Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Rush of Wings, A: A Novel - eBook

Bethany House Rush of Wings, A: A Novel - eBook

Though her panic is real, Noelle St. Claire is uncertain what danger she is fleeing. Fragmented images and slivers of memory have driven her to abandon her wealthy, sheltered life in New York for the hope of a haven-remote and safe.

Noelle's arrival at the Rocky Mountain horse ranch owned by Rick Spencer and his brother Morgan causes more than a little stir. Beautiful, vulnerable, yet strangely secretive, Noelle is an enigma the two contrasting brothers seek to unlock. But as their attentions breach the wall she hides behind, the past becomes a menacing threat from which Noelle can no longer hide.

Average Customer Rating:
4.542 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 out of 24100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rush of Wings, A: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Rush of Wings, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Rush of Wings (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Rush of Wings by Kristen Heitzmann

Date:March 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
candids
Location:Watertown, WI
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
--an excellent contemporary romance mixed with mystery and intrigue.
Noelle St. Claire flees her affluent life with her father and fiancée and seeks refuge in the Rocky Mountains.
She is frequently haunted my memories and dreams, but does not know why she is having these terrifying flashbacks.
She finds herself attracted to the two brothers at the ranch where she is staying. One is a charming yet troubled businessman, the other, a rugged rancher.
Yet as soon as anyone tries to get close, Noelle panics in terror and can not explain her reasons, even to herself.
Through all this, Noelle is in a constant battle against the faith that the rancher exhibits in his life and wishes for her to share. For some reason, the thought of God fills Noelle with fear and anger. Was anything in her life really as it seemed?
This was a good book with some interesting twists that were unexpected.
I received a free copy of this book for the purpose of review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rush of Wings, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Rush of Wings (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

AN AMAZING INSPIRATIONAL CONTEMPORARY FICTION!!

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Henderson, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
A RUSH OF WINGS by Kristen Heitzmann is an amazing inspirational contemporary fiction set in the Rocky Mountains. It is well written with depth and details. It has romance,mystery,secrets,danger,faith,flashbacks of memories, love, tumultuous past,freedom,family,mystery,anger,ranch life and coming to terms with your past.The characters are engaging,challenging,believable,and will capture your heart. This is a fast paced story of love,healing,redemption,and a past that could threaten lives.It is the story on a spiritual journey and is full of rare emotions.If you enjoy inspirational stories with love,redemption and finding happiness this is the story for you. This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and details can be found at Bethany House and My Book Addiction and More.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rush of Wings, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Rush of Wings (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:New Hampshire
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ABOUT A RUSH OF WINGS
Though her panic is real, Noelle St. Claire is uncertain what danger she is fleeing. Fragmented images and slivers of memory have driven her to abandon her wealthy, sheltered life in New York for the hope of a haven—remote and safe.
Noelle's arrival at the Rocky Mountain horse ranch owned by Rick Spencer and his brother Morgan causes more than a little stir. Beautiful, vulnerable, yet strangely secretive, Noelle is an enigma the two contrasting brothers seek to unlock. But as their attentions breach the wall she hides behind, the past becomes a menacing threat from which Noelle can no longer hide.
A Rush of Wings by Kristen Heitzmann has been in my "to read" pile for a while now. Noelle St. Clair is a wealthy, yet sheltered young woman. Her memories are sharp fragments of the past that scare her into running away. Although, she has no idea what it is she is fleeing, she is frantic to stay away from the past. Noelle is confused and running away from something she is not even sure happened. The author does a fantastic job of telling a romantic story that keeps you in suspense until the very end.
I do highly recommend this book if you enjoy mystery and romance. This book has great twists and turns, just when you think you have it figured out and you know what is going to happen, hold on to your hat a twist happens and the story is turned upside down. It is a great page turner to the very end. She points her readers to Christ. I appreciated the fact that Heitzmann shows us the struggle that is in each of us as we seek to find God in all of our lives. All we have to do is turn back to God and find the strength that we need to get through each day. The characters seemed so real I felt like I was a fly on the wall. The author had a way of telling the story that made it interesting and yet so intriguing to the very end. I really had no idea how the book would turn out until the very last page.
Note: This book was originally published in 2003 and was re-published with a new cover in 2010.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House a division of Baker Publishing Group as part of their Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rush of Wings, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Rush of Wings (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An excellent book by an accomplished author

