple computers in our home, we've started spending even more time on-line. And with wireless internet, I've been known to take my laptop to bed. (Who am I kidding? Most of the time my laptop is on my bed!)I knew that sleep was important. Don't we all know that? But there are lots of people who claim not to need 8 hours of sleep. There's also the whole morning person/night person idea. Dr. Hart makes some compelling arguments against both of those ideas. Included in the book is general information about sleep - why we need it, the phases of sleep, what happens while we sleep, etc. In addition, he includes numerous assessments to determine if you and your family are getting enough sleep. There are helpful tips for fighting insomnia as well as a chapter on Christian meditation. The meditation described is not related to Eastern religion, but is a focused time of thinking on things like God's attributes or positive things that happened in our day. The basic idea was consistent with Philippians 4:8. Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things [are] honest, whatsoever things [are] just, whatsoever things [are] pure, whatsoever things [are] lovely, whatsoever things [are] of good report; if [there be] any virtue, and if [there be] any praise, think on these things.After reading this book I am convinced and determined that I will get more sleep. I will also institute earlier bedtimes for my kids. I will encourage my husband to get more sleep as well. That reminds me, I'd better get my kids ready for bed!Disclaimer: This book was provided to me free of charge by Tyndale House as a member of the Tyndale Blog Network. I was not compensated for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sleep: It Does a Family Good--How Busy Families Can Overcome Sleep Deprivation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Sleep is a big issue around my house. The problem is that we don't sleep much at all. We get into a routine, but then circumstances interfere and everyone is awake at all hours of the night. I suppose that would be fine if we got enough rest during the day, but lately, that's been difficult to accomplish. In light of this, I was delighted to receive Dr. Archibald Hart's new book, "Sleep-It Does a Family Good."Dr. Hart is a clinical Psychologist and former Dean at Fuller Theological Seminary. In this book, he explains that "Sleep deprivation makes you cranky, irritable, angry and unhappy." There are so many reasons we, in this society, cannot sleep. Perhaps there is a toddler who wakes everyone up throughout the night. Maybe children are struggling with Bedtime. Or perhaps there is too much excitement in the house and nobody can wind down enough to get to bed.There are Three Parts in the book, along with appendixes and notes. Some of the subjects covered include:1. "Why Do we sleep?"2. "Determining your family's sleep habits.3. Six strategies that can help your family sleep better.4. Sleep and your family's spirituality.5. and much more.There are some great lists in here, such as; "Tips for Getting back to sleep;" and "Ten Ways to Improve the Quality of your sleep." There is even an adolescent sleep assessment questionnaire. I look forward to having my children take this test!Sleep is such an important health aspect in our lives. We really need to work at getting more rest so we can accomplish great things!This book is published by Tyndale House and is a Focus on the Family Resource.*I received this book from Tyndale House for review purposes.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sleep: It Does a Family Good--How Busy Families Can Overcome Sleep Deprivation
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
According to the National Sleep Foundation (NSF), three out of every four Americans have a sleep problem. Those who are sleep deprived often have higher risks of illnesses such as diabetes, depression, obesity and also have mental and emotional issues. Healthful sleep habits are not automatic they have to be taught. Dr. Archibald D. Harts newest book does just that it teaches readers how to evaluate their sleep habits and correct the areas that are out of balance. This book gives in-depth information on why we sleep, what it does for our body and why its critical that we get enough of it. Dr. Hart also offers various checklists of things we can do to improve our sleep such as restore our bodys clock, prevent sleep thefts, build up sleep equity and ways to improve our quality of sleep. There are plenty of self assessments to help readers pin-point what areas of their sleep need to be worked on. I found this book to be very interesting and informative. For those who are interested, Dr. Hart offers a relaxation and Christian meditation CD, and also a relaxing sounds cd, both of which you can order from the appendix in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.