Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vision Video Jacob's Ladder, DVD Set

Vision Video Jacob's Ladder, DVD Set

The "teenpack" is looking for adventure when they discover a mysterious old lighthouse and the even more mysterious keeper, Rafael. Through the lighthouse, the young teens are transported to Bible times where they interact with timeless characters and learn of a loving God who cares for His people throughout all the ages. These action-packed, top quality dramas are geared to youth ages 10-15, but are great for the whole family or for classroom use. Creative, easy-to-use PDF study materials are included to help young teens apply the faith-building lessons to their lives. 13 episodes, 6 DVDs.

Episodes:
  • Episode 1: Gideon, Reluctant Hero
  • Episode 2: Gideon, Warrior by Faith
  • Episode 3: Naomi and Ruth
  • Episode 4: Ruth and Boaz
  • Episode 5: The Invitation
  • Episode 6: Samuel's Destiny Part 1
  • Episode 7: Samuel's Destiny Part 2
  • Episode 8: A King for the Hebrews
  • Episode 9: Saul Takes Charge
  • Episode 10: The King Needs Help
  • Episode 11: Death Waiting
  • Episode 12: David on the Run
  • Episode 13: A New King
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jacob's Ladder, DVD Set
Review 1 for Jacob's Ladder, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a great teaching tool

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
joyce
Location:new york
Age:55-65
Gender:female
First let me say that no teaching tool stands alone. There is a fictional aspect to this series as the children go back in time. It does require some explanation to children, as well as the fact that the actors play different roles in different stories. Even our youngest children have been able to understand those aspects. That being said, the bible stories are biblically accurate. In fact, I have become aware of details that I never noticed in the biblical text. The acting is engaging,and our Kids club group has enjoyed this series for many years. I wish there were sequels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jacob's Ladder, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

extremely disappointed

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
church librarian
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wanted to use this series to supplement our Summer time Sunday School program. I was very disappointed because the adult who enables the kids to go back in to Biblical times inserts himself into the story as an angel giving a message. He was flippant and not a Godly emissary in his presentation. Not to mention the fact that he is not an angel! nor THE angel that is supposed to be giving the message. I believe it was the story of Gideon. Additionally, the "scene" and clothing appeared to be set in Medieval times rather than Biblical. It was all just a little too strange, and not true to the Word. I was able to return the series with some argument to CBD. Understandably I had opened the series. So if you care about showing this for a Sunday School class, or in any teaching arena, be forewarned that it will be inaccurate.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jacob's Ladder, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bonnie
Location:Ontario
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our JY class is really enjoying these DVD's. I recommend them to anyone looking for a new way of presenting a bible character study to this age group.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jacob's Ladder, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Biblical message for kids.

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Faith
Location:Tulsa, OK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been very pleased with the DVD set. We are using it for our kids in a home Bible study group. They hold the kids attention and are great for a wide age range. They help the kids think about how God works in their own lives and makes the Bible come to life.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jacob's Ladder, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ten year old boy wants sequels

Date:January 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
csense
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I agree with all of the other reviews: well-acted and narrated, engaging story format, quite biblically accurate outside of the fictional aspect of the modern youth traveling through time to witness and interact with historical characters and events. From an adult perspective, the Welsh setting and somewhat low-budget costumes can be a bit distracting at first. Also, the same actors appear in different episodes as different characters. This takes a bit of adjusting to, but my ten year old doesn't seem to mind. He gets really into the story, and empathizes with the characters to such a degree that it is not uncommon for him to keep asking questions about the story throughout the day, such as "is that really what the Bible says," or,"Why would Saul do that to David when he said he was sorry the last time." The Jacob's Ladder series has, more than anything he has watched before (we watch all kinds of children's and adult Bible videos) made the people in the Bible very real to him, which, along with the positive aspects already stated, makes it easy to give this five stars.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jacob's Ladder, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent video series.

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cindy W
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are thoroughly enjoying the Jacob's Ladder series. It's a wonderful way to learn Bible stories together. The stories are presented in an interesting way. The acting is very good. We follow along with the stories in our own Bible and the facts are accurate. I would highly recommend the series.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jacob's Ladder, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Fred
I have used several of these as a teaching tool. I hight recommend. They are very Biblically accurate witha contemporay feel. They are great for Jr High youth. I always read the Scriptures that the videos represent and then watch the videos, ask the questions that the PDF give. I always search for the Gospel in the messages, not just allowing the story to stand alone. These videos are a great tool!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jacob's Ladder, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rebekah Martin
I am extremely happy with this set! I was looking for a dvd set that was interesting and taught biblical principles yet didn't target little kids. (My kids are 8 and 10.) The acting is great (the actors all have Welsh accents). The scenery, while obviously not in the middle east, is beautiful. The stories incorporate the original Bible story with children from our time who help assist the main characters and remind them of God's faithfulness. The narrator is excellent and the theme that God will never leave us is repeated throughout the episodes.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jacob's Ladder, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ranel Ferguson
Teens go back to OT biblical times to help or warn people of danger. Sometime they them selves get into sticky situation which causes them to brain storm through the story. This kept my kids ages 7-16 in anticipation and hungry for more when it ended.These are awesome videos my kids 7 - 17 love them and couldn't wait to watch the next one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.