Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Be the Mom: Overcome Attitude Traps and Enjoy Your Kids

Tyndale House Be the Mom: Overcome Attitude Traps and Enjoy Your Kids

Do you ever feel like motherhood is a cycle of never-ending tasks that go unnoticed and unappreciated?

If so, you're not alone. While being a mom is one of the most important, rewarding jobs you could ever have, it can also be tiring and emotionally draining. In Be the Mom, Tracey Eyster describes seven "mom traps" that moms often fall into, and step-by-step, she provides advice for avoiding and escaping these traps in your own life. Tracey's delightful, down-to-earth style will make you smile, equip you with the tools you need, and remind you what being the mom is all about.

Average Customer Rating:
4.812 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Be the Mom: Overcome Attitude Traps and Enjoy Your Kids
Review 1 for Be the Mom: Overcome Attitude Traps and Enjoy Your Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rosalyn Johnson Valdez
Location:Beavercreek, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tracey Eyster's book, "Be the Mom", has helped me to reevaluate my parenting style. Eyster offers many useful suggestions for avoiding the mom traps that sometimes strain mother/child relationships. She encourages moms to take a God-focused approach rather than a self-centered approach to parenting. Moms can easily relate to the honesty of her entertaining and well-written anecdotes. The quizzes within her book help moms to step back and objectively look at the effectiveness of their child-rearing methods. Her Biblical references direct moms to the ultimate parenting guide. I hope to apply what I've learned from Eyster's book to become a better mom. Thank you, Tracey, for reminding me that in spite of my imperfections and insecurities, I'm more than 'just a mom' to four wonderfully imperfect children. In fact, you have helped me to see myself through God's eyes with this quote from "Be the Mom": "He knows you are the perfect mom for your children."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Be the Mom: Overcome Attitude Traps and Enjoy Your Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic book

Date:December 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
hannahmarriott
Location:Czech Republic
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Without a doubt, the best written and most helpful book I have read on parenting yet! It was challenging, encouraging and practical and I'm already planning who I can buy a copy for!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Be the Mom: Overcome Attitude Traps and Enjoy Your Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A perfect book for young moms!

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mom on the move
Location:London, Ontario Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was pivatol in helping me to embrace my role as a mother. I had realized I needed help and tracy provided practical ways of looking at my frustrations and help me to find answers to the problems. Most of all I appreciated how she didn't advocate any particular mothering philosophy but stuck to the basics, our hearts and attitudes towards our children. I can truly say I enjoy my kids much more now! Thanks Tracy! I actually bought several copies and have handed them out to my mom friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Be the Mom: Overcome Attitude Traps and Enjoy Your Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read

Date:March 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
george
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book and ordered a case full to give away to encourage other Mum's in the most important job right down through the ages - today included - being a Mum with your heart, mind and soul!
Oh, yes, and enjoying it for the blessing it is!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Be the Mom: Overcome Attitude Traps and Enjoy Your Kids
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good encouragement and advice.

Date:January 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good book about your everyday mom issues. She gives encouragement and advice to just enjoy your kids and not stress over the small things.
She includes several traps that we can fall into when faced with the pressures of being a mom in today's world. We just need to enjoy our babies and live everyday as best as we can.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Be the Mom: Overcome Attitude Traps and Enjoy Your Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

No perfect parents, just loving ones!

