Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The 21-Day Dad's Challenge: Three Weeks to a Better Relationship with your Kids

Tyndale House The 21-Day Dad's Challenge: Three Weeks to a Better Relationship with your Kids

Join other dad's across the country who are building a better relationship with their kids by taking The 21-Day Dad's Challenge! Over the next 3 weeks, learn habits that will have an eternal impact on your kids, your family and your community. You'll be challenged by the best: like Tony Dungy, Josh McDowell, Randy Alcorn, Joe White, and more.

No matter what your child's age, make each day count with in-person loving, coaching, and modeling - beginning with the next 21 days! Each day's challenge includes a reflective thought from well-known dads; supporting Scriptures; a call to action; and space for your personal responses.
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 1392%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The 21-Day Dad's Challenge: Three Weeks to a Better Relationship with your Kids
Review 1 for The 21-Day Dad's Challenge: Three Weeks to a Better Relationship with your Kids
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robert Casale
Location:Plainedge, Ny
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good Godly idea's on ways to relate to your kids. Some of the topics I was familiar with, and others I was not. It is a wake up call to all of us Fathers. Don't blink. Because your two year old will be 16 before you know it. Love your kids right now! Amen
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The 21-Day Dad's Challenge: Three Weeks to a Better Relationship with your Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Effective Fatherhood

Date:January 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Urailak
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not seen Courageous yet, but I have heard positive reviews about it and can't wait to get its DVD. Courageous challenges men to be better fathers. The 21-Day Dad’s Challenge aims to do the same. Because of their competitive nature, men enjoy challenges. This book offers 3 weeks worth of challenges for dads to develop better relationships with their kids. The challenges were written by well-known Christian men such as Josh McDowell, Jim Daly, Joe White, Jay Payleitner, Randy Alcorn, Tony Dungy, Shaun Alexander, Chip Ingram, Carey Casey (the general editor) and one woman. The 21-Day Dad’s Challenge will inspire and equip men to build stronger bonds with their kids while having fun and instilling Godly values in them. I'm excited to be sharing all the practical tips in this book with my husband. It's helpful for moms, too :). Each chapter ends with "Your Challenge" and "Your Plan" (action steps). Some chapters also include a symbol/ code (that works with your smartphone) and a link to a video by Dr. Greg Smalley for bonus help/advice in taking that day's challenge. I really like these videos. You can join other fathers as they take the 21-Day Challenge here. Kids grow up so fast. Please do not take the gift of fatherhood for granted. No matter how old your child is, he/she would be thankful that you intentionally reach out to him/her with love. This resource is a wonderful parenting coach at your fingertips.
~ Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The 21-Day Dad's Challenge: Three Weeks to a Better Relationship with your Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A LIFE CHANGER

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
wolf
Location:Greeley , CO
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only through about a week , but it is changing my attitudes and feelings . Wish I could order copies for all the guys in my mens group . Definitely a GOD THING !!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The 21-Day Dad's Challenge: Three Weeks to a Better Relationship with your Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book and great service

Date:November 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dexter
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am enjoying this book very much and it does challenge me and give me new ideas of being a better dad for my daughter.
Also the book was delivered in a very timely manner and a great price for a new book.
Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The 21-Day Dad's Challenge: Three Weeks to a Better Relationship with your Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
David Rodi
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Extremely practical strategies and simple applications that hold great weight. The results are noticeable in an extremely short time...and things keep getting better and better. I manage a crew of young men, new husbands and new fathers and I have decided to incorporate this into our weekly Spiritual Development time. We are on Day 2 and the guys are tremendously receptive. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The 21-Day Dad's Challenge: Three Weeks to a Better Relationship with your Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book...

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steve Tee
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book was very good overall. However there were barcodes for smartpahones which link to related video at various stages at the book which was one of the neater features I have seen in a book...only problem none of them worked...they can still be located at the website. Other than that the book is great! I hope every dad can incorperate some of these great principles into their lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The 21-Day Dad's Challenge: Three Weeks to a Better Relationship with your Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Challenge For Dads

Date:November 17, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 21-Day Dad's Challenge focuses on how to be the father God has called a man to be. This book is geared toward men as fathers but women will definitely learn how to be the mother her child needs by reading it. Anyone who wants to be a better parent should take this 21 day challenge.
Several people have contributed their thoughts on fathering, by chapter, to this book. Each chapter speaks on a parenting subject and is followed by a challenge relating to the chapter. The reader is asked to write out their own plan to complete the challenge.
The chapters of this book cover many subjects. Some deal with what we say and how we say it to our child. The reader is reminded that the most important thing to give a child is our time. There is a chapter showing us that parents need to live a life that is a model to their child for proper behavior. A few chapters deal with how to use money wisely. This book has a lot of great ideas that don't involve a great expense of money - just your time!
The challenges at the end of the chapter involve simple ideas. One idea is to send your child letters. Another is to go outside and get active by walking or going for a car ride. Some challenges involve encouraging your child by words or helping them discover a hobby, their gifts or career ideas.
The plans to complete the challenge involve what you are actually going to do with what you read and were challenged to do. You write done your own plan of action. For example, if the chapter dealt with encouraging your child, you would write down some encouraging statements for your child and when you plan to use them. The plans cause you to be intentional. Just reading about it may not cause you to follow through. Writing down what you want to do makes it easier to complete the challenge.
From reading this book I learned that The United States has more than 20 million fatherless children. Cracking open the pages of this book won't change that statistic. But reading The 21-Day Dad's Challenge will get you thinking of ways you can be a better parent or even a better friend or neighbor to a fatherless child.
I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The 21-Day Dad's Challenge: Three Weeks to a Better Relationship with your Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow~

