Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zonderkidz The Berenstain Bears and the Joy of Giving - eBook

Zonderkidz The Berenstain Bears and the Joy of Giving - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Berenstain Bears and the Joy of Giving - eBook
Review 1 for The Berenstain Bears and the Joy of Giving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

lesson worthy

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heather Mcinerney
Location:Loudon, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My little one's are 2 and 5. They both love to be read to and really enjoyed this book on Christmas Eve. I'm sure it will make our favorites list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Berenstain Bears and the Joy of Giving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jovin
Location:Kanata (Ottawa) Ontario
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it so very much, wonderful stories for the whole family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Berenstain Bears and the Joy of Giving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful book

Date:January 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
momofthree
Location:Grafton, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful book. It really lets the reader know what Christmas is all about. My children love it. We enjoy all the faith stories of the Berenstain Bears. Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Berenstain Bears and the Joy of Giving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book!

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Annette
Location:Mechanicsburg, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the real meaning of Christmas with Christ Jesus's birth and how to apply it to real life simply for children in this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Berenstain Bears and the Joy of Giving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful books!!!

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jet W
Location:Western Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the life lessons and family values in all the Berenstain books. Never a problem when buying one of these books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Berenstain Bears and the Joy of Giving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
teachermom
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great addition to our Berenstain Bears collection.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Berenstain Bears and the Joy of Giving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The perfect Christmas gift

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dana
Location:Spicer, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased and read many of The Berenstain Bears books and love them all. This is a great addition to a church library or as a gift. (ages 4+)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Berenstain Bears and the Joy of Giving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The cubs learn about giving

Date:November 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christine M. Irvin
Location:Columbus, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Bible reference for The Berenstain Bears and the Joy of Giving, written and illustrated by Jan and Mike Berenstain, is, “It is more blessed to give than to receive [Acts: 20:35], and aptly so, as the story is about giving.
It’s Christmastime in Bear Country. A few days before the big day, brother and Sister are each given $10 to spend on Christmas presents for others. They buy just one gift each: Brother buys for Sister and visa versa. Neither gift costs $10 so each cub has money left over for their selves. Although they bought gifts for each other, they made sure they had money left over they could keep. That’s not what Christmas is about, but Mama and Papa don’t say anything to the cubs about it.
On Christmas Eve, Brother and Sister take part in their church’s Christmas play, dressed as one of the Wise Men’s camels, Sister as the front end, Brother in the rear. During the play, when the Wise Men give their presents to the Baby Jesus, Brother and Sister realize the reason for giving Christmas presents: The presents we give to each other on Christmas are to symbolize the gifts the Wise Men gave to Baby Jesus.
From that moment on, they have a change of heart in relation to gifts. On Christmas morning, instead of rushing to open their own gifts, they take pleasure in exchanging gifts with each other first. Later that day, on the way to church, they stop to donate their leftover money to a charitable organization.
The illustrations throughout the book are bright and colorful and a bit cartoon-like as are most books in the series.
What I Like: I enjoy reading any and all books in the Berenstain Bears series. It’s fun to see what the Bear family is up to in each episode and how we can relate the lessons they learn to our own lives.
What I Dislike: However, having said that, I must add that this book fell a bit short on the story end. Although it was good that the cubs discovered the joy of giving, I think it’s unrealistic to think they would both have the exact same thought at the exact same moment. And, it seems unlikely they would come to such a life-changing conclusion simply by performing a play they had rehearsed many times. I think a more realistic storyline would have had them helping at a local homeless shelter or food panty, or organizing a toy drive for needy families to illustrate that there are those in this world that have very little and those of us who have more should be willing, and happy, to give of what we have. That’s the joy of giving.
Overall Rating: Good.
Age Appeal: 4-8.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.