Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House My Hair and God's Mercies . . . New Every Morning: A Story of a Life Changed by Grace

Tyndale House My Hair and God's Mercies . . . New Every Morning: A Story of a Life Changed by Grace

Yvette Maher's life is two parts tragedy and three parts comedy; add in God's mercy and you have the perfect recipe for redemption! Through her heart-rending yet uplifting testimony, you'll discover how to deal with life's unmet expectations; accept out-of-your-control disappointments; learn the secrets of finding forgiveness for yourself and others; and more. 150 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for My Hair and God's Mercies . . . New Every Morning: A Story of a Life Changed by Grace
Review 1 for My Hair and God's Mercies . . . New Every Morning: A Story of a Life Changed by Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put this book down

Date:August 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
JoRo
Location:Wayne, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book in one night. I honestly couldn't put it down. It reminded me that although we cannot control the circumstances of our lives, we can with God's help come through them. It reminded me that He is there in the depth of our pain- seeking us and making a way. He does not give up on those with a broken childhood, He heals the broken hearted and can make something of our life when we bring Him the pieces. Loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for My Hair and God's Mercies . . . New Every Morning: A Story of a Life Changed by Grace
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointing Read

Date:July 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
cllane2
Location:New York
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Yvetter Maher shares some of the pain she's experienced in her life. Her book is filled with stories about different times in her life when things could have been hopeless, but God was still there and he redeemed the hopeless situations and brought beauty from ashes.
I found this book very confusing. There did not seem to be any order to the stories presented, and it was hard to distinguish between Yvette's life before and after her salvation. Other than her growth during her time at Focus on the Family, it didn't seem much in her life changed other than her attitude. The book was very disjointed and one I'm glad I didn't pay for. I give this book 3 stars.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for My Hair and God's Mercies . . . New Every Morning: A Story of a Life Changed by Grace
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This book was interesting and enjoyable to read.

Date:July 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
pacb
Location:Mesquite, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The book was an easy read, entertaining, and thought provoking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for My Hair and God's Mercies . . . New Every Morning: A Story of a Life Changed by Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the book

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dotty
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I did love the book, but not the title :) It's too long and the "hair" part doesn't seem to fit,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for My Hair and God's Mercies . . . New Every Morning: A Story of a Life Changed by Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great inspiration

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God never leaves us even when we may think how could God still love me after what I did... It is amazing he shows his hand of grace and picks up the pieces of our broken life. What can I say, great to read other stories that reveal this. Others fall too.
Did purchase (2) books and past it on
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for My Hair and God's Mercies . . . New Every Morning: A Story of a Life Changed by Grace
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A personal story

Date:July 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not having a great background should not limit what you do for the Lord. Yvette Maher shares her personal story in this book. Her story will show you this principle in action.
The author recounts her life story in this thought-provoking book. She talks about her use of drugs and even alcohol but she also shows you how the Lord never abandoned her. I liked how open the author was. She does not shy away from saying what needs to be said. The book will really point you to the Lord and remind you how much He loves you. She does well at showing the Lord’s mercy on her life.
I gave this book 4/5 stars because of the nature of the book. I thought the writing was well done but found all the negative parts outweighed the positive for me. I wish the book had a more positive tone to it.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for My Hair and God's Mercies . . . New Every Morning: A Story of a Life Changed by Grace
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Grace In The Darkness

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yvette has experienced God's loving grace throughout her life. Kentucky farm girl born and raised, she endured a difficult young family life which has projected itself into her adult life through challenges and life lessons. Yet through it all God has been faithful. The result of her experiences left her needing to know where she fit in the roadmap of life. Her encouraging testimony speaks strength to her reading audience.
I believe this book is written for women as there are situations experienced by the author that only a woman can relate to. Along with excellent recipes this well written autobiography will put you on the other side of the fence marveling at her transformation. I do love reading stories about the way others come to Christ's loving grace. I found the overall message of the book to be inspiring, and through her words, I found the book to be challenging to my faith. I will recommend this hard to put down book to others. Thanks to Tyndale House and Netgalley for the ARC for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for My Hair and God's Mercies . . . New Every Morning: A Story of a Life Changed by Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderfully encouraging story

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jamie Little
Location:Kihei, HI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I read the title of this book I knew that it was a book I needed to read. :)
I am so glad that I followed my gut on that decision, because I literally could NOT our this book down!!!! It took me less than 24 hours to read this book from cover to cover.
In My Hair & God's Mercies, Yvette Maher tells her life story and how she can look back and see God's grace in the circumstances that have surrounded her. Yvette's life has included divorce, abortion, teen pregnancy, having a parent in jail and drug use; not things that most of us would think were areas we could see God's grace, but she is able to look back and see His grace everywhere. It's an amazing story and she has an amazing heart.
Yvette writes in a a humorous tone that is full of honesty that is really fun to read. When I first started reading the book I was completely drawn into the book; I would have finished it in one sitting if it wasn't already midnight. :) Her southern upbringing and humor come out in her writing and made me wish that I could sit down and share some sweet tea with her.
Disclaimer: A complimentary copy of this book was provided for this review. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to post a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for My Hair and God's Mercies . . . New Every Morning: A Story of a Life Changed by Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Such a great story of Grace!!

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Life Worth Serving
Location:Paulding Co., Ga
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Hair & God's Mercies...NEW EVERY MORNING
From the moment I opened the cover of this book...there was a connection with Yvette Maher. I have a facebook page called Life Worth Serving and the motto of sorts is 'Life is messy!' One of the statements Yvette wrote in her book that stood out to me the most was...
Some parts of life are just messy. And I believe that God is in the midst of messy, gray areas and unfinished business.
There are very...and I mean VERY few non-fiction Authors who captivate my attention, bring me to a place of relating to their story, and causes me to continue to finish their book. Yvette Maher has done all three.
The story of her life is so incredibly moving...not because it's a far out there, can't seem to be reached by the rest of us life. It's a life that we all, at one point, on one level or another have lived and possibly are still living.
A country girl at heart and in wear...Yvette, "Tootie" takes us on a journey of a life that is filled with shocking heartbreak, utter despair, gut-busting laughter, and lots of food. In the midst of her messy life...from childhood to womanhood...are the remnants of a gracious God who didn't leave her in the mess she was in. Yvette shares such dark secrets with us, which not only causes us to be able to relate to her, but to examine our own hidden secrets.
I loved reading her story...not because she wrote it so eloquently or with such descriptive narrative...but because she was real. She shared her heart and it felt as if she hid nothing. As I read her story, it was like I was reading my own. Our stories are not similar in shape or fashion...but the pain, the loss, the tragedy is all the same. Not only that...but as I read of the grace that covered her life that could only come from Christ Himself....I was reading of the same grace that has covered my own mess many times over.
As I read 'My Hair & God's Mercies...NEW EVERY MORNING' I got a glimpse of what Yvette finds value in. First and foremost is Christ...and then family and tradition. Food is also a big part of her life...not the glutton, closet food addict type. The tradition and memory type. Many of her greatest memories with her family is surrounded by events where there is food. I loved how at the end of each chapter she splashed a few recipes in from her childhood.
I can't encourage you enough to go out and buy this book, or download it to your favorite e-reader! You will cry, you will laugh (the LOL kind of laugh!), you will feel hope, encouragement, and most of all you will walk away with a deep need and sense to pray and spend time with your Savior.
I received this book from Tyndale House publishers in exchange for my honest review as part of their blogger program. The opinions and statements are all my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.