Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Walking on Water When You Feel Like You're Drowning: Finding Hope in Life's Darkest Moments

Tyndale House Walking on Water When You Feel Like You're Drowning: Finding Hope in Life's Darkest Moments

Today more people than ever are suffering from emotional distress. Whether they are dealing with depression, anxiety, fear, worry, or stress, their lives are limited and compromised by the ill-effects. They often feel isolated and unloved and believe that there is no hope and no way out. InWalking on Water authors Tommy Nelson and Steve Leavitt write from personal experience and offer encouragement, perspective, counsel and ultimate hope. Their biblical approach to healing focuses on a holistic cure that integrates the body, mind, and spirit. If you or someone youknow is struggling, Walking on Water will help find true healing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Walking on Water When You Feel Like You're Drowning: Finding Hope in Life's Darkest Moments
Review 1 for Walking on Water When You Feel Like You're Drowning: Finding Hope in Life's Darkest Moments
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

help for emotional issues

Date:April 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jodi
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was very helpful to me in a time of need. Practical information, as well as personal narrative- easy to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Walking on Water When You Feel Like You're Drowning: Finding Hope in Life's Darkest Moments
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Drowning? Here's help...

Date:February 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blog4readers
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is hope for anxiety & depression." So reads the back cover of this book. HOPE. This word speaks volumes to those, like myself, who have struggled emotionally. In the search for answers, there have been many books written and read. Some books give increments of hope, others leave you feeling more hopeless because they offer next to nothing in answers.
This book has given me reason to hope again. There are words of comfort, for those who struggle and have been "labeled" (and even scorned) by others within the Body of Faith (the church). There is a feeling of relief knowing that others have struggled with the same or similar trials and overcome them. The thing that is the most compelling to me is that each of these authors has gone through dark times. It's not "theory" to them but actual walking out of what the LORD taught them. The book speaks to the spiritual but is also very practical, a great combination. The authors' personal stories breathe life into the book...making it very readable. The book is full of wisdom and steps to help you on your journey to victory over dark times.
I am seriously thinking of giving out copies of this book to my friends and family who struggle (and I will keep a copy for myself!) I give this book 5/5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Walking on Water When You Feel Like You're Drowning: Finding Hope in Life's Darkest Moments
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I do more than recommend. I implore you read it.

Date:December 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Leigh Kay
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walking on Water When you Feel Like You're Drowning is a collaborative effort of vulnerability, truth, openness and frankness, reliving broken seasons, dark valleys, and the ascent to healing and understood hope. The pages alternate perspectives switching from Tommy's story of sudden physical limitations and an ultimate diagnosis of clinical depression to Steve's long-term battle with crippling anxiety, overwhelming fear, and devastating loss. Each view highlighting journeys deep, authentic and heavy - yet not dissociative nor new to our fallen humanity's constant struggle.
I chose this book to review because of my deep-rooted, personal tie to Denton Bible Church and its senior pastor Tom Nelson. I attended his church for 8 years, and I am forever changed by the voracious appetite I discovered in learning more of God's Word. I have said countless times when speaking of Tom that he could preach on one verse and captivate the congregation for hours. Humor, wit, understanding of mysteries, and a true passion for Scripture are just a few of the qualities God gifted this man with. Qualities that drew me to the doors of this church as a freshman in college, in a new town. Qualities that bade me stay for the 8 years I lived in Denton, TX. I count myself rich beyond measure for my time of learning there.
When I opened the pages of the book, I though I would know a bit of what to expect. A timeline I remember quite well, for the events discussed by Tom took place while I was a part of the church. Yet the inclusion of Steve Leavitt and his stunning insight into the topic of life's darkest moment jarred me...glued me to the pages evermore. Steve bares his soul as unabashedly as Tommy. Leaving no corner hidden in his journey to peace and contentment in God. These men proclaim their humanity, their flaws - because boasting in their weakness is magnifying God's strength and goodness.
These men waste no time in declaring that we are all fallen. We all experience struggles. There is nothing weak about identifying our hardships and walking the path towards healing is brave and vital.
I will not hesitate one moment in sharing this book with those who are struggling with anxiety, depression, obsessive tendencies, or who are existing through their days confused as to what may be swirling around in their lives. There is so much we don't understand even about ourselves, that we often need the wisdom of others to help us in our discoveries, our understanding of truth, and our search for navigating the valleys to conquer the heights.
You can relate to these voices. Trust their wisdom. For they have been there. They have come through to the other side. Steve repeats the promise that "you can get better". There are some common platitudes throughout the chapters, but the reader can still see sincerity behind the often-heard phrases. And more importantly, Steve (a licensed counselor) backs them up with biblical truth and year's of experience helping others heal.
I do more than recommend this book. I implore you to read it. To give it to a loved one. To keep it close by. You will grow in the end. You will gain new arsenal against the darkness and lies with each turn of the page. You will finally be able to rest in the truth that you are not alone. There is hope. You are rescued from the life you wish you could change. This book shows you how to take that knowledge and own your true identity - your true freedom.
(Please visit my blog for the full review and for further support. You are not alone. http://dailyrefined{dot}blogspot{dot}com)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Walking on Water When You Feel Like You're Drowning: Finding Hope in Life's Darkest Moments
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"Walking on Water"

