Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HarperOne The C.S. Lewis Bible, NRSV

HarperOne The C.S. Lewis Bible, NRSV

Study the Scriptures with beloved theologian C.S. Lewis---the creator of Narnia and one of the intellectual giants of the 20th century!Over 600 Scripture-linked devotional readings from Mere Christianity, The Screwtape Letters, and other classics---plus Lewis's letters, poetry, and less-familiar works * Introductory essays * Presentation page * Size: 6.5" x 9.25" * 1600 pages, hardcover from HarperOne
Average Customer Rating:
4.72 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
49 out of 5098%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The C.S. Lewis Bible, NRSV
Review 1 for The C.S. Lewis Bible, NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well done

Date:November 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
snicklefritz
Location:Greeneville, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Someone left a copy of this Bible in our Sunday School classroom, and I have been reading bits and pieces of it for the past year or so. The C.S. Lewis quotes are peppered throughout the Bible at relevant points. The quotes are from all aspects of Lewis' writings. It's very well done. I bought one for myself and bought three for gifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The C.S. Lewis Bible, NRSV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I was surprised by the cover.

Date:October 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ruralnebr
Location:Nebraska
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was VERY excited to find the C.S. Lewis Bible at CBD.com but if you take a look at the picture you might realize what I found disappointing. I saw that lovely mint, cream and chocolate cover and I thought that is what the cover of the Bible would be. I know you CAN'T judge a book by it's cover (lol) and the contents are lovely. It is my fault for not looking at ALL the views provided with the item. I do see that it is shown in the all brown cover as well. I AM looking forward to using the NRSV as that is a version I am unfamiliar with. I think I will use this version for my reading through the Bible in this next year!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The C.S. Lewis Bible, NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect companion to my Daily Devotional

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
DebbieJ
Location:Cornelius, N.C.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I decided to look for a NRSV bible, I came across this version, which included excerpts from the writings of C.S. Lewis and decided to give it a try. What a treasure it is! I have always loved his writings, and passages have been skillfully placed throughout this bible to add to the richness of the biblical text. My "study bible" is an NIV translation, which has always felt a bit too casual for me. I am much more comfortable with the NRSV. I could not be more pleased with this purchase!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The C.S. Lewis Bible, NRSV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Perspective on Scripture

Date:April 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Northeast PA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CS Lewis is probably one of the best Christian writers of our lifetime and his perspectives on the Bible are timeless. This is a great addition to anyone's Bible study library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The C.S. Lewis Bible, NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Was beyond expectations

Date:January 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
maryannb
Location:Nebraska
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible was purchased as a gift, and was beyond expectations. My daughter loved it! The quality was exceptional.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The C.S. Lewis Bible, NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well Pleased

Date:January 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:St. Charles, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bible as a present to my wife. She had been reading C.S. Lewis and was excited about his writings and growing and learning from them. When she got the bible, she was very happy. After she had read it for a few days, she said she loves it. She even liked the translation, which she had not read before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The C.S. Lewis Bible, NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
JoBro
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Any C.S Lewis fan would love this Bible! His quotes are plentiful, and each addresses the section of scripture that you are currently reading. It's like having C.S. Lewis sitting beside you chatting with you about the scripture. It was even more than I expected!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The C.S. Lewis Bible, NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great quality

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christine Merwarth
Location:PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift for my son for Christmas and he loved it! The quality is outstanding and the features are what he wanted in a Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The C.S. Lewis Bible, NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very happy

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Yuki
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently bought my first Bible. I needed one for my studies, and I wanted one that I would love to use, read and study. It was a big event for me, and I'm very satisfied of my Bible. There was little dent at one corner, but I don't mind about that, seriously. What I wanted was a Bible, mine and only mine (my previous one, a gift from my grand-ma, had been stolen ten years ago). I very happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The C.S. Lewis Bible, NRSV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fabulous content

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
W. Thomas Bellegante
Location:Taylorville, IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first one of these had the binding coming loose in less than a week. The Bible had never left my house. CBD was very gracious and replaced it promptly. This is not a particularly well made Bible (brown leather) but the content more than makes up for it. The C. S. Lewis material is well laid out and there is plenty of it. If you are a C.S. Lewis fan then you will undoubtedly enjoy this Bible, just treat it gently because it is not made for everyday handling and carrying around.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The C.S. Lewis Bible, NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Share devotion time with Dr Lewis

Date:January 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
slowwit
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this as a Christmas gift and my devotion time has been enriched immensely. Using well chosen selections from Lewis' writings, and placing them within the text of scripture, this Bible is a wonderful tool to use for daily reflections on the spiritual meanings within the Bible. Lewis was a remarkable writer: smart, witty, complex yet understandable. Yet he was always humble, and his writings always pointed to the glories of Christ and His Cross. Reading Lewis' reflections on the great truths of Christianity, and their practical implications for our lives in this fallen world, is a great tool for the mind and soul, so both can shine everyday as witness to the True Light.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The C.S. Lewis Bible, NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sandra G
Location:Alabama
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this as a Christmas gift for my son, who has been an avid reader of CS Lewis' writings for many years. He was thrilled to receive it and already gives it high marks.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The C.S. Lewis Bible, NRSV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Bible and Lewis quotes! So-so leather cover

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
jj25
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the Bible and Lewis' notes. The only problem is the quality of the leather binding -- it feels cheap to the touch and like it won't stand up to heavy use. If this Bible had a quality leather binding I would give it 5 stars on everything!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The C.S. Lewis Bible, NRSV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nancy
Location:Hebron, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the C.S. Lewis Bible. However, when I used dry markers on the lettering, as I do on my other Bibles, the words smeared. This is a big drawback.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The C.S. Lewis Bible, NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Monique
Location:Lafayette,LA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bible... I love it. I love reading CS Lewis books and the quotes in this bible help u better understand. good study bible
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The C.S. Lewis Bible, NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent idea - well edited - well done!

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hooliobro
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In my search to find a nicely bound NRSV I stumbled across the C. S. Lewis bible. I am a fan of Lewis' writings, but I was hesitant about how appropriately (or not) Lewis' quotations would be used throughout the text. After a little more research I purchased the bible, and I was not disappointed. The quotations are very well placed, and are not (in my opinion) either over-used, or under-used. There is a fantastic preface, introduction, and note to the reader that I would highly encourage you to read through before diving into the text, as it helped me to better understand how and why this version of the text came to be produced, and what the editors' hope is for it. I have been using this bible as my devotional bible for the past several weeks (since it arrived), and have been very blessed by it. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The C.S. Lewis Bible, NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The C.S. Lewis Bible, NRSV, Bonded Leather, Brown

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gary
Location:Newport RI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful book. Beyond my expectations. Have always been a big C. S. Lewis fan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The C.S. Lewis Bible, NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truth Within Truth

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nat Wilk
Location:Minnesota
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now at last someone has taken the gasping clarity of C.S. Lewis and they have married it to its very source! By reading Mr. Lewis's comments with the Word of Truth you experience anew the breadth, depth, and startling understanding that only the Truth can bring.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The C.S. Lewis Bible, NRSV
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nikki
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I love my new C.S. Lewis Bible. It's like having Mr. Lewis beside me as I read Scriptures. Thank you for making it available.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The C.S. Lewis Bible, NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dick
Location:Parsons, KS
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has been helpful as I try to reflect on what the Bible is saying to me, today. Reading CS Lewis' reflections has helped move my thoughts in the right direction.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.