Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Proper Pursuit, A - eBook

Bethany House Proper Pursuit, A - eBook

When Violet Hayes ventures to Chicago during the time of the World's Fair, her one goal is to find her mother, who has been missing from her life since she was nine. Naive, impressionable, and highly imaginative (having secretly ingested a diet of romance novels and true crime stories at school), Violet stays in Chicago under the care of her grandmother and her three great aunts. It is here that her perspectives on life are opened as she is exposed to the world about her, from high society to the poor immigrant families; from the suffragette movement to the security of a suitable marriage match. As Violet contemplates what course her life will take, she will discover the missing parts of her family's past, and ultimately, Violet will discover herself.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Proper Pursuit, A - eBook
Review 1 for Proper Pursuit, A - eBook
This review is fromA Proper Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well Done!! I enjoyed reading about Violet and the way she found the courage to venture out and find her mother. Her aunts were wonderful and fun. I also enjoyed reading all about the world fair. I had not realized all that it was.
There is one criticism I had and it was that fact that Violet used deception on her father to gain what she wanted. This is a christian book, published by a christian publishing company and as a christian myself I wasn't comfortable with this aspect of the book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Proper Pursuit, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A delightful book.

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah Larson
Location:Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A delightful book. Lot's of humor with history included in a way that makes you feel you are living it. Lynn Austin is one of my favorite authors. Even when she is very serious there is always something to keep you glued to the story. I want to collect as many of her books as I can. Sarah
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Proper Pursuit, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Favorite book!

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of my favorite books. So beautifully written and somewhat mysterious. I love how Violet truly finds the Lord! And the plot is fantastic. You will not be disappointed!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Proper Pursuit, A - eBook
This review is fromA Proper Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

