Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews
Most Popular Products

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Candle in the Darkness - eBook

Bethany House Candle in the Darkness - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Candle in the Darkness - eBook
Review 1 for Candle in the Darkness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
CJRut
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I look forward to reading more from this author. This is the best civil war book I have ever read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Candle in the Darkness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Viktoria
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good, informative historically and spiriually
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Candle in the Darkness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jools
Location:Queensland, Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow what a journey! Compassion and understanding in a time and a place where both were rare.
Thoroughly enjoyed (I think that is the right word) this book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Candle in the Darkness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
GiGi
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Part 2 was a surprise, and finished the book very nicely. I would have expected it to end with part 1.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Candle in the Darkness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A different view of Civil War

Date:March 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sharon M
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked the main character in this book. She was very real and believable. I've never seen a book with this particular view of the Civil War. Very inspiring book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Candle in the Darkness - eBook
This review is fromCandle in the Darkness, Refiners Fire Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
CMRaines
Location:Muncie, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An absolutely remarkable read. Full of real Civil War history, emotions of the people on all sides. Feelings of love, lost and found. The awareness and awakening of God's Hand and Presence in the lives of all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Candle in the Darkness - eBook
This review is fromCandle in the Darkness, Refiners Fire Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2010
the author does an excellent job with giving the history of the Civil War time. I was fascinated througout the book with her characters and how relationships and issues were resolved. I am recommending this book to others
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Candle in the Darkness - eBook
This review is fromCandle in the Darkness, Refiners Fire Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
William Garvin
Great book! It shows the vast difference between true Christian behavior and selfish belief toward all people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Candle in the Darkness - eBook
This review is fromCandle in the Darkness, Refiners Fire Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Being a civil war buff, but also a Christian, I really enjoy this whole series. I love the way Ms. Austin writes, and I have read some of her other books. She seemed to do a lot of research before she wrote it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Candle in the Darkness - eBook
This review is fromCandle in the Darkness, Refiners Fire Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bethany Chancey
My husband and I LOVE books, so we have read many different authors. My favorite is Lynn Austin, particularly for this series! I have never been so into a series before! I highly recommend this to other book lovers. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Candle in the Darkness - eBook
This review is fromCandle in the Darkness, Refiners Fire Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jessica
This was a very good book that I would recommend however, I did agree with some of the other readers that the ending could have been written a little better. It did seem rushed. The 2nd book in this series, Fire by Night, was one of the best I've ever read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Candle in the Darkness - eBook
This review is fromCandle in the Darkness, Refiners Fire Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Katelyn
I enjoyed Candle in the Darkness but at the same time it made me mad. I love historical fiction especially if it's set during the Civil War and for that reason I liked this book. It was a good story but some of the things like being a spy just made me uncomfortable and mad. I'm glad it ended the way it did but I wish there would have been more at the end. This one was good but not nearly as good as the 2nd in the series called Fire by Night which is one of my favorite books of all time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Candle in the Darkness - eBook
This review is fromCandle in the Darkness, Refiners Fire Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Raechel Gondek
I just finished this book. I am an avid christian fiction book reader. I have to say that this is the best book that I have ever read! I couldnt put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Candle in the Darkness - eBook
This review is fromCandle in the Darkness, Refiners Fire Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2008
Absolutely loved this book. Have already read #3, and #2 is on order. What great faith...makes you feel like your living through the Civil War.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Candle in the Darkness - eBook
This review is fromCandle in the Darkness, Refiners Fire Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Richter
I just finished this book and has soon as I was done with it,I had to start the next one to see how everything turned out. This book is full of interesting imformation on how people treated the slaves back then and what they went through to get their freedom.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Candle in the Darkness - eBook
This review is fromCandle in the Darkness, Refiners Fire Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
malley
i did not like this book at all. i found it to be way to dark for my taste. i like a little more lightheartedness. it seemed as though the whole book was a downer, with only tiny parts that were maybe a little sweet or something (none of which i can recall at the moment). not one i would recommend (or reread)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Candle in the Darkness - eBook
This review is fromCandle in the Darkness, Refiners Fire Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sheila of PA
This is a fantastic, very well written book written by a fantastic author. Ms. Austin developed her characters very well, each with their own unique personality and level of Christian maturity. I felt the novel was very well researched to include significant history as well as significant Biblical lessons. I was thoroughly impressed with this book, though I have to agree with the other reviews that the ending was a little rushed. Also, I was really looking forward to reading of Grady's return to Tessie!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Candle in the Darkness - eBook
This review is fromCandle in the Darkness, Refiners Fire Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Merri
This book is wonderful. A story of a girl who could grow to be a southern belle, and instead becomes an abolitionist. It includes just enough romance, but not over the top, and enough historical information to keep you interested, but not too much that you get bored. It shows very well that God is in control and that theme is stuck with throughout the whole book. There are parts that had me almost sobbing, and others that had me laughing outloud. Enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Candle in the Darkness - eBook
This review is fromCandle in the Darkness, Refiners Fire Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2006
Customer Avatar
Gina R.
What an intriguing story. I was glued from beginning to end. My only disappointment was that the very ending was a tad weak in my view. There should have been some good, thorough, joyful sobbing involved!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Candle in the Darkness - eBook
This review is fromCandle in the Darkness, Refiners Fire Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2005
Customer Avatar
Liz Morgan
I love historical fiction, and this was a delightful book. The development of the characters was well done. The next book in the series is extremely good, and I highly recommend them both. Starting book #3.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>