Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #9: Escape to the Hiding Place

Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #9: Escape to the Hiding Place

Join cousins Beth and Patrick as they arrive in World War II era Holland. They must smuggle a baby by bicycle into the capable hands of Corrie ten Boom at her home in Haarlem. Along the way they hide from Nazi soldiers, meet a Russian surgeon forced into service by the Germans, and encourage two Jewish children who haven't been outside in over three years. The children learn to appreciate the bravery and sacrifice of everyday people who helped the Jews.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #9: Escape to the Hiding Place
Review 1 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #9: Escape to the Hiding Place
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adventure Packed

Date:July 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Escape to the Hiding Place is another exciting book in the Adventures in Odyssey Imagination Station series. In this adventure, Patrick and Beth travel to Holland during World War 2. While there, they meet Corrie Ten Boom and help to smuggle a baby to her home for safe keeping. During their adventure, they are thrust into danger as they dodge Nazi soldiers, encourage Jewish children in hiding, and interact with a Russian doctor who is being forced to serve the German army. Not only does this book teach valuable Christian lessons to readers, but the story also gives readers an appreciation for the risks and courage of those who helped the Jewish people during World War 2.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #9: Escape to the Hiding Place
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story for kids about WW2

Date:June 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Leeann
Location:CdA, ID
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little worried that the topic of WW2 and Jews trying to escape would be too much for my young kids. But the book handled it in a very good way. They introduced the kids to Corrie Ten Boom and how she helped Jews hide and escape. They also saw how the war affected the Dutch people. The story had plenty of action that was appropriate for my 4-8 yr old girls. We had some great discussion afterwards on WW2.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #9: Escape to the Hiding Place
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Story, Gets Us Right into the Action

Date:June 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is as exciting as the rest of the series, and one of my favorites because it reflects history in a unique way. Two children have adventures in various times and places in this series. I do wonder whether 8-year-olds would have the ability to do some of these things or make these decisions, but it probably depends on their personalities. The hiding place and the people are well described, and the action is frightening and realistic. Adults may want to read this to see if it suits the kids. I was inspired to look more into history by this one and the others in the series. The series encourages Christian values in a fun way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #9: Escape to the Hiding Place
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This installment of the Adventures in Odyssey: Imagination Station series finds cousins Beth and Patrick at Whit's End complaining about how children can't do anything to help. Whit assures them that children can be very helpful and sends them on a trip through the imagination station to Holland during World War Two. They are sent on a mission that could endanger their very lives.
This is a fun read. It had lots of great historical references to Nazi occupied Holland during World War Two. Included was everyone needing papers to assure their identity, a fact I wasn't aware of. It also showcased the dangers of being Jewish or sympathetic to the Jewish people. I highly recommend this book for all ages
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #9: Escape to the Hiding Place
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Psalm 119:114 ~ You {God} are my hiding place.

Date:June 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
AlbinoPrincess
Location:Indiana, USA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked that this book touched on many different aspects of World War II and the Dutch Resistance: an Allied soldier parachuting from a plane that had been shot down and rescued by a Dutch Resistance worker, people in disguise in order to better hide from the Nazis, being stopped by German soldiers and having to show their papers, meeting Jewish children who had been separated from their parents and more than likely being orphaned, a Polish doctor being forced to serve with the German army, listening to a hidden radio, riding bike all day in order to reunite a baby with her mama, experiencing the rationing of the day and using what was available for what needed to be done, questioned by the police for being out after curfew and, my favorite part, experiencing the ten Boom Hiding Place.
This book is quite intense at points, especially considering that the children in these situations are only eight years old. Judge the maturity of your child before just handing it to them to read on their own and be readily available for them to ask questions and discuss.
I think there is something that Corrie ten Boom says in the book that summarizes this book quite nicely: "God doesn't always protect us from danger...But He's always with us when we face danger. And that's enough."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #9: Escape to the Hiding Place
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
thecraftyhome
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Escape to the Hiding Place is set in World War 2. Patrick and Beth are frustrated that they can't do things, such as babysit, because they aren't old enough. Mr. Whit decides to show them that kids can do great things by sending them on an adventure in the Imagination Station. They end up in Holland during WW2. The story is of their adventure to reunite a baby with his mother which leads them to the Ten Boom's house. My son was enthralled with this book and it was great to share with him about Corrie Ten Boom and how his nana had actually met her. We even have the movie The Hiding Place and I was able to tell him when he gets older we can watch it together. I am glad he read this book so I could share with him about one of my favorite figures from history. Once again The Imagination Station books hit one out of the park.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #9: Escape to the Hiding Place
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book review

Date:March 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gina
Location:Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loved and it was very educational. He learned more history from a biblical perspective.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #9: Escape to the Hiding Place
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Hiding Place for Those in Harms Way