Date:November 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Busy Biz
Location:Cameron, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyone tries to tell you how much your life will change once you have children.
However, until you have children you can't fully comprehend how much your life will change.
be the mom: overcome attitude traps and enjoy your kids is a wonderful book to give any and all the Moms in your life.
From the moment they place your beautiful baby in your arms the race begins, or so it seems.
Everyone seems to have an opinion on how to raise your children.
How to and how not to do basically everything under the sun.
It can be overwhelming if you allow it to be.
With all that said it's easy to fall into 'traps' of what we thing a mom is.
Tracey highlights 7 Mom Traps in her book.
She gives examples of them to assist us in identifying and explains how we can best avoid or escape each trap.
The 7 Traps Include:
1. Just-a-Mom Trap: Is this it...really?
2. Me Mom Trap: It's my way or else, people!
3. Martyr Mom Trap: Another cold meal for me.
4. Busy Mom Trap: Supermom to the rescue!
5. Mirror Mom Trap: Who's the fairest?
6. Tomorrow Mom Trap: Tomorrow is another day.
7. They Say Mom Trap: You know what they say!
I know that I am at risk for falling into the 'Busy Mom Trap' someday, but knowing that NOW means that I can work hard to avoid it.
Eyster's book points out where we as Mom's can falter.
We are all humans, none of us perfect, none of us all knowing.
She reminds us that our main goal is to be THE Mom to our children that God expects us to be.
So yes, everyone will tell you how to raise your children and my best advice for that is...
...listen to them.
Take notes and file them away in the back of your brain.
Someday when you are at your wits end you might remember something someone told you that worked for them and it might just work for your situation too.
OR...
It might be a colossal mistake and you'll be floundering to figure out something else.
Either way there is no guidebook that will tell you how to raise your children.
Being that every child is different, every family is different, and yes, every Mom is different, we all have to learn what is best for our families.
With all that being said, I encourage all Moms to grab a copy of this book and read it.
Find out if there are any traps your falling into and rebuke them!
Eyster's point in writing this book was to show us where we can get tripped up and to teach us that all we really need to do is check our attitudes at the door and learn to enjoy our roles as Moms.
Laugh, Learn, and Love who you are and who your children are.
This is a season, as I've learned, and it will fly by in the blink of an eye.
So with the holidays right around the corner, I encourage everyone to grab a copy of be the mom and stick it in the stocking of a Mom you love.
I know I'll be re-reading my copy.
Possibly every year.
Just so I can be reminded that there is no perfect parent, just loving ones!
I hope you have a Blessed Saturday!
I received this book free from the publishers through the Tyndale House Publishers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Be the Mom: Overcome Attitude Traps and Enjoy Your Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A TEACHER OF GOOD THINGS

Date:September 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joyful Books
Location:Washoe Valley, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Be the Mom: Overcome Attitude Traps and Enjoy Your Kids
by Tracey Lanter Eyster
Being a mom was something I always desired! I couldn’t wait until I had children! Now I am a grandma and all my kids are now in their 20’s. So why would I want to read a book about motherhood now?
Titus 2:3-5 tells us, “the older women likewise, that they be reverent I behavior, not slanders, not given to much wine, teachers of good things –that they admonish the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be discreet, chaste, homemakers, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be blasphemed.” We have been given a responsibility as older women to teach the younger women by God. With that responsibility hopefully, comes the wisdom we have gained through the gift of motherhood.
Tracey Eyster has done just what she has been called to and that is to teach the younger women the wisdom which she has learned; more specifically to teach moms to love their children.
I was interested in the book, “Be the Mom” because sometimes we as older women feel like our children are already raised, so we are not in need of learning anything new. But I feel, older women have many opportunities to share wisdom with younger mothers, so it is important to be prepared.
In the book, “Be the Mom” Tracey explains many “traps” moms can fall into: Just a Mom Trap, Me Mom Trap, Martyr Mom Trap, Busy Mom Trap, Mirror Mom Trap, Tomorrow Mom Trap, They Say Mom Trap. Each chapter is filled with wisdom and humor. What an easy but thought provoking read.
Looking back at my own motherhood, I see I fell into or should I say, “chose” many of these mom traps. Now that I am a grandma, I hope to model during this time in my life ways to choose godly characteristics, instead of Mom/Grandma traps; especially “Martyr Mom/Grandma Trap!”
Tracey Eyster’s book is an easy read, will not take too much of your time, and will engage you with wisdom and humor right from the beginning!
I received this book for free from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
God Bless Your Day Today!
Kelly
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Be the Mom: Overcome Attitude Traps and Enjoy Your Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For moms, expecting moms, and hope-to-be moms

Date:September 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Sterling
Location:Benton, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I truly enjoyed ready Tracey Eyster's book Be the Mom. I honestly picked it up to peruse it enough to give a review to some coworkers. However, I was drawn in by Tracey's easy manner of speaking, her wit, and her openness about her successes and failures as a mom. Before I knew it, I had read the whole thing. The thing I find interesting is that I'm not a mom, but I still found lots of sage advice for my marriage. I realized many of the mom traps apply to wives whether or not they are moms. Furthermore, I hope to be a mom someday. Tracey's book reminds me that I'm not going to be perfect, but I can be prepared knowing the traps that I will find myself in and how to recognize them. The book is lighthearted as it tackles serious matters. It's an easy read, and it's encouraging. So, if you know any moms, expecting moms, or hope-to-be moms, I recommend you get them a copy. I think they'll love it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Be the Mom: Overcome Attitude Traps and Enjoy Your Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
mary beth
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great advice for moms to help us know there are moms everywhere feeling the same. We should all work on sharing our stories more to help others!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Be the Mom: Overcome Attitude Traps and Enjoy Your Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for all Mom's

