Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey ® 90 Devotions for Kids

Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey ® 90 Devotions for Kids

Written by the Adventures in Odyssey team, your family will spend 13 weeks doing 90 devotions that will help parents teach their kids about God's Word and make the truths of the Bible accessible to their kids. Join Whit, Connie, Eugene and all of your AIO friends as you discover a new theme each week. Each week includes an overview to introduce the theme, seven devotions which reference AIO dramas, and an activity, puzzle, or game to reinforce the core biblical truths taught during that week. Recommended for ages 6-12.
Average Customer Rating:
4.905 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 21100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Adventures in Odyssey ® 90 Devotions for Kids
Review 1 for Adventures in Odyssey ® 90 Devotions for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Devotional

Date:October 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Billy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kids love these, and fight over who gets to read each night.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adventures in Odyssey ® 90 Devotions for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This devotional is exceptional!

Date:August 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
elise
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family loves this devotional. We love coming together at night to read it and everyone is always excited to read and learn new things about following Christ!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adventures in Odyssey ® 90 Devotions for Kids
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great devotional!

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
gurnzee
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We love this devotional- we've been fans of the audio series for a long time, and many of the devotions reference an adventure that we are already familiar with. I love how they lay out the foundational Christian truths. We downloaded the ebook onto our iPad which has been super convenient..
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adventures in Odyssey ® 90 Devotions for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
AIO FAN
Location:Dallas,Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Biblically GREAT!
well written and well thought out
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adventures in Odyssey ® 90 Devotions for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful devotionals for kids!

Date:May 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
AdventuresinOdysseyLover
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wonderful devotionals - especially if you have a busy schedule! Love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adventures in Odyssey ® 90 Devotions for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent devitional

Date:April 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lanna
Location:British Columbia Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is so well done, one of the best devotionals out there, very real, very easy to relate to. I highly recommend this! My child is in grade 1 and loves it! we will use it for a number of years to come! I hope they come out with more!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adventures in Odyssey ® 90 Devotions for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heidi Petry
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a fun way for the kids to do devotional time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adventures in Odyssey ® 90 Devotions for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jonathan
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent resource for children and families. Lots of fun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adventures in Odyssey ® 90 Devotions for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Resouce for our family

Date:January 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
7wheelers
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I immediately started using this book to do our weekly Bible study. We all love it and it makes it so much easier to do our family devotions. I highly recommend this to everyone!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adventures in Odyssey ® 90 Devotions for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great addition.

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Aimee Shaffer
Location:Wadsworth, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter loves this devotional and looks forward to reading it every day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adventures in Odyssey ® 90 Devotions for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:January 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
lisamarinakay
Location:Oklahoma
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter loves this devotion. She can't wait to the next one. She talks about them through out the day also. If your child loves Adventure in Odyssey they'll love the devotion too, even if your child is not familiar with AIO I would still recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Adventures in Odyssey ® 90 Devotions for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adventures in Odyssey’s 90 Devotions for Kids

Date:November 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My children and I look forward to reading a new devotional each morning from Adventures in Odyssey’s 90 Devotions for Kids. These devotions do not contain twaddle, but are meaty enough to grab all of my children’s (ages 6-16) attention.
Within the pages of this book you will find 13 themes which are: Salvation, Learning About Jesus, Discipleship, The Bible, Faith, Forgiveness, Giving, Witnessing, Worship, Gong to Church, Serving Others, and Overcoming Sin. Each devotional contains a Scripture verse, a devotional based on the days verse, a story told by an Odyssey character, a daily challenge and an additional Scripture to memorize during the week. The book also contains puzzles that help reinforce what is being learned.
If you are looking for a good family devotional, you might want to consider AIO’s 90 Devotions for Kids; it might just be one that you and your children will enjoy for many years to come.
**Adventures in Odyssey’s 90 Devotions for Kids was provided for me free by Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Adventures in Odyssey ® 90 Devotions for Kids
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Christian Resource for Tweens or Teenagers.

