Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Shadow Over Kiriath - eBook

Bethany House Shadow Over Kiriath - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shadow Over Kiriath - eBook
Review 1 for Shadow Over Kiriath - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blew me away!!!

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dennis Weidus
Location:Baton Rouge
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the final book in The Guardian King series. Karen Hancock weaved such an exciting adventureful story that could have been about a Biblical King! I was so enraptured by the story, that I had difficulty stopping at the end of each chapter!
I've read many fiction books in my time, and this series was amazing at grabbing my attention, and not letting it leave! I'm very good at foreseeing the next turn in a plot, but I was pleasantly surprised with the suspense of the storyline!
The best part is the Biblical Allegory, that caused me to evaluate spiritual values in myself! I would give 10 stars if I could! Fabulous series and a must read for fans of: C.S. Lewis, & Tolkien. I'd rate these better than Lord Of The Rings!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shadow Over Kiriath - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN!

Date:August 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
BevK
Location:WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This ranks up at the top and met every expectation of what it is advertised at. The comparison to Scripture in the names and thoughts was fantastic. Really enjoyed this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shadow Over Kiriath - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robby Hall Jr.
AWESOME!!! I loved this one. It has you on the edge of your seat more than the previous 2. Revealing more truths of our own faith through every page of this astounding allegory. Romance, action, adventure, conspiracy, betrayal, love, and salvation. This book has got it all! I'm recommending this series highly to everyone I know.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shadow Over Kiriath - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Abby Ang
Ok... the romance was good.... and I did like how Abramm did learn how to trust God and not himself. This book seems darker and heavier than the books before, but that doesn't make it any worse. And it ends in suspense so the reader will be sure to read the next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shadow Over Kiriath - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2006
Customer Avatar
Christian Book Previews.com
Hancock, winner of eight awards for the first two books of the series, plies her great storytelling skills as she carries the reader back into Kiriath. This book concentrates more on the love story than the other two books of the series, though she provides plenty of swashbuckling excitement with Esurhite pirates, rebellious lords, and the vindictive Mataio. As in her other books, she builds on Abramm's growing faith, but he shows a lack of regard about his and Madeline's reputations that is disappointing. At times they do incredibly foolish things. Although Princess Carissa's love for Abramm's best friend, Trap, is foreshadowed, she disappears for long stretches of the book. Hancock makes the Shadow, the forces of evil, appear stronger than the great god of light, Eidon, when she allows a master evil spirit called a Warhast to indwell some who have accepted the Terstan shield, which is a symbol that Eidon burns into the chest of his converts. Hancock does not explain how both could occur.Shadow over Kiriath is a good book and an exciting read. After the first two books in the series were so superb, this one seemed a slight letdown. Others may disagree. Fans of Kiriath, Abramm Kalladorne, and Karen Hancock will want to grab the nearest copy. I'm looking forward to book four in the series. -- Debbie W. Wilson, Christian Book Previews.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shadow Over Kiriath - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2006
Customer Avatar
Lisa
The book opens on the day of Abramm Kalladornes coronation after a hard-fought victory to take the throne that was rightfully his. But the battle is far from over. The rhuema, evil, seductive spirit beings, are set to ruin Abramms day of glory. But when Abramm dons the ceremonial regalia of his forebearsa crown, a cape, a scepter, and an orbEidon manifests his Light in a brilliant display that confirms Abramm as Gods chosen king. Before Abramms coronation is complete, Esurhites of the army of the Black Moon attack the fortress on the coast, plunging the country into preparations for war. Abramm needs the support of his Chesedh neighbors, but the only way they will ally with Kiriath is if Abramm agrees to marry the First Daughter of the Chesedh king. Determined to do what is best for his kingdom, Abramm agrees. But in his heart he fears his bride will be repulsed by his maimed left arm and deep facial scars he received in his battle with the morwhol (end of book 2).Lady Madeleine, Second Daughter of the King of Chesedh, struggles with Abramms commitment to marry her older sister. Shes spent a year at the Kiriathan court doing research on the fortresses and guardstars for Abramm. In the course of her work, she has fallen in love with Kiriaths king. But she is not the First Daughter, and her plain face and outspoken ways dont exactly stir a mans heart.While shes determined to avoid the king and hope her heart recovers, their enemies have seen the attraction and use it to stir the kings personal conflict to augment the ever-increasing problems he faces as the Shadow presses in on Kiriaths borders. Battles rage on land and sea, and in the hearts of men, until Abramms greatest joys lead him to make a torturous sacrifice that puts his faith to the ultimate test.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shadow Over Kiriath - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2005
Customer Avatar
Shannon McNear
The third installment of the four-part Legends of the Guardian King opens on Abramms coronation day. Beset by threatened disaster and his first horrified look at the scars from his fight with the morwhol six months before, Abramm isnt at all sure hell be accepted as king, even now.Thus begins Abramms next trial of trust. The road ahead will be more difficult than anything you have yet faced, though its blessings are beyond anything you can imagine, he is told. Will he accept the path Eidon has for him, or choose the way of temporary relief from suffering?Shadow Over Kiriath is a masterful work, full of Karens now-trademark blend of romance, intrigue, and adventure. This is also her deepest spirituallyshe so perfectly captures the proving of true faith in the fires of disappointment and loss. This part of the story was both easier to read than I expected, but harder tooand left me awash in the wonder of Gods grace and unfailing love.As always, her characters continue to leap off the page, living and breathing in their own right. Her storytelling remains tight, her description vivid, and my only complaint is at having to wait a whole year again to read the series finale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shadow Over Kiriath - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2005
Customer Avatar
Harriet Klausner
The king of Kiriath, Abramm Kalladorne, knows that though he has defeated several foes, the invincible Black Moon army of Esurhmarches towards his country crushing the feeble opposition along the way. Esurh plans to control all land that touches the Sea of Sharss including Kiriath. To Esurh, Abramm will always remain the "White Pretender slave who fought in their arenas at one time. Abramm also has internal dissension fostered by the still popular Mataio religious order, whose insurgency failed, but remain openly defiant and objects to his rule.<P>Abramm accepts a marriage of alliance with the ruling family of nearby Chesedh; he will wed Princess Briellen, but Abramm is more attracted to her younger sister Lady Madeleine, who feels the same way as he does. If they go down that path they will fail their respective nations at a time when their enemies near.<P>The third epic tale in the award winning Legends of the Guardian-King saga, SHADOW OVER KIRIATH, is a fantastic allegorical fantasy that contains several major subplots that tie back to the main superb story line. Though he has defeated his internal opponents such as his brother (who sold him into slavery) and the Mataio order, both and others remain a threat to his reign and to his country. Those machinations pale alongside of the coming invaders as even the monarch has doubts that Eidon will save his people from slavery. He also ponders how to marry the woman who stirs his blood without alienating Chesedh or Eidon. Karen Hancock provides a powerful stand alone epic tale that is excellent as a stand alone, but is incredible when read back to back to back with its predecessors (see LIGHT OF EIDON and THE SHADOW WITHIN).<P>Harriet Klausner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.