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overcome Attitude Traps and Enjoy Your Kids is the subtitle to this great book. Written with a sense of humor and thoughtful advice this is a must read for all Moms.
There are different views of what makes a good Mom. This book highlights the negative thoughts Mom’s think of themselves and puts them into a positive light. The author has a great sense of humor and a great way of expressing her thoughts.
I enjoyed this book and gave it 5/5 stars. I thought the vibe of the book, although discussing negative thoughts Mom’s have, was actually very positive. Finding fulfillment by basing our thoughts on the Biblical view of a Mom instead of the worlds’ view of me first, is the main theme. The authors use of personal stories definitely helped make her ideas more affective. This is a book I would recommend as a gift to any Mom!
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Be the Mom: Overcome Attitude Traps and Enjoy Your Kids
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great source of encouragement

Date:August 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
nomer15
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The Creator of the heavens and the earth fashioned you to be the mother of the children He has entrusted to you. What joy it is to embrace the role of motherhood, free ourselves from the traps that aim to devour and devalue us, and live a momlife worthy of His calling. This doesn't mean a momlife without challenges or mistakes, but a momlife increasingly dependent upon our heavenly Father" (p. 153).
Motherhood is full of blessings and challenges. And sometimes it can seem that the challenges outweigh the blessings. Eyster takes a candid look at the most common attitude traps that moms fall prey to. Using humor and real-life examples, she helps debunk these traps and points us to the one perfect parent: God. She discusses seven traps: Just a Mom, Me Mom, Martyr Mom, Busy Mom, Mirror Mom, Tomorrow Mom, and They Say Mom. Each chapter ends with a brief quiz to see how embedded in each trap you are, as well as though provoking questions to help pull you out of that particular trap.
Just glancing through the chapter list, it was easy to see a couple of particular traps that are catchy for me, but reading the entire book helped open my eyes to just how subtle some of these traps are. I really appreciated Eyster's candidness and the encouragement that she offered. At the end of the book, she brings it all together by providing four practical faith steps to stay in tune with God as we allow Him to equip us for the task of motherhood: spend time daily in prayer, find a mentor, seek opportunities to serve, and study His word daily.
I would definitely recommend this book to all moms, particularly those that are really struggling with embracing their role as mother. The set-up of the book also makes it perfect for book clubs or small groups to read together and discuss. Overall, this was a great read!
(I’ve received this complimentary book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for a review. A positive review was not required and the views expressed in my review are strictly my own.)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Be the Mom: Overcome Attitude Traps and Enjoy Your Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Being a Mom Isn't Always Easy

Date:August 5, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow. In the midst of life, I find myself worn out! We've started homeschool, we're gearing up for choir and soccer, we are still adjusting to attending a new church, there are lots of changes right now with friends moving and changing jobs, and within our own family Hubby has some serious training this fall that will be turning our lives upside down even more. I'm tired and I'm cranky and I'm finding it easy to say well if it wasn't for this XXXXX or if it wasn't for that XXXXX or if this was different XXXX, THEN I could relax, be in a better mood, accomplish more, laugh a little, heck I could breath a little!
Then God stepped in. In black and white words typed on a page He reminded me that it isn't about me. He reminded me that my attitude shouldn't be based on this or that. He reminded me that I need to Be the Mom He has called me to be in every circumstance. Wow. His timing is always perfect.
If you are finding yourself in the midst of storms or even if you are in the rut of everyday life as a mom trapped in a heap of laundry and grocery lists, you need to read Be a Mom by Tracey Lanter Eyster. Tracey is a real mom like us and she gives it to you straight. She isn't trying to talk over your head or make you feel bad about yourself. Tracey (I feel like I know her on a personal basis after reading this book) just wants to encourage us so we can be the BEST moms we can be. She wants us to be good moms because she knows that mom's attitude impacts the whole house.
Be the Mom outlines traps that we so easily fall into. Take no fear, she isn't just wagging her finger at us telling us all the things we shouldn't do. No. She is giving us advice. Simple, inexpensive, Bible based ideas to pick ourselves up, dust ourselves off, say a prayer, and move on to a better day, a better relationship with our families. This book was so timely for me.
I received this book from Tyndale Blog Network for the purpose of review. All opinions are my own.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Be the Mom: Overcome Attitude Traps and Enjoy Your Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Phronsie Howell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Overcome attitude traps and enjoy your kids" is what the subtitle of the book is. And it's true. Tracey Eyster presents the 7 most common "mom traps" that women may/will get caught up in at some point in their mom life. She also gives helpful hints for how to get yourself out of the traps. Being that the author is a mom herself, she's not just making this stuff up, she's lived it! Overall, Be the Mom is a well-written book. Honestly, it's exactly what I needed to read in this season of my life. I know I'm not alone (which she reminds us in the book). If you're a mom, read this book!
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Tyndale in exchange for an honest review.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Be the Mom: Overcome Attitude Traps and Enjoy Your Kids
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Helps you be a better mom