Date:November 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shoopette
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What struck me most about this book was it's honesty. Neither of the authors hold back when discussing their own struggles with fear and anxiety, and this is was got me connected to the book right away. Hearing from other Christians who have experienced fear, anxiety, and depression and have dealt with it biblically is encouraging.
This entire book is excellent, but the best part is the section on the Keys to Recovery. In it they offer thorough advice on living with these struggles. The advice is biblical and Christ-centered. The authors do not pull any punches, but they also avoid the "if you are truly a Christian and living a faithful life, you won't struggle with these issues" bit. In fact, they say that this mindset has been prevaelant in the church for so long that it has actually been harmful.
The points that were brought up about perfectionism were also good. We don't always associate fear and anxiety with perfectionism, but they are actually all related.
This book has been extremely eye-opening for me, and I recommend it to everyone dealing with these types of issues.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Walking on Water When You Feel Like You're Drowning: Finding Hope in Life's Darkest Moments
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

An Honest Look at Depression and Anxiety

Date:November 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wagaboodles
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Walking on Water when You Feel Like You’re Drowning: Finding Hope in Life’s Darkest Moments tackles depression and anxiety–two subjects that are often taboo in Christian circles. Authors Tommy Nelson and Steve Leavitt both have dealt with anxiety and depression. Nelson is a pastor and internationally-known speaker; Leavitt is a counselor. Both share professionally as well as personally about going through those dark times.
Nelson and Leavitt have some good insight into depression and anxiety. I appreciate their candor as well as talking about a subject that most people of faith ignore (or say happens because of something sinful in your life, which may not often be the case). Sometimes the Bible quotes can be annoying–I know that when I go through some tough times, I don’t want people simply quoting Scripture to me–but I also am aware that at times we need to hear those words. It’s not the best book I’ve read, but there also aren’t many Christian books that deal with anxiety and depression. It would be a helpful resource to those battling it or for their loved ones.
I received a free copy of this book from its publisher in exchange for doing an unbiased review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Walking on Water When You Feel Like You're Drowning: Finding Hope in Life's Darkest Moments
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product was very helpful and iformational

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wilhelm1985
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really liked this book. It has good resources to help out and you can tell it comes from someone that has gone through depression and has come through it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Walking on Water When You Feel Like You're Drowning: Finding Hope in Life's Darkest Moments
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Walking on Water Book Review