Date:February 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jan Marie
Location:Indiana
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Rush of Wings by Kristen Heitzmann is a re-release of the book, originally published in 2003. The cover is new but the story is every bit as good as it was the first time I read it.
Noelle St. Clair is on the run. She has lost her memory and has no idea who or what she is fleeing from but she knows that there is danger and she must escape. In her flight, she leaves behind a loving but confused father and a frightened fiance. Her flight leads her from the pampered confines of a luxurious home, away from a doting father, and from an errant fiance to the small secluded horse ranch in the Rocky Mountains. It is here that she finds safety, respite, and refuge.
In her attempts to hide from a danger that she cannot identify, Noelle finds herself forming new relationships and friends of a totally different ilk than any she had ever known. Bit by bit, her memories return until the day that she is forced to face head-on the very source of her fears.
Kristen Heitzmann keeps the reader on pins and needles as she slowly reveals and unravels the tangled threads of Noelle's past. Just when you think you have it all figured out, another twist is revealed that makes you question all that you thought you knew and understood. Noelle slowly learns to trust, not only in her new-found friends, but she also learns to trust in a God who had been an utter stranger until Rick Spencer introduced Him to her through the Word.
I first read this book in April of 2004 and enjoyed it just as much when I read it again in December of 2010. Noelle's story is a story that tells of hope in the time of despair, peace in the time of turmoil, and safety in a time of peril. It was a pleasure to watch as Noelle grew from being afraid to trust anyone to learning to trust in both God and others. It was exciting to see how Noelle discovered the truths that are found in Psalms 91:2: "I will say of the Lord, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in Him will I trust," and also in Psalms 46:1: "God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble." (KJV)
A copy of this book was provided to me by Bethany House Publishers for review purposes. I received no compensation for this review nor was I under any obligation to provide a favorable review. All comments are my own true and unsolicited observations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rush of Wings, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Rush of Wings (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dawn Castor
Location:Woodward, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Noelle St. Claire is on the run. She's not sure why and she's not sure who she should be afraid of but Noelle knows she has to put as much distance between herself and her New York City home as she can. She's fleeing her wealthy, pampered life with only a small suitcase and $5,000 to her name. After blindly changing buses for several days, Noelle finds herself in tiny mountain town in Colorado and rents a room from Rick Spencer, horse trainer and dude ranch owner.
The beauty and serenity of the mountains calm Noelle's fears and she begins to paint watercolors of the majestic scenery. Rick allows her to ride one of the horses and she goes out exploring every day, bringing back wildflower and mountain scenes captured by her paintbrush. Noelle sells her paintings to tourists in a little shop in town to supplement her dwindling supply of cash.
Although Noelle feels safe on the Spencer Ranch, she begins to have flashbacks of unexplainable terror. Rick's brother, Morgan, attempts to romance Noelle, but his closeness frightens her. And Noelle has a new worry--when the tourist season is over, no one buys her paintings so she is without an income. Her fears for the future seem to be over when the shop owner offers to both find a place in the big city to sell the paintings and a house for Noelle. Assured of a seemingly secure future, Noelle moves away form Rick's ranch in spite of his warnings that the shop owner is not what she seems. Unfortunately, Rick's warnings come true when Noelle finds herself without food or money to pay her bills. Rick rescues her from her cold home and takes her home with him.
Noelle now is confronted with her feelings of gratitude and perhaps more for Rick. But she is afraid to be honest with him about her past--especially since she can't even remember what it is she should tell him about herself.
I enjoyed this novel. It was somewhat predictable and sometimes melodramatic but I thoroughly enjoyed the escape from reality it provided. And isn't that why I'm reading after all?
Thank you Bethany House for providing this review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rush of Wings, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Rush of Wings (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Coffeyville, KS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noelle is confused and running away from something she is not even sure happened. She has always had someone to take care of her needs and lived the comfortable life riches can buy. But she is not safe anymore. In her escape, she ends up in a ranch in Colorado, where she meets Rich and Morgan, two brothers whose life is turned upside down because of Noelle’s presence. Both of them sense her need to belong, her need of purpose, as well as her fragility, and seek to aid her in their best way.
The ranch proves to be an oasis for Noelle. However, she
finds there much more than just a physical refuge; it is the
place that helps her realize there is more to life than the
comforts money can buy. It is where her eyes are open to a spiritual reality that can fill her emptiness through the
infinite love and care of Her Creator, even if she does not
really care about anything like that. It is in this stage of
her life that her confusion turns into depression and almost takes her life, but it is also when her soul begins to mend, thanks to other people’s care.
At one point, she decides to go back to her father,
apparently leaving everything – and everyone – behind. But little by little, she comes to terms with that Creator she
was able to sense in the Colorado mountains, allowing Him to show her what true love and forgiveness is. By the end,
Noelle is able to say: “Surrendering to Jesus gave me the
only hope I have,” finally giving her a true identity and
sense of belonging.
True to Christian principles, this is a highly recommendable
book, fast to read and sure to entice everyone with the
thrills of the story.
Bethany House Publishers gave me a complimentary copy of the book for review, but this does not bias my opinion on the book nor on the author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rush of Wings, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Rush of Wings (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book and can't wait to read more!