Date:October 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
BlessedLadyWeb
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
90 Devotions for Kids by Adventures in Odyssey is a comprehensive devotional covering topics from Salvation, to Witnessing & Serving Others. The daily devotionals are typically 1 ½ - 2 pages, which is great for younger readers with short attention spans. The devotionals start with a daily verse, then transitions into mini life application essays. The essays, as expected, draw upon events featured in the Odyssey series over the years; along with topics from other sources. The devotions end with a daily challenge and memory verse. The daily challenge calls the reader to action and encourages application of the principles learned in the devotion. The memory verse assists in the formation of the important habit of writing the Word of God on the heart.
90 Devotions for Kids also features engaging puzzles throughout the book, such as word search. The cover is bright and seems to be geared towards drawing kids as young as 6-8 years old. However, I felt the content of the book was more appropriate for tweens (10 -12 years) to teenagers. This is due to reading comprehensive levels and devotional topics. However, if a parent would be actively assisting the child to read the devotions by offering explanations of the content, than reading comprehension for younger readers would be a nonissue.
Some of the devotions I noticed seemed to be pulled from other resources that were adult oriented. For instance on page 70, the devotional, “Unanswered Prayers,” mentioned that God answers prayers in the best interest of, “our children.” Well thankfully, most kids I know don’t have children. The theme of this devotion also included the desire to marry a high school sweetheart. This is certainly not a theme a younger reader (6-8 years) would care about.
Also, in the devotional, “What is Faith,” on page 94, there is mention of driving a car. For instance, it states, “We get into our cars to drive across town, having faith that when we step on the brake pedal, the car will stop.” This type of wording in the devotional seems as if it originally was geared towards an older teen or adult, not a “kid.”
Even with some of the devotionals being worded, in my opinion for an older teenager, there were plenty devotionals that were kid-oriented and appropriate. I think if parents would like to assist their younger children with comprehending the content, it would be a nice addition to the child’s library. However, if parents would rather give their child the opportunity to read the devotionals and seek God in their own quiet personal time daily, the book would best be given to a young child with excellent reading comprehensive skills or a tween/teenager.
I received a complimentary copy of the book by Tyndale House Publishers for my unbiased review. I have not received compensation in sharing my opinion.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Adventures in Odyssey ® 90 Devotions for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Love it and my kids love it!

Date:October 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
All Things Juliet
Location:Philippines
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love this book because it is a wonderful spiritual resource for teaching my own kids about God and some important Bible lessons. It is also a great material for our kids’ ministry during Sunday school.
After the very short story or adventure, there is a “challenge” that leads the kids to not only listen but also put the lessons in practice. There is also a memory verse for each theme, which is reinforced in the daily devotion so that kids will have an easy time to memorize the verse. And the most exciting part of the theme is the activity such as crossword puzzle, word search and word scramble, which my kids love the most.
If you are up for a family adventure that will surely bring not only your imagination but also your spirit to a different level of peace and happiness, you should grab your copy of the book. I have some great selections of books but I personally picked Adventures in Odyssey: 90 Devotions for Kids. This is a great book that both you and the kids will definitely love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Adventures in Odyssey ® 90 Devotions for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Invaluable Resource

