Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #11: Hunt for the Devil's Dragon

Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #11: Hunt for the Devil's Dragon

Join cousins Beth and Patrick as they are whisked away for Libya in the 13th century. The town of Silene is being terrorized by a vicious animal that is eating livestock, and the townspeople believe it's a dragon sent by the devil. To appease the beast, the people believe they must offer up a human sacrifice---a young girl named Sabra.

When Beth tries to help Sabra escape, she too is tied up as an offering for the dragon. Meanwhile, Patrick and a new friend named Hazi join Georgius, a Roman knight who is serving in Africa to keep peace. Georgius decides to find the dragon and kill it, but his plans go awry when Beth and Sabra beg him not to kill it. The girls know the true secret of Silene---and the dragon isn't its worst enemy.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #11: Hunt for the Devil's Dragon
Review 1 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #11: Hunt for the Devil's Dragon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My son loved it.

Date:December 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Di
Location:Naperville, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 8 yr old son loved book 11. Some have kept his interest better than others and this one is at the top. Highly recommend for action lovers. Some fighting and viciousness included, but rather tame by today's standards. Pretty standard battle of good and evil and protecting/supporting one's own. Excellent life lesson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #11: Hunt for the Devil's Dragon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My daughter loved it, read it all in one day

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
SoaringEagle
Location:USA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Imagination Station Hunt for the Devil's Dragon is an Adventures in Odyssey book by Marianne Hering and Wayne Thomas Batson. This is book 11 in the series.
The story starts out with Beth heading into Whit's End to order a root beer float. She is a bit down in the dumps. Just as Whit starts asking her what was wrong, her cousin Patrick comes in. She then explains her situation. Whit leads them to a room and sends them off on an adventure in the Imagination Station. They land in a place in northern Africa where they meet two children, Hazi and Sabra. That is when their adventure begins. What will happen, you will have to read this book to find out.
I first had my 9-year old daughter read this book. She loved it so much, she read it three times in one day. I first introduced her to the series last year (2012) when I first heard about the Imagination Station books. I love the Adventure in Odessey stories. It kind of reminds me of the Magic Tree House books but these are better. A Roman soldier whom the children meet is a believer in Christ and trust Him in all things and talks about this. I definitely recommend this book and the whole series to anyone who is looking for Christian children books that are interesting, fun, and adventurous.
I received this book for free from Tyndale House Publishers in return for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #11: Hunt for the Devil's Dragon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Instant Hit!

Date:May 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
homeschoolmom24
Location:Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About the Book:
If you’re brave, follow cousins Beth and Patrick to Libya in the 13th century. The town of Silene is being terrorized by a vicious animal that is eating livestock. The townspeople believe it’s a dragon sent by the devil. In order to appease the beast, the people believe they must offer a human sacrifice—a young girl named Sabra. When Beth tries to help Sabra escape, she too is tied up as an offering for the dragon.
Meanwhile, Patrick and a new friend named Hazi join Georgius, a Roman knight who is serving in Africa to keep peace. Georgius decides to find the dragon and kill it. Georgius’s plans go awry when Beth and Sabra beg him not to kill the dragon. The girls know the true secret of Silene—the dragon isn’t its worst enemy.
About the Authors:
Wayne Thomas Batson lives in Eldersburg with his beautiful wife of eleven years and his four wonderful young children. Besides dividing his time between family, teaching, and writing, he likes to read, golf, play PS2, travel to the beach, play electric guitar, and create 3D artwork.
My Review:
I have been waiting to get my hands on a book from this series for a good while now. So excited to share this book with you all! If you know anything about the Adventures in Odyssey brand you know it is a great way to teach the children of today good, sound morals. I love how the older Whit is always trying to show the children how you need to have courage and rely on God especially during times of trouble. This book is no different than the rest of the series in that it shows Beth that sometimes the most popular choice probably isn't to stand up for what is right.But never the less we still need to defend "good" in all we do.
In Hunt for the Devil's Dragon Beth is faced with a difficult decision when someone at school is accused of doing something that they both know didn't happen. But Beth doesn't come to her friends rescue and she is feeling pretty bad about it. So Whit takes that opportunity to show Beth and Patrick that even though we are afraid sometimes it doesn't mean we are cowards. He decides show them a real dragon.
It is an amazing story and one that my boys enjoyed. If you are interested in learning more about this book you can do so here.
**Disclosure** This book was provided to me at no charge for my honest review from Tyndale Blogging for Books Blog Network.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #11: Hunt for the Devil's Dragon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun book for a little bit older child.

