Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Lead Your Family Like Jesus Powerful Parenting Principles from the Creator of Families

Tyndale House Lead Your Family Like Jesus Powerful Parenting Principles from the Creator of Families

When it comes to family leadership, what your children really need is...you, acting like Jesus. Without meaning to, most of us bluff or bully our way through being moms and dads. Pride and fear have given us an EGO problem: instead of Exalting God Only, we find ourselves Edging God Out. Lead Your Family Like Jesus reveals twelve priceless parenting principles based on the Savior's life and teachings. You'll discover how your heart, head, hands, and habits can work together as you serve your wat to a truly Christ-centered family. A Focus on the Family Resource.

Hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lead Your Family Like Jesus Powerful Parenting Principles from the Creator of Families
Review 1 for Lead Your Family Like Jesus Powerful Parenting Principles from the Creator of Families
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Family Leadership – Principles for Parenting

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
richard r blake
Location:Bridgman, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New York Times bestselling author Ken Blanchard collaborates with Phil Hodges, Cofounder of the organization “Lead Like Jesus, and bestselling author Tricia Goyer in the book “Lead Your Family Like Jesus.” The authors begin by showing the relationship of leadership to the role of parenting. They stress the importance of following Jesus’ example of servant leadership.
Meaningful practical personal examples and real life testimonies of parents illustrate the concepts discussed in each of the four parts of the book, which focus on: The heart, the head, the hands, and the habits of parenting. Each part covers three of the twelve Biblically based principles of parenting discussed throughout the narrative.
The reader friendly format suggests thoughtful probing questions designed for taking time to pause, reflect, and offers specific ways for implementation. Another unique feature is the “Points to Ponder” review of key elements included within the chapters. These are found at the end of each of the four divisions. Several clearly presented powerful teaching diagrams provide a visual means of assimilating the material, for review, application, and a deeper study.
“Lead Your Family Like Jesus” is ideal for classes on parenting, for couples, for men’s accountability groups, or women Bible study classes. It is a book for parents, grandparents, family counselors and pastors. Highly recommended.
A complimentary copy of this book was received for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lead Your Family Like Jesus Powerful Parenting Principles from the Creator of Families
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Practical Advice for Parenting

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beverly
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What does it mean to lead? How do I lead effectively? How do I get my children to follow my leading? Parenting is filled with questions. Want to take the guess work out of finding the answers? This is a book filled with practical suggestions for ways to lead your family the way the creator of the family meant for it to be done.
Using Biblical principles, Tricia Goyer, Ken Blanchard, and Phil Hodges take turns sharing from their hearts and their experiences about how parents can turn their families into Christ-centered, God honoring families. They share how parents can do this by examining how a parent’s heart, head, hands and habits can be turned into selfless acts of service to their family, thus giving them the joy and confidence they’ve been looking for in parenting.
You will find this book to be broken down into short manageable chapters for even the busiest of parents. It also offers pauses in reading to offer a time of reflection.
This book is one you will want to keep on your bookshelf for future reference. As a parent of grown children as well as a teenager, I have found that although the principles stay the same, our children go through many stages and changes. Information that may have seemed less pertinent at the first reading will later become applicable and helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lead Your Family Like Jesus Powerful Parenting Principles from the Creator of Families
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Parenting Help: filled with ideas

Date:April 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Being a parent is hard. The challenges are never ending and ever developing. It's also one of the most rewarding roles many of us have. The delight of a child's hugs or the joy in her laughter makes changing one more diaper worth it. But even on the best of days, I know I need help and inspiration. That's why I'm always on the lookout for books like Lead Your Family Like Jesus.
In Lead Your Family Like Jesus, Tricia Goyer, Ken Blanchard, and Phil Hodges combine to give us strategies on how to parent and lead our families like Jesus, the Creator of families. They focus on four main areas: Heart, Head, Hands and Habits. Each chapter has opporutnities to pause and reflect on the principles and how to apply them to your family. There are also multiple opportunites to interact with the ideas through checklists. Then each large section has a review with points to ponder. Combined these make it easy to take the ideas and principles and spend time thinking about if and how you would incorporate them into your family.
This book is practical. It's about giving you tips and strategies -- without piling guilt on about one more thing you aren't doing right. So if you're desperate for some fresh insights or you just want to recharge, this book with its short, practical chapters will be a great addition to your parenting library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lead Your Family Like Jesus Powerful Parenting Principles from the Creator of Families
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great insights and help!!!

