Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Possibility Pictures Letters to God, DVD

Possibility Pictures Letters to God, DVD

Battling brain cancer, 8-year-old Tyler Doherty turns to God as his own private pen pal. It's his way of praying---but beleaguered neighborhood postman Brady McDaniels has no idea what to do with envelopes addressed to heaven! As he gets to know Tyler and his family, Brady makes a decision that transforms his life---and uplifts his new friends. Rated PG. Closed captions. Approx. 110 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.726 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
23 out of 2496%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Letters to God, DVD
Review 1 for Letters to God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent movie - fun and thought provoking

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bill Huninghake
Location:Idaho
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I believe anyone purchasing this movie will be most surprised with the story line ...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Letters to God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
samy3838
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Such an emotional movie but the message is strong!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Letters to God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Elaine D Van Amburg
Location:Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent movie. Have thought about buying this for a while but anticipated that it might be depressing. I was pleasantly surprised when I watched it. It was tender, amusing at times, uplifting and totally enjoyable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Letters to God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

sad but enduring

Date:April 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
demily
Location:kansas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this movie for everyone. There are not enough movies that talk about peoples relationship with God. It is a tear jerker but so worth watching.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Letters to God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It has a reality to it that is everyday life.

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vern
Location:Winder, ga
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I felt this was so real like. It brought home to us the battle we are having with out 16 yr.old granddaughter fighting Cancer right now. It made us feel so blessed that she like this young man expect what is happening and deals with it better than we do. They seem to always have a better attitude than we think they have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Letters to God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

And a child shall lead them..

Date:November 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathrae
Location:Southern Idaho
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An amazing message on how a child can teach those around him as he gracefully goes through the journey that the Lord has carved for him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Letters to God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This DVD is a great story of compassion

Date:October 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grandma
Location:Prior Lake, MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The DVD has been so very inspiring especially for all people suffering from cancer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Letters to God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:September 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Greg Pilgrim
Location:Colorado
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great story that really reminds you of God's power!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Letters to God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Too cheesy !

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Too cheesy and I felt that it really did not give the
gospel message . . . just a general faith in God.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Letters to God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Date:April 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
ellampl
Location:Park Rapids, MN.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend every one reading the Book and then watching the Movie. A very inspiring story. Makes you laugh makes you cry, and makes you think. The book is a easy read and a can't put it down kinda book. Be sure to read before watching. Loved it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Letters to God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Christian Faith example.

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
James Link
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an excellent example of true deep faith in God. The childlike faith and trust Jesus gives us as example of how we as believers in Him should be. We all need to have this faith as a child would have. This movie reveals to us who we really are.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Letters to God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This will put tears in your eyes.

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
adrianmathewsDOTcom
Location:Oregon City, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An incredible movie and inspiration for the whole family.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Letters to God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sad, unique movie

Date:February 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ben Umnus
Location:Wisconsin
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was difficult for me to start this Letters to God review, but the best way for me to describe this movie was that it was a unique, emotional film. Although there are some scenes within this film that are funny, much of the movie is serious and sad; do not watch if you aren't prepared to see a tear gusher. In some ways I felt the movie wasn't the most realistic like in the quality of the family's lawn (I mean who really has grass THAT green? lol) as well as most of the characters being Christians, but it did not spare on realism when concerning the subjects of cancer, alcohol, and simply emotional pain in general. I was surprised to hear Letters to God was based off of a true story; though the alcoholic mailman was fictional unfortunately.
Without spoiling anything, this movie was about an 8 year old named Tyler Doherty who writes/mails physical letters actually addressed: "To God". Substitute mailman Brady McDaniels doesn't have the heart to throw the letters away; partially due to Tyler having cancer. Throughout the movie Brady's alcoholism, the impact of Tyler's cancer on him and his family, the importance of prayer, and trusting in God amongst trials/suffering are frequently mentioned and tied within the film's plot. Although I do believe some mailmen would probably throw the letters away in real life, I thought the concept of writing an actual letter to God was cute. I also felt the overall theme of believing in God even within the difficult times was an important message too. One thing I did not enjoy, however, was how the movie inserted a "you have a God shaped hole in your heart" style theological message, because I do not feel those sort of messages actually bring people to Christ; I base this on personal experience. Although I usually don't like to watch sadder movies, overall I did enjoy seeing this film.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Letters to God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Product reveals great truth

Date:January 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
dearer
Location:Washington, DC
Age:Over 65
Since this DVD is based on a true story it carried a big impact....very moving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Letters to God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
moondancer
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I like it because it was a true story. No swear words , nudity, or promotionals of homosexuality, sex, violence. Prayer and Jesus were strongly focused- very good point. But the price I paid for this DVD was too much.For the movie lacked the essence of good acting by the actors. However I still enjoyed the story
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Letters to God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gift for my nephew

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alan Knutson
Location:Orange County CA
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this for my little nephew after seeing it in the theaters when it first came out. Excellent movie. What would this world be like if children knew God early in life. I don't have any children yet, but I know that if I do, they will know God. It is a responsibility of parents.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Letters to God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Movie

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
alli
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My children chose this as a movie for my husband for Christmas. We were hoping that it was along the same line as Facing the Giants and we were very pleased. Expect to cry..
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Letters to God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
fuzzy
Location:Orillia ontario
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great storyline. It's nice to watch a movie that isn't filled with worldly smutt. The whole family can enjoy this one.
We have a daughter with a brain tumor so it was especially touching for us
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Letters to God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good family movie.

Date:December 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Adoons
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good family movie. Well written. Good story. Kids will enjoy it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Letters to God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Benny
lovely picture showing how God can use only one person in a great way. Handkerchief necessary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.