Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Radio Theatre: Oliver Twist (Audio-Drama with Video Documentary)

Tyndale House Radio Theatre: Oliver Twist (Audio-Drama with Video Documentary)

Escape to another place & time with this full-cast audio dramatization of the Charles Dickens' timeless tale set in 1830's London. This powerful story will not only entertain you, but draw you into the timeless drama of compassion, corruption and redemption as a single orphan changes the lives of everyone around him. Featuring cinema-quality sound, award-winning writers, an original music score, and a stellar cast of some of England's best actors. Radio Theatre isn't just storytelling or a book on tape. It's an audio movie that plays on the biggest screen of all...your imagination! Includes a bonus video documentary featurette with "behind the scenes" footage and stories of real, modern-day "Olivers". Includes close to 6 hours of audio-drama entertainment!
Average Customer Rating:
4.947 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 out of 19100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Radio Theatre: Oliver Twist (Audio-Drama with Video Documentary)
Review 1 for Radio Theatre: Oliver Twist (Audio-Drama with Video Documentary)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent production of one of Dicken's best known tales!
Oliver is a poor orphan, who falls on misfortune, but brings light to every situation. Will Oliver ever find a family to call his own?
A full cast brings the world of Oliver Twist to life in a evocative radio drama! Focus on the Family has a way of bringing out the heart of the story in a way that no other production has done thus far.
The full cast does a terrific job of bring the characters to life, along with the realistic sound effects. This is the kind of tale production that can be enjoyed by the whole family, though I will briefly mention that as this was Oliver Twist there were brief drinking references and violence. I would probably recommend this one for ages 8 & Up.
Overall, this was a thrilling experience that kept me up late listening because I wanted to hear the outcome. I will certainly be listening to this drama many times over in the years to come, because it was such a well-done rendering of this well known tale. I would highly recommend this excellent production of Oliver Twist! (It would make a terrific gift!)
I received this product from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Radio Theatre: Oliver Twist (Audio-Drama with Video Documentary)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic, well done, moving and entertaining!

Date:February 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Char
Location:Edmonton Alberta Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved it - can't wait to listen again. So well produced - a wonderful treasure! I highly recommed this!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Radio Theatre: Oliver Twist (Audio-Drama with Video Documentary)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful. Love always prevails!!

Date:January 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
fawb
Location:pineville, la
Age:55-65
Gender:female
A touching story of how God's hand is in every aspect of our lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Radio Theatre: Oliver Twist (Audio-Drama with Video Documentary)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
brucky
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this product! It was great to listen to on our long car trip.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Radio Theatre: Oliver Twist (Audio-Drama with Video Documentary)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Oliver Twist

Date:January 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lee Thomas
Location:Cleveland Oh
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed this story.It was very well done.Delightful
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Radio Theatre: Oliver Twist (Audio-Drama with Video Documentary)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved every minute of it!

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Aimee Shaffer
Location:Wadsworth, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughters and I loved every minute of this production of Oliver Twist. Several times we found ourselves sitting in the car after we got home until a particular section was over. Great cast, great voices, great sound effects! We can't wait for Focus on the Family to do more of these dramatizations.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Radio Theatre: Oliver Twist (Audio-Drama with Video Documentary)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
joecool
Location:Ontario
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very well done, I actually bought two more for family and friends after hearing this! enjoyed it immensely!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Radio Theatre: Oliver Twist (Audio-Drama with Video Documentary)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beverly
Location:Beavercreek, OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I bought this recording as a gift for my adult son for Christmas and so neither of us has actually HEARD it as yet [12/21/12]. From reviews I've seen and other Radio Theater recordings I've heard, however, I fully expect this one to be equally satisfying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Radio Theatre: Oliver Twist (Audio-Drama with Video Documentary)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Production

Date:December 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
thearmychapswife
Location:Elkhart, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was not sure how I would like "listening" to a book rather than reading it. However, I thoroughly enjoyed listening to Oliver Twist!
This radio theatre version is so well done. I listened to it throughout the day as I was involved in non-reading activities (like housework!) and found it hard to tear myself away. I knew the basics of the story already, but Focus on the Family Radio Theatre brought the story to life in a dramatic and excellent way. I would heartily recommend this!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Radio Theatre: Oliver Twist (Audio-Drama with Video Documentary)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Oliver Twist (Radio Theatre)

