Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Miserly Moms: Living Well on Less in a Tough Ecomony - eBook

Bethany House Miserly Moms: Living Well on Less in a Tough Ecomony - eBook

In Miserly Moms, author Jonni McCoy shows her readers creative and innovative ways to live in a tough economy for less money. The practical strategies and tips she shares include meal preparation, shopping tips, insurance & medical cost reduction, and much more. Try instituting her eleven miserly guidelines and watch your financial goals come into reach. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.611 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Miserly Moms: Living Well on Less in a Tough Ecomony - eBook
Review 1 for Miserly Moms: Living Well on Less in a Tough Ecomony - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great information

Date:October 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Music Mom
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a wealth of information. Jonni McCoy discusses many was to reevaluate your budget and find ways to save. These are practical suggestions that I feel everyone can use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Miserly Moms: Living Well on Less in a Tough Ecomony - eBook
This review is fromMiserly Moms, 4th edition.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2010
This book was really interesting for those who are interested in saving money in their budget, especially on groceries and other expenses. Jonni's writing is easy to understand, clear, and full of details many of us may not have realized or understood before. She covers many topics with helpful tips and information, and she lists many websites and books as useful resources. She understands the importance of spending your money wisely, without being wasteful. There are recipes included for meals, cleaning products, and also great ideas for making your holidays enjoyable without going crazy on spending. I highly recommend this book for anyone who is interested in finding a few ways to cut back on some spending in their family budget.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Miserly Moms: Living Well on Less in a Tough Ecomony - eBook
This review is fromMiserly Moms, 4th edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathryn Wiest
A little too much emphasis on stay at home moms, good for elders on a budget and working moms too, to save the money
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Miserly Moms: Living Well on Less in a Tough Ecomony - eBook
This review is fromMiserly Moms, 4th edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Noemi Jenkins
Excellent ideas on ways to live life making wiser spending decisions. There are great ideas on making the holidays fun without spending a bunch of money, it is about togetherness not how much we can spend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Miserly Moms: Living Well on Less in a Tough Ecomony - eBook
This review is fromMiserly Moms, 4th edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Caroline
I absolutely -loved- this book. I ordered Jonni's cookbook today Meals For Less, after finishing this one. I gained so much good advice for saving money on groceries and so many other items, as well as a few of her wonderful "bonus recipes" included as well. I wish I would have had this book 20 years ago while I was still raising my family. I have all ready seen savings in my grocery bill after only a couple of weeks.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Miserly Moms: Living Well on Less in a Tough Ecomony - eBook
This review is fromMiserly Moms, 4th edition.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Callicoatt
I heard about this on the radio. I ordered one for me a one for each of my kids. very interesting info.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Miserly Moms: Living Well on Less in a Tough Ecomony - eBook
This review is fromMiserly Moms, 4th edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Meredith Kohlbrenner
This is the perfect choice for anyone looking to cut costs in creative but practical ways!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Miserly Moms: Living Well on Less in a Tough Ecomony - eBook
This review is fromMiserly Moms, 4th edition.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Jonni McCoy has compiled several excellent practical guidelines for saving money. While not all of these ideas are new, but they are still helpful none the less. One of the greatest aspects of McCoy's book is her ability to inspire the reader to save. Many financial guidelines can seem burdensome and overwhelming, but McCoy has a way of encouraging the reader to want to take these guidelines and put them into practice. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Miserly Moms: Living Well on Less in a Tough Ecomony - eBook
This review is fromMiserly Moms, 4th edition.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Julie Stewart
Miserly Moms is a great resource for anyone especially moms trying to stay on a budget. The book has alot of good tips and recipes to help cut down on one of the biggest budget items for families-- food.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Miserly Moms: Living Well on Less in a Tough Ecomony - eBook