Date:November 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Proverbs 31 Wannabe
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Walking on Water When You Feel Like You're Drowning: Finding Hope in Life's Darkest Moments" by Tommy Nelson and Steve Leavitt
We have all had times in our lives when we have felt as if we were drowning. At least, I know I have. The title of this book interested me and so I chose to review it. This book offers hope for people who suffer with symptoms from anxiety, obsessions, fear and depression. The book is divided into three parts:
Part One ~ The Dark Descent, Part Two ~ Questions from the Depths of Despair, and Part Three ~ Keys to Recovery. Nelson and Leavitt use personal experiences with anxiety disorder, panic attacks and depression to discuss symptoms, causes and how to recover. They also use examples from counseling sessions with others.
The authors offer hope and answers for how to overcome these symptoms and truly debilitating conditions. "Remember this: Anything that feels like the end of the world is not what it appears to be. Have hope. God is the God of hope. He is not a God of fear, worry, and stress. Grab onto His hope like a lifeline, and cling to it." They use many passages of scripture to show God's hope and that He is in control and has plans for His people. One of the things I thought would be helpful for people struggling is the list of Lies and Truths: Lies the world tells us and Biblical Truths, a listing of Scriptures, which can help alleviate our belief in those lies.
As someone who suffered from anxiety attacks in college, I could relate to those feelings of fear and panic as well as the greatest fear being, when might I have another one? While I haven't had issues with this for many years, I remembered those feelings of helplesness as I read this book. I also recognize these issues in other people that are in my life. "We also know that God desires to use our trials for His glory and for others. We should be willing to see how our suffering prepares us to minister to others who suffer." Because of the experiences I have had in my own life, I can use those times to empathize with and help others who need it.
This book is a good resource for anyone. People who suffer from anxiety, depression and symptoms of stress will find comfort in the fact that they aren't going through this alone, as well as ways to cope with those symptoms. If you do not suffer from it, you could still benefit from being able to support and help and understand others who are going through what is a terrible and debilitating time in their lives.
Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale Publishing in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Walking on Water When You Feel Like You're Drowning: Finding Hope in Life's Darkest Moments
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helpful & Biblical View of Anxiety/Depression

Date:November 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
scajr83
Location:Lafayette, IN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Walking On Water When You Feel Like You're Drowning" by Tommy Nelson and Steve Leavitt is a Biblical approach to helping people deal with anxiety and depression. Nelson and Leavitt tackle the difficult issues of causes of anxiety, obsessiveness, and depression and how biblical perspective can aid in the healing process.
This book tells personal stories of those struggling with one or more of these issues which helps the reader feel like they aren't alone in their troubles. There are constant references to Scripture and these references give inspiration and hope.
I thought this book offers a pretty comprehensive look at anxiety, depression, and obsessiveness. Chapters tackle issues such as: "What's Going On In My Mind?"; "What's Going On In My Spirit?"; "How Did I Get Here?"; and several chapters on recovery and healing.
Overall I think this book was a great resource for those struggling with anxiety or depression. This would also be a great resource for loved ones of those going through these issues as it gives a comprehensive overview of these issues and really can help you understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Walking on Water When You Feel Like You're Drowning: Finding Hope in Life's Darkest Moments
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2012
This book was written by two men who have experienced depression, anxiety, panic attacks and stress. Tommy Nelson is a well-known author and pastor. Many may know him from his teachings about the Song of Solomon. Tommy explains how he loved teaching the Song of Solomon but along the way he began experiencing anxiety and panic attacks. He realized that although he loved what he was doing he was overworked and stressed. He wisely noted that he did not think it was possible to burn out from doing something that he loved but he was wrong.
Steve Leavitt is a counselor and has a ministry called Hope for Life. Steve understands depression and anxiety as his life was turned upside down when his wife was pregnant with their second child and was diagnosed with cancer. He talks about his pain as the Lord took his wife home four months after delivering their second child. He was left to grieve the passing of his wife and be a father to two young children.
In this book Tommy and Steve not only tell their stories but provide a biblical prospective to healing. The book contains three parts: The Dark Descent, Questions from the Depths of Despair and Keys to Recovery. The book was written in an alternating fashion meaning that in one chapter Tommy would tell part of his story and then Steve would tell his. There are also some chapters that are just written by Steve. I did not particularly care for the format of the book as it could be a little confusing at times but I did like the content. I think both of these men have amazing testimonies and they could have written individual books.
I would recommend this book to anyone experiencing depression, anxiety, panic attacks, stress, obsessiveness and perfectionism. This book would also be good for spouses or family members who would like to help or better understand what their loved ones are experiencing.
*I received a complimentary copy of the book for review purposes from Tyndale House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Walking on Water When You Feel Like You're Drowning: Finding Hope in Life's Darkest Moments
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hope for those experiencing anxiety/depression