Date:April 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Malory
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Why is a single gal like her reading a book for parents in leading their families?"
Good question. I wanted to read the book for a few different reasons. I wanted to read, learn, and see how this book could help me in the areas of:
1. my own personal family. I am an aunt to three, sister, and daughter.
2. my job since I work with children.
3. my ministry since I work with our youth.
Let me tell y'all...this book is AWESOME!!! (And, I am so not just saying that either!) The authors put in a lot of great advice, personal testimonies, principles to follow, and Scriptures to encourage and help in being a "servant leader". So many times, I have been guilty of being a "self-serving" leader and not a "servant-hearted" one. I want to be the best that I can be (play the army music with that-lol). I know that I will never be perfect. I will fall short at times, but I want to love and serve with all I am/have. I want to be better equipped in dealing with others (whatever their age). I don't want to be one that "harps" all the time, but one who disciplines out of love, respect, and gets the point across without beating them over the head with it. I also know that this book will be something I will keep for when I have my own family one day (if it's His will).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lead Your Family Like Jesus Powerful Parenting Principles from the Creator of Families
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Godly parenting

Date:April 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
inspiremichelle
Location:Loureauville, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lead Your Family like Jesus, by Ken Blanchard, Phil Hodges and Tricia Goyer
Great book full of practical ideas, to be servant leaders of Godly households. This book will encourage you to be the best parent you can be. Challenge you to set goals, values and live with Christ as the cornerstone of your family. I really enjoyed all the personal stories they helped to bring the teaching alive and made them more real. The practical ideas show you how to apply them to your family. I would highly recommend this book to all parents.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lead Your Family Like Jesus Powerful Parenting Principles from the Creator of Families
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must Have for Every Family Library

Date:April 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessie G
Location:Post Falls, ID
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I read this book together. That's saying something since my husband isn't a fan of reading. This book is filled with stories and packed with practical and inspiring material. The authors approach this topic not from a place of grand enlightenment but from humility and the practice of having learned hard lessons. Because of this it is easy to read and relate to. As the title suggests it draws from biblical principals and the person of Jesus. This is a must read for every Christian leader wanting to become more like Jesus and see the world and others through His eyes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lead Your Family Like Jesus Powerful Parenting Principles from the Creator of Families
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For Parents, Parents-to-be & Grandparents

Date:April 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Renee Ann
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don’t have kids of my own, but after twenty-five years of observing family dynamics from behind my teacher’s desk, I’d have to say that parenting is the hardest job in the world. At our Christian high school, we dedicate ourselves to coming alongside parents as they seek to lead their children to Christ, guide their character development, and prepare them for life. So I’ll be sharing my copy of Lead Your Family Like Jesus with as many parents as possible.
I discovered this book as part of inspirational fiction author Tricia Goyer’s Launch Team. She co-wrote the book with Ken Blanchard and Phil Hodges.
Are you wondering what qualifies Tricia to write a book on parenting?
She began motherhood as a teen mom.
After she gave her life to the Lord, He led her to marry a godly man.
She and her hubs had two more children.
Tricia became a working mom (she’s written 30+ books) and homeschooler.
She started a Crisis Pregnancy Center.
She leads Teen MOPS.
Her family teaches children’s church together each Sunday.
Now that Tricia has a married son, son in college, and daughter in high school, she and her husband recently adopted 3 young children.
She provides a home for her grandmother, and Tricia is a grandmother herself.
Are you catching on that Tricia has much practical wisdom to share with parents in all stages of their journey? You can connect with Tricia here at her website, on Facebook & on Twitter.
How will reading Lead Your Family Like Jesus benefit you? This book will help you “take Christ out of the spare compartment of your private spiritual life and give him free rein in all your daily actions and relationships.”
I’d sum up the main takeaway with these lines: “Leading like Jesus as a parent is first a spiritual matter. Whenever you have an opportunity to influence the thinking and behavior of other family members, the first questions you have to answer is, ‘Am I motivated by self-interest or by the betterment of those I’m serving?’”
My favorite chapters discussed the concept of EGO. Initially EGO stands for Edging God Out and allowing Pride and Fear to dictate our choices, actions, and reactions. The authors remind us that “Edging God Out separates us from Him, from others, and from knowing the true selves He designed us.” They then encourage us that “when we replace our tendency to Edge God Out with Exalting God Only,” we operate from Humility and Confidence and “influence our kids in a way that points them to Christ.”
***Thanks to Tricia and Tyndale House for sending me a copy of Lead Your Family Like Jesus to review. Please, don’t miss picking up a copy of the book! Both parents and parents-to-be will appreciate this book. And if you are a grandparent, one of the nicest things you can do for your grandkids is to share this book with their parents.
More encouraging quotes from the book:
“By looking at Jesus, you can learn how to build a loving relationship with your children and extended family—no matter how you were raised and no matter what challenges your family faces.”
“When the bills appear bigger than your income, trust in God by acknowledging that He is your Provider. He will supply what you need—not always what you want. He promises to take care of His children.”
“Family members will experience what’s in your heart and head when your motivations and beliefs about parenting affect your hands—your actions.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lead Your Family Like Jesus Powerful Parenting Principles from the Creator of Families
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My new "go to" baby shower gift!

