Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Strength of His Hand, The - eBook

Bethany House Strength of His Hand, The - eBook

God has rewarded Hezekiah's faithfulness with great wealth and power, but the godly king has no heir. In desperation, his beloved wife takes forbidden measures to ensure fertility. With all that is going on in his kingdom--and with the Assyrians approaching--Hezekiah does not discover his wife's idolatry until it's almost too late. Her betrayal cuts to the very core of his being and belief in God. Will his faith sustain him in the face of this deceit, and against an overwhelming enemy? eBook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Strength of His Hand, The - eBook
Review 1 for Strength of His Hand, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent example of forgiveness

Date:December 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Penny Pincher
Location:Saskatchewan, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story of King Hezekiah, fleshed out as it is in this series, is so very good. The King's pride leading to his downfall is clearly portrayed, as well as his repentance. The enduring love between the King and his wife is touching, filled with both pain and joy. Eliakim's faith in God in the face of such severe testing is an encouragement. I love historical novels, especially when they stay true to the facts of the original story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Strength of His Hand, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent and faith building

Date:October 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dust
Location:Netherlands
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an above average book. Even though set as a story it reads like a devotional. My wife and me read the whole series and they left us feeling deeply inspired. Accurate history, and a well written book. If you are mostly interested in action this book may be too slow for you. There is however plenty of action, but I see it much more as a thought provoking book that is written to enhance your faith in God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Strength of His Hand, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sarah Keenan
It is not often that a novel brings me to tears! This one did. The sense of betrayal, the fear and the desperation threaten to destroy the very core of Hezekiah's being ~ his faith in the God to whom he has been so faithful. Again the detailed research which must have gone into the writing of this book brings the Old Testament alive.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Strength of His Hand, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
jackie
I LOVED this book. It was recommended to me on a Christian blog where the question was asked "What is your favorite book?". This book and the whole series was mentioned several times. I had never read Lynn Austin, but i am looking forward to going back and starting with book one. I would highly recommend this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Strength of His Hand, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2006
Customer Avatar
Debbie Lockledge
This book lives up to it's two predecessors in this series and is every bit as good. This series gets better with each installation. It sends me to the Scriptures to read and learn more about the characters of this book and the events as they appear in Scripture. The hallmark of Biblical fiction to me is that it makes you hungry for Scripture, in particular those parts of the Bible that are portrayed in the book. Lynn Austin is a master of that. Can't wait for #4 to arrive. I had it on order before I finished this one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Strength of His Hand, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2006
Absolutely incredible! I have long enjoyed other stand alone novels by Lynn Austin but I think that this series has become my all time favorite! I am not usually a book series fan but I can't wait to read the next book!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Strength of His Hand, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2005
Customer Avatar
Harriet Klausner
King Hezekiah has returned his people to worshipping only Yahweh after the brutal paganism that highlighted the reign of his sire. With the return to praying to the One God, Judah has seen prosperity. Perhaps the only thing that has not gone right for the monarch is the lack of an heir; this especially disturbs his beloved wife Hephzibah.<P>Desperate to bear a male child, Hephzibah visits a pagan shrine worshiping the fertility goddess Asherahl and offers a deal to this false deity. Stunned when he learns what his wife did that broke the Commandant and the key principle to his reign, an irate Hezekiah devastates the pagan shrine. However, he is severely injured because of his berserker ranting. Once calm he knows his countrys future is at stake so he turns to God for help and forgiveness for him, his wife, and their people. God answers through the prophet Isaiah who provides direction to clean his house and to select his heir.<P>The third tome of the fabulous Chronicles of the Kings series, THE STRENGTH OF HIS HAND, offers a terrific look at King Hezekiahs reign at a time of moral and religious crisis that threatens to destroy all he believed in and worked to achieve. Interestingly, the transgression of worshipping the false god by Hephzibah was done out of love for her spouse (good intentions can be an express way to hell). As Lynn Austin did with the insightful SONG OF REDEMPTION and GODS AND KINGS, fans will learn much about ancient Judah while cherishing this excellent work of biblical fiction.<P>Harriet Klausner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Strength of His Hand, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2005
Customer Avatar
Bongani Ntuli
It just make my faith even more stronger to God Almighty. Thank you for this oppotunity, God bless you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.