Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Potluck Club, The: A Novel - eBook

Revell Potluck Club, The: A Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.952 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Potluck Club, The: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Potluck Club, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Potluck Club, Potluck Club Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vicky-ray Van Schenck
Our bible study group is using this series for a summer book review. Each summer we take a a break from regular study to enjoy some lite reading and discussion and fellowship. I have read this series and have recommended for our summer program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Potluck Club, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Potluck Club, Potluck Club Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Beverly Lawrence
Once I started this whole series, I couldn't put them down. It is sad to say but these books pictured the Christian community the way we are with all of our warts. But it also shows how God can work through our failures and bring Glory to His Name. I thing that we need to read books like these to show that we are fallible but forgiven.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Potluck Club, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Potluck Club, Potluck Club Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Debbie Bowles
I borrowed this book from a friend. After reading it, I had to order two more, one for my mom and one for another friend because it was such a fun book. The realistic, lovable, amusing characters kept me turning the pages as quickly as possible. I've also been trying and enjoying some of the great recipes. I can't wait to read the sequels!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Potluck Club, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Potluck Club, Potluck Club Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Truesdale
I absolutely love this book. This is the perfect novel for Christian women. These women are not perfect, they all have a past and they manage to love each other anyway. I also love that the recipes for all their dishes are in the book. Excellent read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Potluck Club, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Potluck Club, Potluck Club Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2006
I've always been the type of person that enjoys a good book when eating. Somehow reading a book about food always makes the meal tastier even if what I'm reading isn't what I'm eating. "The Potluck Club" is another one of those great eating/reading books. It even comes complete with recipes from the dishes mentioned in the story in case you get a hankering for beef brisket, cinnamon rolls or broccoli casserole. I really enjoyed this book. It gave the story from many different angles, with the characters all have different personalities. The premise of the story deals with a group of women meeting together for prayer and potluck. The women are real, experiencing funny and heartbreaking events together. Each character has a background story that they try to keep secret from the others. I am very glad that the book did not fault Goldie for her decision in her situation with her husband. Other books would have let the matter slide by or have Goldie give in. My favorite scene in the book dealt with a certain bear and a chocolate cake. I had to put the book down because I was laughing so hard. (Of course if I had been in that situation I wouldn't be.)My only complaint was the character of Clay. I'm not sure why his viewpoint is in the story. I understand he's a newspaper journalisty trying to get a story for the paper, but he just came across as annoying, nosy, and stalkerish. I also hope the conflict with Lisa Leann and Evangeline is either resovled or more fleshed out. This is a good book for women, perfect for a book club to read and discuss over a potluck! and yes! the library just got book 2 in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Potluck Club, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Potluck Club, Potluck Club Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2006
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
It's my understanding that a sequel is coming out this summer. I can't wait! So I'm a bit behind schedule, but this story was so unique and so interesting that it kept me reading and smiling all the way. The characters were so real I hated to see the story end. I have a special place in my heart for Vonnie in particular because she was so hurt by what her mother had done to her. Her poor husband is stunned. I feel for him, too. Oh, and that Lisa Leann chick, boy is she something. LOL! I pray the Lord does a mighty work in her heart. I hope that the sequel shows some resolution in Goldie's life as well as Donna's. From the blurb on the back of this book it sounds like trouble is brewing again and this time Donna's secret will come out. Mercy, this stuff is good. I am a fan of the potluck club forevermore. What a great concept to get some church gossips together and have God reach down and touch them all...one heart at a time. :) Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Potluck Club, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Potluck Club, Potluck Club Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
Terri Gillespie
I laughed. I cried. I got really hungry . . .The Potluck Club offers us a tasteful blend of spicy characters you will love. There is a comfortable ease with Shepherd and Everson as they bring us to Summit, CO, and into the lives of Evie, Lisa Leann, Goldie, Donna, Lizzie and Vonnie.Both authors have done an excellent job of capturing the personality quirks of many of us "good Christian souls" -- kind people who sometimes forget to look for the log in our own eye.Eva and Linda! You must get the second book out as soon as possible! I miss my friends. (And what's up with that guy?)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Potluck Club, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Potluck Club, Potluck Club Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
Diana Urban