Date:April 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
DianeDay
Location:Millbrook, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most parenting books leave me feeling one of three things: Conviction, inspiration, or encouragement. Lead Your Family Like Jesus provoked all three responses. I appreciated the authors’ transparency, that they revealed many of their own struggles as parents. By the end of the book, I felt as if I had three experienced and kind mentors walking alongside me. And I am excited and encouraged to implement the tools they suggest.
Let’s face it: Parenting is HARD WORK. And good parenting doesn’t just happen on its own. It takes a balance of grace and law, love and commitment. Frankly, we have plenty of voices in today’s culture telling parents that children are a burden, a hardship, an inconvenience, an extra cost to be avoided if possible. And there are even more voices telling our children that they are entitled to be happy, that it’s all about them, that they deserve everything they want. How refreshing it is to read a book that is grounded in the Biblical truth that the Christian walk is NOT about us, it’s about Christ. And as we commit ourselves to Him, He will equip us accordingly and bless us abundantly. And, most importantly, as our children watch us walk with Christ, they will be drawn to Him as well.
I enjoy the Westminster Shorter Catechism, especially Question and Answer 1: What is man’s primary purpose? Man’s primary purpose is to glorify God and to enjoy Him forever. Lead Your Family Like Jesus served as a great reminder and framework for me, that my parenting ought to glorify God. And if I’m living out my day, just going from one crisis to the next, disciplining here and there as it is convenient, just trying to get through the day, then I am NOT glorifying God. May He redeem each day that I am blessed with, and may I never take my parenting or these childrearing years for granted!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lead Your Family Like Jesus Powerful Parenting Principles from the Creator of Families
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Powerful Parenting Principles

Date:March 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Parenting. Frustrating and fulfilling. Heart-wrenching and mind-boggling. Especially if you look at all of the parenting books filled with advice, some of which contradicts each other. But what if all you needed to do to parent well was to lead like Jesus did?
A new “Focus on the Family” book, “Lead Your Family Like Jesus” is filled with wisdom from Ken Blanchard, co-author of The One Minute Manager; Phil Hodges, a lifelong friend of Blanchard and former human resources and industrial relations manager with Xerox Corporation and U.S. Steel; and Tricia Goyer, a best-selling author of more than 30 novels.
This little easy-to-read book offers wisdom, practical principles and personal stories that will help you become a transformed parent. When you follow Jesus’ example and become a servant-leader in your home, your home will become a purposeful, peaceful place. These three authors have practiced what they are teaching in this book. They practically guarantee you more joy and confidence as a parent. Lead Your Family Like Jesus gives 12 parenting principles based on the teachings of Jesus and teaches you how to develop a Christ-centered family. Watch what happens when your children see you acting out the principles Jesus set out for all of us.
Of all of the parenting books in the bookstores today, this is definitely one you will want to have in your home library.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Grop as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lead Your Family Like Jesus Powerful Parenting Principles from the Creator of Families
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lead By Example

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faith
Location:Tennessee
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Lead Your Family Like Jesus” is most likely the best book I have read concerning parenting or leadership. The combination of Ken Blanchard, Phil Hodges & Tricia Goyer is a perfect blend in viewpoints covering a wide spectrum of parenting. This book really does provide powerful parenting principles from THE CREATOR of families.
This book covers the heart of the parent as it is what truly matters. If your heart is not in line with God, then your priorities become misaligned with what is important. Then there is the head which is where the parenting ultimately comes from. In order to lead your family, you must as the head of your family serve.
There is much more to the book than just being a serving leader though. The book really instills the principles that Jesus tried to show His disciples in the gospels. Leading through example. If you desire your children to have a strong work ethic, then you as a parent show them what that strong work ethic looks like. If you want your children to show love to each other, then you as a parent show love to them and others.
This is a book that I will definitely keep around for a long time and I can see myself sharing with other parents.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lead Your Family Like Jesus Powerful Parenting Principles from the Creator of Families
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book for BOTH parents!