Date:May 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
AmyT
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Imagination Station - Hunt for the Devil's Dragon was a fun kids book. Cousins Beth and Patrick encounter an adventure of a lifetime as they travel back in time to 13th century Libya. Beth is having a problem at school and Mr. Whittaker in wonderful Adventures in Odyssey fashion has an amazing and creative way to help her learn how to handle this problem and how to trust in God.
I remember hearing about Adventures in Odyssey on the radio, growing up. Now my kids and I have borrowed the CD's from the Library and are enjoying them so much. It is a great and creative way to learn practical and biblical lessons. I was excited to see they have books as well.
This book is an easier read, yet it may be a little bit scary for a younger child. I would recommend you read it first and then see if your child would be ok with it. Because it deals with dragons and death - you may need to talk about it with them. Other than that it is a great book and I would highly recommend the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #11: Hunt for the Devil's Dragon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this series

Date:May 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Danni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So book 11 takes us to North Africa where Patrick and Beth meet Hazi and Sabra. Patrick and Beth soon discover that things are very different here than what they are used too. Patrick and Beth learn that a dragon has been attacking Hazi and Sabra's village. Killing many sheep and even a a shepherd. Of course the town is fearing for their lives and in their panic they decide to offer up two sacrifices to the dragon to try and save the village. (Sorry no spoiler here!)
During Beth and Patrick's adventures they also meet a brave Roman Soldier named Georgius, who just so happens to be a follower of Christ. Georgius ends up being very brave and useful to kids more than once through the book and the children learn much from him. Despite being plotted against by his commander Lucius, who doesn't like Georgius at all.
As it happens some times, things aren't always what they seem. Is the dragon the bad guy? Will the two sacrifices make it out alive? How far will Lucius go to kill Georgius? Where is God and how is he working through all of this? This was such a good book for kids. It had to have been when my can't sit still for two minutes six year old is asking me to read another chapter!
My kids just love this whole series so much. Keep it up. Can't wait for the next one
I received this book from Tyndale Publishing in exchange for my honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #11: Hunt for the Devil's Dragon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really like the book. I was amazed that Patrick

Date:May 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
cterry
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Imagination Station: Hunt for the Devil's Dragon
A Review by Ethan Terry
I really like the book. I was amazed that Patrick and Beth traveled to Northern Africa in the Imagination Station. Also, I was impressed that the Imagination Station disappeared after they got out of it. I really liked God using a dragon to saved Beth and Sabra from the Saber-tooth cat. I did not like Lucius (one of the characters) blaming the dragon for the death of a shepherd and his sheep. Beth and Sabra learned that it was the saber-tooth cat who had killed the shepherd and his sheep, not the dragon.
In the book there is a Roman soldier named Georgius who is a Christian and also very brave. He fought the dragon to save the lives of his friends, even though he knew it could cost him his life. He trusted in God to protect him and help him against the dragon. Georgius also cut some scales off from the dragon's cheek. Georgius and Tarek backed the dragon into its cave, and its opening collapsed. Then the friends returned to the city where Lucius saw them. Lucius accused Georgius of being a traitor, and challenged him to a battle. In the midst of the battle, the saber-tooth cat jumped out and tore off Lucius' armor. So, they killed the cat. The Imagination Station appeared and Georgius gave Patrick and Beth the scales from the dragon and the carcass of the cat to bring home to Odyssey.
I really liked the book. Tyndale Blog Network provided this book to me as a review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #11: Hunt for the Devil's Dragon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The adventure continues

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michelle
This is simply a refreshing series for young readers. These books are filled with learning, history, values and excitement. 'The Hunt for the Devil’s Dragon' deals with the topic of bullying and more specifically standing up to bullies. It's a tough subject and too many of our children face bullying in schools. This would be a great read to share with a child that is dealing with this issue. It would be a great starting point to open up the discussion with your child. It gives many examples of bullies/bullying and reinforces that you should always stand up for yourself, your friends and for what if right. This series keeps surprising me. I love the wealth of time periods and cultures that we’ve traveled. The books are filled with Biblical truths. All this packed into the adventure of a good read!
I received a copy of the book for the purpose of this review from Tyndale Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #11: Hunt for the Devil's Dragon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Entertaining Book & Helps Children Apply the Word

Date:April 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dorie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book is written for 7-12 year olds, but anyone with a love for Adventures in Odyssey will find these books enjoyable. Vocabulary and sentence structure is not taxing, but not too simplistic either. The story line is adventurous and creates interest in the characters and their experiences in 13th Century Libya. I appreciated how cultural specific items, like dress and employment, were explained within the context of the storyline.
However, the gem of the book lies in its careful attention to applying God's Word to real life situations. Though the dragon in a cave may seem fanciful to readers, the bullying incident Rachel experiences and Beth witnesses, is all too real.
My favorite part in the book is when Whit said,
"The point is to stand up for what's right, no matter what."
"But we don't have to stand alone," Beth said. "Georgius helped me remember that God is my help when I face trouble." {p. 127}
A book that can help children apply this vital truth, is a book to read.
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.