Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Shattered: Struck Down, But Not Destroyed

Tyndale House Shattered: Struck Down, But Not Destroyed

Frank Pastore was enjoying life as a major league pitcher---until a line drive shattered his elbow. While searching for answers, the friendship of Christian teammates started him down a path toward Jesus. Here in his candid, humorous way, Frank shares truths about life, baseball, and relating to a God who has his own plans. 224 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shattered: Struck Down, But Not Destroyed
Review 1 for Shattered: Struck Down, But Not Destroyed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME!!!!

Date:May 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
IAmANobody
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If there was one word to describe this book, it would be AWESOME. If Frank Pastore was still alive I'd thank him for giving this wonderful testimony in the form of a book that I think everyone needs to read. It's a must-have for any Christian and those seeking a relationship with Jesus Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shattered: Struck Down, But Not Destroyed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good gift for people who love baseball.

Date:February 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
CARIAD
Location:Long Beach, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I only ordered the book because I wanted to give it as gifts to my son and a young man in my church. I used to listen to Frank on his radio program and liked his ideas very much. My son loves baseball and I knew would enjoy the book. I believed it would strengthen his spiritual walk.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shattered: Struck Down, But Not Destroyed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
PromoGuru
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product came super fast and it was packaged well. It's an excellent book to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shattered: Struck Down, But Not Destroyed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
cindo50
Location:TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book. I'm not a big baseball fan, but I enjoyed this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shattered: Struck Down, But Not Destroyed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book

Date:October 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joyce
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After I started reading this book, I could not put it down. Howray, for what God is doing in this mans life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shattered: Struck Down, But Not Destroyed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chaplain Dan Brodek
I haven't read an autobiography this good for many years! With the foreward written by Chuck Colson, & recommendations from Joni Eareckson Tada, Tony Perkins, & Greg Laurie, I knew it was going to be a great read even before I got started! If you enjoyed the life stories of those 4 endorsers, you will love this book! Thank you, Frank, for being so open & honest.. especially about the tremendous value to be found in a skilled, gifted, compassionate Christian counselor! I know the Lord isn't finished with us yet, & hope a sequel will come along in the future! Dan
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shattered: Struck Down, But Not Destroyed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Randy Coryell
Great read. One of those tough to put down books. Would make a great fathers day gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shattered: Struck Down, But Not Destroyed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Katherine Heimsoth
I thought that Shattered: Struck Down But Not Destroyed to be well written and enjoyable read. I found myself feeling different emotions well reading at points I was sad, happy, curious and wanted to read more and find out how God had worked in his life. Frank Pastore was very open and honest about his life as an atheist and then about his life as a christian. With so many books out there that talk about how becoming a christian is easy and then your life afterward will be a walk in the park it was nice to read a story about someone who has struggled both before coming to Christ and then again after. Most people feel that once they make that step to become a christian that their life will be easy every step of the way. Frank talks about how he has had to learn how to be forgiven, to forgive others and how to communicate in a why that honors God. Even though I have not had the same life as Frank Pastore I was able to relate to aspects of his life and his struggles. His honesty about how God has taught him how to be the man that God wants him to be was encouraging and I will be recommending this book. Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my review of this book and I am not required to provide a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Shattered: Struck Down, But Not Destroyed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2010
Frank Pastore had a rough life growing up. He was neglected, verbally abused, and taught that God didn't exist. But he had baseball. And he was good at it. So good that he eventually went on to become the pitcher for the Cincinnati Reds. Life was great - he had the woman of his dreams, fast cars, lots of money, children and a booming career.Until it was shattered.All in one life-changing moment.Frank didn't know it, but because of that life-changing moment, he would begin a long journey toward finding God, finding purpose and finding healing.Surprisingly, this book will keep you reading until the end. Frank, a candid speaker, tells you in no minced words, how life was growing up, dealing with "Jesus Freaks" and finding out how to live and walk with God. I'm not a big baseball fan, but I truly enjoyed the message in this book.Frank tells us about hope, about restoration, about healing, about freedom - and he does so through funny stories, heartbreaking moments and a simplicity you can't deny.This book is for anyone who's ever experienced hurt, pain, rejection, loneliness or failure. This book is about hope in those troubled times.Those times when we've been shattered.To comply with FTC blogger guidelines: Tyndale House Publishing supplied me with a complimentary copy of this book. The views expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.