Date:December 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our family have been long-time fans of the Focus on the Family radio series, Adventures in Odyssey. Over the years we have listened to the stories on the radio and collected some of our favorite seasons. Then they began to produce their radio theatre series, stories such as Anne of Green Gables, The Chronicles of Narnia, The Secret Garden, A Christmas Carol, etc. have become favorites of our family and have been listened to over and over again. So when I saw that Oliver Twist (Radio Theatre) was up for review, it was a no-brainer, I requested to review it and waited for it to arrive in my mailbox.
It was worth the wait! Classic stories are timeless, and Charles Dickens' works are chuck full of wonderful stories begging to be read/listened to. The Focus on the Family Radio Theatre production was able to stick closely with the book and unlike movies and plays, was able to put nearly the entire book into the production. My children and I enjoyed the story. We were transported by the fine writing and acting, into 19th century England, and followed Oliver throughout his trials and joys.
The CD book contains 5 discs totaling 5 1/2 hours of playtime, as well as, a DVD that takes you behind the scenes of the making of Oliver Twist. It also contains an half hour introduction to Wait No More, which discusses the plight of modern day Oliver's, and foster care/adoption.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Radio Theatre: Oliver Twist (Audio-Drama with Video Documentary)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story excellently done.

Date:December 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
El Dog
Location:ND
Age:55-65
Gender:male
I had never read Oliver Twist before. The audio production was excellent. Great story of the battle between evil and good. It reminded me of my association with unsavory characters when I was in college, and how Christ redeemed me from that trap.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Radio Theatre: Oliver Twist (Audio-Drama with Video Documentary)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dickens, Beautifully Adapted for the Radio

Date:December 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather King
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a long-time fan of the Focus on the Family radio series, Adventures in Odyssey, I had high expectations for their radio theatre production of Charles Dickens's classic,Oliver Twist (Radio Theatre). They did more than meet my expectations; they surely exceeded them. I am hard to please when it comes to adaptations of literature and as a former British literature teacher and a lover of Dickens's work, I could be particularly critical of an attempt to capture the story of Oliver Twist.
This production, however, is wonderfully engaging, dramatically intense, and so very true to the book itself. Included in this set are 5 audio CDs with about 5-1/2 hours of material, covering what I'm told is more content from the book than most productions include.
A bonus DVD is also included with a look at behind-the-scenes footage and commentary and information on the current foster care system. This wonderfully connects the issues of poverty, social justice and orphan care to our modern unsolved problems. It is so very like Dickens to use story to raise awareness, perhaps even outrage, and to destroy our apathetic blindness to the needs around us.
Many of the actors in this production will have voices familiar to British film and television fans, including actors from Masterpiece Classics and mysteries and some of the British comedies we Americans might catch now on PBS. The acting is superb, the voices wonderfully full of character. This is extraordinarily necessary when performed on radio as Dickens notoriously includes so many characters in his books that it can be hard to remember them all. But with such talented actors, it was easy to recognize the characters along the way and follow every bit of the conversation and action.
Although the length of the CDs might preclude it from much classroom use, it's a beautiful resource for families, radio theatre lovers, Dickens devotees, homeschoolers and more. It is, however, intense. The story is not explicit, per se, and never inappropriate, but it does encompass child abuse, domestic violence, murder, suicide, and child trafficking. Because my daughters (age 8 and younger) are extremely sensitive, I opted to listen to the CDs myself. This, however, would certainly be a parental choice based on knowledge of your own children.
In addition to all of the entertainment and educational value offered in this set, I am excited that Focus on the Family is using proceeds from the program for its "Wait No More" adoption campaign, focusing on domestic adoption of children out of the American foster care system. Given Dickens's sense of social justice, this seems particularly fitting.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Radio Theatre: Oliver Twist (Audio-Drama with Video Documentary)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having read Oliver Twist all my life, and being an avid reader, not a listener; I wasn't sure if I was going to enjoy this, or simply listen to it for the sake of a review. How wrong I was!!! This dramatization of one of my favorite classics of all time was breathed into being by a cast of voices by Focus on the Family Radio Theatre. I listened to it while driving, and it had me captivated from the very first moment the narrator began his introduction into the tale. I had to keep reminding myself it was an audio, not a movie, it was well done with not only the character voices, but the realistic background noises as well.
You can clearly see in your mind's eye every detail that is portrayed, and though I am not a visual person, (hence why I read) I was able to imagine through the cast's voices everything that was taking place. This full cast audio production captures the voice of 19th century England, and takes us back to a time and place where corruption was a frightening happenstance, compassion was scarcely found, and redemption an unattainable feat.
I received this audio book by Tyndale House Publishers for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Radio Theatre: Oliver Twist (Audio-Drama with Video Documentary)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oliver Twist, a Focus on the Family Radio Theatre production, is amazing! This five CD audio series has a truly wonderful cast that brings the characters to life, complete with sound effects. It also comes with a DVD that includes a documentary of the making of the production as well as a look at some true stories of modern day orphans.
This is the story of an orphan boy in England who is born and raised in an orphanage, struggles at a country work house, and runs away to find himself on the streets of London with a group of criminals. The unexpected twists and turns in the story keep one wondering just how much one boy is expected to survive. It seems that just when Oliver finds people who care for him and are willing to offer assistance, the situation turns sour. Your heart will go out to him over and over again.
Even if you have read this classic story by Charles Dickens, you will want to listen to this series. It draws you in and holds your attention to the very end, leaving you wishing that your short drive was just a little longer so you could hear more of the story! I highly recommend this for people of all ages.
Kara
I received this free from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Radio Theatre: Oliver Twist (Audio-Drama with Video Documentary)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Quality

