Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Plugged-in Parenting: How to Raise Media-Savvy Kids with Love, Not War

Tyndale House Plugged-in Parenting: How to Raise Media-Savvy Kids with Love, Not War

Written for parents of children ages two through teens, Plugged-In Parenting helps parents who want to teach their kids media discernment without alienating them. Cyberbullying, sexting, violent and sexualized content on TV, the Internet, and in music are prevalent today and readily available to kids. How can a parent protect their child? This book shows how to use teachable moments, research and pop culture evidence, Scripture, questions, parental example, and a written family entertainment constitution to uphold biblical standards without damaging the parent-child relationship.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 978%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Plugged-in Parenting: How to Raise Media-Savvy Kids with Love, Not War
Review 1 for Plugged-in Parenting: How to Raise Media-Savvy Kids with Love, Not War
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

garbage

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Julian
Location:Fairfax, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is horrible poorly written garbage designed for parents without a brain or ability to sort through complex issues without an authority figure telling them what to think - abandon easy solutions and religion telling you how to relate to your children.
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Plugged-in Parenting: How to Raise Media-Savvy Kids with Love, Not War
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

be plugged in

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
markbraye
Location:Temiskaming Shores, Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plugged-In Parenting: How To Raise Media-Savy Kids With Love, Not War is a wonderful book for parents, families, and people who work with kids and teens in our culture and society today.
the book was written by Bob Waliszewski. he's a parent and former youth pastor. Waliszewski is also the director of Plugged-In Online, a website visited a million times a month by parents and families looking for information about current entertainment.
Plugged-In Parenting is full of wonderful insights, stories, and quotes. Waliszewski is a great writer and story-teller. parents will see themselves in the book and be able to relate to the challenges that come with raising children and engaging in the culture and media that surrounds us.
this book is a must-read for parents, pastors, preachers, and anyone working with children and young people.
we need to be informed; we need to be relevant; and we need to be discerning. this book is a great resource to help with all three.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Plugged-in Parenting: How to Raise Media-Savvy Kids with Love, Not War
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fresh tool to use and pass on to others

Date:August 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Doreen renewing strength
Location:Tampa Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was provided for me free from Tyndale House for the purpose of review. My only responsibility is to read the book and write a review be it good or bad.
I highly recommend this book to parents, grandparents, teachers, youth workers, virtually anyone who wants to affect students and children positively.
Mr. Waliszewski gives the tools to help parents become media-savvy and raise children to be media-savvy without a battle.
Our media (television, movies, internet) is influencing our next generation. What is being produced is painting for our children and young adults a world that has no regard for human life both before and after birth, abortion and euthanasia. Personal responsibility is overlooked and the attitude is to question authority. Also, the complete disrespect of people by the language and actions are feeding our culture of fighting and immorality, Therefore, it is important to know what the lingo is and know how to communicate truth to our children so they can learn to make discerning decisions.
We, as Christians, must learn how to mold the culture by taking a positive stand and not allow the culture to mold us nor our children.
I highly recommend this book for absolutely anyone interested in making a difference in our media-saturated world.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Plugged-in Parenting: How to Raise Media-Savvy Kids with Love, Not War
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

great resource or not? depends on the family

Date:July 31, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Plugged-In Parenting: How to Raise Media-Savvy Kids with Love, Not War is a Focus on the Family publication by Bob Waliszewski, director of pluggedin.com (a Christian-based movie review website). In PIP, Waliszewski seeks to help parents decide where, and how, to draw the line in family media discernment. PIP provides evidence of the impact of media on individuals and societies, and covers important topics, such as responding to our children's objections and tips for ending fights over entertainment.
Because I love Focus on the Family and all things Christian-parenting, I fully expected to love this book. The chapter titles were promising, and indeed I expect many families will be helped by this book. Nonetheless, I was a little disappointed in the read. Perhaps because our family already shares Waliszewski's goals and vision, I found little that was new or inspiring in this book. The amount of novel insight in PIP could easily be summed up in a significantly shorter publication for those of us who already employ media discernment in our homes. Consider your family's current entertainment status before deciding on this book.
I received this book free from Tyndale for the purpose of providing my honest opinion. I was not required to give a positive review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Plugged-in Parenting: How to Raise Media-Savvy Kids with Love, Not War
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

How to make smart choices without making enemies

Date:July 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
RollTideGirl
Location:Alabama
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whether your battle zone is the screen in a theater or on an electronic device, you don't have to unplug to find peace. Plugged In Parenting can help you make media choices that bring your family closer together. Today's parents are between a rock and a hard place. They want to protect their kids from the worst of the internet, TV, movies, video games and music but they don't want to wreck their relationships with their children by always saying no. Bob Waliszewski shows you the why and how of teaching your kids to make wise entertainment choices.
We all know that movies and music can not only influence our behaviors and thought patterns but our children's as well. The first part of this book helps you consider and decide where you stand as a parent with all the various types of media we encounter everyday and all the world throws at us on a regular basis. The second part of the book focuses on making rules, being able to enforce chosen rules and doing it without creating enemies and strife within our family units. The last part of the book shows you to maintain your choices and be able to share them with others without coming across as offensive or better than they are.
This book is a very easy read yet it is filled with scripture reference to help you make choices, statistics that are incredible, personal stories that you can relate to and even several question and answer sections. I loved the idea of creating a "Family Covenant for God-honoring media choices" so that we as parents and as parents of our children are all on the same page. We have movie nights in our home about once a week where we all pile in the living room, make popcorn and watch a movie together. Waliszewski suggest that instead of just a "movie night" you use Movie Night Discussion Guides to turn a movie into a Biblically based teaching moment as well. One suggestion was to take the Bible verse Psalm 101:3 and put it above any media device (TV, computer, etc.) as a visual reminder of our Christian call to guard our hearts and minds. If you want to go even further you can check out the ClearPlay Machine through PluggedIn.com that allows you to rent or buy DVD movies and some TV series and then view them without the offensive content.
Waliszewski is also the creator of Plugged In online where you can find detailed, trustworthy information on all types of today's entertainment media. He also hosts a weekly Plugged In Movie Reviews on over 600 radio stations as well as a dozen other countries. If you want your kids to learn how to effectively deal with today's media bombardment in a Christian way, I highly recommend you read this book. It will not only challenge you to make changes for your children but for your life as well.
Disclaimer: I was given a free copy of this book to review through Tyndale House Publishers. No monetary compensation was recevied and the opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Plugged-in Parenting: How to Raise Media-Savvy Kids with Love, Not War
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must-have for every family.