Date:January 17, 2011
A Rush of Wings by Kristen Heitzmann has been in my "to read" pile for a while but made it to the top at the recommendation of a friend. It. Was. Wonderful. Noelle is running and wants to start her life over. She finds safety and new friends at a ranch in Colorado. Brothers Rick and Morgan Spencer both try to help Noelle heal and eventually both develop feelings for her. Noelle must choose between the brothers, but also deal with her feelings about God in order to find the healing she so desperately craves.
I thoroughly enjoyed A Rush of Wings!!! The author does a fantastic job of telling a romantic story that keeps you in suspense until the very end. The characters really come alive and their emotions were so real. The entire book points readers to faith in Christ in a way that is neither cheesy nor unrealistic. Rick finds joy in his faith but also struggles to trust in Christ in the midst of struggle. Noelle has a complete disdain for the faith of Rick's family and alternates between curiosity, disgust, unbelief, and awe of the God that they worship. I was truly sad to get to the end of this book and am already in search of another book by Kristen Heitzmann (perhaps The Still of Night, which follows up on Rick's brother?)! Bethany House is quickly becoming my favorite resource for new Christian fiction!
Note: This book was originally published in 2003 and was re-published with a new cover in 2010.
5 stars
I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rush of Wings, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Rush of Wings (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Read