Date:December 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather
Location:Crescent, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oliver Twist is a classic that most are familiar with, but this edition will captivate you like never before.
Beautiful quality and the full cast captures your attention from the beginning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Radio Theatre: Oliver Twist (Audio-Drama with Video Documentary)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Imaginative, Suspenseful, and Endearing

Date:November 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
The audio dramatization of Oliver Twist is based on the classic tale written by Charles Dickens. The plot itself is timeless and emotion filled. Based on a little boy called Oliver, who was born an orphan, who later was forced to work amiss horrible conditions in a work house, Oliver has had his fair share of difficulty. When certain circumstances put him in harms way, it will take courage, love, and the truth to set young Oliver free from the cruel world that is ready to swallow him whole.
Though I've never read the book, The Parish Boy's Progress the story of Oliver Twist, I very much enjoyed listening to the dramatization version. From the lovely english accents, to the stirring music, and sound effects, this series was beautifully done. On occasion the narrator would shed light to some unfamiliar customs and behaviors, making the audio drama all the more understandable and enjoyable.
The packaging itself is beautiful. The package consists of five cds with the different scenes printed on it. One bonus dvd is included containing the behind the scenes, and a documentary of the modern day Oliver's. Divided into about 10 sections/scenes per disc made it easy to bookmark your spot.
The 5 1/2 hours will be one of imagination, suspense, and endearment. I give the Radio Theatre's Oliver Twist a much deserved 5 out of 5.
I received Oliver Twist from Tyndale Publishers in exchange from this independent and unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Radio Theatre: Oliver Twist (Audio-Drama with Video Documentary)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Dramatic Presentation

Date:November 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this audio presentation of Oliver Twist! It had been a long time since I read the book so I didn't really remember any of the details of the story. The voices were great, the sound effects were just right to keep our attention. We listened to this on a couple road trips as a family and the kids loved it just as much as we did. The recommended age is 12 and up and my kids are a little younger than that so there were a couple of places we fast forwarded because they were frightened, but that says to me it was great voices and sound effects! I loved this presentation and would recommend it to anyone. It was a fantastic way to "read" a great classic Dickens novel.
I received this audio CD free from Tyndale publisher's in exchange for my review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Radio Theatre: Oliver Twist (Audio-Drama with Video Documentary)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Radio Theatre

Date:November 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
butifnot
Location:MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can't go wrong with these audio books. They are always top notch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Radio Theatre: Oliver Twist (Audio-Drama with Video Documentary)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic! A Great Christmas Gift.

Date:November 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mamawearslipstick
Location:NKY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed everything about this classic. I got lost in the characters as they came to life. I felt the emotions of Oliver as his life went from tragedy to tragedy. I felt his complete desperation for love.
Because Oliver was a parish child, i.e. orphan, he was branded a menace destined to a life of crime and treated as such. He was looked upon as burden to society being forced into a workhouse at the age of nine and given only enough food to keep him alive. After many misfortunes, Oliver is taken under the wing of Mr. Brownlow who shows him a kindness he has never known. And is eventually re-united with family he did not know existed.
This audiobook would make a great gift for Christmas for anyone who enjoys Charles Dickens or the classics.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.