The Potluck Club began as a twosome, just kitchen-phobic old maid Evangeline Benson and her lifelong friend, Ruth Ann McDonald. They met once a month, in their small town of Summit View, Colorado, for gossip, goulash, and a dash of prayer.Then Evangelines biggest prayer wasnt answered, and Ruth Ann died of cancer.Now Evangeline has taken on the presidency of the group, and the Potluck Club has expanded to six women who share prayer, recipes, and social time, not necessarily in that order. Unfortunately, the stews this club creates dont always include meat and vegetables. What begins as a light-hearted jaunt through small-town U.S.A.s daily happenings turns serious as the six members of the Potluck Club each face real-life issues, including grief, marital problems, serious illness, and family troubles. One members past confronts her, and she must decide what to do about a secret shes harbored for years. Another member is determined to take over leadership of the club, by force if necessary. And Evangeline has to figure out what to do when her childhood sweetheart wants another chance. Along the way, Clay Whitefield, the local journalist, and a man determined to expose the secrets of the Potluck Club, stirs the mix by giving his insights into each of the womens personalities.Authors Linda Evans Shepherd and Eva Marie Everson weave in a subtle spiritual thread as the Potluckers realize they have put God on the back burner of their cooking club. Through their friendships and the crises they face, each realizes what has interfered with her relationship with the Lord and overcomes her personal stumbling block to draw closer to Him. At the end of the book, Shepherd and Everson provide a feast of fantastic recipes for everything from Chai tea to Cheese Enchiladas. I look forward to another heaping helping of the Potluck Clubs adventures in the summer of 2006!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Potluck Club, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Potluck Club, Potluck Club Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2005
Customer Avatar
Cathy Barnes
Tired of books with no plot? This book will satisfy your need for something to exercise your mind. Many stories within the story rivet your attention, keeping you turning the pages till the very end. Through it all you see that God is, indeed, capable of taking care of even the smallest details and using them for the good in each persons life. Youll meet 1.Evie - leader of The Potluck Club/prayer group, needing deliverance from the crushing weight of grief; 2.Evies niece, Leigh - seeking Gods direction for her life; 3.Donna - bitter and angry, learning to cope; 4.Lisa Leann - bossy from the word Go but grudgingly accepted into the group; 5.Goldie - in special need of prayer support;6.Lizzie - rock solid in her marriage and convictions;7.Vonnie - hiding a secret that will eventually come out;All wrapped together by a nosy reporter, getting the scoop on The Potluck Club. Get yourself a cup of tea and one of Lisa Leanns cinnamon rolls (the recipes are included!) and journey into the world of the Potluck Club. Youll be glad you did!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Potluck Club, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Potluck Club, Potluck Club Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2005
Customer Avatar
Marian Merritt
Six womensix lives with problems and secrets. When the women of the Potluck Club meet monthly in Summit View, Colorado theyre tested by more than just the fire cooking their recipes. As their friendships develop, theyre tested to accept, with Grace, the things about each other that are hard to swallow. The authors have cooked up a wonderful casserole of characters sure to please even readers with the most discriminating taste. Each chapter is written from the point of view of a different member of the club. Sure to be a delight with a strong Spiritual thread baked in. Highly recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Potluck Club, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Potluck Club, Potluck Club Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2005
Customer Avatar
Vicki Brown
The women in the fictional town of Summit View, Colorado are every bit as desperate as the famous housewives of ABC television, with one overwhelming difference. The members of the Potluck Club have an eternal hope in our God who is bigger than this world. Eva Marie Everson and Linda Evans Shepherd have penned a refreshing story exploring the fears, secrets and heartaches of six colorful characters who make up The Potluck Club. These are not your great grannys perfect, plastic Christian friends. The authors have a unique style of dealing with life-changing issues without pulling the reader into the blues. In the early chapters my lazy brain worked a little bit of overtime trying to absorb the lives of six different women, but it was well worth the effort. In addition to being an entertaining read, The Potluck Club carries a powerful message of healing which will change your outlook on life and death. Im eagerly looking forward to the sequel! Vicki Lynn
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Potluck Club, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Potluck Club, Potluck Club Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2005
Customer Avatar
Louise M. Gouge
The Potluck Club is a delightful book filled with real life sorrows and joys, down-to-earth wisdom, and some really scrumptious recipes. It kept me guessing about the outcome, so of course I had to keep turning pages. Linda Evans Shepherd and Eva Marie Everson do not disappoint the reader with this excellent story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Potluck Club, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Potluck Club, Potluck Club Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2005
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Lynn Cary