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
lipto
Location:Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:male
A Rush of Wings
I was excited when I received the book from Bethany House, A Rush of Wings by Kristen Heitzmann. I had seen her books in bookstores and catalogs, but hadn't yet purchased one to read. I can safely say, I have a new favorite author to add to my list of must-reads.
This book was previously published in 2003 and has recently been re-released. Noelle St. Clair is a wealthy, yet sheltered young woman. Her memories are sharp fragments of the past that scare her into running away. Although, she has no idea what it is she is fleeing, she is frantic to stay away from the past. Her running leads her straight to a ranch in Colorado, which is run by Rick Spencer. Rick's ranch has guests stay throughout the summer, including his brother Morgan. The guests, whether they stay for a week or a month, are depicted by Heitzmann beautifully. You can't help but think of families or individuals that you have seen on your vacations.
Heitzmann does a great job of interweaving the fragments on Noelle's memory into the story. Noelle is caught between two brothers, and yet even worse danger is lurking around every corner. As Noelle has to face her past head-on, both brothers play a vital role in helping her. You will find yourself rooting for one brother while feeling sorry for the other. One chapter later, you will be cheering on the other brother -- divided, just as Noelle was. In the middle of all this, Noelle learns and is confronted with faith. She then has a another decision to make -- will she embrace it or push it away for something entirely different?
I do highly recommend this book if you enjoy mystery and romance (which, of course, are my two favorites!). The book is a little predictable in places (what romance book isn't?) and sometimes a little unbelievable, but overall is a good read. I couldn't put it down.
Read more about, A Rush of Wings, on the Bethany House website.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rush of Wings, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Rush of Wings (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New Favorite!

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vanessa of HHCreations
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know that I have recently given positive feedback on all of my recent Christian realistic fiction reads, but I do have to say…. Kristen Heitzmann’s novel, “A Rush of Wings”, is definitely the best one I’ve read so far!!
This romantic suspense novel took a little bit longer than I had expected to get me to the plot’s climax, but it was well worth the wait. Heitzmann keeps her readers engaged by switching the focus from her main character, Noelle St. Claire, to her cast of supporting characters, and in turn keeps the reader asking, “How is this going to affect Noelle? What’s going to happen next?”
I love how Heitzmann incorporates the gift of love into her story. Not only does she show how important the gift of love (in all of its forms) is to a person no matter what their economic, social, or religious status, but she also demonstrates how God’s love can be shown to others through Jesus and through us.
If you are into Christian contemporary fiction or would like to engage in an exciting romantic suspense novel, I encourage you to add A Rush of Wings to your to-read list!! With that being said, let me leave you with this verse: “And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.” ~ 1 Corinthians 13:13 (NIV)
* Bethany House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rush of Wings, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Rush of Wings (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Rush of Wings - pageturner

Date:December 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the story of Noelle a 23 year old well rich girl that lives in NY, her dad is a well known lawyer in a very upscale NY law firm, and a fiance that is her father's assistant. The book starts off with Noelle on a bus headed as far from NY as she can get, she ends up in the mountains renting a room on a ranch. The Ranch is owned by Rick, a very low key, Christian man who no matter what puts God first in every situation. Then there is Morgan, Rick's brother, who is very well off and travels all over the country for his job. Both men fall in love with Noelle, but this is not a sappy love triangle.
The story has many twists and turns, it has Rick trying to give the salavation plan to Noelle, Morgan trying to date Noelle, Noelle trying to keep her NY life private and the secrets of her past out of her life, her dad trying to find her and make her realize she needs to come back to NY and her fiance is looking for her and wants her back so that he can marry into the family for her riches and lavious life for his needs only.
This book has great twists and turns, just when you think you have it figured out and you know what is going to happen, hold on to your hat a twist happens and the story is turned upside down. It is a great page turner to the very end. I would recomend this book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Bethany House book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rush of Wings, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Rush of Wings (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A VERY ENTERTIANING AND CHRISTIAN BOOK!

Date:December 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Moonpie
Location:PRYOR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful, privileged, wealthy Noelle St. Claire flees her father’s estate in New York after her fiancée’s abusive behavior. This also stirs up frightening memories that leave her paralyzed with fear, but she cannot remember what happened to her in the past. She finds herself at a Colorado dude ranch where owner Rick Spencer sensing her brokenness allows her to stay. The beautiful surroundings, and Rick’s kindness helps Noelle find the peace and security she was missing. Morgan, Rick’s brother, pursues Noelle immediately causing her mixed emotions of friendship and panic. Morgan’s impulsive wild life style is the direct opposite of Rick’s devoted Christian life. As Noelle runs from her problems and God, Rick tries to introduce her to the love of His Savior.
This was a wonderful book! I could read it again I liked it so much. The plot was excellent. I especially liked Rick’s example of a devout Christian and hia dependence on God. Seeing him go through difficult times that tested his faith was encouraging to me. This is an entertaining and beautiful story with the message of God’s love, not only for His children, but also how He works through their lives to reach those without Him. I also liked the fact that there were so many references to scriptural principles, prayer, and commitment. A 5 star book without a doubt!!
In exchange for my honest review, I received a copy of the book from Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rush of Wings, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Rush of Wings (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quickly drawn into the story & taken on a journey!