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carrie Shindorf
Location:Cosby, Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is written as a 21 day challenge~ and each challenge is written by 21 different people from Jim Daly to Carey Casey. I have to say all the chapters are amazing ~filled with sound wisdom from each author.
My favorite is written by Gracia Burnham. Of course her children's father is not alive but was shot by militant Muslims and Philippine army troops. While they were being held captive they talked about their children. Martin~ her husband ~ regretted being so hard on his children. He wished he had offered more grace to them. So after Martin's death and her release she decided to start showing her children more grace. I so enjoyed reading her chapter. When it is all said and done what will really matter?
This is a fantastic challenge for fathers and mothers as well. I give this book 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The 21-Day Dad's Challenge: Three Weeks to a Better Relationship with your Kids
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Challenge to Fathers Everywhere

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ben Cabe
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The 21-Day Dad's Challenge" is a book divided into small daily readings, usually two to three pages, followed by a challenge and a section where fathers can write out their "plan" of action to complete the challenge. Each day is marked by a new author and a personal lesson he has learned about fatherhood. Some chapters end with QR codes which the reader can scan with his smartphone. Once scanned the father will be presented with video summary of the days reading. (And don't worry, if you don't have a smartphone, there is a URL that will link you to the same thing).
The book seems to be aimed at fathers with children older than three or so but the principles are solid none-the-less. Even though my first child will not be born for another four months I found these stories helpful and informative. This book inviting and easy to read. They offer a free downloadable discussion guide and various other online resources, including a "share your story of the 21 day dad's challenge", on their website (www.21daydadschallenge.com).
I would recommend this book as a reference to guide a discussion group; it will be most useful, to you as a father, to get a group a guys who commit to read a chapter everyday and, once a week, get together to discuss your experience. Keep each other accountable; learn from one another and challenge each other for, "as iron sharpens iron so one man sharpens another". The book will challenge the time you spend with your kids, the words you say to them and the example you portray. You may have to make serious personal sacrifices in order to complete some of these challenges; instead of watching the game, throw the pigskin with your son or braid your daughters hair and in the end, as the book promises, you will not regret it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The 21-Day Dad's Challenge: Three Weeks to a Better Relationship with your Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 21-Day Dad's Challenge: Three Weeks To A Better Relationship With Your Kids is a book dedicated to enhancing and advancing a the father's role within the life of his children.
This book is set up as a devotional, of which I am a big fan, and that makes it simple to use, but the length of the devotions do not steal time away from the already over burdened schedules of most fathers.
One aspect that sets these devotions above many others, apart from their designation to fathers, is the uniqueness of their compilation. While Carey Casey is the general editor, he is also one of twenty contributing writers on this project. Each of these writers brings their own heart touching, soul piercing words, stories and opinions to their particular part of this project. Those contributing to this project include well-known fathers such as Tony Dungy, Josh McDowell, Carey Casey, Chip Ingram, and Joe White to name just a few.
Following each segment of this book, the readers are encourage to grasp the lesson through a personal challenge as they are encouraged take the information/lesson to a deeper level within their lives, to a deeper level within the lives of their children.
This book is wonderfully complied and contains the the right amount of information to make any father consider where his relationship with his children is currently and the possibility of where it could be headed. For that, it is highly recommended.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The 21-Day Dad's Challenge: Three Weeks to a Better Relationship with your Kids
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not quite what I was expecting

Date:October 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
DCMJ
Location:Colorado Springs
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I little shallow as far as I am concerned. More marketing than substance. Oh, I hate the icons to scan with your smart phone. As a father the best thing we can do is to put the phone away.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The 21-Day Dad's Challenge: Three Weeks to a Better Relationship with your Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Affirming Challenge for Dads

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
dadified
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 21 Day Dads Challenge is a must read book for dads. Most books I read about men or dads tends to point out all the things we are not doing or should be doing and not affirming all the things we are doing. This book affirmed in me the father I desire to be.
Carey Casey, Tony Dungy, Jim Daly, Randy Alcorn, Chip Ingram, Josh McDowell, Shaun Alexander and many others contributed to this book. Most of the content is new (not regurgitated from other books) and each of these great dads provide such unique perspectives in their own fathering journeys. The reading was easy (15-20 minutes), chapters are short and at the end of each chapter were some practical suggestions in how to live it out. I also loved the QR Codes placed throughout the book that give you some additional short video content.
I know I will find myself going back and back to this book for additional suggestions in how to be a better dad even after the 21 Day Challenge is over.
Get it. You will not disappointed. I was not and I know my kids are not. :)
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The 21-Day Dad's Challenge: Three Weeks to a Better Relationship with your Kids
This review is fromThe 21-Day Dad's Challenge: Three Weeks to a Better Relationship with Your Kids - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome read!

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
CAP23
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
powerful parenting principles on every page. Every dad should read this book
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.