This review is fromMiserly Moms, 4th edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Camelia Gurski
This is a great book that is an easy read because each chapter can be read separately from the others. It is filled with helpful, practical ideas for everyone. I especially liked the food recipes and the mixtures/solutions for cleaning products.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Miserly Moms: Living Well on Less in a Tough Ecomony - eBook
This review is fromMiserly Moms, 4th edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathy Brady
I'm finding so much good information in this book that I've yet to finish it. I'm re-reading it as I go. It's wonderful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Miserly Moms: Living Well on Less in a Tough Ecomony - eBook
This review is fromMiserly Moms, 4th edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Tassone
Love this book. I'm fixing to order another copy to give as a gift to my sister-in-law. Very practical ideas of how to cut back and save.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Miserly Moms: Living Well on Less in a Tough Ecomony - eBook
This review is fromMiserly Moms, 4th edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Conant
I think in today's world more moms could stay home if they use the wise info in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Miserly Moms: Living Well on Less in a Tough Ecomony - eBook
This review is fromMiserly Moms, 4th edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Wesley
Jonni McCoy has turned stretching the money made by her husband to cover the familys needs into her job. And shes not just saying that. She has detailed eleven miserly guidelines that those who live in recession-stricken households will find VERY useful.For the most part, the book is about saving money and it does focus on this from the perspective of a mom. However, many of the tips in this book would be useful to know for anyone, male or female, who has been laid off and is living on severance pay or unemployment - to stretch their newly limited income to pay the bills.Jonni covers cutting out the money wasters in your life and provides her detailed method for saving money on groceries by shopping at multiple stores and planning menus by what is on sale for the week (among other things). Some of her favorite recipes for meals you can cook ahead and freeze are also included in this book. Instead of buying that expensive Bertolli meal for two, she encourages you to make an extra large batch of your own favorite Italian dish and divvy it up in plastic bags in your freezer for quick and easy self-made meals that are a fraction of the cost. (OK, so she didnt mention Bertolli by name, but those are the meals my husband and I were addicted to when I worked full-time. So yummy!)The proof is in the numbers and Jonni has done the math. She cites in her book that even those with special diets can save up to 50% off their normal bill and not take up a lot of extra time.She also gives great tips on giving creative gifts and cheap entertainment ideas for children. She outlines the costs you save by not working and not just ways to shop smarter, but a way to live better without missing the extra money.I highly recommend this book. If you follow even a fraction of Jonni's advice you will make back any money you spend in very little time. Of course, you could get Miserly Moms at the library. (But you won't want to return it!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Miserly Moms: Living Well on Less in a Tough Ecomony - eBook
This review is fromMiserly Moms, 4th edition.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2009
About 10 years ago, I borrowed and read a copy of Miserly Moms by Jonni McCoy. It was one of the first books on frugal living that I read. I needed the encouragement at that time as we tried to stretch one income to provide for our young family, surrounded by double income families. 10 years later, I still need that encouragement, and Miserly Moms still provides it. Jonni McCoy has written an encouraging how-to book for living WELL on one income. She wants to help families cut their expenses and find creative ways to save money, so that Mom can come home to be with her children. Miserly Moms is broken down into easy steps. A large portion of the book is focused on one of the largest expenses for a family, and the easiest to take control of ... the grocery bill. Jonni teaches you how to shop wisely, mistakes to avoid, and even includes frugal recipes for your family to enjoy. As she teaches us how to save money, she cheers us on with examples of how she learned these lessons.Many of the chapters include lists of additional resources (more books!) that can give further information on the topics discussed in the chapter. The book also includes recipes for handy cleaners, ideas for holidays, gift-giving ideas, ways to dress well for less, and so much more. Miserly Moms: Living Well on Less in a Tough Economy is an excellent (and encouraging) resource for any Mom who needs to lower her family's expenses! Whether their husband has taken a cut in pay, or whether they are longing to come home to be with their children ... Miserly Moms has something for everyone.Even though I've read Miserly Moms before, I found it refreshing to be reminded WHY we make the frugal choices we make, and to be encouraged that it is possible to live well on less ... even in a tough economy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Miserly Moms: Living Well on Less in a Tough Ecomony - eBook