Date:December 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kristie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kristen Heitzmann had me hooked from her very first paragraph of "A Rush of Wings." Noelle is fearful, but of what she is not completely sure and she is not sure where this fear stems from. Noelle is searching for answers and also running from being controlled by the men in her life, most specifically her fiancee Michael who became physically harmful to me. Noelle finds herself taking buses to anywhere that will be far from home and lands at a ranch in a small town. Always loving horses, Noelle is drawn to the beautiful creatures at the ranch and this allows her to forge a friendship with the ranch owner Rick. Images and memories continue to immerse and flood Noelle's mind, but she struggles to piece them together. Through many trials and spending time with Rick, his brother Morgan and their family, Noelle discovers that she is missing out on something in her life that is important to the majority of this family - faith in God. But, why do all of these memories have "God" in them and why does He cause her more fear?
The reader is taken along on a journey with Noelle to sort through these thoughts and memories. I like that I was learning and reliving these along with Noelle and the past and fears were not revealed to me initially. This added to the suspense and also allowed me to really empathize with Noelle. The character development was great in this novel. Noelle begins as a rich, yet fearful twenty-three year-old who has lived in a secure environment with friends hand-picked for her. Noelle sets out on her own with little money and develops her talents and strengths in order to survive and really find herself. One of my favorite parts of the novel is the time that Noelle spends with the Spencer family at their home. The family is very real with their relationships with each other and how they accept Noelle into their lives and at times some are also wary of her. I would recommend this book to any fiction reader!!!
*Bethany House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for a honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Rush of Wings, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Rush of Wings (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Was lost but now found

Date:December 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
kelisni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Though her panic is real, Noelle St. Claire is uncertain what danger she is fleeing. Fragmented images and slivers of memory have driven her to abandon her wealthy, sheltered life in New York for the hope of a haven-remote and safe.
Noelle's arrival at the Rocky Mountain horse ranch owned by Rick Spencer and his brother Morgan causes more than a little stir. Beautiful, vulnerable, yet strangely secretive, Noelle is an enigma the two contrasting brothers seek to unlock. But as their attentions breach the wall she hides behind, the past becomes a menacing threat from which Noelle can no longer hide.
Kristen Heitzmann does a great job of pulling you into the story. The reader has no clue what is going on in Noelle's life and has to keep reading to figure out what is going on in her head. Here is a prime example of someone who is seeking for relief and peace, but can't find it because she's looking in all the wrong places. God is the only comfort and person who can fill that hole in her life.
I loved this book. I appreciated the fact that Heitzmann shows us the struggle that is in each of us as we seek to find God in all of our lives. All we have to do is turn back to God and find the strength that we need to get through each day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Rush of Wings, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Rush of Wings (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This would be a good movie for GMC or Lifetime.