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Missouri Made Momma
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always loved Focus on the Family. It’s truly an inspirational organization with great resources for families. Plus, I am always on the lookout for new way to help my children grow spiritually so when I saw that I could review 90 Devotions for Kids, from Focus on the Family, I jumped on the chance.
90 Devotions for Kids is from the Adventures in Odyssey division. Adventures in Odyssey are audio stories that help kids to grow in character through spiritual and moral aspects of their character. If you would like more information about Adventures in Odyssey please visit their website here.
I love this book for so many reasons and it was a wonderful resource for my school age child. To start, there are 13 different themes that you will study throughout the book. Each theme has a bible memory verse for the week and by the end of the week your child should have memorized the verse, which is easy because the verse is reinforce throughout the week.
Each theme is broken into 7 days, one for each day of the week. You don’t have to do one everyday and can plan your child study however you want but, it’s so easy to do one each day and have one theme per week. At the end of each theme there are puzzles that your child does to review all concepts from the week/theme. They are an invaluable resources in themselves since your child gets a review and has fun while doing so.
The daily devotions are wonderful because they have different parts to each one. Each day has a daily verse, reading, and challenge. All of which reinforce the bible memory verse and theme for the week. The give your child a new way to look at the themes each day in a way that your child can understand. The devotions are modern day, true to life, ways for children to think about biblical principles but, easily understand them.
As you take this journey you have 3 travelers that go with you. If you know about Adventures in Odyssey then you have already been introduced to these friends but, if you are like me, they will be new to you. Their names are Connie, Eugene, and Wooton. The each play a part in your child’s learning and I think they are wonderful mates on this journey. Connie will talk to your child about spiritual concepts, Eugene is your go-to fact guy and Wooton is the comedian of the group. They make learning the bible fun and entertaining. We couldn't have made the journey without them.
If you are like me and your children’s spiritual and moral growth is important to you then this book is an invaluable resource. I think that ever family should have this wonderful book in their library. I will say that it works best with school age children and preferable with 8 and up.
Now, I am on the lookout for a preschool devotion and hopefully I can find one and I will let you all know when I do.
I received this book free from Tyndale. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Adventures in Odyssey ® 90 Devotions for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

90 Devotions for Kids

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
'Adventures in Odyssey: 90 Devotions for Kids' is a wonderful new devotional for kids. The familiar characters from the Adventures in Odyssey series fill this book sharing story examples that reinforce the devotional topic. There are 13 themes each with 6-7 devotions per theme. The devotions are short, about two pages which is a perfect length for this age but they are packed with information and Biblical truths. There's a daily challenge with each lesson and a memory versus. There's also a review puzzle at the end of each section. I'm planning on using this for our next family devotional. The themes covered include: Salvation, Learning about Jesus, Discipleship, Prayer, The Bible, Exercising Faith, Forgiveness, Giving, Witnessing, Worship, Going to Church, Serving Others and Overcoming Sin. It's a great line-up that I can't wait to share with my kids.
I received a copy of this book from Tyndale for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Adventures in Odyssey ® 90 Devotions for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Devo for Kids Who Love AIO

Date:September 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dorie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you and your family have ever listened to Adventures in Odyssey, then you will be familiar with Mr. Whittaker, Connie, Eugene, and Wooton, characters from the series. They appear throughout the devotions with interesting tidbits and helpful suggestions. Each devo mentions a particular episode within the main text. However, even if you or your children are not familiar with the episode of AIO, enough information is given for you to understand the example and how it relates to that day's point.
The entire devotional is separated into thirteen themes, including Exercising Faith, Witnessing, and Worship . I appreciated the scope of the themes and the inclusion of some not-so-typical themes for a child's devotional. Themes begin with a short introduction and printed prayer. Then, each theme is covered in one week's worth of devos. A fun puzzle reviewing the theme's information is included at the end of each theme week.
Individual daily devos are not dated or delegated to a particular day. This makes the devotional adaptable to any schedule. Devos are only two sides of a page long, and include a daily verse, text explaining key concepts and giving illustrations related to the theme, a message from one of the AIO characters, a daily challenge (action for child to do), and the weekly memory verse. The length and organization make it easy for a child to complete the devo on their own.
Daily, your child is challenged to get into God's Word, read it, and apply it. A Bible is needed to complete each devo. This is something that I particularly liked. The devo lists the daily Bible verses, but the child has to look them up to know what they say. Memory verses are included within the text of the devo.
Overall, I am greatly pleased with this devotional.
I received a copy of this book from the publisher, in exchange for a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Adventures in Odyssey ® 90 Devotions for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for Older Kids