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
IntentionalGal
Location:TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lead Your Family Like Jesus is a great book for both parents. There have been many books written to Moms or to Dads, but this book will speak to both.
There is practical, solid, Biblical wisdom in each chapter. As you read you will get different perspectives from each of the authors, as each chapter is penned by one of the three, allowing their individual voices and perspective to inspire the reader to action.
This is definitely and book for anyone who wants to Lead Their Family Like Jesus...and who wants to raise Godly children for His kingdom!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lead Your Family Like Jesus Powerful Parenting Principles from the Creator of Families
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Practical and Purposeful

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
The IE Mommy
Location:Beaumont, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was so incredibly helpful I literally felt a weight lifted after reading Lead Your Family Like Jesus. Three authors with different perspectives came together to create one cohesive book that is both inspirational and informative.
As Christians, everything we do in our life should glorify God, including parenting. How many people have you heard say they wish their was a parenting instruction manual? There is! It’s called the Bible and Ken Blanchard, Phil Hodges and Tricia Goyer used this as the foundation of their book and should be the fundamental basis of all parenting.
I found so many things helpful in this book that it’s really hard to sum it all up. I have to say the thing that impacted me the most was Chapter 6: Staying on Course. Principle 6 is “To lead like Jesus, know the difference between a crisis and a bump in the road. ” The example is given of spilled milk. There’s a difference between a true accident and of the child willfully dumping it. I tend to overreact to these situations because I want my house clean and I feel like it’s a constant uphill battle. However, yelling at my kids for an accident damages their spirit and will teach them to hide things from me because I’m unreasonable. It’s hard to remember not to sweat the small stuff and look at the bigger picture.
Another thing that struck me was the concept of having a family vision. It’s almost like a mission statement but for your family. What is your family about? What do you stand for? Having this to focus on gives purpose to actions and helps with making decisions when you have a direction in which you are going.
Lead Your Family Like Jesus is so helpful and simple yet profound at the same time. Every parent should read this amazing book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lead Your Family Like Jesus Powerful Parenting Principles from the Creator of Families
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lead Them Like Jesus

Date:March 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jenny Anne
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a leadership book.
This is a child-training book. A book on parenting.
And I love how those two things are meshed together and help me to analyze and express how I want my family to look in the future.
It's all about goals, vision, values, priorities.
You need to see that future picture of success for your family to know what you must do now to get there. By examining your future picture, you can make a plan to implement for success. Jesus must be the foundation for your goals.
I have been using this book to teach our Sunday school class for a while now and we're enjoying it and learning so much about leadership from Jesus! We've all had some lively discussions. We're convicted to "put our egos on the altar" and align our attitudes. I adore having some older couples agree with the book's teachings and describe how they raised their children.
I believe this book especially appeals to men, to dads. It's a leadership book. I know my husband's only reading material is online...or leadership books. This book really targets dads in ways they can understand, especially if they're not regular readers - with bullets, flow charts, pyramids, headings...all this makes it easier to read and comprehend the material.
I cannot recommend this book enough - for everyone - parents, pastors, teachers - anyone who teaches or deals with children or leadership.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lead Your Family Like Jesus Powerful Parenting Principles from the Creator of Families
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Are you leading your family like Jesus?

Date:March 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marcy
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have often heard it said that children don't come with a manual. Well, I disagree. Children do come with a manual -- it's called the Bible. But even those of us who know this as truth often struggle with how to lead our children according to the precepts of our "manual." If you are one of these parents, then Lead Your Family like Jesus may be the perfect commentary for you.
Within the pages of this useful and inspiring book, you'll find 12 principles, divided into 4 categories -- The Heart, The Head, The Hands, and The Habits. The book is designed to help you, the parent, align these 4 areas so that your family functions in a secure, joyful, safe way.
If you are a fearful parent -- this book is for you.
If you are a prideful parent -- this book is for you.
If you are a selfish parent -- this book is for you.
If you are a parent without vision for your family -- this book is for you.
If you are an inconsistent parent -- this book is for you.
If you are an engaged, on track, consistent, involved, communicative parent -- this book is even for you.
If you are a parent at all -- this book is for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.