This review is fromMiserly Moms, 4th edition.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
The Bookworm Blog
As a wife and working mother of five kids, its getting harder and harder to live a comfortable life in our current economy, even on a dual income. So when I had the chance to review a copy of Miserly Moms by Jonni McCoy by Bethany House Publishing , I took advantage of it.Jonni McCoy began to feel God speaking to her heart urging her to stay home to raise her new child. So she learned how to reduce her expenses and still have a comfortable life.Miserly Moms offers some great ideas to save money. She offers tips to save money on groceries, ways to celebrate holidays on a budget and even some great recipes that are affordable yet tasty. The section with recipes even gives a breakdown on how much money youll save making your own recipes.Because my family is large, we tend to do a lot of warehouse or club shopping. Jonnie devotes a whole chapter on good deals you can find in these stores, like Sams Club or Costco.More than anything, Ms. McCoys book, Miserly Moms, proved to me that a family can exist on one income. Ive already bookmarked her recipes pages and have started cooking several meals at once to freeze for later (just on great tip of many in her book.)This book is a must read for any family looking to save money in our rapidly declining economy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Miserly Moms: Living Well on Less in a Tough Ecomony - eBook
This review is fromMiserly Moms, 4th edition.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2009
In Miserly Moms Jonni McCoy writes of her personal journey of living on less money, and shares her money-saving wisdom. Much of the focus of the book is on saving money on food because that is generally the area where people can make the biggest spending changes. But in addition to food related topics, she also gives frugal ideas for baby products, kids crafts, clothing, utilities, medical expenses, insurance, and more.This is a terrific resource for anyone who is interested in living more frugally. The ideas are not complicated, but do require some work to implement. Saving money is one of the many jobs of the frugal homemaker. The thing that I most appreciated about the book was the reminder of the purpose for frugal living. Jonni stressed the difference between being frugal and cheap. She is not living a frugal lifestyle just to see how little she can spend, but there is a purpose behind her frugality. Her purpose, and mine as well, is to spend less money so that she can afford to be at home with her children. Having that sense of purpose can provide the extra encouragement you need to cook dinner when you'd rather order pizza.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Miserly Moms: Living Well on Less in a Tough Ecomony - eBook
This review is fromMiserly Moms, 4th edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Annmarie
Miserly Moms: Living Well on Less in a Tough Economy is a great resource for those struggling with the current conditions of the economy. Written by a mom who wanted to stay home with her children and had to learn how to economize, while living in expensive area of California. This book is the outcome of her research and continuing education.Being a fan of Jonni McCoy for more then 10 years and having frequently visiting her website, I was wondering if purchasing an updated version of her book would be all that helpful. I was pleasantly surprised by the thoroughly updated and new information that was contained in the book. There is a new opening chapter with testimonies from moms who came home. Then there are a few new chapters more relevant for todays world such as a chapter dealing with special diets, Five Things I wish I Knew About Money When I was Young, How To Save $10,000, and 5 Questions I Get Asked Most Often, information that has come with experience. The titles of many of the chapters are the same, but there is enough new information in them, you can hardly recognize the old. I did also appreciate the new information on debt reduction and budgeting. However, I did find that most of the recipes, gift ideas, cleaning supplies, and childrens crafts are the same as the second (1996) edition of the book that I own.There are items that are just common sense like shopping for items on sale, making your own food from scratch, washing laundry in cold water, and lowering your thermostat and hot water heater temperatures. Other suggestions I find great, like how to make homemade products for every day use and inexpensive gift ideas. The recipes are simple to make and taste great. There are also tips for teaching children and getting your husband on board to this lifestyle. The book would make a good reading material for your older children, especially girls who are potential stay at home moms in the future. Great gift for the new mom!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.