Date:September 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
jcheinrichs
Location:Winnipeg
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was really looking forward to a devotional book for my kids, they love Bible stories and it would be nice to have an aid to apply the themes behind the stories. I have to be honest, I was a little disappointed when I received this book in the mail. Not because the content was bad, but simply because my kids seem to be a little to young to benefit from the book. My oldest is 6 years old and I was hoping there would be some pictures to go with the stories. and colour, but this book does not provide either. Also the book refers time to time to the Adventures in Odyssey characters and stories, and my kids have not seen either.
All my personal disappointment aside (not being able to put it to use right away), I thought the devotionals were great when geared toward older kids. The stories are short enough, engaging, and Bible based. All of the devotions have themes, challenges, memory verses, and activities to keep the kids engaged and walking out what they learn in the devotionals. I know a few kids at the proper age that will benefit from my gift. I just wish the book would give the age appropriateness.
FTC DISCLOSURE: I received this book for free from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for an honest review. I was not obligated to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Adventures in Odyssey ® 90 Devotions for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review:Adventures in Odyssey 90 Devotions for Kids

Date:September 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
homeschoolmom24
Location:Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About the Book:
Join Whit, Connie, Eugene, Wooton, and your other friends from the exciting world of Odyssey and DISCOVER tried-and-true biblical truths- like salvation,prayer, and forgiveness, and many others-that form the core values of Christianity.
Through historical stories, modern biography, Bible adventures, and key scenes from Adventures in Odyssey radio dramas, you'll IMAGINE what it's like to be a hero of the faith.
As you read each inspiring entry alone or with your family, you'll be informed and challenged to GROW in your walk with God. Each devotion features a relevant Bible verse among other things.
My Review:
What an AWESOME devotional Focus on the Family put together for us. My family and I LOVE Adventures in Odyssey so we were more than thrilled to get a chance to review this book for Tyndale.
Here are some highlights for you to see if this is the devotional for you and your family.
Lesson begins with a Bible verse.
Then a story from the Bible put in words for a child to understand.
A little snippet or word from one of the characters in Adventures in Odyssey.
Then of course the Daily Challenge, challenging our kids to do something a good deed if you will.
And then ends with a themed Bible Memory verse.
And if that's not all there are some puzzles for the kids to do.
Everything in this children's devotional is short and sweet just the way kids like it especially my boys. We will use this in our homeschool it will work out perfectly.
We as adults are not the only ones that could use a little Jesus time each morning before we begin our day. Our kids could too! You could do this at the breakfast table or at bedtime it is that convenient. So please take a look you won't be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Adventures in Odyssey ® 90 Devotions for Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this devotional, love Adventures in Odyssey

Date:September 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather King
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a Whit's End and Odyssey fan from way back. We used to listen in the car when I was a girl, somehow managing to get five kids hushed enough to hear the stories over the radio. Adventures in Odyssey now captivates my daughter. I've been buying her the CDs, starting with the golden oldies from when I was a kid, and now she listens at night before she goes to sleep.
The devotions that the Adventures in Odyssey team have put together are another great spiritual tool to use in teaching my kids about God's Word and faith in Jesus Christ. Separated into 13 different sections, these devotions all cover some of the most foundational themes about our faith: Worship, Going to Church, The Bible, Prayer . . . When you finish the book, you will certainly have at least begun discussions with your children about the basic tenets of what we believe, why we believe it, and why we serve and worship God the way we do.
For each of the themes, there is a theme verse to memorize, some lessons from the Bible or from great heroes of the faith like William Wilberforce, a puzzle here and there to make it fun, some challenge ideas for families to put their faith into practice, and some fun and interesting "asides" from the Odyssey characters. The lessons also often link up with Adventures in Odyssey episodes, so you can always download the audio or build your own AiO collection and listen as a family.
I especially love the introductory comment from "Mr. Whitaker" that "When we use the word story in reference to the Bible, we mean a true historical account from the pages of Scripture. The Bible is not a book of myths, tall tales, or legends. It's true, every word of it." I love using imagination and storytelling to teach children and adults about God, but it's so important to clarify that the Bible is truth.
The book can minimally be covered in just a few minutes before bedtime as a family. But in order to have time to do the extra activities and such, I may set it aside to use during the summer when we don't have Awana and school and a million other activities. With 90 devotionals, it's a perfect fit for a summer devotional! Still, families can probably find many ways to use these devotionals effectively at any time of the year.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>