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather King
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sighing. I find myself doing it a lot some days. It's because I'm not a huge fan of interruptions and it's because I'm selfish and neither of those issues mesh well with life as a work-at-home mom of three young daughters.
So, I sigh. "Mom, can you?" Big, shoulder-heaving sigh. "Mom, I need help . .. " Deeply dramatic sigh. "Mom, I'm thirsty. I'm hungry. I'm tired. Can I cuddle? Can we play Candy Land?" More sighing.
Sometimes (maybe more often than that), I need the reminders in Tracey Eyster's book on being the mom---that this time with my young kids is precious and short-term, gone before I know it. She hits on attitude "traps" that probably many of us fall into---feeling like a martyr, trying to do this whole mom-thing like everyone else tells us to, being too busy to stop and build into relationships with our kids, and even feeling like we're of little value. Yes, we begin to feel like we're "just a mom."
With lots of grace, humor and vulnerability about her own tough mom moments, Eyster gives us an attitude check. She's laced practical tips with Scriptural encouragement and storytelling, making this book feel like a big sister or an older friend sharing some wisdom she's learned along the way.
Chances are good that if you are a mom, you'll find yourself somewhere on these pages. I did at times. And when I did, I was reminded to make some changes so my kids feel like they are important to me, worthy of my attention and not the recipients of sighing anytime they need my help or affection.
She writes at the end, "There are no perfect moms, and there are no tips or suggestions that will make you the world's best mom. But there are practical tips and training that can embolden you to stay the course." Books like hers give us the pick-me-up, gentle reminders and advice we need maybe not to be a perfect mom or the world's bet mom, but to be a better mom.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Be the Mom: Overcome Attitude Traps and Enjoy Your Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouragement for Worn-Out Moms!!!

Date:July 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenae
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every mom needs a copy of this book, especially those of us who just happen to have young, energetic children under foot!
One of my absolute favorite quotes from the book was this (in reference to moms calling ourselves "Just Moms"): "You haven’t lost yourself; you’ve found who you were destined to become. You’ve been given lives to mold and an opportunity to prepare your children for the future. There is nothing “just a mom” about you."
That, right there, has completely transformed the way I think about myself as a mother. My whole life I have wanted to be a mom, but now that I am one I keep wondering where the confident, patient person I used to be has gone! This helped me to realize that the person I used to be was just a stepping stone (an opening act, if you will) to my REAL, LIFELONG job of being a mom. I was born to do this. :)
As moms in today's society, we are surrounded with lies that tell us when we take the time to actively mother our children, we lose ourselves in the process. Although it can certainly feel like this at times, the quote above has reminded me, time and again, that being a mother to these precious children is part of my destiny. On the days that the diaper changes are numerous and the temper tantrums are endless, seeing the "big picture" as Tracey suggests in her book can be just the ticket to keep from having a "Mommy Meltdown".
In addition to this excellent reminder of fulfilling our God-given purpose as mothers, the author lays out several "traps" that moms can get stuck in if we're not careful. I identified with each of the "traps" shared in the book in at least a small way, though the "Martyr Mom" trap might be my worst! I found myself nodding my head in agreement throughout the chapters and was relieved to find some helpful advice for escaping these traps.
Bottom line: If you are the mother of young kids, BUY THIS BOOK (or borrow it from a friend). You won't regret it. It will give you just the encouragement you need while also challenging you to be even more intentional with your kids.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Be the Mom: Overcome Attitude Traps and Enjoy Your Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun but not fluff

Date:July 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
readingmom
Location:South Central US
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tracey hits mom-issues spot on, and I recognized myself in these pages more than once. Thankfully, she also gives practical advice for getting out from under the bad attitudes that trap moms, and I was encouraged to be more intentional in my parenting. The style is fun and engaging, but the message gets to the heart. Thanks, Tracey!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.