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ben Umnus
Location:Wisconsin
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised by Kristen Heitzmann's A Rush of Wings. When seeing the cover I first thought "romantic suspense" and I was half right it's a romance novel, but I would rather call this a drama. When guys like me hear about romance novels we get the soap opera feel, but I'm happy to say this wasn't the case. I feel this is a book best for young adult, Christian women and yet I also found it appropriate for a selective group of men and women too, because it was neither cheesy nor obnoxious in its plot and references of God.
A Rush of Wings, is about a 23 year old named Noelle St. Claire who abandons her wealthy, New York life in order to start over and find herself. She travels to Juniper Falls, Colorado where she decides to live at the Spencer Ranch, but avoids contact or detection from her father William and her ex fiance Michael. While growing accustomed to the ranch life, her presence becomes intriguing to the Spencer brothers Morgan and Rick as they constantly interact throughout the story. I liked how deep things became with Noelle and the Spencer brothers, I also found certain moments to be funny and pretty exciting, and the story wasn't very predictable either. However I thought at times Noelle was a bit too moody despite the reasons for her emotions, and I felt the ending of the story was a bit rushed, but nevertheless the ending itself was realistically right.
Disclaimer: Ben Umnus was given a free copy of this book by Bethany House Publishing, but he was neither paid for his review nor was he commanded by Bethany House Publishing to write a positive review. This review is the personal, written opinion of Ben Umnus. This disclaimer is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Rush of Wings, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Rush of Wings (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heitzmann doesn't disappoint!

Date:December 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
travelingstacey
Location:Georgia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this book from Bethany House Publishers to review. This is the story of Noelle St. Claire...frightened and confused, escaping from a darkness that she can't quite figure out. She flees from New York and a life of privilege, to Colorado, where she knows no one. She wants to feel safe and protected. She makes her way to the Spencer ranch, and manages to rent a place to stay. There she meets Rick, the man who owns the ranch, trains horses, and loves the Lord. Noelle sees the ranch as her haven, a place where she can finally learn who she really is...but all the while there's a darkness that keeps creeping in and she is afraid to confront it.
I must begin by saying that I have read this book before, but I had forgotten a lot of what happened. Kristen Heitzmann is also one of my favorite authors. Her books are often suspenseful (this one included), but clearly define what faith in God is. This book has a great use of imagery and language. I felt like I was right there on the ranch with the characters. There are also a lot of twists and turns in the story, so it's hard to put down. In fact, I read most of the book in one day! There is romance, but it was described in a way that wasn't uncomfortable. Overall, I would definitely recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Rush of Wings, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Rush of Wings (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Starts slow, but great book!

Date:November 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
So Mommy
Location:Hartselle, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received “A Rush of Wings” by Kristen Heitzmann from Bethany House Publishers to review.
“A Rush of Wings” starts out with Noelle, a young and beautiful girl running away from her family and her fiancée, but we don’t know why. She keeps running until she comes to a small town in the Rocky Mountains. She ends up on a horse ranch owned by Rick Spencer, and immediately feels at home. Noelle gets to know Rick and his brother Morgan, who are completely different, but both end up helping her in many ways. After seeing Noelle have a few panic attacks, the brothers start to ask questions, finding out little by little about Noelle’s past. After a tragic accident, the brothers worry that Noelle will not recover, or ever return to the Smoky Mountains, but somehow Noelle realizes that the truth she needs is found in God, not man and things start to make sense again.
Ok, to be honest, this book starts out really slow. I was a little bored in the first chapter and wondered if I’d make it through the book at all, but as I continued to read it got much, much better. Though I was rooting for the wrong brother the entire book, I still enjoyed it. I loved the ending, even if I did wish it had turned out a little differently. This is a very mysterious type romance novel that kept me wondering exactly what had happened and what would happen. So, if you can make it past the first chapter, it’s a good book to read!
www.somommy.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Rush of Wings, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Rush of Wings (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book you can't put down!