Date:October 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather King
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well-known Christian pastor and teacher, Tommy Nelson, and counselor, Steve Leavitt, work together to bring information and encouragement to Chrisians suffering from anxiety and depression in their new book, Walking on Water When You Feel Like You're Drowning. They write what they know. Both of them walked through a profound season of anxiety/depression and now share what they have learned with others.
Sometimes we think that Christians should just "snap out of it" and that enough Bible reading and praise music can overcome any psychological crisis. Nelson and Leavitt expose that myth. Perhaps the very best thing about this book is the encouraging message that you are not alone if you are facing anxiety, depression and compulsive behaviors. After all, as the authors note, many of the Biblical authors experienced similar struggles.
Another myth that Tommy Nelson tackles head on comes from his own realization: "I never throughout you could burn out doing something you loved. I was wrong." We tend to fill up with activity and accomplishment, particularly in Christian circles where the amount of our involvement seems to be equated with how much faith we have or how committed we are to Christ. None of us, however, can function long-term on lots of adrenaline and little downtime. So often, the authors note, the culprit is stress.
Using encouragements from Scripture, their own personal experiences, the testimonies of others, and solid reminders to seek healing for the whole person (spiritual, emotional, and physical), Nelson and Leavitt have written a book filled with hope. It's not highly technical. It's not deeply theological. Each chapter is short and they share Scripture verses often without performing an exegetical commentary. It's kept clear and straightforward, just two guys talking to you about what it feels like to be "drowning," and how to end up walking on the water instead.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Walking on Water When You Feel Like You're Drowning: Finding Hope in Life's Darkest Moments
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wish this book had been available 16 years ago!!!!

Date:October 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pam M
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walking on Water When You Feel Like You’re Drowning
(Finding hope in life’s darkest moments)
By Tommy Nelson and Steve Leavitt
I was offered this book by Tyndale Publishers for free of charge in exchange for my honest review which I am giving in this writing.
When I first chose this book to review, I was not thinking of much use for myself, but more of just a good general book about anxiety and depression in the Christian’s life. As I started to read, I could not put the book down and had to complete it in one sitting!
I wish this book had been around 16 or 17 years ago when I went through this with my first husband. Every symptom, every feeling, everything he was experiencing that made him feel as if he was going to die…these authors write about from experience and from a Christian and clinical standpoint. Part of going through panic attacks and anxiety that is so disabling is that you do not know what is happening to you. We had no idea what was causing him to be experiencing the pacing, the high blood pressure, the sleeplessness, the heart racing, the mind racing. The doctors we visited ranged from not knowing what was going on to stating that he must be taking illegal drugs! Not a pleasant experience at that hospital!
This book is going to be so valuable to the families as well as to those who have experienced panic attacks and anxiety and depression. It clearly lays out what is happening as well as providing Scriptures to help during these times and suggesting that medications can be used to control this disorder without having to feel guilty that as a Christian you should be able to “handle it” with God’s help.
Tommy Nelson is a senior pastor in a large church. Steve Leavitt is a Christian Biblical counselor. Both have suffered themselves with anxiety and depression and write about it from their own experiences.
This book explores these topics :
• What causes anxiety, depression and obsessiveness
• What is actually happening in your body
• The problem with perfection
• How Biblical thinking is crucial to recovery
• When you should consider medication
• And more!
I highly recommend this book to anyone who is struggling with anxiety, depression or OCD as well as to family members or friends who know people that struggle with this. I believe this book will fulfill a need for the encouragement of those who are walking alongside people who are hurting. Sometimes when a person is going through this dark time, they cannot focus enough on reading to benefit, but if someone who cares can read this book and share with them during the periods of clarity, it will definitely help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.