Delicious!Everyone has a story. And the six women of postcard perfect Summit View certainly share theirs in The Potluck Club. Funny, honest and heartwarming, this club takes on every prayable need thrown at them, even if it isnt the most selfless way to go about itfrom marriages (or lack there of), to visions of grandeur, to long held secrets, to life and deaththey cover every delectable course. The first-person point of view per chapter allows the reader to get to know each member of the club and genuinely care, often to the point of wanting to laugh, cry, and hold one and all in a sisterly embrace. Women (and even men, but dont tell) of all ages will relate to these gals. Not all books order a sequel, but The Potluck Club is ready for its second helping. Highly recommended, The Potluck Club makes a wonderful read on its own but, like any great smorgasbord, when shared with friends, the joy is multiplied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Potluck Club, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Potluck Club, Potluck Club Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2005
Customer Avatar
Cynthia M. Hickey
When you take 6 Christian women all set out to "help" the others, you're in for a hilarious ride! I throughly enjoyed The Potluck Club. The individual stories of these six women bring to life issues today's Christian women struggle with. We are faced with these issues and able to laugh about them as we read how each of these women deal with their struggles, forging friendships and finding love. - author of Pursued by Evil and A Dream Fulfilled
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Potluck Club, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Potluck Club, Potluck Club Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2005
Customer Avatar
Carol Boldman
I loved this book! It's the best of Christian Women's fiction. I loved the relationships between a group of women, who love and pray for each other through the trials & joys of life. I also liked how the characters grow and mature and learn to give each other grace. The recipes are good too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Potluck Club, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Potluck Club, Potluck Club Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2005
Customer Avatar
Diane Hamilton
I really enjoyed this book. I've never been one for fiction (except "Left Behind"!), but for some reason the premise of this story really caught my attention.The characters are very interesting. It took a few chapters to really get a feel for who's who, but once I did, I was hooked! I read the whole thing in two days (most of it on the second day!).The only thing I missed was hearing more from Lisa Leann toward the end of the book. I can't WAIT for the next book!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Potluck Club, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Potluck Club, Potluck Club Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2005
Customer Avatar
Peggy Phifer
Take six women of various ages and diverse personalities, mix in a hidden past, a smoldering resentment, an unexpected houseguest with a shocking surprise, and a nosy reporter determined to get a story no matter what, and you have a recipe for a great read. Meet Evangeline, Vonnie, Lizzie, Donna, Goldie and Lisa Leannthe women of the Potluck Club, an exclusive group that meet once a month, bring a dish to share, and pray for each other as well as others in their small community of Summit View, ColoradoShepherd and Everson have taken a most unique approach in this book. Each woman takes center stage in separate chapters, interspersed with the thoughts, curiosity and speculations of Clay Whitefield, ace reporter for the Gold Rush News. The womens chapters are preceded with a recipe card and every recipe is fully printed out in the back of the book. When were in each womans point of view, we get an insiders peek at what makes them who they are. They reveal their hidden hurts, wants, ambitions, jealousies and secrets, and youll love them, sympathize with them, hurt for them, and be angry right along with them. They are so very real so human.Evangeline, spinster, or Evie, as she is known, is the pivotal character. It is mostly her home where they meet, and the book begins and ends with her. Yet the other five women get equal exposure.. As we get to know these women, we watch them grow within themselves, their relationship with each other and in their walk with God. When someone not of their group suddenly needs prayer and support, these ladies are right there with everything theyve got. Each of the six is not the same person at the end as they were when we first meet them.And now I cant wait for the sequel, due out sometime in Summer 2006 Title: The Potluck Club: Troubles Brewing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Potluck Club, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Potluck Club, Potluck Club Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2005
Customer Avatar
A. M. Wilson
These six women learn life's lessons at an age when they think they've got it all down pat. You might find any of them sitting in your congregation some Sunday morning, they are so real to life.Having faith and knowing how to pray come as hard lessons to each woman in her own way. You'll enjoy meeting each one whether you want to hug them or shake them.Have fun!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Potluck Club, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Potluck Club, Potluck Club Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2005
Customer Avatar
Gayle Scheff
From start to finish I enjoyed reading The Potluck Club. I laughed with them and cried with them and I rooted for them as they learned to put their trust in the One who can heal broken hearts and broken relationships. And it is refreshing to see friends who are there for each other and know the meaning of forgiveness and unconditional love. Bring on book two!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Potluck Club, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Potluck Club, Potluck Club Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2005
Customer Avatar
Felicia Mires
I wish I could look at life's situations and come up with such funny prose. The ladies in the Potluck Club don't just think outrageous things. They do them, and all while they "pray" for those around them. I'll never look at gossip the same way again.LOL It's a funny book managing to address weighty spiritual issues with humor. I enjoyed the resolutions to problems. I liked the loose ends that carry to the next book. A great read that I heartily recommend. I love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>