Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #13: The Redcoats are Coming!

Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #13: The Redcoats are Coming!

Join cousins Beth and Patrick as they are whisked back in time to the Revolutionary War. The cousins meet Paul Revere, Samuel Adams, and John Hancock as they discover that their mission is to assist the revolutionaries by waking up the sleeping citizens of 1775 Concord before the Redcoats arrive.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #13: The Redcoats are Coming!
Review 1 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #13: The Redcoats are Coming!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good book for young readers

Date:July 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the Redcoats are Coming, cousins Patrick and Beth find themselves in 1775 Concord. There they meet historical figures such as Paul Revere, John Hancock, and Samuel Adams and they lend their aid to the Revolutionaries by delivering secret messages, smuggling ammunition, and alerting the sleeping citizens of the Redcoats approach. As in the other books of this series, I found valuable Christian truths were taught as well as accurate historical facts in a way that would not only captivate readers, but also drive those lessons to heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #13: The Redcoats are Coming!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great action story

Date:July 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Leeann
Location:CdA, ID
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great story about the Revolutionary War. My girls aged 4-8 loved listening to it. They don't lose interest, and I can usually read the whole book in one sitting. This one ended a bit differently...it continues on in the next book. They wanted to keep reading and see what happened next! Great way to start talking about the Rev War.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #13: The Redcoats are Coming!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book with Revolutionary facts

Date:June 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Good book and Roman Facts
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this book Patrick and Beth are sent by Mr. Whittaker to give a letter to Paul Revere. They are sent to warn the colonists that the redcoats are coming! Two British spies almost catch them more than once! At the end one of them shoot the Imagination Station. It takes them to the middle of the war on a ship at sea! My favorite part is where Mr. Brown falls through the step trying to catch Beth. This is a good book for kids ages 8-11.
By: Joshua, age 10
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #13: The Redcoats are Coming!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Redcoats Are Coming!

Date:June 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Redcoats Are Coming! is another time travel adventure with Beth and Patrick. I loved introducing admirable people who were part of our country's independence to my kids. They were fascinated with Paul Revere, John Hancock, and Samuel Adams.
A great read for children to learn more about Revolutionary War history.
5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #13: The Redcoats are Coming!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Redcoats Are Coming is another book in the Adventures in Odyssey: Imagination Station series. Beth and Patrick tell Mr. Whitaker about how their grandma is taking them on a trip to see Boston to see the places where historical events occurred in our country's revolution. Mr Whitaker sends them on an exciting adventure to see Paul Revere's ride at the start of the revolutionary war.
This was a really fun book. It was full of historical facts and figures and helped make the people real and the story come alive. It was a great view of part of our country's revolution. It showcased the fear and secrecy involved in taking up arms for a revolution. It's a great fun read for kids and will help them learn a little about our country's history.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #13: The Redcoats are Coming!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
thecraftyhome
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Redcoats are Coming! is the thirteenth book in The Imagination Station series. We are big fans of Adventures in Odyessy here and also of The Imagination Station books (we own them all). They are below my sons reading level now but he still loves to read them. The reading level for them is 2.5 and they are recommended for ages 7 and up. The series as been compared to the Magic Tree House books except these don't include magic and are from a Christian worldview. The cousins, Patrick and Beth, get to go on adventures back in time to important times in history in Mr. Whittaker's Imagination Station. Kids get to learn about historical events while enjoying a great adventure.
This book is about Paul Revere. The kids are excited about getting to go to Boston during the summer with their grandma. She is taking them because they had been learning about the founding of our country and she wanted them to experience the places they had been learning about. Whit tells them he has an old Bible from that time and they go to find it. In the Bible, they find an old letter that was supposed to be delivered to Paul Revere. Whit lets them have an awesome adventure in the Imagination Station to deliver the letter which ends in them actually making Paul Revere's ride for them.
This book, like the others in the series, is a great way for kids to learn about history in an enjoyable way. I highly recommend the whole series.
I received a free copy of this product from Tyndale in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. All opinions I have expressed are my own or those of my family. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #13: The Redcoats are Coming!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Redcoats are Coming!

Date:July 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is another delightful story based on the Adventures in Odyssey: Whit's End. Patrick and Beth go to tell Whit that they are going on vacation to Boston where the Revolutionary War takes place. Whit takes them into the Imagination Station where they go back in time and can "relive" the actual Revolutionary War. I love the way they bring history alive in these stories. If you have a child that dreads history, this is the story for them to read. It makes them understand history more. I would recommend this book to all children and adults out there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #13: The Redcoats are Coming!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Series

Date:June 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These books are creatively written with fun adventures, and will encourage young readers to read more. They do include danger and thrills, and scary situations, as well as life lessons. Some scenes are written with creative license, by which I mean the authors have added to them, or changed some of the ways the events played out. For example, Paul Revere’s ride was changed to add in the two kids and have them part of the mission. They are fiction, so that kind of thing is expected, but the stories can send readers to other resources to find out more about the history. This series encourages Christian values in a fun way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #13: The Redcoats are Coming!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Homeschool Must Have!!!

Date:January 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
campbellsc2003
Location:Abingdon, MD
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Love this book! My 1st grader, who is homeschooled, is learning about Paul Revere in History class this week and we are including this book in our curriculum. The story is exciting and keeps my normally "uninterested in reading" 7 year old on the edge of his seat. With historical facts and an intriguing fictional storyline, this book is hands down a favorite in this household. :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.