Date:November 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Borger, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I loved this book. I'm a big fan of Kristen Heitzmann's writing. I hadn't read this book until now, even though it was originally written in 2003. This is a repackaged version.
The book is centered around Noelle St. Claire, a young woman from an afflluent background who from the beginnng of the story is on the run. She leaves her father, a prominent lawyer, and her fiance, Michael, her father's protoge. Noelle is facing demons from her past--but she has no idea what they are or what they mean. She arrives at a horse ranch owned by Rick Spencer. At the ranch, Noelle finally feels safe. Rick's roguish brother, Morgan, recognizes the fragile state Noelle is in and tries to help her open up. But it's Rick's steadiness and strength that causes Noelle to finally begin confiding the nightmare she's been hiding. Of course, this causes a conflict between the two brothers. Noelle remains hidden from her father and former fiance for months, but soon her father's private investigator locates her--about the same time her former fiance finds her.
The twists and turns in this book keep you guessing as to the outcome of the book. And the tension in the story line is just enough--not so much that you have to lay the book down, but enough to keep you turning the pages to see the end. In fact, I had an all-nighter just to finish the book. I couldn't put it down.
I give this book a high 5 out of 5 stars. I think it's one you're sure to enjoy!
Thank you to Bethany House Publishing Group for providing this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Rush of Wings, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Rush of Wings (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
EA West
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Rush of Wings takes readers on an amazing journey of pain, hope, and healing. Noelle St. Claire is running scared—she just isn’t sure what she’s running from. When she arrives at the Spencer ranch just outside Juniper Falls, Colorado, she finds what she’s looking for: a place she feels safe.
Rick Spencer and his brother Morgan are both attracted to Noelle, although Rick tries to deny it at first. Morgan tries to garner Noelle’s interest while drawing her out of her shell. While it wasn’t his original intention, his carefree, outgoing ways start to crack the wall Noelle has placed around her memories. Rick can see that the only way she can ever heal is with God’s grace and love, but she’s resistant to anything related to God or faith. Panic attacks triggered by harmless comments and gestures start to cripple Noelle, and she has to decide if she wants to continue to live in fear or if she wants the freedom and independence she first sought at the ranch.
Kristen Heitzmann has done a wonderful job of showing the devastating result of traumatic events and the healing power of God. The realism of the characters and their struggles makes them easy to identify with, and the vivid descriptions throughout the book bring the story to life. A Rush of Wings is a great read for anyone who loves realistic Christian fiction.
Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book through the Bethany House Book Reviewers program. All opinions stated in this review are my own and based solely on the contents of this book and my experience reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Rush of Wings, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Rush of Wings (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Rush of Wings

Date:November 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
kdmom02
Location:Hartselle, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I chose to review Kristen Heitzmann’s “A Rush of Wings” because I really enjoy Christian suspense books. This book gets you easily interested from the start with the mixture of emotions felt by Noelle. The book opens with Noelle running away…boarding a bus and leaving…and for a little while you are left wondering why.
As the book moves on, I got bored with all the unnecessary details. Noelle ends up at a Christian ranch. The ranch is owned and operated by Rick who seems to be a great match for Noelle. Only Noelle would rather fall for Rick’s brother.
It didn’t take long to figure out the mystery of this story. The actual storyline was ok, sometimes it was a little confusing. In the end, the characters figure out what is best for them.
I was given this book by Bethany House Publishers. This is my honest opinion of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Rush of Wings, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Rush of Wings (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mystery & Romance in the Rockies! 5 stars!

Date:November 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Craig
Location:Metro Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flight or Fight. It is a primal urge everyone feels at one time or another. For Noelle St. Claire her body has made it's mind up for her and she finds herself on the run from her rich New York lifestyle. She lands in a ranch in Colorado and becomes the apple of the eye for two brothers that couldn't be more different. Morgan is a modern sophisticated man that decides he must possess her whereas his brother is a godly man trying to live his faith and has never even kissed a girl. Which one will win her heart and what is she fleeing from?
I give this story 5 stars! One of the best stories I've read in the last month. The book starts with a mystery and waits several pages before it's played out and even then there are more twists and turns waiting for you. This is all set against the back drop of the beautiful Colorado Rockies and the author manages to weave in a true gospel message.Wow!
*Disclaimer: I received this book courtesy of Bethany House Publishers. I received no other compensation. The above opinion and rating was written of my own accord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>