♥ A Top Favorite!! ♥

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leorah
Location:USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is one of my absolute favorites! The story was just so beautifully written and I loved the connection I felt with Violet! By the time I finished this book, she was more then just a favorite character, she was and is a friend!
I loved how she slowly "bloomed" and how she really was a violet in the end...gosh I love this story! It is just so unbelievably powerful and it is even more so now that I am thinking about all I learned throughout it.
I recommend this book to all! I have bought it for a thirteen years old as well as an eighty year old and both adore it! It is a fantastic book and would be such a shame to miss out on! Lynn Austin is one of my top favorite authors thanks to this priceless story! I highly recommend it...it is worth every penny!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Proper Pursuit, A - eBook
This review is fromA Proper Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Megan
This book was absolutely AMAZING!!! I could hardly put it down. From the first chapter, I was intrigued. If you are looking for a bit of adventure, romance, mystery, and a lot of spunk, this is the book for you. Fantastic job, Austin!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Proper Pursuit, A - eBook
This review is fromA Proper Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
The setting included the World's Fair in 1893. I loved that Violet learned so much when she spent those months with her aunts, including how selfish her own heart tended to be. I especially enjoyed her pursuit of the real meaning of love. It was hilarious how she described the feeling of being in love as being similar to a sickness. She was naive in many ways, but also very wise because she looked beyond the outward appearances the majority of the time.Violet had a variety of potential suitors, and they were all very different. She learned about getting to know people better and not just exiting in a world of socialites playacting their roles and eating dainties while visiting the rich. As the story moved along, readers got to know each of the men, and discovered the good and the bad about them along with Violet.Poor Violet just wanted to be loved for who she was...and to find her mother so she could find out why she abandoned her so many years ago. Neither task was easy, though the particulars were so well-written that I found myself growing anxious on so many levels. I cared about all of the characters in this book. The author's voice and setting really brought Violet to life in my mind. Her desperation for her mother's love was emotionally evocative, too.And talk about an intense romantic element with some whopper kisses! I won't tell you which man she finally received those romantic kisses from because it would spoil the fun...but I can say that Violet discovered that it was possible to find true love. I just about melted when she was kissed that first time. The author really built the tension, and did it so well that I felt a bit breathless myself.Wonderful writing, an amazing setting full of accurate historical details, believable dialog, tender romance, and a solid faith thread made this book a real winner.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Proper Pursuit, A - eBook
This review is fromA Proper Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2010
This is is my very favorite book, and I read a lot of books! It had everything I look for in a historical fiction book and more. It make me laugh out loud and often, it made me cry, and it made me interested about events and people in a time of history I'd never really thought about before. I saw that some reviewers found Violet to be shallow, but I thought she was a spunky and adventurous heroine. I only wish Ms. Austin would write more books like this, as it is a departure from her usual style. Every book I read now I tend to compare to this one. As you can tell, I loved it! =)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Proper Pursuit, A - eBook
This review is fromA Proper Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2010
I loved this book. The story is great and I found it funny in many places so I had a good laugh at the misunderstandings and wrong conclusions drawn by the characters. My heart did go out to the aunt who had lost her husband and could not remember that at times but all in all another outstanding job by Lynn Austin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Proper Pursuit, A - eBook
This review is fromA Proper Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Liana
LOVED THIS BOOK! its one of my all time favourite books i would happily read again. Lynn Austin is my all time fave author, and has not disappointed me after reading 'Until we reach home' and 'Gods and Kings' this could have goneon another 430 pages and it would still be just as interesting. The plot was really good and the autho never fell short of ideas, and not once did i grow bored, yet it was still within reality! Well done Lynn!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Proper Pursuit, A - eBook
This review is fromA Proper Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tatyana
I love it, I love it, I love it. Once I started it, could't put it down. Funny and inspirational. I would highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Proper Pursuit, A - eBook
This review is fromA Proper Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lizzy Anne
I love this book! I read it for the first time last night, and even though I needed to get up early, I stayed up until 2AM because I couldn't put it down! I love the charachters they are so vibrant! Violet, Silas, Aunt Matt, Aunt Birdie, Louis, Nelson! What amazing charachters! I love your books Lynn! You are so descriptive and I can just imagine everything perfectly! Way to GO! Love IT!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Proper Pursuit, A - eBook
This review is fromA Proper Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Norma Jantzen
Bravo for Granny and the Great Aunts and for Violet herself. This was a really cute but meaningful story. Violet drew some very wise conclusions for one so young. Though impetuous, she was able to see the strengths and weaknesses in various areas of her world and remain true to herself. The "gray ladies" at my church are sure to enjoy it when I put it in the church library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Proper Pursuit, A - eBook
This review is fromA Proper Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Maura King
A good read and historically very interesting, too. Provides insight into the original women's movement as 8 strong female characters present the different experiences and attitudes of women in the 1890's including their romantic perspective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Proper Pursuit, A - eBook
This review is fromA Proper Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amy K.
Well written and an enjoyable work of art by the three-time Christy Award winner! I loved how Violet struggles to find herself between her pushy family members on opposite ends of late 19th century society. When she visited the World's Fair, the way it was described, it felt like I was there myself. I had to take off 1/2 star for predictability. However, I truly enjoyed this book and I could not put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Proper Pursuit, A - eBook
This review is fromA Proper Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Shivelhood
As always, Lynn Austin gave us another wonderful book. I found it enlightening to the world women had to live in back then.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Proper Pursuit, A - eBook
This review is fromA Proper Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kasi Bland
Fabulous, fabulous book. I could not believe that it only had a 4 1/2 star! This is one, if not the best, book I have ever read! Full of mystery, romance, and intrigue! Plus, it is full of inspiring Biblical lessons! Everyone needs to read this book! I have read it two times since I got it in December! FABULOUS book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Proper Pursuit, A - eBook
This review is fromA Proper Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jenny L.
What an incredible book that is amazingly true to life! I could totally identify with Violet Hayes. Was this author writing about me when I was 20? Violet Hayes's questions about marriage should be ones we all consider. Oh that I had analyzed all my similar suitors like she. I found myself carried along with the plot and agonizing with the characters who were all amazingly true to life. I particularly liked that Violet had 4 suitors which is rare in novels. I just LOVED this book!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Proper Pursuit, A - eBook
This review is fromA Proper Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2008
I think I should get college credits for reading this book! There was so much wonderful history shared through so many perspectives. Each character had their own passion which had grown through their personal experience and pain. Violet was a wonderful main character, with plenty of imagination and winsome spunk. She had rebelliously read dime novels while attending finishing school for women, and she went through life mentally rewriting her current circumstances as though she was the main character in one of those novels. Hilarious. Her four aunts also were very lovable, each in their own way. Everybody had their agenda for Violet, including Violet herself. But in the end, it was all about wanting to be loved....truly loved. Violet encounters all walks of life, from the wealthiest and most powerful, to the most poor and oppressed, and sees the emptiness and the hardship in each. She is pulled in every direction as she is pursued by numerous suitors, each with their own wants and agendas. But Violet learns a bit from each encounter, as she struggles to determine where she fits in, and if true love is worth pursuing. This is a rich, satisfying book that I would highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Proper Pursuit, A - eBook
This review is fromA Proper Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nancy Jean Smith
This book was amazing as all Lynn Austin's books. I loved the story as much as I loved reading the history in the book. I felt like the main character really learned about herself and life throughout each page. All the characters were well developed and I especially loved the surprise ending with Violet finding who she should truly "marry for love". The book is very fast reading. I sat down on a Saturday Morning and had it finished by Saturday evening. I think anyone would love this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Proper Pursuit, A - eBook
This review is fromA Proper Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
LM
Another great novel by Lynn Austin!!!!! My family reads alot and Austin is our favorite! A must read, this book was verry interesting that kept the pages turning into the night! Keep up the good work!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>