Date:July 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
RamblingsMom
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maybe you've heard of <a href="http://www.pluggedin.ca/">Pluggged-In Online</a>, Focus on the Family's reviews of movies and such. This is a great place to find out if new movies, games, shows, or music is appropriate for your family. This is especially helpful, since ratings now don't really mean much. I remember when a PG-13 movie was totally clean, with no foul language and a single kiss on the mouth. Now, I'm not sure I'd feel right watching a PG-13 movie. But, I digress.
Tyndale gave me the opportunity to review Plugged-In Parenting, a book all about the importance of keeping your kids away from questionable media. It's no secret that movies and music can influence our behavior..that's how commercials work! So it's important to protect our children, and to teach them how, and why, they should protect themselves.
I really enjoyed this book. It is packed full of information and statistics that is encouraging me to step up and be more firm with the kids' tv time (it's just too easy to put on a show for them when we want some quiet time, isn't it?)
At one point, the author talks about how researchers say children shouldn't be exposed to TV at ALL before they're 2. Oops. He also explains how we put a child in front of a screen where things are constantly changing colours and moving, then expect them to be able to sit still and entertain themselves quietly. Meanwhile, their brains are wondering <em>where's the action?</em> He also discusses how many children who are over-exposed to "screen time" are labeled with ADD or ADHD..when really, they're just so used to TV and computer that they get bored too quickly with quieter activities. I can see this in my son already, though not as much as I did before.
Anyways, I would really recommend this book, even if you don't feel that TV is an issue in your home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Plugged-in Parenting: How to Raise Media-Savvy Kids with Love, Not War
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hb3908
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was so happy to read and review the book Plugged-In Parenting by Bob Walisewski. Why? Because my husband and I were just discussing how technology has made our lives so much easier, but also so much more complicated.
My husband and I run a tight ship around here. We utilize parental controls on our televisions, Net Nanny on our computers and we do not allow girls to view questionable sites like YouTube, Meebo, etc.
But, still, feeling like we have a good grip on protecting our kids, I personally had a lot to learn. I had never heard of GodTube.com or the Clear Play machine! This book opened my eyes. The author gives clear, concise ways to manage disagreements with your kids over what to see, watch, listen to, etc. I found this book chock-full of great advice.
The "Frantically Asked Questions" section is extremely helpful, as are the bible verses he has included sprinkled throughout the book. This is a terrific read for parents, or any relative that is around children and wants to know what's out there and how to handle real-life situations regarding our media today.
I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Plugged-in Parenting: How to Raise Media-Savvy Kids with Love, Not War
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

filled with great information!

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kristie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bob Waliszewski's latest book, "Plugged-In Parenting" is a book that is a valuable resource and also one that will challenge you as a parent. Split into three sections, the first section making you think and decide where you stand as a parent in the midst of all of the media that is constantly bombarding us. The second section focuses on making rules, but making rules in a way that will not create enemies and the third section maintaining it and sharing with others.
This book is filled with research, scripture references, personal stories and questions and answers. The media is constantly changing and yet it is also always bombarding us, children included and as parents we want to be aware what our children are being exposed to and taking into their minds. The goal of this book is to help connect with your children in regards to the media, find a place where you both are happy with the limitations and allowances and how to better handle conflicts. This is a good resource that I would recommend to parents.
*Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Plugged-in Parenting: How to Raise Media-Savvy Kids with Love, Not War
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Are you Plugged In?

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mommybugg
Location:SE Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Much of America's culture revolves around media consumption. TV, movies, social networking, music, gaming...And it all affects how children perceive the world around them. For many children in todsaay's society these are of great influence to them as well.
As a homeschool parent this is something we do not struggle with as much as others may. I did appreciate the insight provided within this book however I also felt there could have been a stronger biblical/scriptural basis for how to parent children with these influences all about them. Often times it seems to me that even we Christian families, consider much of society to be "just pretend" and we overlook or do not see at all, the influence it does have upon our children. In a time when we need to have a stronger hold upon the Lord and His word than before, it is so important for our children to not be bombarded with all these images; it is key for parents to provide more protection than before so that our children are allowed to be just that Children.
Let us remember to Focus on the Family - strong families and strong Christians are key in combatting the media and all that is attacking our youth today. We are called to "Train up a child in the way he should go..." Let us never take this command lightly.
Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers and Focus on the Family in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinion stated is entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.