Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Lady of Hidden Intent, A - eBook

Bethany House Lady of Hidden Intent, A - eBook

When her father is falsely imprisoned for slave trading, Catherine Newbury finds her English world turned upside down. Whisked away with trusted servants to America, she is forced to disguise her past and create a completely new life. Taking on a servant's last name, Catherine becomes an accomplished seamstress whose dress designs are sought throughout Philadelphia.

Carter Danby, an architect who was touring England, met Catherine at a party in her English home the very night she was forced to flee. Five years later they meet again when his sister and mother come for a design consultation. Carter is sure he has met the dark-haired beauty before, but can not quite place her.

Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lady of Hidden Intent, A - eBook
Review 1 for Lady of Hidden Intent, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply awesome!

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the first books I have read by this author and I really enjoyed it! I thought it had a really good plot and just enough romance for me! It also had a really good message! Looking forward to more by this author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lady of Hidden Intent, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good overall read

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Cain
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this book, it was a good light read. The characters were pleasant and even though it was a little predictable it held true to being a good Christian read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lady of Hidden Intent, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lori Kasbeer
Mia Stanley is a woman whose heart is bigger than her common sense. Mia is a writer for Godeys Ladys Book magazine during a time where it was frowned upon to be a working woman. Mias heart and her writings lead her to the rougher part of town. Seamens wives were being taken advantage of, and Mia made it her personal mission to makes sure they were treated fairly.Tracie Peterson has her readers traveling to 1800s Philadephia, where there is adventure, danger, and very lovable characters. She also provides depth and has each of her readers thinking about what their role should be in helping people less fortunate.A Lady of High Regard is the first book in the Ladies of Liberty series. This book is an enjoyable read, I finished it in one weekend and look forward to more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lady of Hidden Intent, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
This is book two in the Ladies of Liberty series, but these three books completely stand alone. Read them in any order and you will love the characters no matter what.It was quite shocking to me when I first decided to jump into this book that I read several negative reviews. They called the book preachy, flat and many other comments so that I was not really excited about the read. My goodness, I am almost certain those reviewers must have been reading a very different book indeed!Another work of fiction from Tracie Peterson that brings you into the life of a very strong woman fighting for her will to continue having hope. Trust into circumstances that she never would have thought possible Catherine presents a firm character that is very realistic in her thoughts, words, and deeds.This is a story that shows you how callous other humans can be and how damaging one's actions can affect another life when they try with an evil intent. Issues such as politics and countries facing war to social class and standing bring to life a world not much different from current day in many situations.God works in mysterious ways and always on his timeline and not ours. The story of dear Catherine and even a dashing fellow named Carter Danby (reminds me of Mr. Darcy) can show a reader a light into patience and peace because even the worst of times can be formed into the best of times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lady of Hidden Intent, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amy K.
I love how Ms. Peterson's research has given her a wide variety of subjects to write on, even in one era. The knowledge and detail in the seamstress shop made me feel like i was there. I love the author's way of writing: no matter your lot in life, God and love will find you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lady of Hidden Intent, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sarah Murray
Enjoyed this even more than the first one. The interplay between Catherine and Carter was delightful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lady of Hidden Intent, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Pamela Friesen
So enjoyed her 1st book in this series, but it had been awhile since I read it, but this book can stand alone by itself and still be a fabulous book. Good reading and good teaching of Christian values. I really enjoy Tracie Peterson's novels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lady of Hidden Intent, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ruth Gentry
With Tracie Peterson one can always be sure to have a "great read"!!! A Lady of Hidden Intent is no exception. The plot is interesting and keeps the reader in suspense as to the outcome. The characters are "real" and each one lends an appropriate air to the story. I eagerly await her next book in the Ladies of Liberty series!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lady of Hidden Intent, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Curtin
Very interesting story by itself. Do not need to read the first book in the series. This book held my interest and was fast moving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lady of Hidden Intent, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rita Fletcher
The author wove the message of salvation, the interaction between the hero and the heroine, and the faithfulness of God into a colorful tapestry that accurately reflects the era.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lady of Hidden Intent, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rita Fletcher
The author wove the message of salvation, the interaction between the hero and the heroine, and the faithfulness of God into a colorful tapestry that accurately reflects the era.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lady of Hidden Intent, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Penny Hardaway
I am not quite finished reading this one, but I want to tell you that it grabbed me from the very beginning. I began reading it this morning and have been only able to put it down for things I had to briefly deal with. I will more than likely finish it tonight. It is such a wonderful love story, and I cannot wait for Catherine and her father to be reunited and for her to discover what Carter has done to bring all this about. And Carter is such a delightful hero. I love his integrity, his directness, the love he has for his sister, and his apparent joy of life shown through his quick laughter and gentle teasing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lady of Hidden Intent, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ann
Great character development. I enjoyed the contrasts of good and evil, and how others noticed the Christian life/example portrayed Catherine and others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lady of Hidden Intent, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Reading Room Reviews
This is another great book in The Ladies of Liberty series by author Tracie Peterson. It kept my attention throughout and it resonates with the power of God. It helps us remember that His ways are not always our ways and we may not always understand why things happen in our lives, but can be assured that God has His reasons.<br /><br />The heroine in this book (Catherine) had lost a lot, yet she perseveres and has a strong faith in God that sees her through. It was very enjoyable reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lady of Hidden Intent, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2008
I liked how this book ended. I enjoy reading historical novels and have read both in this series. I'm sure book 3 will be just as good as the other two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lady of Hidden Intent, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Doris Bookman
Am in the process of reading at present. So far it is a "good read".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lady of Hidden Intent, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Crystal
This is an amazing book! Once I picked it up I could not put it down. If you love historical fiction and romance, then you will enjoy this book. This book presents history in a creative way, while adding a little flavor. It is not like reading a history book! You can learn so much about the 19th century and not even realize. This book has good, clean romance, too! No junk!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lady of Hidden Intent, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2008
This was another enjoyable entry in this series. The writing in this story is top notch and keeps you wanting more. Peterson keeps her trademark writing with an enjoyable heroine and a storyline that you can't put down. I enjoyed reading about the fashion of the time period. It was very interesting to read about the lives of the fashion industry of that time period. I liked learning about what had to go on to design and create the outfits. The sewing house seemed very different from a factory because people enjoyed working there and got good wages. I also thought it was VERY poignant to bring up the issue of mistresses and how this corrupted the family in this time period. Carter's father and brother were horrible in how their view of women and the way his father treated his wife was disgusting. When Carter realizes how many abortions have cost the lives of his half-siblings, it makes the reader really think about how sacred life is. I was pleasantly surprised to read about how Felicia fails to usurp Catherine at the sewing house. Honestly I get tired of reading about jealous rivals who ruin everything for the unsuspecting innocent heroine. This might sound sadistic but it was a total joy to read about how everything backfired on her. Just a refreshing change from other Christian fiction that always involves the bad winning out over the good. Even though the stories are not connected I have been enjoying the books in the Ladies of Liberty series. It's awesome to read about strong females who like both fashion and leadership in the regency era. This is, in my opinion, one of Peterson's best novels. HIGHLY recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.