Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook It Hurts to Lose a Special Person

David C. Cook It Hurts to Lose a Special Person

A collection of inspirational writing designed to help someone during a time of loss. Includes scripture verses in the King James Version and colorful illustrations on each page.
Average Customer Rating:
4.944 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for It Hurts to Lose a Special Person
Review 1 for It Hurts to Lose a Special Person
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was a very helpful book.

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Karen Beth
Location:Springlake, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The scripture references were comforting, and the writings Biblical.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for It Hurts to Lose a Special Person
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sympathy Cards

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kaye
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always by these for cards as there are no better cards than these. I gpot one 13 years a ago from a friend when my late huband, Bill, passed on. My friend, Dot, who had recently losted here husband was so thankful to get it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for It Hurts to Lose a Special Person
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A vey meaningful correspondence.

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
caroline
Location:Alabama
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this book after my husband died. It mean a lot to me then, and still means a lot to me. I enjoy sending this book to friends that have lost loved ones because I know how much it will help ease some of the pain they feel. It is an excellent resource and I would recommend it to everyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for It Hurts to Lose a Special Person
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very appropriate

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jean P. Sewell
Location:Kentucky
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is very attractive, with many scriptures
that bring comfort to anyone in sorrow.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for It Hurts to Lose a Special Person
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It hurts to lose a special person

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
rett13
Location:Kokomo, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This booklet is very valuable.
It helped me immensely when I lost my wife suddenly (49 + years of marriage).
I and my wonderful second wife love to send these to friends who suffer a loss of mate.
My present wife lost her husband to cancer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for It Hurts to Lose a Special Person
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Comforting after a death

Date:December 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Grandma Gayle
Location:Ease Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this as a Sympathy card for about 20 years; I try to always have one or two on hand. I send it about two weeks after a death. Do wish it still came with an envelope. I have to go to a stationary store to get those.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for It Hurts to Lose a Special Person
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
vick
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This booklet was given to me when I lost my husband. It was so helpful to me that I have purchased several to give to ones who have lost loved ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for It Hurts to Lose a Special Person
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patsy Little
A copy of this booklet was given to me when a dear friend went to be with the Lord when she was in the prime of her life. I found the words of the booklet helpful as I mourned her untimely homegoing. A few years later when my parents went home to be with the Lord, I again pulled out my copy of the booklet and was once again blessed by the words penned by the author. Since then I have found copies of the booklet to give to friends and relatives at the death of their loved ones. I was indeed happy to find these in your inventory and will enjoy giving them to help others in their time of sorrow. I give the author high marks for using words that bring comfort and assurance as one walks through the different stages of dealing with their loss. The booklet cover and inside colorful pictures and artwork are comforting as well as the words. Thanks for keeping these in stock so that they can be used to bless others when the need arises.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for It Hurts to Lose a Special Person
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rubye G. Hardin
For over 15 years, this has been something I choose to send to about two weeks after death of a loved one, when flowers have died & cards/calls/visits are slowing down, but grief is still raw. I'm told it really comforts because it doesn't deny the pain, but gives hope & encouragement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for It Hurts to Lose a Special Person
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rubye G. Hardin
I've been buying & sending these for 15+ years, send them about 2 weeks after funeral when condolences have slowed down, but grieving is still 'raw'. I've been thanked many times for it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for It Hurts to Lose a Special Person
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rubye G. Hardin
I have been buying these for 20 years; send them as sympathy cards about two weeks after the loss -- when other condolences have slowed down. Over & over I hear that it was a source of comfort & encouragement. In the beginning, they came with an envelope. Now I have to buy envelopes separately.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for It Hurts to Lose a Special Person
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jan
An excellent book to comfort someone who is grieving the loss of a loved one. It was given to me after my 31 year old brother died, and I found myself reading it over and over again. It found it described what I was experiencing inside, and gave scripture references of God's promises to me as I was grieving. I give this booklet to others often.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for It Hurts to Lose a Special Person
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Eldra
This book was given to me after my mother passed. It really helped me through my down times, holidays and her birthday.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for It Hurts to Lose a Special Person
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Shari Slegona
Our parish priest uses this booklet to comfort those who have lost a loved one. It is very popular in our little bookstore.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for It Hurts to Lose a Special Person
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Land
Wonderful booklet. I received one after my dad died and it comforted me. I have ordered more so that I can pass it on. A real help for people who are grieving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for It Hurts to Lose a Special Person
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rubye G. Hardin
I have sent 'It Hurts to Lose a Special Person' for years as a sympathy card. I send it about two weeks after funeral and the rush of cards, memorials, are past -- but grief is still fresh. It's less than a book, more than most cards, something to read and reread. I've been thanked for the comfort & hope it provides many times. Just wish an envelope still came with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for It Hurts to Lose a Special Person
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2001
Customer Avatar
Vanessa
An aunt sent this booklet when my Dad passed away last January. It was so helpful, I loaned it to a friend whose parents had passed away. Then we purchased a copy to send to a family whose daughter died of cancer. Recently, a dear Christian lady gave birth to their tenth child. A week later her unbelieving husband died! We sent our last copy to that lady and her precious family. We always like to have at least one copy on hand for obvious reasons! Your company has the very best price! I appreciate this opportunity to share what a tremendously comforting and helpful booklet this truly is. Thank you and may His grace abound toward each one of you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for It Hurts to Lose a Special Person
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2000
Customer Avatar
NANCY RIESEBIETER
Love this book! It made me cry at first but not as bad anymore.. getting it for a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.