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patrick and Beth are disappointed that they will not be getting their Red Cross certificate. They are too young. So after hearing this Mr. Whit suggests it is time for another adventure with Imagination Station. When and where in time will they end up this time?
When they are transported they are by a lake and they hear what sounds like an airplane. To their shock the plane is on fire and is about to crash. Just before the plane disappeared from site a parachute flew up and out of the airplane. The they saw some soldiers and heard them rushing about. Maybe they were looking for the airplane. At that moment they felt like they should hide in the bushes. To their great surprise their was a woman hiding in the same spot but when she spoke it was very apparent it was a man. He told the kids that the soldiers were Nazi soldiers. So they became extra still and quiet.
The young man's name was Bernard and he offered to take them to his families farm. From talking to Bernard they find out he is with the Danish Resistance and they are in Holland.They no sooner arrived at the farm when Bernard's father entered the cottage with an injured soldier, he was Canadian and they had to hide him until they could get him safely out of the country. When a doctor arrived at the cottage he had on a German uniform and he was carrying a small baby. They were told the German doctor had been forced to join the Nazies but he was also a member of the resistance and would help the Canadian soldier. In turn he needed someone to take the baby to her parent's in the city. Patrick and Beth were the most logical choice to take the baby to her parents. The parents were being hidden from the Nazies because they are Jewish and if caught they will be sent to a concentration camp.
Will they be able to get past the Nazi soldiers? What will happen to them if they get stopped? Who could be brave enough to hide a Jew? Surely if they were found out they too would be sent to a camp.
Again the author has written of a great Historical event about WWII, the Nazies, and the Danish Resistance. The Historical Christian Heroes which are Christ's Disciples willing to trust God and sacrifice their lives to protect our brothers and sisters in harms way.
The illustrations depict the war and you can see the compassion on the faces of those that reach out to protect and those who reach out for protection.
I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure
I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #9: Escape to the Hiding Place
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Little Sister Reviewed It!

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Book Review by little sister, Sara. Edited by me.
Escaping to the Hiding Place is a very action-filled book. Encountering plane crash, to meeting a German soldiers, and receiving a secret mission, you will journey with Beth and Patrick in the imagination station to WW||.
This story not only action-filled, was very informative, both intellectually and spiritually. I was able to learn about WW|| in a clear, fun, and imaginative way. The story taught me that even though I may be young, the Lord can still use me to help and make a difference.
I would have enjoyed knowing what happened in the end to certain characters, but overall I really enjoyed this book.
This series being reccomended for ages 7 and up was just right for me. It being a chapter book, made the reading experience feel advanced, but with the occasional pictures it helped keep it kid friendly. The words are a nice big readable size for young children, but the words themselves are neither too hard, nor easy. Overall these were thrilling books and I highly recommend it, not only for young children, but to teens and parents too! I give Battle For Cannibal Island and Escape to the Hiding Place a 5 out of 5.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #9: Escape to the Hiding Place
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God is always with us when we face danger...

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather
Location:AK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Escape to the Hiding Place is the newest (#9) volume released in Adventure in Odyssey's "The Imagination Station" series of books, geared toward ages 7+. Interlacing adventure, historical fiction, real people who lived during the time period, and extolling the virtues and promises of God makes for excellent reading material that children (and parents) will love.
In this book, Patrick and Beth find that the Imagination Station (which is like a time machine) has transported them to Holland...and not at a peaceful time. They have arrived during World War II and are immediately thrown into a potentially dangerous situation; they are needed to help save a Jewish baby's life. They learn that faith in God and relying on Him in any situation is what real courage is. In the words of the book, Corrie Ten Boom states, "God doesn't always protect us from danger, but He's always with us when we face danger. And that's enough."
Beyond fiction, this book brings world history and Godly peoples' lives into the forefront of the reader's thoughts. What a great way to introduce the life of Corrie Ten Boom into your child's growing interests. Corrie Ten Boom's family saved hundreds of peoples' lives during World War II, hiding them in a specially-built room in her house. Fear of the Germans and all that could happen to them if caught didn't keep Corrie from doing what God wanted her to do. That's one of the most important lessons your child will walk away with after reading Escape to the Hiding Place.
I encourage your family to expound on this historical fiction book by reading Corrie Ten Boom's biography. Bring the truth of God's love for us and hand on our lives into a more vivid light in your child's heart.
Thank you to Tyndale for giving us the opportunity to review this lovely book. I plan to purchase more of this series and look forward to future books; great Christmas gift idea too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #9: Escape to the Hiding Place
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The adventure continues

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Imagination Station series is back! ‘Escape to the Hiding Place’ by Marianne Hering, Marshal Younger and illustrated by David Hohn is book 9 of this 12 book series. This book is part of what I consider the second part of the series. Books 1-6 follow a continuation of a plot line working to return a lost ring to Mr. Whittaker. Book 9 while it continues the familiar framework of cousins Patrick and Beth going on adventures with the Imagination Station is written so each book can stand alone and could be read in any order. The authors continue to work through history picking pinnacle times and people for Patrick and Beth to travel to and encounter. In ‘Escape to the Hiding Place’ Patrick and Becky find themselves in Holland during World War II. The cousins get to help out in a big way and learn that there are lots of ways to help God's kingdom. These are quality books for young readers. They are filled with adventure, danger and lots of learning moments. They show character, humility, bravery and many other redeeming qualities. I'm very happy to have fun and positive books to share with my two emerging readers. I received a copy of this book from Tyndale Publishing for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.